Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd September 2019 - 02:25:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pasta and Noodles > Just Noodles - Mexican Salsa review

« Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef reviewJust Noodles - Chinese BBQ BeefJust Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken reviewJust Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken »

Score: 9.3/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6948 - Just Noodles - Mexican Salsa
Produced by Just Foods

Just Noodles - Mexican Salsa
Price:
$1.30
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Just Noodles

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Just Noodles - Mexican Salsa product reviews

Just Noodles are different
Created by a real chef to bring to you the best authentic flavours from around the world, right to your plate.

Simple to prepare
Just remove the lid, add boiling water, wait for 2 minutes, drain, add flavour and eat.

For the budding chef out there
Simply add any pre-cooked meat to suit, or spice it up with Just Foods Crushed Chilli, Chopped Coriander or Crushed Garlic. Make your noodles your own.

    •  100% MSG Free
    •  Reduced Salt
    •  Sustainable Palm Oil

Fork and Drainage Lid included.

Check out Just Noodles onlineClick here to see all the listings for Just Noodles Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
instant   mexican   msgfree   noodles   salsa   sauce
Other listings you may be interested in:
Classic Scone MixClassic Scone Mix
Rating: 10.0
House of Dumplings - Full HouseHouse of Dumplings - Full House
Rating: 9.0
Hellers Sausage SauceHellers Sausage Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Chocolate Chip HotcakesChocolate Chip Hotcakes
Rating: 10.0
Just Noodles - Indian Butter ChickenJust Noodles - Indian Butter Chicken
Rating: 9.0
Just Noodles - Chinese BBQ BeefJust Noodles - Chinese BBQ Beef
Rating: 8.9
Just Noodles - Japanese TeriyakiJust Noodles - Japanese Teriyaki
Rating: 9.0
Kinder SurpriseKinder Surprise
Rating: 6.3
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Rice Sticks: CocoaRice Sticks: Cocoa
Rating: 8.0
Delites Sea Salt & Balsamic VinegarDelites Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
Rating: 8.4
Oxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pieOxford Nacho Beef & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.2
Howler Hotdogs - Original HowlerHowler Hotdogs - Original Howler
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 4th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

I love mexican food, I eat a lot of yummy food within my house, I was excited to try these noodles. Just made them to give it a go, and to be honest I wasnt that keen on the flavour myself. I found these easy enough to make, now that I have made a couple of pots I'm getting the hang of how to do it quickly and do it in a way where I don't burn myself or my fingers.

I opened the sauce sachet up and straight away could smell the flavour, it smelled good. So I squeezed it into the pot and stirred it in, noticing it staining the cup and the fork and to me that's a bit of a turn off, I think it comes across oily and strong. Anyways I took a mouthful or two, and I wasnt a big fan of it.

i gave it to my son to try in which the first thing he said when looking at it was is it spicy, I said no. He looked at it and screwed his nose up a bit. He wasnt keen on trying it at all, he said the look of it and the stained cup made it seem spicy and he wasnt interested at all in trying to see if he liked them.

I don't see myself buying this flavour again, out of the ones tried this has been my least favourite one. The after taste lingers longer than the other flavours did as well. I guess it is not everyones cup of noodle, and I'm sure there are people who really enjoy it but it just wasnt for me. Thanks for allowing me to try it though.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

When I was looking at these noodles up for review, this salsa one stood out as an intriguing flavour and one I could see myself really enjoying. It's been many years since I've eaten 2 minute noodles, and not something I can really see myself doing much now that I'm well past my student years. However these had more of an upmarket feel and when I take my lunch to work each day, new ideas and something different is always a good thing.

So in saying that, I used these just as intended - as an easy lunch meal, made directly to the instructions. When I read on the packet that you could jazz it up a little by adding things such as chilli, coriander and garlic I was a bit worried that they might lack flavour without those things... but rest assured I felt that I didn't need any extras at all (although the one thing I felt would have elevated it would be the coriander).

I loved that the flavour sachet was a liquid and so it distributed easily through the noodles, although I did find myself grabbing a fork from the drawer to help stir it as they one provided kept snapping loose on the folding bit. The provided fork was fine once it came time to eat them though. The flavour was a god true Mexican flavour and was lovely and intense. There was a slight chilli heat - enough for me who can handle a bit of spice but not too much. I did add back a tablespoon of water after draining as I felt that it could do with it to help the flavour mix in.

Overall I was very happy with my quick lunch meal and it was plenty filling enough for me. I'll be seeking out some of the other flavours in the supermarket for sure. I can't really see anything to fault these on, so if you are into quick noodle meals then definitely give them a go.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 21st of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

We love Mexican inspired food in our house and so when I saw these noodles available for review I decided that they would be worth the trying after having enjoyed 2 of the other flavours of Just Noodles. To be honest I thought that this product was going to be either really nice or I wouldn't like it at all, Mexican Salsa after all isn't a flavour of noodles that I have ever heard of before let alone tasted.

Originally I had all good intentions of using these noodles for dinner one night in a Mexican mince type of dish, however this morning I realised there wasn't much in the house to take for lunch and so I opted to take these noodles along to work with me. The noodles were very easy to prepare and had easy to follow cooking directions on the back, all you do is remove the flavour sachet and fork from the cup, and then fill the cup of noodles up to the clearly visible line with boiling water, pop the drainage lid back on and sit back and wait for 2 minutes as the noodles cook and soften. To drain the noodles you keep the drainage lid on the cup and then carefully tip the excess water out, just ensure you keep hold of the lid during this process as its not the most secure of things. Tear open the flavouring, which comes in a thick sauce form and stir it into the noodles using the supplied fold out fork, this was the trickiest part as the fork tends to keep unfolding as you mix.

The smell of the sauce was filled with spices and also smelt strongly of tomato, so I was a bit concerned this could be rather spicy, however it wasn't to bad, the noodles were cooked just how I liked them after 2minutes which was a plus. I honestly wasn't the biggest fan of this flavour of noodles on there own, however I can see that they definitely have potential and would go great when added to a mince dish such as nachos, burritos or spaghetti bolognaise where they would add a bit of zing and a nice texture.

While I wont be buying these again to eat as is, I can say I will be buying these to add to Mince dishes and to help bulk up dinners as needed.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 18th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

Although Mexican Salsa is not usually my first pick of flavours, I was interested to try as it sounded like a very different flavour of noodles that I hadn't heard of before. Once again the packaging was awesome; easy to read, easy to spot in the supermarket (oh they stand out!!) and instructions were as clear as day. Fill, sit, pour water out using the special (and pretty awesome) lid...no more burnt hands and noodles falling out. The fork I found to be pretty useless though, kept trying to fold itself back in so I gave up and used one of our own ones. Although that couldn't be done if I was out trying to eat them but breaking the fork at the fold would have helped that issue. The cup was well designed to not burn hands either...bonus! Didn't have to tip into another bowl and make more dishes to be washed unnecessarily.

So once the noodles were cooked and flavoured, it was time to try them. Very happy to find that they weren't hot (which is why I tend to not buy anything Mexican and will only have 'Mexican' food if I make it!), and I couldn't taste the chilli, garlic or onion which was good, because they are foods I'm not keen on in their whole state. It may be because the flavour didn't coat the noodles very well (even following the instructions exactly as they were written), but worked for me!

I can see these being added to other dishes in the near future, such as stir fry, chow mien and adding to bulk up tomato sauces! Would make a very nice addition to spaghetti bolognaise. Love the flavour being in 1 sachet instead of trying to mix a small handful. Less mess, less waste...more flavour! Will buy again for sure.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10

I was looking forward to reviewing these noodles in particular the Mexican salsa flavour. I started by reading the packet on the back - I know I know, 2 minute noodles how hard can it be right? Well if you know me you will know I always manage to muck something up! After I had carefully read the instructions I did as they said. I got some boiling water and filled it to above the noodles and covered them

Well I thought I had covered them. It took me a minute to realise that I had ripped off the inner lid and put the drainage lid on top (which let out majority of the steam). I had to think quick and found the inner lid, slid it underneath the drainage lid and carried on like I didn't just mess up my 2 minute noodles.

I must admit I did let these sit for maybe 6-7 minutes seeing as I had let out some steam and heat to start with. They turned out nice and soft and I drained out the water. I then squeezed in the packet mix and gave it a good mix with my fork to try and get the flavour through. I did mix for quite some time but I just couldn't get a good mix of flavouring onto the noodles. It kind of stayed in one gloopy spot. I think maybe next time I might leave a small amount of water in there to help thin down the flavour sachet.

The flavour definately tasted like mexican salsa to me and it had a nice kick to it. To start with it was a nice subtle flavour but once I had the noodles in my mouth for a bit longer a nice spicy kick kicked in. I think these would be nice mixed with some form of mince dish and sour cream yum yum!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 29th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

I very much enjoy mexican food, and salsa is always a preferred choice for chip dip (after garlic hummus...you can't beat garlic...), but I am a picky eater; when it comes to tomatoes and onions, I eat them raw, but not cooked, and I don't enjoy capsicums at all. So it's always hard to find that mexican flavour that I enjoy without the texture issues that I hate. This product fulfills my needs.

All of the flavours that are needed are nicely pasted up so I can't notice any untoward textures. I didn't need to add any other ingredients so it was an incredibly easy meal to prepare. It maintains that onion/ capsicum/ tomato flavour without being too overbearing and in my case, the capsicum taste is just enough to flavour without becoming something I disliked.

I actually just ended up preparing it as per the instructions. I didn't mind the firmness of the noodles as it gave a more mexican feel for me. The flavour was much more gentle, compared to other flavours in the Just Noodles range, and is one that I could easily make a large batch of. A product that coukd have easily gone either way from love to hate, and it made it into the pile of products I will definitely be looking out for in the future.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 20th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

We were having Mexican tonight and I wasn't sure what we had in the way of ingredients. I knew we had mince and cheese and I was pretty sure we had the stand-and-stuff tortilla baskets. I was also pretty sure I had no spices left. So when the opportunity to trial these noodles came up, it was like the universe smiling on me and my dinner plans. This doesn't often happen!

So I went home and started to brown my mince. I looked over the instructions on the pack and was surprised that everything looked really easy. Right down to the pour lid for easy drainage. I mean, that was very smart thinking. I did as instructed, and added hot water into the cup to cover the noodles. As I did that I was further impressed with the flavour pouch. The sauce is just that - an actual paste sauce. No worrying about the powder clumping and being overpowering in some bites and completely underwhelming in others.

After the 2 minutes, I drained the water with ease and no burns. The lid, though it looks a bit flimsy held up well and had a good seal for the pouring. Then I added the flavour and mixed this in. Meanwhile I layered the baskets with noodles on the bottom, mince, cheese and a bit of tomato. I also had some chips so I added them too, mainly for our children who think Mexican food is grated cheese and chips.

Everyone ate up their whole dinners which was amazing, because this is not how Mexican normally goes. I don't think the girls rated the noodles too highly, but they were confused as to why the noodles were in the meal. My husband commented that they were nice for a change. When I mentioned that all of the heat for the meal were coming from the noodles though, he was even more impressed. It wasn't massively hot, but it was decent enough for him. Usually our Mexican style is like being punched in the face with a feather duster.

I could definitely see us buying more of these noodle packs now. The main selling point for me is that it's easy to make and the sauce is not a powder. The noodles tasted good which is really the main thing. I could see these as being great for lunches too. The price is excellent, what more could you ask?

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 9th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10

Mince Chow Mein is a favourite "savoury mince" dish I like to prepare. But of course, it's an Asian dish so has a totally different flavour profile to Mexican... so what am I getting at? The short answer is - I like to experiment with flavours. So... tonight I made a Mexican version. Making a basic mince base - fried onions, garlic, beef mince and a touch of freshly-ground salt and pepper - then adding some nacho spices, a can of chopped tomatoes and a packet of plain tomato soup to act as a thickener. While that was simmering away, I prepared these noodles as per instructions, though I left them to steep for 8 minutes instead of the two it says to - I like my "instant noodles" a bit softer than others.

Once the noodles had been drained and sauced up, I plated them up as the base for the mince. A dollop of mince on top, a quick grind of black pepper to top it off, and I was ready to tuck in. What a wonderful combo this turned out to be! The noodles on their own were flavoursome and the sauce had a wonderful, authentically deep taste profile that had just a wee bit of a kick to it. Perfect for a Mexican dish. As a partner to the Mexican mince, they were better than rice or taco chips, in my opinion.

Overall, these are such a versatile "instant noodle", and while the full credit really goes to the sauce, the style of the entire product is spot on. I would have liked to have seen a more easily-recycled packaging though - HDPS is not very eco-friendly and you have no choice but to send it to the landfill once you are done with it... so that may be the next facet the makers look at, since they have a great flavour here, and others in the range too.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 6305: Gluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'Eat -  Brand / Source : Pararoa Bakery

Product image for Gluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'EatNZ's first and only certified organic flatbreads. Purebread are very excited about this new and unique product where feedback says that you would not know they are gluten free.

Proud to be packed in fully compostable film.

CERTIFIED ORGANIC:
You are making a healthy food choice for your ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Advertising: The science of arresting the human intelligence long enough to get money from it."
Stephen Leacock

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream