Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 03:52:09

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Kaweka - Butter Chicken review

« Kaweka - Chilli Con Carne reviewKaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Moroccan Lamb reviewKaweka - Moroccan Lamb »

Score: 8.4/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 974 - Kaweka - Butter Chicken
Brand : The Kaweka Food Co.

Kaweka - Butter Chicken
Price:
$6.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Kaweka Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality retailers.

Kaweka - Butter Chicken product reviews

Tender bite-size chicken pieces marinated & cooked in a creamy aromatic sauce.

Kaweka's Butter Chicken recipe contains tender, bite-size pieces of chicken which are marinated and cooked to perfection in a smooth and creamy aromatic sauce.

Kaweka's Butter Chicken has a richness, depth and complexity that's unmatched by many restaurants. (We've had numerous compliments from chefs and Indian-born New Zealanders attesting to this!) We marinate the chicken pieces in spices for 24 hours before cooking and this is one of the reasons why the flavour is so very good. This dish has a beautiful creamy flavour - it's not a hot or overly-spicy dish but has a small portion of "heat" - the way a good butter chicken should be. Our various offspring (their ages range from 3 through to teens) love it as much as we do.

Like all Kaweka meals, our Butter Chicken contains no additives, preservatives, artificial colours or flavours. It's gluten free, low in carbohydrates and we use only tender NZ chicken.

Check out Kaweka Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Kaweka Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Mango and TurmericRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Mango and Turmeric
Rating: 9.1
Kaweka - Vegetable KormaKaweka - Vegetable Korma
Rating: 8.6
Spicy Chicken PizzaSpicy Chicken Pizza
Rating: 9.5
Kaweka - Thai Chicken CurryKaweka - Thai Chicken Curry
Rating: 8.9
Kaweka - Thai Lamb CurryKaweka - Thai Lamb Curry
Rating: 9.1
Kaweka - Venison with Field MushroomsKaweka - Venison with Field Mushrooms
Rating: 7.6
Kaweka - Beef & Ale CasseroleKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole
Rating: 8.0
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Fish StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Fish Stock
Rating: 10.0
Kaweka - Moroccan LambKaweka - Moroccan Lamb
Rating: 7.9
IAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and SuperbeansIAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and Superbeans
Rating: 8.4
Kaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.5
RJ's Mixed Bullets - LicoriceRJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice
Rating: 9.7
Kaweka - Italian-style BologneseKaweka - Italian-style Bolognese
Rating: 8.7
Kaweka - Vegetable TagineKaweka - Vegetable Tagine
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of boggie

Review by: boggie (Hayden)
Dated: 15th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Of all the packaged butter chicken meals I have tried this is my favourite, not rip your head off spicey or over sweet, just enough to give you a great taste. Can definately be used with many meals I found three this time. I tried it on its own, with rice and in a sandwich which was very tasty. At the end of the meal I felt quite full not something i can say after most meals, although I did buy another pack to give it a full taste trial.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 11th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am not the biggest fan of chicken, or curries, but this one seemed like it would be worth a go. I was quite impressed, especially by the rich flavour. If the sauce was a little creamier it would be a lot more appealing to me. Not a great fan of 'thin' sauces and this one is a bit thin for my tastes.
I split it into two ports, so that I could experiment a little. The first portion, served on plain rice with a side salad made with freshly diced cucmber, tomato, and onion with a light mayonaise dressing, was really nice! The mayo helped sooth the afterbite from the curry, and the rice was great at soaking up the leftover sauce.
The second portion, eaten 2 days later, was served in a bread bowl (thanks to this review for the inspiration) with garlic naan bread cut into strips. This was also a wonderful option, but I think the rice would have been a bit easier to eat.
Try your own experimental ideas. This is a great dish.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 11th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Rice is nice, but I am not a fan of rice... so I substituted in pasta spirals, which was also really yummy. I found that when I drained the spirals really thoroughly, the churry sauce stuck to it much better than if you stir through butter or oil.

A dollop of sour cream on top really set it off, and I stirred through some cream before I dished it up, just to thicken the sauce up a bit more. I agree that it was a little 'weak' for my tastes, but so saying, it was a very authentic match to what I have bought at local vendors.

Though I have a tender tummy when it comes to Indian food, and sure enough I paid the price the next day when Gaviscon was my constant companion and closest friend... but it was worth it. Oh yes, it was worth it.

Overall, a delightful dish, and for those who like their food with plenty of bite, this might be a little mild, but will keep you warm inside all night. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 10th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This has to be one of the best Butter Chickens I have ever tasted, not only is it the right amount of "heat", but the chicken is nicely tender and just the right size that this makes this one my favourite of the Kaweka range. I am a huge fan of curries of any sort, but Butter Chicken has to be one of my favourites. And now with this offering from Kaweka so easily available I can see i'll be eating alot more of it.

So Kaweka, keep the good food coming. Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 7th of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is definitely my favourite so far of the Kaweka range.

Convenience butter chicken meals I have usually found to be bland, boring, watery and severely lacking in chicken. At last I have found one that isnt! The Kaweka Butter chicken is creamy, has a true butter chicken flavour and the chicken is plentiful. I really enjoyed it.

With rice, this sachet could easily feed two people, much cheaper than takeaway butter chicken and this makes this product good value for money. As another reviewer said this product is high in fat, but this is to be expected when real, quality ingredients such as cream and butter are used. Just eat in moderation. I know I'd rather have the full fat 'true' flavour than a low fat 'fake' flavour!

I am very impressed with this product and would buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of neoshibby

Review by: neoshibby (Stacey)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

All I can say is... tasty!
Butter Chicken is one of my favourite all-time dishes, I am a big fan of Indian food and I thought Kaweka did a pretty good job with this one. Whilst it wasn't quite as rich as I normally like it, this butter chicken was a definite taste sensation. There was not quite as much meat as I would have preferred, but there was still a reasonable amount.
The butter chicken is a little high in fat, but this is to be expected, just be wary if you are looking to monitor your diet!

Not much experimenting here, I just served it over rice. Instead of poppadoms I would normally use naan bread with indian food, but in this case I didn't have any or the inclination to cook any so I just made some home made garlic bread to have with it. Fantastic!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 3446: Sids Honey Mustard Vinaigrette -  Produced by Sids Sauce

Product image for Sids Honey Mustard Vinaigrette    •  Use on your favourite salads & coleslaw.
    •  Wonderful on fish, pork, chicken, corned beef and makes a fantastic base for a Prawn Cocktail.
    •  Requires no refrigeration, but keep in a cool dark place.
    •  Low sodium - 322mg/100g
    •  No fat, animal products, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Focus 90% of your time on solutions and only 10% of your time on problems."
Anthony J. D'Angelo, The College Blue Book

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream