Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 23rd May 2019 - 22:53:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Frozen Goods > Pork and Prawn Dumplings review

« Pork and Cabbage Dumplings reviewPork and Cabbage DumplingsSeafood and Veges Dumplings reviewSeafood and Veges Dumplings »

Score: 6.8/10  [7 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 2521 - Pork and Prawn Dumplings
Produced by Leanne's Kitchen

Pork and Prawn Dumplings
Price:
from $2.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Leannes Kitchen

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality supermarket outlets

Pork and Prawn Dumplings product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsDumplings are popular for all occasions and eaten all year round.
    •  Fantastic as finger food
    •  Great side dish to rice, noodles or veggies
    •  Nice eaten cold in lunch boxes
    •  Party & BBQ favourites
    •  Healthy in chicken broth soup
    •  Fantastic with any pasta sauce

Healthy: These dumpling contain no added MSG, preservatives, artificial colours or additives and are 95% fat free.
Easy: Takes no more than 5 to 10 mins straight from the freezer to cook.
Versatile: Panfried, steamed, boiled, baked, deep fried or use in soups or as pasta.
Yummy: Taste the freshness of ingredients in every bite.

These dumplings from Leanne's Kitchen are full of healthy ingredients. You won't find any product that tastes better, healthier, easier or faster to cook that is made in N.Z. These dumplings also comply with the Food & Beverage Classification System for everyday use in schools, so it's a perfect food for the young and old. Kids just love them.

Available in a range of flavours:
    •  Chicken & Veges: Everyone's favorite, has the right balance of carbs, vegetables and meat. Fantastic with pasta sauces.
    •  Pork & Cabbage: Taste the traditional Chinese dumpling with flavourful pork mixed with cabbage. Experience the real taste of China.
    •  Seafood & Veges: For Seafood lovers. Contains prawn meat and noodles. Fantastic in a cream sauce or soup.
    •  Vegetarian: Every vegetarian's delight, with the authentic taste of Chinese mushrooms, vermicelli noodles and mixed vegetables.
    •  Chicken & Prawn: The freshest ingredients from both land and sea come together in our sensational Chicken & Prawn Dumplings!
    •  Pork & Prawn: Your taste buds never lie as you bite into these beautiful Pork and Cabbage Dumplings.

Look out for them in your local supermarket frozens department.

Check out Leannes Kitchen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Leannes Kitchen Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dumpling   frozen   nz made   nzmade   pork   prawns   seafood
Other listings you may be interested in:
Oxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pieOxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.2
Chicken and Prawn DumplingsChicken and Prawn Dumplings
Rating: 8.2
Granpa BBs Premium Toasted MuesliGranpa BBs Premium Toasted Muesli
Rating: 8.9
Chicken and Veges DumplingsChicken and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.1
Lone Star Cafe & BarLone Star Cafe & Bar
Rating: 8.9
Muffin Bakes - Apple and BranMuffin Bakes - Apple and Bran
Rating: 8.8
Meatlovers Classic PizzaMeatlovers Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.6
M&Ms - CoconutM&Ms - Coconut
Rating: 7.0
Seafood and Veges DumplingsSeafood and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.0
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Pork and Cabbage DumplingsPork and Cabbage Dumplings
Rating: 6.0
Hellers Hot & Spicy Pork RibsHellers Hot & Spicy Pork Ribs
Rating: 7.7
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine Oats
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of phoenixslip

Review by: phoenixslip (Natarsha)
Dated: 10th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 1 out of 10

I bought a packet of Pork n Prawn Dumplings last week. I have bought the other flavours before in the Leanne's Kitchen range a couple of years ago, and use to love them.

The dumplings looked good while coming out of the packet and cooking.

But as soon as i tasted it , and also smelt the "pork" it smelt yuck and not like pork at all, and i couldnt really see any prawn evidence.

I wasted the whole packet as i found the dumplings were yuck and ruined my meal. I did steam cook them, and never had a problem steam cooking before. I didnt want my partner and children eating them, so whisked away from their plates Sad Icon These also came straight out of my freezer as well. Disappointed on taste factor.

Click here to read the profile of hope

Review by: hope (Hope)
Dated: 15th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

These are my favourite Leanne's Kitchen Dumplings. I liked the combination of prawns with the pork, as it raises the pork flavour. I'm sure I tasted a trace of Hoison sauce & 5 spice powder or star anise, just gives added flavour. I liked the finely chopped cabbage for texture & colour. My favourite way to have these was oven baked, although pan fried was a close second, along with soy sauce (not a chilli sauce person), a nice party nibble when having finger foods.

Click here to read the profile of mistletoe

Review by: mistletoe (Sarah-Jane)
Dated: 10th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

This flavour was not my favourite, I boiled this lot, and as I am not a fan of pork I didn't like them.

Too me they tasted like they were wrapped in thin pieces of paper, I'm afraid I won't purchase this flavour again.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 6th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

i totally love these dumplings. as a fan of seafood of any kind i found the strong prawn flavour came through really well and was given a good subtle hint by the pork. i love most asian foods so was quite happy with boiling these up and doing them as a soup ingredient. they turned out nice and soft with the filling being firm enough to the bite to give a good solid feel to the soup. i got 16 dumplings in the pack which cost me $4.99 at the local countdown store so at around 30c per dumpling the value was well within acceptable. honestly i dont know how they make any profit at this price. i have already bought another dozen bags to stock the freezer and plan to keep these on hand. thanks for bringing them to my attention, this has made a regular buyer out of me.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 6th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

These were actually quite an acceptable dumpling, though I think the pork was so subtle it was hard to detect for me. The prawn flavour came through pretty well though, especially in terms of aroma during cooking. The kitchen was flooded by a very yummy smell that hung around during the meal, keeping us keen to snack on these.
I didn't like them quite as much as the Chicken and Prawn flavour, and I think perhaps this is because of the lack of balancing from the chicken, which I found more flavoursome than the pork.
This was another flavour in which I was asked to go out and buy more so that we could have repeat servings. With only 15 in this bag, it simply wasn't enough to satisfy 4 adults. 3 bagfulls later and everyone had finally had enough. (The family totally LOVE it when I get food reviews to do, always willing to pop over and lend a hand, or stomach, to the task. Wink Icon)
All in all these were a great hit, more so for some than others. A bit of an aquired taste perhaps, but still well worth it. I highly recommend them to those who have a mini deep fryer, as this is the simplest way to prepare them, though falling back on pan-fried should work just as well if you keep a close eye on them.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I am no great fan of seafood, especially prawns - I was put off them as a child and never really felt the need to get past it. Pork isn't my favoured meat either, but is one I am happy to eat if it's put in front of me and cooked properly... so these dumplings were perhaps handicapped from the start by having nothing in them I am a great fan of...

Despite that, they actually impressed me. After a disappointing encounter with the boiling method, and no access to a deep-fryer, I went back to the 'pan fry' method for this one too. After about 8 minutes of cooking, when they were a crispy, golden brown, I put them aside on some paper towels to absorb the last of the oil (I had put in a bit too much this time) until they had cooled, and tried a couple of them on their own, and a couple with a sweet mustard dip. Both options proved themselves winners for me, though I admit the dip gave them a really nice flavour boost.

They had cooked up nice and firm, crispy without being won-ton sharp, and had a wonderful rich flavour that was predominantly the prawn, since the pork flavour was milder and a bit drowned out by the stronger seafood taste. The veges were well cooked too, tender yet retaining a slight crispness and firmness to the bite.

Overall, a very nice dumpling, though not too sure it will become a regular in our household. Though the rest of my family seemed to like them too, they were all agreed that other flavours appealed a little more to our distinctly-European beef-oriented tastebuds. For me, the only slight downside was the slight oily-fish smell they left on my fingers. Nothing major, and certainly not a factor if you plan to eat them with utensils.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 1st of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 5 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

In my panel, these came 5th out of 6.

Pork is my friend and favourite food but not these, it looked like something or someone had chewed up the food and stuffed it into the dumpling, even though it had a lovely golden colour. Other than the nutritional value, i doubt there is anything nice i could say about these. It is one of those things that i hate but the next person will love but from me it is a big thumbs down.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 1701: Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Tomato and Basil Rice -  Brand: Uncle Ben's

Product image for Uncle BenCooked long grain rice with tomato, basil, herbs and garlic.

Uncle Ben's Express rice takes just 2 minutes in a microwave, or around 3 minutes in a saucepan.

Gently steamed in a microwave-safe pouch for maximum freshness and flavour. Easy to open, quick to cook, great tasting and no washing up afterwards!

Available in a range of flavours.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Apathy rules! Well, it would, if it could be bothered to try."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream