Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 10th December 2019 - 01:36:11

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Raspberry Coke review

« Soul Plane reviewSoul PlaneConker : Live and Reloaded reviewConker : Live and Reloaded »

Score: 2.6/10  [11 reviews]
0 out of 5
ProdID: 620 - Raspberry Coke
Brewed/Bottled by The Coca-Cola Company

Raspberry Coke
Price:
Varies
Available:
Almost any food outlet

Raspberry Coke product reviews

The Coca-Cola Company has released several flavor extensions of its signature brands -- from cherry Coke ® to Diet Coke with Lime ® -- in markets around the world. Many New Zealanders enjoy adding a shot of raspberry syrup to their Coca-Cola in convenience stores and quick-serve restaurants, and the Company has taken notice.

Starting May 30, New Zealanders will become the first to try Coca-Cola with Raspberry ® and Diet Coke with Raspberry ®.

The Coca-Cola New Zealand team did not have to look far for inspiration. They observed behavior at self-serve soda fountains, where consumers can make the choice themselves.

The Company tested a range of flavors with Coca-Cola, yet raspberry was the clear favorite.

The fact that the raspberry experience was already occurring in-market and the New Zealand market embraces innovation made it the obvious choice. New Zealand serves as a good test market for the Company -- though relatively small, it offers many elements of larger Western markets. New Zealanders (or Kiwis, as they are affectionately called) have a strong affinity for the Coca-Cola brand and are known as early adopters of new products.

New Zealand is the second market to launch flavored versions of Coca-Cola and Diet Coke simultaneously. Mexico launched Coca-Cola Citra ® and Diet Coke Citra ® earlier this year.

The new extension joins vanilla in both brand families and will replace Diet Coke with Lime.



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mai'a Coffee Straws : EspressoMai'a Coffee Straws : Espresso
Rating: 8.1
McCashins 2009 Marlborough ChardonnayMcCashins 2009 Marlborough Chardonnay
Rating: 8.5
Pomegranate Green teaPomegranate Green tea
Rating: 8.9
Teza - VelvetberryTeza - Velvetberry
Rating: 8.8
Old Mout Classic AppleOld Mout Classic Apple
Rating: 8.5
Organic Apple, Mango and PassionOrganic Apple, Mango and Passion
Rating: 9.1
White with RoseWhite with Rose
Rating: 7.7
Peter Yealands 2013 ChardonnayPeter Yealands 2013 Chardonnay
Rating: 7.8
Avalanche Cafe Range - Flat WhiteAvalanche Cafe Range - Flat White
Rating: 8.6
Goodbuzz Booch - OriginsGoodbuzz Booch - Origins
Rating: 7.4
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink LemonadeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Lemonade
Rating: 9.2
Two Rooks Premium ColaTwo Rooks Premium Cola
Rating: 8.9
Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ AppleAddmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ Apple
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

When coca-cola announced that they were bringing out raspberry coke I was so happy to hear of this, like many other people appeared to be. It was one of those drinks you loved but could only make yourself due to it not being out in the market, so whenever I would go out to burger king I would get my soft drink cup from the checkout and go over to the soft drink machine and full my cup with equal amounts of schweppes raspberry fizzy and coke, this provided just the right mix and the perfect drink of raspberry coke.

Being a fan of coke and having enjoyed other special edition coke combinations that had been brought out in the past vanilla coke and cherry coke, I was rather dissapointed in the taste of the raspberry finding it very artificial and the taste subtle and hardly there, not the strong sweet raspberry taste I had been expecting. The other thing I found with this drink was that it didn't seem to have the same fizz factor of the normal coke products which was a real shame.

I wouldn't recommend the raspberry coke, though I am sure it has been discontinued over in New Zealand now? However if coca-cola was to bring out a new improved raspberry coke I would most definetely give it another go.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 30th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay I grew up on the likes of cherry coke which I used to really love so when raspberry coke was released I was really excited. I loved raspberry coke, which I used to make from combining raspberry and coke when I filled my own drinks at burger king so thought I would love this product.

Unfortunately I didn't think it was the best raspberry coke I had ever tried and I think that perhaps they got the quantities wrong as it tasted like it needed like it needed more raspberry to give it the sweetness that raspberry adds to the coke. It wasn't a bad drink and I would buy it again, it just wasn't as good as the raspberry coke I would make myself.

I bought this for my daughter, she doesn't actually like coke but she likes raspberry so I thought she might like this but it was a definite no this is gross reaction!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.5/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

I too was excited when coca-cola released their raspberry and coke here in New Zealand, but like the other reviewers it was such a disappointment. The coke flavor is evident and strong, and the smell of raspberry is definitely there...but when it comes to taste...nothing! its just like drinking a not so strong normal coke. Such a disappointment considering it is supposed to be 50/50 Sad Icon

I love coke and raspberry, it is one of my favorite drink flavours of all time. And coke is obviously my favorite cola, but unfortunately for coca-cola they let themselves down with this one. I'd much rather mix cola and raspberry in my soda stream, or buy budget brand cola and raspberry...no let downs with either of this.

Sorry coca-cola you missed the boat on this one.

Click here to read the profile of brojae

Review by: brojae (Sheree)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.5/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

hmmmm I too was excited when I saw the raspberry coke come out! I despise vanilla coke and lemon but have very fond memories of the special trips to the country club or pub and being allowed to sit and enjoy a coke filled with sweet delicious raspberry syrup.....opening the bottle I was taken back by the scent, however came crashing back to earth once I'd taken a sip! Where's the raspberry? if you close your eyes and try realllllly hard you can JUST get it, but then its gone, taken over by an insipid aftertaste.
I honestly struggle to recommend this to others who have fond memories of the rasp/coke from yesteryear...

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 15th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

I have to completely agree with past reviewers regarding Raspberry Coke. I had really been looking forward to this one. I loved the lemon Coke, Cherry Coke and Vanilla Coke. And I also had a childhood filled of pub visit memories that sometimes involved lemonade with raspberry syrup or Coke with raspberry syrup. Delicious!

It was also my favourite thing to do at Burger King - mix a 50/50 Raspberry Coke! Awesome Sauce.

So when I cracked this open and took a swig, I was sorely disappointed. The taste of raspberry was sooo subtle I could hardly taste it. When I had swallowed and allowed the taste to settle in my mouth, I was horrified by the deeply chemical after taste that accompanied the Raspberry flavour. Why, I lamented, could they not have used the good ol Raspberry syrup of my youth. But they hadn't and as a result, I sadly downed the bottle (couldnt bring myself to waste drink) and vowed never to buy this again. For all they get right though, I couldnt be too angry about this miss.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 29th of June, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

I am a huge coke fan so was excited about the idea of raspberry flavoured coke...Heaven!! It bought back so many memories from raspberry and coke being the drink I was allowed when I was out with my parents, it was such a treat.

I was sorely disappointed, the taste was very artificial and it left a bad after taste. There was nothing appealing about this which is a real shame.

Thankfully I still have my diet coke and my memories :)

Click here to read the profile of greenplace

Review by: greenplace (Thomas)
Dated: 19th of July, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.8/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

I agree with recent reviewers. This is one experience that you probably want to miss. My advise to Coca Cola is not to mess too much with a recipe that is already successful. I vote for classic coke every time!

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 5th of December, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

I love drinking raspberry and coke at bars and fast food outlets, so thought i would buy a bottle of raspberry coke. It was foul!! It tasted nothing like what i brought elsewhere. Wouldn't waste my money on buying this again.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.8/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 2 out of 10

Like the first reviewer, I found this to be completely artificial tasting. I liken the taste to cough medicine.

Very unpleasant!

Click here to read the profile of native1

Review by: native1 (Pei)
Dated: 13th of July, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 1 out of 10

This is definately one that you only want to try once. The taste is like bumblegum and has no similarity at all to the much favoured mix of coke and rasperry that you buy from any restaurant or bar. Like all versions of Coca Cola you have to try it once, but like most it's one that I won't be rushing away and buying again.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 30th of June, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.5/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 2 out of 10

Being one of those 'Kiwis' that likes to add some Raspberry flavouring to my Coke whenever possible I greeted this new innovation with great enthusiasim, however that quickly faded with my first taste of this beverage.

Fistly I found the taste to be quite artificial and not quite strong enough for my taste. As quoted to my by another taster of this product 'It tastes like they have added perfume'. Now I wasn't going to ask how they knew what perfume tasted like, but that quote did seem to sum up the taste somewhat.

This is one variation of coke I won't be in a hurry to purchase again, unless they modify the formula a bit.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 5768: Thomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider -  Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Product image for Thomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry CiderPacked with rich berry flavour, this juicy number will certainly impress and is one of our favourites from the Thomas & Rose family. Best enjoyed chilled over ice with a berry or two.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Proof that God doesn't exist: If God created the earth for mankind, why is it that we can only live on a less than a quarter of it?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream