Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 23rd October 2019 - 12:48:34

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Drama > The Hunger Games review

« The History Keepers 1 - The Storm Begins reviewThe History Keepers 1 - The Storm BeginsThomas and Friends - Series 12 reviewThomas and Friends - Series 12 »

Score: 8.8/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3294 - The Hunger Games
Directed by Gary Ross

The Hunger Games
Price:
$39.99 (DVD)
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Roadshow (NZ) Ltd

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
on DVD and Blu-Ray from August 2012

The Hunger Games product reviews

Every year in the ruins of what was once North America, the evil Capitol of the nation of Panem forces each of its twelve districts to send a teenage boy and girl to compete in the Hunger Games. A twisted punishment for a past uprising and an ongoing government intimidation tactic, The Hunger Games are a nationally televised event in which "Tributes" must fight with one another until one survivor remains.

Pitted against highly-trained Tributes who have prepared for these Games their entire lives, Katniss is forced to rely upon her sharp instincts as well as the mentorship of drunken former victor Haymitch Abernathy. If she's ever to return home to District 12, Katniss must make impossible choices in the arena that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Check out Roadshow (NZ) Ltd onlineClick here to see all the listings for Roadshow (NZ) Ltd Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bluray   donald sutherland   dvd   elizabeth banks   gary ross   hunger games   jennifer lawrence   josh hutcherson   lenny kravitz   liam hensworth   scholastic   stanley tucci   suzanne collins   woody harrelson
Other listings you may be interested in:
Born Racer: The Scott Dixon StoryBorn Racer: The Scott Dixon Story
Rating: 7.3
TangledTangled
Rating: 10.0
The HelpThe Help
Rating: 9.4
Eight Legged FreaksEight Legged Freaks
Rating: 5.3
Tinker Bell and the Lost TreasureTinker Bell and the Lost Treasure
Rating: 10.0
Maze Runner: The Death CureMaze Runner: The Death Cure
Rating: 9.3
Creed IICreed II
Rating: 9.0
Love, SimonLove, Simon
Rating: 9.0
CasperCasper
Rating: 9.1
Surfer, DudeSurfer, Dude
Rating: 5.8
WildWild
Rating: 9.3
JumanjiJumanji
Rating: 8.3
ChatroomChatroom
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 20th of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The Hunger Games is part of one the genres that I enjoy the most. I have no idea why but I delight in fictional movies about the commercialization and extreme potentials of reality television. such previous examples are 'Death Race', 'The Condemned', and 'Gamer', where criminals take part in a deadly game to fight for a chance for freedom. The Hunger Games provides a similar storyline, but has less of an over-the-top masculine action theme.

The Hunger Games instead focuses more on the relationships between the characters. While there is certainly a large amount of death and destruction in an environment controlled by officials, there is more value placed on the lives in this film. I suppose the main difference between this film and the others is the fact that Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence) volunteers for the game, allowing a larger number of people to empathise with the protagonist.

Jennifer Lawrence was a good choice in casting in my opinion. Considering the environment, she gives off a young "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider" vibe, and is very pleasing to the eye. Woody Harrelson (who plays Haymitch Abernathy) on the other hand, was not very enjoyable, standoffish, and serves very little function in this first installment of the film series.

I haven't read the books, so I cannot talk about whether the films are accurate to the original storyline, but I can say the effects were rather well done. The CGI was believable right up until the end, even though you could tell what was fabricated. Though the final 'monsters' were rather unconvincing.

It works well as a standalone film. You empathise with the protagonists, you hate the antagonists, and it has a fitting ending to an otherwise barbaric premise. The lies and deception were an interesting thing to come across, and the unrequited love bit was more fitting than the usual love story. So it kept my interest. It certainly wasn't as action-packed or gory as I had hoped, but when you think about the idea of giving weapons to children, well it isn't really going to be much of a fight anyway

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 2nd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Hunger Games didn't seem like my type of movie but after hearing so much about it I just recently decided that I was going to have to give it a go and watch it just to see what the hype was all about. I now wish I had of seen it a lot sooner as I really enjoyed it.

Right from the start I was hooked and was drawn into the movies. the characters all had something about them that made you connect with them. Within the first half and hour you were cheering for the good guys, feeling every emotion they were experiencing and crossing your fingers they would come out the other side of the games unharmed. Feelings were just the same for the evil characters of the movie you were sitting there just waiting for them to come to harm. When the movie finished I was left wanting to know more and I really wanted to rush out and hire out the second movie in the series.

I think The Hunger Games is one of the most see movies even if your not into drama/fantasy style movies. It will have anyone on their edge of the seat it's so well done you can't help but fall in love with the main characters. I think I may need to add the books to my must read list as well.

Click here to read the profile of reba10396

Review by: reba10396 (Rebecca)
Dated: 8th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 6 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have recently watched this movie and thought that it was very good and has stuck mostly to what Suzanne Collins has wrote in her book, It is one of the movies that you may want to watch again or a once off movie but it still a really good movie. I would recommend this movie to people that like Drama and Action movies as in The Hunger Games it is both Drama and Action and keeps you wanting to know more about what is going to happen in the next movie.

I personally would like to own this movie as I would watch it over and over again. With this movie you would have to be one of these people that can tolerate seeing people Injured, Bleeding and Dying as in this movie there is a lot of Killing but the injuries and bleeding in this movies are tolerable enough to make sure you are able to keep watching.

I wouldn't recommend people under the age of 12 watch this movie as it does get very violent throughout this movie and would not be suitable for them to watch this type of movie. This movie I can guarantee will have you at the edge of this seat throughout the movie wanting to know more.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 10th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My husband and I went to see this when it came out at the cinemas. We were both a bit unsure about what to expect as we felt that the trailer that we had seen didn't really tell you much at all. (The trailer above I hadn't seen till today, and may have put me off the movie).

I found it really easy to get into, despite not knowing much about what to expect, and after just a couple of minutes I was fully hooked into the movie. Some movies I can get through about half before my mind starts to wander just a little (and I have to pull myself back into the movie) but this was one where that didn't happen.

All the characters felt real, and ones that you could care about (or hate) easily. Each tribute had something that was unique to them. Katniss and her archery, Peeta and his disguises, the young girl who could hide and climb really well, the boy and girl trained from a very young age for the games....

The special effects were awesome but to go into them and the effects that I really enjoyed would give too much of the film away.

All in all I really enjoyed this movie, I really wanted Katniss to win, and now I just can't wait to see the next two in the series. I was lucky enough to win this, saves me money, but I would have bought this had I not won it.

Click here to read the profile of pukekoflat

Review by: pukekoflat (Paula)
Dated: 10th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 5 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 7 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

The first thing you need to know is that I read all three books before seeing the movie and I adored them, so this review is going to be at least somewhat influenced by that. That said, I think The Hunger Games did a good job of staying as true to the book as possible and I genuinely enjoyed the movie overall. I could nitpick on a few small points, but with the exception of the gifting and exchanging of the Mockingjay pin, I found it very easy to let those small points go.

The movie definitely managed to capture the important elements of the book and the overall feel of the world the characters are living in. I really appreciated the depiction District 12 and The Capitol and I think the movie mostly hit the nail on the head regarding building a visual world from the book. I especially loved Woody Harrelson as Haymitch. As far as casting goes I think he was the best and played Haymitch wonderfully.

The plot was engaging and interesting and even though I knew what was going to happen I still managed to watch it without my attention drifting much at all. In my opinion that's a sign of a good movie. The pacing was generally very good and while it is not going on my favourite movie list I would definitely recommend it. Though if you can, see it before you read the book.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 9th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I don't get of the house much in the evenings this time of year. The cold wind plays hob with my arthritis and causes me to be a bit of a hermit who reads a lot. I don't often enjoy movie adaptations of the books I read but this is one I was curious about. The Mokopuna all went to see this on the big screen and raved about it so I thought myself lucky when I was offered the chance to review this DVD.

The first thing you need to remember is that this is the movie adaptation. very important word there - adaptation. This is not the book, it is a version of the book, with bits added, removed and changed to suit the different media. Anyone who complains about how "the book was so much better" is being a bit short-sighted. The book can impart a lot more information, including inner-monologues and thought-streams, that a movie can't offer unless it resorts to cheesy narratives or 'deep inner voice'-overs. So putting that aside, I decided I had to look at this as a separate thing to the books. That made a lot of difference really.

The casting was amazing, with a lot of familiar faces, but also some very impressive new talent like Jennifer Lawrence who, despite only becoming 'visible' 6 years ago, pulled off the character of Katniss with such passion it was hard not to fall into the screen and join the world. I was dubious about Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy. The last time I saw him in anything was as a skin-head lunatic in 'Natural Born Killers' and that really put me off him, though after seeing this I was impressed at his range. He does a very good alcoholic. It must be the influence from his days on "Cheers". Wink Icon I was also taken with Donald Sutherland's interpretation of the Panem President, at once a genial and friendly face that could suddenly turn predatory with terrifying smoothness.

The movie was both entertaining and thought-provoking. The special effects were top of the line, and clearly great care was taken on this aspect of the movie, and the very high level of technology highlighted by the effects raised a lot of questions in me about the world it portrayed. With the ability to remotely manipulate matter and energy and even create a semblance of life customised to need, as shown in the Games arena, why do the 12 districts fall to what is clearly a state of slavery? Is The Capital just a dictatorship disguised as a district, an urban spider with a cadre of elite as controllers, preying on the 12 districts and keeping them in a state of near starvation in order to maintain total dominion? Clearly, that is what it is, an example of what happens when the gap between the "haves" and the "have nots" grows to epic levels and the elite are near godlike in their power over the far more numerous masses. The movie disturbed me in a way the book didn't, because of how clearly it brought the difference to light. Well worth seeing for many reasons.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 12th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Alright, I thought that this movie wouldn't be very good, but when I went to see it with my parents, I wanted to watch it again! I must point out that this film is not good for young kids, for it contains violence and there are many parts where there is blood. I think that a good target audience would be anyone 10+. I lost track of time quite easily, and call me crazy for saying this, but the effects were great, and if anything like what was displayed in the movie happened in real life, I would say that it was possible.

Unfortunately I didn't get to see the first few minutes of the movie, we got to the cinema a little late, but after a few minutes I just tossed that thought aside, I was just too locked into the movie. At first I thought that the movie was based in the old days, but soon came the big metal airships and the Las-Vegas-on-steroids capitol city. Like many other films, my emotions followed the story, there was even one point where one of the tributes, a young girl, was killed with a spear, and I almost cried, it took me a bit of effort to stop the tears flowing.

I don't think I will be able to see the movie at the big screens again, but I most defiantly hope that we can get it on DVD or at least rent it, but I most certainly want to see the movie again. All things taken into consideration, I think that this is a fun film, enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of tinribs27

Review by: tinribs27 (Mark)
Dated: 24th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When a massive movie franchise comes to a close, often a hole can develop in the highly competitive market of Hollywood blockbuster filmmaking. Perhaps never before has that hole been as large as the abyss left by the HARRY POTTER series, given the rapid release schedule of those films. It's 2012, and there's no new POTTER. Some might argue that the TWILIGHT series fills the void, yet not only is that franchise little more than a punchline to all but the hardcore fans, it too is set to (hopefully) wrap up this year. Enter THE HUNGER GAMES, seemingly a sure thing based on the POTTER formula: hugely successful series of young adult novels? Check. Talented cast of young leads and respected character actors as support? Naturally. Large scale production and, crucially, marketing budget? You bet. So is THE HUNGER GAMES worthy of taking up the POTTER mantle?

Amazingly, it might be even better.

While no-one would suggest that THE HUNGER GAMES is the most original new property coming from the Hollywood machine, Lionsgate and director Gary Ross adapt Suzanne Collins' source material in just the right ways, jettisoning un-cinematic elements and focusing on the meat of the story right from the opening frame. Rather than build the world of Panem through tedious exposition and backstory, Ross instead drops us directly into the grim life of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) and her journey to the Hunger Games, a perverse spectacle inflicted annually on 24 unfortunate teens. While the POTTER series certainly headed in a darker direction as it went on, THE HUNGER GAMES is horrifically bleak right from the get go, and Ross' decision to show instead of tell, through the use of wonderfully expressive, fluid camerawork, paints an ugly picture indeed. There are so many refreshing elements at work here, with an active, independent, and strong female protagonist and a startling absence of overblown CGI, but it's the nastiness that makes this film unique. Delivering a family appropriate experience while retaining the majority of the violence and unpleasantness of the novel is a delicate proposition which Ross mostly pulls off, but one can't help wondering about the potential for a much harder, R-rated cut of the film. It's an understandable issue to be sure, but an issue nonetheless.

Where THE HUNGER GAMES perhaps doesn't fare so well is in the internal strife faced by Katniss, particularly in regards to potential love interests Gale (Liam Hemsworth) and Peeta (Josh Hutcherson). Collins' novel has much more freedom to explore, and even dwell on, Katniss' emotional state through inner monologue, but given the nature of film, particularly a mainstream blockbuster such as this, much less room is left for introspection, and some of the character dynamics and relationships suffer in comparison. Katniss' independence is unfortunately undercut by the franchise building mentality of the film, setting up an inevitable love triangle to be explored in two potential sequels. That said, she's still a much more positive, appropriate female role model than TWILIGHT's limp and passive Bella Swan, or indeed any young female character in recent memory. THE HUNGER GAMES is an important film at many levels, one which heralds the birth of the next big Hollywood franchise, and if the quality of the first installment is maintained then the sequels can't come soon enough.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 4335: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home  -  Directed by Leonard Nimoy

Product image for Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home They travelled back to where 23rd century man had never gone before. To a mad, crazy, outrageous time. 1986...

William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy and the rest of the U.S.S. Enterprise crew take to the skies in one of the most acclaimed and intriguing Star Trek adventures ever. It's the 23rd Century, and a mysterious alien power is threatening Earth by evaporating the oceans and destroying the atmosphere.

In a frantic ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Small opportunities are often the beginning of great enterprises."
Demosthenes

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream