Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 22nd March 2019 - 02:52:43

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > M&Ms - Coconut review

« Hi-5 : Make a Wish reviewHi-5 : Make a WishM&Ms - Peanut Butter reviewM&Ms - Peanut Butter »

Score: 7.0/10  [25 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 3297 - M&Ms - Coconut
Manufactured by Mars

M&Ms - Coconut
Price:
$2.49 per 42.5g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected retail outlets

M&Ms - Coconut product reviews

Coconut and Milk Chocolate in a crisp candy shell.

Melts in your mouth, not your hand.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
american   candy   chocolate   coconut
Other listings you may be interested in:
Candy and Choc coated Sunflower SeedsCandy and Choc coated Sunflower Seeds
Rating: 8.5
Sids Fenugreek MustardSids Fenugreek Mustard
Rating: 9.3
M&Ms - Peanut ButterM&Ms - Peanut Butter
Rating: 7.6
SpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.1
Hartley & Valentino Premium Belgian Dark Chocolate Orange TrufflesHartley & Valentino Premium Belgian Dark Chocolate Orange Truffles
Rating: 9.2
Crema di Gorgonzola DOPCrema di Gorgonzola DOP
Rating: 9.0
Pods - MarsPods - Mars
Rating: 8.6
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Mexican Creations: BurritoMexican Creations: Burrito
Rating: 8.6
Sealord Tuna Express - Thai Red CurrySealord Tuna Express - Thai Red Curry
Rating: 9.7
Mr HangiMr Hangi
Rating: 9.0
NZ Squeezed Lemon CurdNZ Squeezed Lemon Curd
Rating: 9.8
Mac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Snack - Lite Roasted
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 4th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I absolutely love M&Ms they have to be one of my favourite candies, and having been to America for a holiday several years back I was lucky enough to go to M&Ms world, a land full of colour and all things M&Ms including M&Ms of the most amazing colours and flavours that I hadn't before seen. While I am not the hugest fan of a lot of coconut in baking there are some ways that I don't mind having coconut and seeing as there were coconut flavoured M&Ms I didn't think this was something I could go without buying and trying out at least once anyway!

Unlike your usual pack of M&Ms which contain a rainbow of different colours of bite sized pieces of candy the coconut M&Ms only contain pieces which are white, green and brown, this obviously to resemble the colours you would find in a coconut and also on a coconut tree, clever thinking! The packaging is also well presented featuring again the colours of green, white and brown, with a picture of a split open coconut and Miss Green (one of the M&Ms characters lounging in the sun on what you'd think of as a tropical island somewhere! The font used in the font that you will find on all other M&Ms packaging.

Upon opening the bag you can smell quite a strong coconut smell, however after reading the packaging I found that the coconut used in this product is actually artificial flavoring rather than containing actual coconut, although this was a bit of a surprise to me I did feel that they had got the smell spot on, however at the same time I was a bit unsure why they hadn't put actual pieces of fine coconut into the chocolate, perhaps because of the small size of an M&M? Tasting these the flavour was delicious yummy chocolate with a delightful hint of coconut that wasn't to strong or overpowering, all encased in a crisp candy shell.

Although these aren't my favourite M&Ms that I have tried they are still pretty delicious, and seeing as New Zealand has just released these as a limited edition flavour they are something I intend to purchase at least once during this time.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 9th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I think i am the biggest addict to m&m's but i didnt want to try them because i was afraid. I waited until they came on special to buy them and the first packet disappeared within seconds.

I soon brought two more packets and really like the coconut taste (they dont taste like normal m&ms) My biggest issue and only complaint is that there are too many brown ones in the packet. With that said, the only other issue i have is that the packets arent big enough.

My children really like them too and i still have a packet hidden for later and the late night nibbles. I personally believe that anyone that likes bounty should try them :)

Click here to read the profile of shar

Review by: shar (Sharlene)
Dated: 26th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a big fan of M&M's and the chance to try the product was exciting. The white packaging suits the coconut flavoured product.

Upon reading the packaging that the coconut was artificial my hopes went down, but all was restored when I opened the packet, they smelt great not overpowering, but like real coconut, for a product with no 'real' coconut in it they have matched the smell and flavour just perfectly against the chocolate.

There were just the perfect amount in the packet to satisfy my tastes, and if I am not mistaken they appeared slightly bigger than the average chocolate M&M's.

Overall I was impressed and look forward to one day soon getting some more.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 20th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ok first and foremost, thank you KIWIreviews and United Sweets of NZ for letting us review these yummy M&Ms. I was very excited to be chosen as a reviewer. In New Zealand we are pretty much limited with our choice in sweets, and our M&Ms here are simple chocolate M&Ms or Peanut M&Ms, so the opportunity to try a different variety is one not to be missed.

I too like the green, white and brown packaging used for the coconut M&Ms, it is very fitting for the flavor. The packaging is easy to open either, and not one you struggle with for half an hour, like some lolly packages.

I am a huge fan of both coconut rough, and M&Ms, so the thought of the two of them combined into one lolly was just to much.

Upon opening the package, you could smell a strong coconut smell coming from the lollies. This was a good sign, as to me it meant they truly were going to taste like coconut...maybe! I had already read on the front of the package that the coconut flavor was artificial, so any disappointment in them not having real coconut mixed in with the chocolate was already over before tasting began.

I was also pleased to see that the M&Ms were slightly larger in size to the ones we have here in NZ, so that was a good sign also. There is nothing wrong with the ones we have here, but I always think that they just needed to be a little bigger.

The coconut flavor is not to heavy and not to light, I think Mars have got it just right, but still it would have been nice if the coconut was not artificial.

All in all I think these are really nice, and even though they dont have actual coconut in them, they would easily become one of my favorites. I do think the price of $2.49 for a 42.5g bag is a bit much however, but the size of the bag is perfect. I preferred these over the peanut butter ones I also got to review.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 20th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Being a huge M&M fan I could not wait to try the new Coconut flavour.

Loved the packet so classy and just like the rest of the M&M packets so easy to open. My daughter loves the colour green so when she saw "Mrs Green M&M" she had made up her mind that she was going to love them.

I was expecting this be like the coconut rough chocolate with the taste of coconut flakes but unfortunately it was just an added flavour. The same shell which pops in your mouth when you suck on it and the yummy chocolate in the centre but in this case it was just a subtle added coconut flavour.

We had 3 testers in our house, my husband, myself and our daughter who is 3.

The verdicts:
My husband really did not enjoy them. I did not tell him what flavour it was and he guessed straight away but he believes coconut and chocolate do not mix at all.
My daughter loved them.
I myself really enjoyed them. I liked the coconut flavour and could quite easily eat a packet of these.

However, if I had a choice I would stick to the original Peanut flavour or chocolate flavour. I feel it could have been stronger or maybe had the flakey texture instead of just the chocolate having a tinge of coconut.

I would not rush out to buy these but saying that I could eat them again.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was very excited to be chosen to review these - after all - chocolate anything and coconut.... YUM!!!!

The packaging is easy to open - as with all the M&M's packets - and I like the colours chosen - green, brown and white mostly - reminds me of the coconut tree! Very nice touch to a yummy sweet already!

The M&M's themselves appear bigger than what I remember from other packets, but then I could just be used to eating the mini's, as they are my daughters favourites!

I was not quite sure what to expect with this - was thinking it might be a bit like a bounty bar, or other coconut chocolate in it - so was a little disappointed it was only flavouring, and it was not very strong either, which I was disappointed with.

I did really enjoy taste testing them, and would definitely eat them again, but would prefer to stick to coconut chocolate that has actual coconut in it. I do not think i would go out of my way to buy them/track them down - did not like them that much.

I do think Mars/M&M's did well with this attempt though - and they are quite well presented, thought out and made - with the colours etc.

Click here to read the profile of mello5

Review by: mello5 (Mel)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

The first thing I noticed was the packaging, I really liked the look of the packet and the drawing on it, I thought having the green, brown and white was very coconut~like. Then when i ripped open the packet i noticed it is made from more like paper than plastic packaging, I quite liked that for a novelty factor.

i was super excited about trying these, but was actually a bit disappointed with the coconut taste, it was really artificial. They were sort of like the plain M&Ms but with an artificial coconut flavour for me. I did like how they were only in green, white and brown colours with wee tropical pictures on them, I did think that was a nice touch.

Maybe the disappointment was my own fault as I was expecting more of a coconut rough type M&M, maybe with some small chunks, but these were smooth and creamy milk chocolate. I think they looked larger than a plain M&M, but not sure as I didn't have any to compare too. I would not buy them again, but that is just my opinion. I think if you like them though they are good value for money. The bag is just the right size for a good snack.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 19th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Not been a huge fan of coconut, I decided to be nice and share with the other two adults in the house. The stand out, easy opening packet makes the Coconut M&Ms very appealing.

We decided that each of the three colours had a slightly different taste, the white being the the tastier of the three. The creamy melt in the mouth chocolate was very easy to consume. The size was a nice surprise but seemed to mean there was less in the packet, to our disappointment.

An overall vote decided we probably won't buy these unless for baking or to add into a party bowl of M&Ms.

Click here to read the profile of gorilla

Review by: gorilla (Indira)
Dated: 18th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have always liked coconut and chocolate and when i found out about Coconut M&Ms I thought "yum".

The packet size was good, I could pick up and go, and they were easy to open. If you opened then just in the corner they would not fall out of the packet and you could eat them all.

The M&Ms had very good coconut flavour and with the chocolate I liked it very much . The colour put me off. Brown put me off but I thought of the product and thought of the coconut and now i can see where the colour choices came from. The fact there was no actual coconut did not put me off.

Because of the cost and nutrition of the product it is something that is a sometime treat.

Click here to read the profile of tigerlilynz

Review by: tigerlilynz (Mellissa)
Dated: 17th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We were very excited when these arrived in the post this morning. As a family of 6 people you can imagine one packet doesn't go very far tho but we all tried the Coconut M&Ms and our family review by consensus is the following.

The packaging was plain and simple yet it was eye catching.... hence the name coconut. Having an easy to open packaging is the best for little hands as our 3yr and our 4yr daughter found. Having plain simple colours of the candy of brown green and white, our oldest son said it would look like a coconut tree on a beach.

The taste test is always the favourite in our house! We were all expecting it to be grainy, but it was so smooth.Have you tried coconut rough before? Well we found the taste to be a lot like a piece of coconut rough but with a crispy crunchy shell on it. The great thing was the coconut was only flavouring so no pieces of coconut left in our teeth! Our son who has autism enjoyed them as a nice treat as well.

Our family loved this product and will definitely look for in the shops!!

ADMIN NOTE: The best way to purchase these is via the United Sweets of NZ webstore - See their website for details.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These arrived in the post today and, after being opened, lasted mere seconds. I think the wrapper was still falling to the floor as the last M&M was heading past teeth. This is the reason I don't normally open review parcels when I have some of the younger whanau around for a visit.

Everyone agreed these were pretty nice. Plenty of flavour, but it tasted a little too artificial to be totally appealing, and the lack of genuine coconut in the filling was disappointing. I managed to save some, and used them to decorate the top of some coconut muffins we made later in the day and they were just perfect for that.

These looked bigger than the regular M&Ms so I am not sure if the regular we get here are smaller or I am too used to the mini M&Ms, but I do note that 3 or 4 make for a nice crunchy treat. The bag is quite small for the price, so I wouldn't class them as great value for money, but taking into account they are shipped in from the US and are not available any other way here, the price is reasonably fair for what you get.

All in all, I thought these were pretty good treats, the pack was much easier to open than the tougher plastic packs we get here, and I loved the cute little icons on them. If you had enough, you could make a fun game out of it for the kids by hiding a small number of these in a larger bowl of regular M&Ms and make the kids find them. Whoever find the most, gets a treat or something. It's a shame we can't buy these in stores, but at least we can now get them through the USoNZ website.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 17th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I don't know what M&M means to you but to me it means More & More, M&M's have to be one of my favorite sweets. I have tried them before I was offered the chance to review them & to be honest I had never seen the cute pictures of the Palm Trees, Coconuts etc on them. One thing I really loved was the way the packet opened easily, this is due to it being part paper (on the inside). For people like me who have problems with hands and find it impossible to open normal packets it will be great.

I found these Coconut M&M soooooooo yummy, I would have loved the packet to keep refilling so i could keep eating them. They reminded me of a Coconut cocktail. They have that smooth chocolate taste I associate with M&M's, mixed with an amazing Coconut taste, that hits your mouth from the first bite plus they are topped with that great M&M shell. I expected them to be sweet, but I found the opposite. I will defiantly be getting these again, whether it be by mail order or in a shop. I am lucky enough to be able to get them in town, but as I only go once a week, I will have to make them last.

Click here to read the profile of mickysue

Review by: mickysue (Heather)
Dated: 15th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

It was with interest and anticipation that I opened the packet to taste test the M&M's coconut creation. The packaging itself was easy to open... the wrapping tore apart easily. Inside the packet were M&M's that were larger in size than the plain M&M's we usually buy. Additionally, the traditional multi coloured candy is replaced with just three colours in this pack ~ brown, green and white ~ the colours most often associated with coconuts.

As I bit into the candy I expected to feel tiny bits of coconut mixed into the chocolate so was surprised to find the chocolate smooth. The coconut flavour was weaker than I expected it to be and this was a disappointment to me. I found the chocolate to be too sweet for me so overeating these M&M's was not a problem personally, but my sweet tooth daughter hooked into them!

Overall, I enjoyed tasting them but wouldn't rush out and buy them. If you want a "real coconut" flavoured chocolate you might not get what you desire in this candy.

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 15th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I've been excited about this flavor arriving in NZ for sometime now.

My first thoughts when opening the package is that that the packaging screams coconut, it reminds me of the islands and the coconut tree.

I as surprised at how big the M&Ms were once opening the packet - although there seemed to be less in the packet than normal ones so I guess it balances out.

Coconut is my favorite as far as flavorings go - Bounty Bar and anything Coconut Rough are often seen being devoured in our house. However I was very disappointed in these, I felt they tasted fake (and I guess that is what you get when you use a flavoring) and left me not wanting more. The rest of my family also felt the same way.

I definitely won't be purchasing these or recommending I think Mars could go a long way to improve them - will stick with the Peanut Butter variety :)

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 12th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We were very excited when these arrived in the post this morning. As a family of 6 people you can imagine one packet doesn't go very far tho but we all tried the Coconut M&Ms and our family review by consensus is the following.

The packaging was plain and simple with the main colouring being white... hence the name coconut. Having an easy to open packaging is the best for little hands as our 3yr old son found. Having plain simple colours of the candy of brown green and white, our children said it would look like a coconut tree on a beach.

The taste test is always the favourite in our house! Have you tried coconut rough before? Well we found the taste to be a lot like a piece of coconut rough but with a crispy crunchy shell on it. The great thing was the coconut was only flavouring so no pieces of coconut left in our teeth!

Our family loved this product and will definitely look for in the shops!!

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 11th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These coconut flavoured M&Ms have been around for a while, but usually could only be found in strange dairys that had imported lollies. I once got some in such a place in Wellington and from memory they cost me a fair bit of money.

But hopefully the plan is to make them more main stream, alongside the other standard flavours we have come to know and like.

Now if you aren't a coconut kinda person, then you probably won't like these much, I am like that with celery, NEVER EVER offer me celery.

But back to the product, Mars have been a bit clever and only made them in green brown and white, the colours of coconuts, they are also slightly larger than the normal ones, which might be due to a different market, or due to a manufacturing process. Either way, it feels like you are getting more M&M goodness in each one.

Now the flavour is artificial, no real coconuts were harmed in the making of these, but that is something I expected for a product like this. I liked the taste, and would get them again, but probably wouldn't be my first choice in M&Ms.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 9th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Besides peanut and now peanut butter M&Ms, Bounty bars are one of my all time favourite chocolate treats, so these coconut M&Ms had stiff competition.

I love the packaging! It really catches the eye which will be very handy on the supermarket shelves. Like the peanut butter pack it's easy to open.

I like how they are bigger in size than the usual M&Ms, makes it feel like you are having a special treat.

I was unsure to begin with, I was expecting real coconut, instead it was just coconut flavouring which tasted quite fake to me. After a few more the taste grew on me. My family were of similar thoughts as mine.

I wouldn't say that I will be rushing out and buying more in a hurry but I will occasionally. I may use some in baking next time

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 7th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

These were quiet strong in the coconut flavour and having more than two at a time we found was too much. I think mixed in with other flavours of m&ms they would be good - or in baking also. My 3 year old and my partner also tried these and i didn't receive much of a reaction apart from 'these are a bit odd'.

I like the size of the american m&ms (the peanut ones are the larger size too) - you feel like you're getting a good bite of 'treat' with just one. The packaging is really attractive and i thought it was awesome that the only colours were green, brown and white - coconut colours! Very clever.

Overall i wouldn't buy these again for myself or my family, although they were not revolting - they were not amazing. These sit in the "some where in between" category!

Click here to read the profile of johnrambo

Review by: johnrambo (John)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Recently having the pleasure of reviewing the coconut flavoured M&Ms, as a chocolate lover, here's what I found:

Packaging: White coloured package in a nice modern attractive design. Easy to open.

Taste: The ultimate consideration when buying chocolate. In my opinion these coconut flavoured M&Ms left me wanting a bit more. The coconut flavour wasn't very evident. I tried sucking on them and melting them down a bit more, biting off half of them, even trying more than one at a time (shock, horror!).

Who you should buy these coconut flavoured M&Ms for? Worth buying for any coconut lovers or chocolate lovers. They would be nice as something different on a gingerbread man or with some ice-cream.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had been looking forward to trying the coconut m&ms as I love coconut. I had thought that it would real bits of coconut, like a coconut rough. It was a surprise to bite into a piece to find it had a smooth texture. On reading the packet I discovered it contained no coconut.

Although it wasn't as I expected I loved the taste. It had a lovely lingering coconut taste which wasn't overpowering. After sharing them with my husband he asked me what flavour they were. For him there wasn't a distinctive coconut taste. Perhaps for me, because I had seen the packet, the coconut taste was more obvious (we will never know).

The packet only contained three colours: green, brown and white which I am assuming the manufacturers selected as these are the colours of a real coconut. The m&ms were larger than the plain m&ms not that I was complaining about it.

I would suggest people that don't usually like coconut try these. You won't have pieces of coconut stuck between your teeth and you will probably be pleasantly surprised.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 31st of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was very excited to be chosen as a taster and reviewer for both of these items, and was told i had a week to write my review, well i have to say in a household of four people neither of these packets lasted long and so here i am.

Firstly the packaging, nice and easy to open with a tear strip, top points for that. The packaging did attract me as i have not seen those colours in any M & M packaging before, so if i had seen it available in the supermarket i would be drawn to it.

I loved the colours of green brown and white, would look great in a bowl or made up in to gift packets, again top points for that.

Now to the taste, i am a huge coconut fan, however i found the taste a bit on the bland side, nice crunchy crisp outside shell, as with most M& M'S, if you sucked on them rather than bite in to them, the coconut flavour was much stronger and more pleasant

However i did not really find they left a nice pleasant after taste as with most chocolate products, so was quite disappointed.

I found these to be just average in taste and texture and probably would prefer another confectionery with coconut than these.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Like a bag full of crispy miniature Bounty Bars for Smurfs, these are something quite different for the NZ market. I can see them being quite an acquired taste - as there isn't much in the way of coconut flavour - but for those who find themselves wanting something coconutty that they can store in their pocket as they walk, these are the perfect little treat.

From the outside, they look pretty much like your usual, run of the mill M&M, except they are slightly larger I think, and some of them have extra little 'icons' on them with the 'm'. You may also notice, they are all either green, white or brown. These would be fun to mix into a huge bowl with a variety of other flavours, just to add something tropical to the mix.

Overall, these are a yummy little snack treat.Though the coconut flavour is artificial, and thus there are none of those yummy little chewy coconut strands, this can be a blessing to those with dentures or significant gaps in their teeth. Nothing worse than a yummy treat that takes 30 seconds to eat, and 15 minutes with floss and toothpicks to clean up.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Okay, first thing I want to say is that I don't think that this is the best flavour of M&Ms I've had. It wasn't as nice as the peanut butter ones, it was rather bland, and the chocolate and coconut just didn't go together. I'm not saying that it was so horrible I would never even think about having another packet, you have to understand, it's just that I'm not the one for this type of flavour.

I had a packet of these straight after I had the Peanut butter flavour, so their was a good comparison between the two. The price is good, it is suitable for a 42.5 gram packet, and I wouldn't be surprised if I go to the movies one day and see a pile of coconut M&Ms in stock!

The taste wasn't as bad after a while as it was at first, so i think that most of the disliking of the flavour was simply the fact that it was something that I had never tried before, so maybe if you try some, you might like it better than I did. All things considered, this is an okay product, hope you like it.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I got a packet of Coconut M&Ms in the mail today. I have been dying to try these since I saw them on the United Sweets of New Zealand website. My favourite chocolate bars in the world are Bounty and Cherry Ripe, both of which feature delicious coconut. My favourite alcoholic drink is Malibu. I usually get a coconut flavoured shower gel too. Basically what I'm saying is, I love coconut a LOT.

I ripped into the packet and found that it was very easy to get into. More like a papery plastic, than the original packets you get at the supermarket which tend to stretch before they break open.

The candy is a little larger than your original M&M, and come in green, brown and white which definitely makes me think of coconuts. I asked my daughter if she wanted some and she almost jumped right through the floor with excitement. We also had a house full of people so I decided to give everyone a try. My daughter loved these and pulled them to pieces to make them last longer.

Not many of our friends (who were visiting) are big coconut fans. But none of them said they tasted bad. The feedback ranged from "yum, I could easily eat a whole packet", to "I usually hate coconut but these aren't bad, not too overpowering". The coconut taste is very subtle, and I didnt really taste it on first crunch. But once I chewed on the M&Ms for a wee while, the flavour emerged. There are no coconut bits either which my less coconut-inclined friends really liked.

They are delicious and I would definitely purchase these in future. The price is a bit high, but these are pretty special and not your ordinary M&Ms. I think a bigger packet might be in order as the greedy people left me with hardly any after they all tried them.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Well to be fair to the poor coconut M&M's Miss 5 and Miss 3 liked these better than the peanut butter M&M's so we traded all the coconut ones I didn't want for the peanut butter ones which I love - but more about that in their review Smile Icon.

There were 26 little balls of artificialness in this bag. I am an avid lover of chocolate and coconut but these fell well short of my expectations. These contain no real coconut so the coconut taste is totally from flavourings which is very strong and artificial. These contain 10 artificial colours (to make green, brown and white). On the plus side these do not have palm oil in them using corn syrup instead. The coconut M&M's are slightly smaller in diameter but rounder than normal M&M's .

I wouldn't buy these coconut flavoured M&M's again and would use my 80 calories on something much yummier!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.7
Product reviews for listing 4404: Mexican Crispy Chicken Seasoning 35g -  Brand / Manufacturer : Old El Paso

Product image for Mexican Crispy Chicken Seasoning 35gA delicious blend of Mexican spices, pinto beans and capsicum making the perfect rub for chicken, pork and lamb burritos.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream