Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 21st August 2019 - 17:00:57

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Frozen Goods > BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pizza review

« Happy Feet reviewHappy FeetThe Demon Child #2 - Treason Keep reviewThe Demon Child #2 - Treason Keep »

Score: 8.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 1259 - BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pizza
Produced by The Chicago Pizza Company

BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pizza
Price:
$5.78
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Romano

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets

BBQ Chicken & Bacon Pizza product reviews

Being the only girl in a family of boys, Carla 'Bubbles' can look after herself - and she does, in style, with her favourite Chicago pizza the BBQ Chicken and Bacon Gourmet Pizza. Succulent strips of chicken and premium wood-smoked bacon laid over a tangy BBQ sauce mmm... it'll ruffle your feathers too.

Check out Romano's Pizza onlineClick here to see all the listings for Romano's Pizza Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
frozen   pizza
Other listings you may be interested in:
The Sicilian Gourmet PizzaThe Sicilian Gourmet Pizza
Rating: 8.9
Meatlovers Classic PizzaMeatlovers Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Lefty's Gourmet Pizza BasesLefty's Gourmet Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.8
Spicy GuacamoleSpicy Guacamole
Rating: 9.2
Creme Brulee PufflesCreme Brulee Puffles
Rating: 7.5
Corn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Ham and Pineapple Classic PizzaHam and Pineapple Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Mince Pie - Single ServeMaketu Mince Pie - Single Serve
Rating: 9.1
Graeme's Coffee ShopGraeme's Coffee Shop
Rating: 5.4
Cocavo - LightCocavo - Light
Rating: 9.3
Marcels HotcakesMarcels Hotcakes
Rating: 9.7
Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed
Rating: 9.4
Crema di Gorgonzola DOPCrema di Gorgonzola DOP
Rating: 9.0
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Lemon ChilliDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Lemon Chilli

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kady

Review by: kady (Keri)
Dated: 27th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

Love the flavour of this pizza and love this brand. I wondered why I always buy this brand - one reason is that it's the biggest pizza that you can regularly find for under $6 at the supermarket - it's often $5.50. We usually add extra cheese & homemade relish but it tastes great without those additions.

Sometimes we cook straight from the freezer but we've found that the base is a lot more tender & delicious if the pizza is defrosted first. The packet says that it's a crunchy base, not sure if that's accurate. I thought Chicago was famous for deep-dish pizzas so the bases may tend to be soft rather than crunchy.

The sauce is tasty but then I think BBQ sauce is always tastier than regular pizza sauce.The meat is tender and in good-sized chunks. The packet says that it's manuka flavoured which is pretty deluxe for a cheap pizza! The two types of cheese (mozzarella & cheddar) are delicious and adding a bit more of whatever's in the fridge can make it better. I didn't really notice the Chicago gangster style marketing before - I guess it makes for more interesting packaging. This is the only brand I buy, it's tasty and great value for money.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 18th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 4 out of 10

We love pizza in our household and normally eat it once a week. A few years ago we used to regularly buy frozen pizzas as a frozen meal that we could quickly stick in the oven with no prep work and not a very long cooking time. After trying lot's of different brands of frozen pizzas in the frozen isle of the supermarkets and we found that a lot of them seemed to consist of very hard crunchy bases (almost to hard) and very limited toppings - a few bits of pineapple, a tiny amount of meat and a small sprinkling of meat, not really what you would think of as a pizza.

When we saw that there was a new brand on the market 'The Chicago Pizza Company' we had to give it a go, as we were always on the look for a better brand which could improve on the Mc Cains that we had been buying. As I looked through all of the flavour choices I was impressed to see that there was a CHICKEN option, though these are readily available as a choice on takeout menus, I had yet to see a chicken pizza available in frozen form. Clearly it wasn't a hard decision on what pizza I was to buy BBQ Chicken and Bacon it was to be, I was also interested by the fact that they were supposedly gourmet pizzas!

I was pleasantly surprised to find the pizza so enjoyable. It had a good amount of of BBQ sauce distributed evenly over the base and was easily tasted throughout the other toppings without being to overpowering. The chicken and bacon were a good amount and actually tasted like meat not mush. The cheese was lacking a little bit for my liking so I added extra mozarella. The base was still thin but not as hard and thin as other brands so this got my approval.

Though this pizza was really good (for a frozen pizza) I would still probably buy a store brought pizza over it as pizza is now such a cheap takeaway option with Dominos and Pizza Hut both having $5 menus and they are cooked taking away the fuss. These pizzas would be great to have 1 or 2 of in the freezer for those moments when you need something quick and going out is just not a option.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 14th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 5 out of 10

As far as frozen pizza's brought at the supermarket go, this would have to be the best brand and flavour (of course i would still much prefer either shop brought {Hell or dominoes} or better still home made {including bases} but these definatley come in third place)! Taste wise you can actually taste the chicken, bacon and BBQ flavouring, and they mixed nicely together without being to overpowering in flavour.

I added extra grated cheese to the pizza, but i normally add a little extra cheese to home made pizza's more so than what most others probably would (nothing beats extra cheesy pizza after all). Aside from this addition i just cooked it in the oven as per the packet instructions, obviously keeping a close eye on it so i didnt over cook it.

Visually it looked like your average supermarket brought pizza (so not that great) but it definatley had a lot more taste packed into it than most others ~ at such a cheap price i definately wouldnt hesitate to buy again, could also be a great cheap option for children's dinners when you are caught out, would recommend to others :)

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 20th of January, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

This pizza disappeared from my freezer very quickly and was probably the more popular choice of all the pizzas I served. Maybe Samoans love bacon and chicken more than the other combination, maybe the willing victims of human experimentation just preferred the taste of this one more - who knows. Whatever the answer, this was THE resounding success.

Another richly topped pizza, covered in bacon and chicken, smothered in sauce and layered with flavours that almost (yes, almost) tempted this vegetarian to try it. Had I been tempted to try it, it would have been too late because this was inhaled in a single breath. I was worried I might have to do a head count because of the voraciousness of the eating of this pizza.

A definite success and a must in the freezer for any unexpected guests.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 20th of January, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Being a fan of other chicken pizzas I was delighted when I saw this offering, I was so eager to try this as I had tried other chicken pizzas from other brands. So as soon as I could find an opportunity I threw this in the oven and literally stood there watching it cook in the oven (yes I have no life.) As soon as the timer went off I pulled it out of the oven, sliced it up and dug in. About 2-3 minutes later once the burning sensation in my mouth had subsided I tried the pizza once again, this time with a definite lack of burning I was able to taste this pizza and it was a wonderful mix of chicken and bacon with neither being too overpowering.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 16th of January, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

Never been a great fan of chicken pizza... I usually prefer my chook either in slabs with lettuce, tomato and some form of spicy dressing, or roasted with stuffing, not usually flaked onto a pizza base. So it was with some curiosity that I approached the consumption of this one.

Having realised, from previous experience, that apparently I can't cook pizza in the oven without turning the crust into something that could be considered lethal if thrown. So, upon the advice of another reviewer, and completely in the face of pastry etiquette, I slapped this into the benchtop home irradiation chamber and gave it a hefty dose of high-energy nuking... this made it not only bearable, but highly tasty indeed and the crust was pliable!

Overall, with it's copious layers of toppings, tangy sauce, herbs and spices... it's a delightful meal on it's own, or with a side-dish of potato salad. Considering it's a frozen pizza, and comes in under the $6 mark, this has GOT to be a winner. Not the healthiest dining option, but a supremely tasty one to be sure. And let's face it, what pizza is healthy and also tasty at the same time? Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 14th of January, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

With examples such as this one, I am rapidly becoming a fan of chicken pizzas!! Keeping with the standard I am consistently seeing in Chicago's Gourmet pizzas, the BBQ Chicken and Bacon was chocker with drool worthy flavour and the usual abundance of toppings.
Not really a lot else to say... other than this will most definitely be another flavour of pizza kept in regular supply in the freezer. Oh... and that I have definitely found it better microwaved, rather than cooked in the oven.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 275: Breadbowl with Meatball Salad -  Created by unknown

Product image for Breadbowl with Meatball SaladMeatballs in Tomato Sauce: Tasty meatballs, chunky potato, onion and melted cheese in a rich tomato sauce. Serve piping hot with a leafy salad or with steamed green vegetables.

    •  1 round rye cob loaf or similar
    •  2-3 tablespoons olive ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks."
Doug Larson

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream