Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 24th August 2019 - 07:46:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Kaweka - Moroccan Lamb review

« Kaweka - Butter Chicken reviewKaweka - Butter ChickenKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole reviewKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole »

Score: 7.9/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 975 - Kaweka - Moroccan Lamb
Brand : The Kaweka Food Co.

Kaweka - Moroccan Lamb
Price:
$6.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Kaweka Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality retailers.

Kaweka - Moroccan Lamb product reviews

Succulent pieces of lamb with chickpeas, raisins and vegetables infused with exotic spices.

At Kaweka, we think certain Moroccan foods appeal directly to the senses of smell sight and taste in a way no other cuisine can match. Kaweka's delightfully fragrant Moroccan Lamb really does conjure up impressions of North Africa.

The recipe is based on a traditional "tagine" or Moroccan casserole - these are renowned for their depth of flavour after long, slow cooking in earthenware dishes.

Kaweka's Moroccan Lamb has divine flavours and textures with succulent lamb, chick peas and vegetables and spices. We marinate the tender pieces of lamb for 24 hours prior to cooking ensuring the spices and marinade flavours permeate the lamb beautifully. Delicious, soft raisins give an underlying sweetness to the dish.

Like all Kaweka meals, our Moroccan Lamb contains no additives, preservatives, artificial colours or flavours. It's low in carbohydrates and we use only tender NZ lamb. This is a gluten-free meal that is delicately spiced, suiting palates of all ages.

Check out Kaweka Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Kaweka Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kaweka - Thai Chicken CurryKaweka - Thai Chicken Curry
Rating: 8.9
Kaweka - Thai Lamb CurryKaweka - Thai Lamb Curry
Rating: 9.1
Rich Chocolate Icing SugarRich Chocolate Icing Sugar
Rating: 9.1
Kaweka - Vegetable KormaKaweka - Vegetable Korma
Rating: 8.6
Kaweka - Beef & Ale CasseroleKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole
Rating: 8.0
Kaweka - Vegetable TagineKaweka - Vegetable Tagine
Rating: 8.5
Kaweka - Venison with Field MushroomsKaweka - Venison with Field Mushrooms
Rating: 7.6
Taste of India Korma SauceTaste of India Korma Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Kaweka - Smoked Salmon and Lemon RisottoKaweka - Smoked Salmon and Lemon Risotto
Rating: 7.4
Kaweka - Field Mushroom RisottoKaweka - Field Mushroom Risotto
Rating: 7.6
Kaweka - Butter ChickenKaweka - Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.4
Kaweka - JambalayaKaweka - Jambalaya
Rating: 8.0
Kaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.5
Kaweka - Italian-style BologneseKaweka - Italian-style Bolognese
Rating: 8.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 25th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had this Kaweka meal for my lunch today. I have been getting the Meal for One range, but I saw this flavour and I had to try it. Luckily I realised it was only the meat sauce portion in the packet and I took some rice to work with me today. I chose a Basmati rice to pair with this Moroccan lamb.

Once it was lunch time I put this and the rice into the microwave for two minutes and then served it in a shallow bowl. The smell of the lamb casserole was really nice. I could see chunks of meat, potato, raisins and the chickpeas. I'm not a big fan of chickpeas, so I wasn't sure I would like this. I was also expecting this to be quite flavourful and to have a spice and heat to it.

The meal itself was really good. The flavour was mild and actually had little to no heat whatsoever. The chickpeas were as expected, but they didn't detract from the overall meal. I enjoyed the sauce and there was plenty to go with my rice. It made quite a big meal, though to be honest by 3pm I needed a snack so it wasn't as filling as the other range has been.

I like the versatility of this sauce, because I could have served it with a pasta or couscous. I could have served it as a family meal with crusty bread. My toddler would have enjoyed this as well, though my fussy 6 year old would not have.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 24th of July, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I served this with rice and it easily served two people. Taste was pretty good, although I felt it needed salt. Good amount of lamb and chickpeas. Again, how about a sachet of pre-cooked rice to boost the 'value for money' stakes? I think this would make the meal perfect.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 11th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Not my favourite from the range, I still found this to be a very yummy meal, with a lot of potential. With a very mild flavour, this can be tweaked by almost anyone to give it a bit more 'oomph' and 'zing'... just pick your additives carefully or you will ruin the delicate flavour balance, and you might as well just give up.

This was nice served on a bed of noodles, with a side of garlic mash and a small salad. It was really tasty, and I think in the right hands, it could be the core of a delightful meal. Perhaps, with some creativity, this could be turned into light entrees to serve 4 to 6 people.

Overall, very yummy, delightful light flavour with plenty of potential. Well done Kaweka...

Click here to read the profile of neoshibby

Review by: neoshibby (Stacey)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The Moroccan Lamb was probably my least favourite of the Kaweka range, although it was still of high quality. It was not quite as flavourful as I was hoping. It could have used a little more meat and a few less chickpeas, plus a slightly richer gravy. It still had a nice taste, just needed a bit 'more' of everything except sodium - 2/3 the recommended daily amount in just one serving!

I served this over couscous as per the serving suggestion, but found somewhat that the taste of the dish was overpowered by the taste of the couscous. I think this flavour could use a bit more experimenting!

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Not my favourite, but still a quality product, I found the flavour of this one to be very mild. This has it's up-side's however, in that you can customise the taste to suit yourself. You could add a bit of salt and pepper after heating to give it a bit more edge, or throw in a dash of curry powder and a forkful of Whitlock's Piccalilli to give it a more tangy flavour. I think you could also stir in a teaspoon or so of Marmite for something really zingy but not hot. It had enough meat to give every second or so mouthful some good chew, from a carnivore's point of view though it might have been a little light. This would make a great meal for kids who haven't explored stronger tastes, while the adults maybe try the Beef and Ale Casserole.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 28th of May, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Hmmmmmmmm, food!

Yes i know I sound a bit like Homer Simpson there, but I have good reason, this has to be the tastiest pre-made heat-n-eat meal I have had in a long time, the flavours in this are amazing and only add to the taste and not mask it as many other products are prone to do.

For those of you who are wanting to try something different but are (like my wife) not a fan of the really spicy/hot dishes then this is one for you, it is not too hot or spicy and when they say they use tender lamb they mean it, the pieces in this meal just come apart in your mouth.

I cannot sing enough praises for Kaweka Foods, they have now brought to the average supermarket shopper meals which are very easy to prepare and taste absolutely amazing.

Good on ya Kaweka Foods. Thumbs Up

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.6
Product reviews for listing 3372: Mac Bar - Dark & Milk -  Manufactured by Mac Snack

Product image for Mac Bar - Dark & MilkOrganic macadamia nuts chipped into a mix of organic milk and dark chocolates, and shaped into a 30g bar of healthy goodness.

Our Macadamia Nuts are grown chemical-free and naturally fertilised, giving you a safe, healthy, nutritious and flavourful nut.

Macadamia Nuts are rich in beneficial Omega-3 polyunsaturated oil. Macadamia Oil has the highest level of C16:1 (Desmethyl) of any known plant oil and the lowest levels of Omega W6 fatty acids of all culinary vegetable oils. 5 to 20 Macadamia Nuts a day has proven to lower cholesterol levels.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Do illiterate people get the full effect of Alphabet Soup?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream