Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 13th November 2019 - 12:09:25

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Pop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores review

« Pop Tarts - Frosted Cherry reviewPop Tarts - Frosted CherryThe Infinity Ring - 1 - A Mutiny in Time reviewThe Infinity Ring - 1 - A Mutiny in Time »

Score: 8.0/10  [15 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3428 - Pop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores
Brand / Manufactured by: Kellog

Pop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores
Price:
$2.99 per 2-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Pop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores product reviews

Chocolate and marshmallow filling camped out inside a chocolate-frosted graham cracker crust. Odds are, they're tastiest toasted.

Pop-Tarts are fully baked and ready to eat straight from the pouch, but if you prefer a warm snack, you can pop them in your toaster or microwave. Perfect for those cold Winter mornings!

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
american   chocolate   marshmallow   pastry   poptarts   smores   snack
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pop Tarts - Frosted CherryPop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Rating: 7.2
Kaweka - JambalayaKaweka - Jambalaya
Rating: 8.0
Riverview Buffet Restaurant & Bar - Oxford On AvonRiverview Buffet Restaurant & Bar - Oxford On Avon
Rating: 6.0
Giapo GelatteriaGiapo Gelatteria
Rating: 9.8
Jelly Belly Smoothie BlendJelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Rating: 8.2
Three Minute Mug CakeThree Minute Mug Cake
Rating: 9.8
Mediterranean Chunky Dip Roasted CapsicumMediterranean Chunky Dip Roasted Capsicum
Rating: 9.9
Indian Creations: Tikka MasalaIndian Creations: Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.7
Meyer AmsterdammerMeyer Amsterdammer
Rating: 9.0
Edmonds Red Velvet CupcakesEdmonds Red Velvet Cupcakes
Rating: 8.0
Watties Bit on the Side - Onion MarmaladeWatties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Rating: 9.8
L'Authentique All Natural Cracked Pepper PateL'Authentique All Natural Cracked Pepper Pate
Rating: 9.8
In-Salt - Rosemary and LemonIn-Salt - Rosemary and Lemon
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 9th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

S'Mores pop tarts are amazing! My kids are addicted to S'Mores. It is like some really bad addiction that whenever there is marshmallows in the house they 'must make' S'Mores. And if we do not have everything needed to make them then they improvise, and come up with some crazy S'Mores creation that brings them total happiness for about 2 minutes lol

So, imagine how excited they were when one day my order from Mighty Ape arrived and inside was S'Mores Pop tarts. Can life get any better? Can mum be any cooler? (yes she can be lol). Honestly, it was like Christmas. Which also meant there was no time to waste. No waiting until tomorrow breakfast time to crack these babies open and get them in their bellies lol No they could not wait for after dinner. This had to happen and it had to happen right now.

Pop tarts can be eaten as is straight from the packet or heated. I find some flavours are best cold while others heating them up brings the flavours together more and is a much better option. The S'Mores ones are in my opinion ones that need heating. Although, my daughter said she preferred them cold. The only thing with heating them is that they are seriously hot. Like the heat up super super fast, and if they have a frosting on the outside that gets really hot and can burn, so you do need to be careful or make sure an adult can help you.

Are they yummy? Oh yes they are, is 2 per packet enough? Possibly not, 3 seems a really good number, but hey that is me just being a bit of a guts lol These lasted a day and a half at my house. By the time they all had to taste them (and me too), then have them for breakfast, then for school lunch, they were gone...but that wont stop me from buying them. Seriously guys, worth every cent! *yes I do whinge a little about the price though*

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 1st of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 4 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Do you like campfires and making S'mores?? Well this is the alternative product for you! This S'more Poptart is just your normal square pastry treat with chocolate frosting on top with a filling of chocolate and marshmellow. For this review I put one in the microwave, and what a fail that was, due to their being no cooking instructions on the packaging I had over cooked it.

The second one. I left on it is own. This unheated one, however, was far more delicious. The inside texture was now delicious and warm as well as perfectly gooey, and the flavors of the marshmallow and chocolate blended much better yielding a far more impressive product. The crust and icing are both crispy and mix fantastically with the gooey mix in the middle.

Overall, S'mores Pop-Tarts are very average and aren't memorable at all. If eaten straight out of the package, the product has a very powerful chocolate prominence that offsets any traces of marshmallow at all. Once toasted, however, these Pop-Tarts are much tastier, have a better texture, and are far more satisfying.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 18th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Firstly, I've got a bit of a confession to make. I popped the tarts into my bag to take to work to trial, as, a. I didn't want to ruin my toaster and b. if they were disgusting I had a few other people to taste test too.
I went to work, and back home and back to work etc etc until I remembered the tarts! To be fair I wasn't going to put those crumbs into anyones toaster, so I settled for just tasting!
The biscuity outer was really crumbly and buttery, like a good shortbread. The chocolate was delish and the marshmallow had tried it's best to keep the whole thing together, (didn't work) but was also very tasty.
I don't think I'd ever put one of these in the toaster and the microwave didn't seem ideal either. I also would never consider one of these for breakfast. But as an afternoon snack with a cup of tea, maybe, just the price and additives would put me off.
These would have to be a very special treat, but if someone bought me another, I would definitely eat it! I've never had a S'more before, even though I have heard of them, and I have to say I like them!

Click here to read the profile of chugga

Review by: chugga (Yolande)
Dated: 11th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I found the packaging difficult to read and thought we were having Apricot Pop-Tarts! I popped one in the microwave and got ready to determine if it tasted like apricot or not.

It didn't! Instead through the biscuity crust emerged the distinct taste of chocolate. I didn't need to be invited to take another bite "Mmmmmmmmmmmm chocolate and, what is that taste? Cream? .... ah well who cares what its meant to be it tastes delicious!"

A morning food? No not in our house - but as an occasional treat after an evening meal for sure. My grandson concurs - indeed I warmed his up and gave it to him (having learned from prior experience to make sure I get a decent amount to try for myself) he munched his way through it and asked where his other one is. Well, the lad was less than impressed to learn that I had eaten "his" Pop-Tart!

I would actually consider ordering these, although I would probably need to hide them in the closet or something if I wanted any at all for myself.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 28th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I received a twin pack of these to review ... on the foil package it says not to microwave in the packaging, but from my memory as a child we put them in the toaster not the microwave, i was set on using the toaster until i opened and seen the icing on the top. After a debate between myself and my partner we chose to play it safe and use the microwave.

I microwaved both tarts together for 30 seconds and they came out warm. I was expecting these to be amazing, but when i took my first bite (I had to use a fork as it was really crumbly, i couldn't just pick it up and eat like you would presume) it was pretty dry.

The marshmallow wasn't as fluffy as i had thought and overall it was a pretty sweet biscuity thing. I do think this would of been nice mixed with some vanilla ice cream, but alas there were only two! My partner really liked his and was super keen to try the cherry ones. When i asked him what he thought. He described it as 'succulent'!

I think that the price is ok as its an American product, although i know that this isnt something i would go and order off the website on its own.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 1st of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After the slightly disappointing taste test of the cherry pop tarts I was more than ready for my tastebuds to be avenged with what promised to be an exquisite taste, I mean chocolate and marshmellow, you just can't go wrong with this combination, just ask Griffins biscuits and their delightful Mellowpuffs.... But I digress.

So I whipped one of these little bundles out of the packet and into the toaster, after the excruciating wait for the toaster to pop I was rewarded with the most wonderful smell, the smell of warm chocolate and mashmellow, what an aromatic sensation. I was then ready for the taste test and what a test it was, the chocolate was of just the right texture, the marshmellow was supurb and the chocolate frosted graham cracker crust was just the right level of crunchiness without being overly crunchy, which was good as i'm sure this would have ruined the overall sensation of these wonderful little snacks.

These are now one of my favourite snacks, and I can see us ordering more from the online store, well at least until they open up an outlet down Wellington way...

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 30th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

this was amazing. one bite and i wanted to eat both of them in seconds but where is the fun in that. after taking a bite out of the first one i toasted it and that just made it ten times better because it turned the filling all nice and gooey. the second one i tried the same trick as the cherry ones by chopping it up into bits and microwaving it the plumping some french vanilla ice cream on top. this time though i threw on a handful of fruit jelly jubes chopped into tiny bits. if heaven has a dessert bar this is what i want to see on it or i will turn around and head back. LOL Icon these are a bit thinner and shorter on filling than i expected and i wouldnt pay this price for a local product but since this is an imported luxury snack the price is fair if you really want to try these. if you like a total sugar hit then you do want to try these. i will certainly be placing an order on the united sweets website to try some other flavours too because these were just amazing.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 24th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Watching American shows you always hear about S'mores and while working in the States I did the marshmallows over the fire between two biscuits so was expecting them to be a lot like how I remembered.

I am a huge Marshmallow and Chocolate fan. As soon as I opened the packet I nibbled on the corner and found the chocolate and marshmallow inside which I found to taste like a home cooked biscuit so decided to heat in the toaster to try and melt together.

As soon as the toaster popped I put it into my mouth - big mistake was burning and so had to wait for them to cool down. My two daughters were dying to try some so it seemed like forever before they were cool enough to eat.

Cutting the Pop Tart in half all you see is white and black (marshmallow and chocolate) and you expect your taste buds to have a taste sensation but it was like a museli bar just crumbly biscuit.

I was expecting the marshmallow and chocolate to be overpowering as they looked so scrumming but I honestly found it rather bland. I did enjoy them but I was disappointed in the taste as I was expecting the flavour to be stronger. Also I think after a while they would become rather sickening as they were very sweet. Its not an overpowering sweet taste as the Pop Tarts are rather skinny/flat but I could not eat two by myself.

Both of my girls loved them and wanted more and in the end I was fighting my three year old to eat the last one.

I think the price is very reasonable and would buy on special occasions.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 18th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I always marvel how the mokopuna always seem to want to come sped some time with their old Koro after they see the courier van leaving a KIWIreviews parcel with me. Anyone would think they love to help me test new products, eh. Wink Icon It was the same again when these arrived the other day. As usual, I count myself lucky to have gotten any to try at all, but in this case I am not too upset at not getting a bigger piece to try as I found it was very sweet. Almost too sweet for my tastes.

Many years ago when I wore a younger man's shoes, I had a short stay in America between tours and remember pop tarts being one of those American snacks you just can't avoid trying at least once. I don't recall the flavour now, but I do suspect they used to be a lot thicker with more filling in them. These ones seemed to me to be a bit thinner than ideal.

I don't think I would pay the going price, $2 would be about as far as I would go really, and for this flavour, even that might not be tempting enough, but I see so many other flavours on the United Sweets website, I suspect that very soon I will have another parcel arriving, and a crowd of kids around me soon after. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 14th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We put our S'mores Pop Tarts in the microwave as I wasn't sure if the chocolate outer would melt and ruin our toaster. No chance of that I suspect as these babies are about as fake as you can get! Thankfully I just had the foil wrapped packet so have no idea what the ingredients are. I imagine they have a fair bit of sugar and artificialness in them but to be honest they are so good you have to excuse that they aren't a "healthy" food group.

Warmed up, these are incredibly moorish and it was hard to share them. The inner was incredibly gooey and sweet ( I probably over heated them a little) and just divine. Although I am sure they must have lots of bad stuff in them they don't taste artificial and left a lovely taste in my mouth for ages afterwards. For what these are they are YUMMY and I would definitely be popping in to my local outlet to check out United Sweets and find out what other yummy items they have in stock and buy this flavoured Pop Tart again. The family enjoyed their little pieces and will I am sure be clamouring to try our next sample of cherry flavoured Pop Tarts.

Thanks United Sweets of New Zealand!!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 13th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've been watching a lot of foodie shows of late, preparing for Summer and the chance to invite some people over to be test-subjects... erm, to help me test some of my experimental food ideas. One of the most inspirational chefs I have ever come across is Heston Blumenthal. Because of his influence, when it came to doing something with these poptarts, I didn't want to just toast them and scoff them down. I wanted to try something different... so I did.

Heston does a really interesting new take on Tiramisu - a dish I am usually prone to avoid like the plague due to my utter dislike for anything remotely coffee-related. But it was the perfect dish for these, so I adapted his adaptation a little... using some whipping cream, Tatuta Mascarpone and replacing the coffee with a dark drinking chocolate mix of my own recipe, I gave it a whirl.

The original idea was to use the poptarts instead of the coffee-soaked sponge fingers, but to be honest the idea of drowning these in liquid just didn't seem right, so instead I used them as a layer between the drinking-chocolate-soaked sponge cake that I had popped in the oven to dry out a bit, and the layer of cream made with some whipping cream, mascarpone and a touch of icing sugar.

Layering was interesting to plan out, but I ended up placing these layers in this order, from bottom to top: Spongecake soaked in rich drinking chocolate, strawberry poptart, cream, chocolate disk, cream, strawberry poptart, cream and a sprinkle of finely grated dark chocolate mixed with a pinch of finely ground sea salt. (Yes, another Heston trick that really, REALLY works!) Topped with a sprig of fresh spearmint and a small squirt of Barker's Lemon and Passionfruit Patisserie Filling, this looked amazing, tasted stunning, and is something I plan to make more of!

Unfortunately, I couldn't include a photo here, because my camera had low batteries and the files got corrupted when being written onto the card. By the time I discovered this, the goodies were all gone and I didn't have enough ingredients left to make more - I dearly wish I had! Other than that, it was tricky in places, but so very worth the effort! However, unlike the Frosted Cherry poptarts these turned out to be just too rich to really work in this dish, which is rich in and of itself, relying as it does on the bitterness of the coffee to offset the sweetness of the chocolate and cream mixture. If I get the chance to play with them again in future, I think I will try something a bit more citrus-based, maybe using these as the bases for a lemon tart or orange zest custard square.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I shared my s'mores pop tarts with my 5 year old daughter. She is a huge fan of marshmallow and chocolate. And because she watches a lot of American TV she is well aware of graham crackers and s'mores. But she had never had the pleasure of trying them before.

She was a little hesitant at first, because it looked like plain biscuit with a milk chocolate frosting outer. However once I convinced her to bite into the tart, she was hooked on that choc mallow taste.

She quickly ate the pop tart which crumbled in her hands because of the speed she was pushing it in. I had one as well, which was delicious. We didn't bother to heat them. They would have been beautiful hot and melty. But they were just as nice cold. My daughter was satisfied with one, and it left her feeling full for the morning.

These would be an amazing treat to take camping. The packaging is easy to open, but keeps the pop tart foil fresh too.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 7th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I wasn't too sure what I would think of this when it arrived in the post, simply because I'm not a big marshmallow person, I was nicely surprised at first as it was a good ratio of marshmallow to chocolate.

My husband and I split the first one. He gobbled his down and promptly requested more. I took my time with my half as I did find that it got rather sweet after just a few mouthfuls, aside from that though, it has a great taste and certainly would give a great sugar rush in the morning.

For the 2nd piece I opted to cut it into four pieces and turn it into mini ice-cream sandwiches. Because it ended up being rather small pieces, not much ice-cream was needed and so it made a nice sized treat, sugar overload but just the right amount of everything.

I would get this one again, simply so that hubby could have this one and I could have the cherry to myself.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 4th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had seen pop tarts on American TV but had never tried them. When KIWIreviews had these available for review I put my hand up. The Frosted S'Mores variety appealed to me as I love s'mores. It is a layer of graham cracker, marshmallow and chocolate, another graham cracker layer and topped with marshmallow and chocolate. It tastes as delicious as it sounds.

I toasted one of the Pop Tarts and cut it into thirds to share with my 2 year old and 3 1/2 year old taste testers. We all loved it. The children were very quiet until they had finished their piece. "Yum," they both said and asked for more. When toasted it is warm, the cracker layers are crisper and the marshmallow is runny. I think it would be wonderful warm topped with ice cream.

I savoured the other Pop Tart for myself once the others were in bed. I had this at room temperature. It was a lovely treat and a satisfying sized portion. It would be great in the lunchbox.

Having sampled a couple of the Pop Tart varieties I am now keen to try more. They aren't cheap but certainly cheaper than buying a slice or similar treat.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay, out of the two flavours of pop tarts we got, this is my favourite flavour! I don't think I have ever tried smores before, so now I can enjoy the same tastes in this tart with the frosting as a bonus! The tarts were of decent size, they fit in the toaster well, but I forgot to try one of the tarts in the toaster so I can't give you that info. I was glad that there were two tarts in a packet, they are of the right size and shape that you could fit them in your pocket (depends on pocket size though) and carry them with you to lunch.

The taste was good, there was a combination of the sugary taste from the frosting, the gooey sensation of the marshmallow inside, and the crunchy feeling from the cracker, plus there was a faint zingy sensation, similar to the sensation on the tongue you get when you eat spicy food, but the origins of this taste were unknown to me, so you have a mystery ingredient in the tart that makes it just that little bit more enjoyable.

I think that the price is good, it is almost the same price as a 42.5g bag of M&Ms with a difference of 50 cents! All in all, I enjoyed this product and am now craving another pack of these babies as I write this review... Enjoy!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 4393: Cadbury Honeycomb Fingers -  Brand: Cadbury

Product image for Cadbury Honeycomb FingersCadbury Chocolate Biscuits Fingers in Honeycomb flavour.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are flat?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream