Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th December 2017 - 11:26:53

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Takeaway Outlets > Domino's Pizza review

« Cube 2 : Hypercube reviewCube 2 : HypercubeAliens vs Predator 2 reviewAliens vs Predator 2 »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.3/10  [17 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 88 - Domino's Pizza
Located : Nationwide

Domino's Pizza
Price:
 
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Domino

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
0800 30 40 50 for hours and orders

Domino's Pizza product reviews

Nobody, and we mean nobody, knows more about making great tasting pizza than Domino's.

For more than 40 years we've been constantly creating new ways of bringing our customers the perfect pizza experience. For a start, we were the first pizza place in the world to home deliver pizza!

We invented Hot Cell, the revolutionary electronic hot bag that keeps your pizza oven-fresh to your door.

In fact, pizza is our driving passion. We don't have desserts or a wide range of side items like some. We just concentrate on making great pizzas.

We use only the best ingredients like fresh tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, fresh onions, and sun-dried tomatoes. And only the best quality meats, aged 100% mozzarella and our very own special sauce, made with vine-ripened tomatoes, basil and oregano.

And ONLY Domino's has the famous Classic Crust, the delicious pizzeria-style crust that's crisp on the outside, soft and light on the inside and baked fresh to order.

We're passionate. Passionate about giving you the very best products and the best service. That's why when you phone us, you speak directly to the store where your pizza is made, not to a central call centre.

But enough talk, put us to the test! Try any one of our fresh made-to-order delicious pizzas and if you're not completely satisfied, we'll give you your money back!

Check out Domino's Pizza onlineClick here to see all the listings for Domino's Pizza Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
pizza   takeaway
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5
The Edge CrustThe Edge Crust
Rating: 8.8
Raspberry Fudge BrowniesRaspberry Fudge Brownies
Rating: 7.5
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and GingerSealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and Ginger
Rating: 9.3
Garlic Pizza BreadGarlic Pizza Bread
Rating: 9.1
Reduced Salt FetaReduced Salt Feta
Rating: 9.5
Marvellous Creations Marvellous Creations 
Rating: 8.9
Denny's RestaurantsDenny's Restaurants
Rating: 6.0
Just Like Mum's - Beef LasagneJust Like Mum's - Beef Lasagne
Rating: 8.0
Little Chef Spring Roll PastryLittle Chef Spring Roll Pastry
Rating: 10.0
Tamarillo ChutneyTamarillo Chutney
Rating: 8.8
Double Decadence CrustDouble Decadence Crust
Rating: 8.5
AqabaAqaba
Rating: 7.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 20th of February, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Location: Unspecified

I'm going to put it out there for those people that do not personally know me. I am a huge fan of Italian food - more specifically pizza and pasta. I absolutely love pizza and never get tired of it. Whether it is pizza that I make at home with my family experimenting with flavour combinations, a pizza bought from the supermarket, or ordering a pizza from a takeaway shop. When I'm thinking of takeaway pizzas in New Zealand there are a few which instantly pop to mind. Pizza Hut, Hell's Pizza and Domino's Pizza. All of these offer pick-up or delivery options.

Domino's Pizza is pizza - but also so much more! From the extensive array of different flavoured pizzas, fries and wedges, garlic bread, prawns, and several different chicken options. But let's not forget the dessert menu too! The dessert menu includes cookies, mousse, churros, mousse, and the famous Belgian Choc Lava Cake. The pizza menu has a wide variety of options and there is bound to be something for everyone. However if by chance there isn't anything that takes your fancy, you have the option to create your own flavour masterpiece. My family personally love the Loaded Meatlovers, Apricot Chicken, and the children love the Ham & Cheese pizza.

When I first heard about the $4.99 pizzas I was dubious about how much topping and flavour would be on the pizza. I didn't need to worry. Each bite is full of flavour and very generous on toppings. Domino's also do combo deals for pizza and various sides which are also a good deal for families or parties.

Domino's have friendly staff, tidy stores, easy to read menus, offer lots of deals, and every time I have ordered it has been hot and delivered promptly. I love Domino's and continue to support them and their deals. I always recommend them, especially as they have many stores to order from. If you have not tried Domino's yet I suggest you should.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 14th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

My daughters birthday was approaching and we had decided to go to the park so they could burn off some energy before going to the cinema. I thought it would be a great idea to order some takeaway pizza and have it delivered to the park in so we could eat something quick and easy that everyone would enjoy.

I called Domino's Pizza the night before and placed my order and arranged a time and a place for them to meet me the following day. They arrived on time in the designated place and produced the pizza's from a Hot Cell (which claims to be a revolutionary electronic hot bag that keeps the pizza oven-fresh!) I can certainly vouch that the Hot Cell did what it said it would as our pizza's were hot and fresh. They were actually so hot we had to wait 5 minutes for them to cool down before we could dish them out!

We had ordered 6 pizza's in total which were thoroughly enjoyed by the birthday group! The base was cooked to perfection and I can honestly say that these were fresh, tasty and filling pizza's, so filling in fact that we had to take some home with us to eat for dinner! I can also confirm that they taste delicious cold as well as hot! I totally recommend Domino's Pizza's for fresh, tasty pizza's with an efficient delivery service and will definitely be using them again.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

When ordering takeaways we will often go to Domino's Pizza, mainly because of it's location in regards to where we live as it's just up the road, and also because of the great price and value of their $4.99 pizzas (though I have to admit I have been quite enjoying the Chef's Best range that they have had for $8.00 just recently, as these are just that little bit more gourmet). For under $20 we can easily buy a meal for our family of 3 with plenty of left overs for our lunch and dinner the following day, for $20 we will usually grab 2 pizzas from the value range and a side of chips and garlic bread.

Dominos has an amazing internet ordering system that is fast and easy to use, and which shows you your stores current specials and deals, to use these online all you have to do is put the code in just before confirming your order, super easy. The online system also has a live tracker where you can what stage your pizza as at in regards to being ready, which is perfect for knowing when to jump in the car to pick up your order and it also stops your pizza and sides from having to sit under the heat lamps for to long.

Flavour wise we obviously have our favourites, what family doesn't? My partner loves the pepperoni as does his brother, where as Miss 2 loves Hawaiian, with the yummy yet simple combination of pineapple, ham and cheese a tropical sensation, I love the double bacon cheeseburger, mainly because this has mayonnaise on it! The pizzas are always hot and fresh and the base is just perfect.

Definitely a favourite pizza place for our family! We are regulars at the Saint James store in Rototuna, Hamilton.

Click here to read the profile of gina

Review by: gina (Gina)
Dated: 8th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Domino's has become one of my family's favourite takeaway dinners. We can spend $20 and receive 4 traditional pizza's that cater to all our different tastes. This is also enough to feed a family of 4. Every time we have eaten here, we have been met with fast and friendly service. It is a very consistent restaurant that provides the same good quality food every time without fail, and we have never had any complaints. The use of quality ingredients in generous portions adds to the overall enjoyment of the pizzas and the flavours they bring.

Despite the fast service there could be more information and prompts given upon ordering; including different types of bases and sauces that could influence your choices and encourage you to try different food combinations.

They provide a range of deals that make an all round meal affordable to a family of any size. The option to order online has worked well for us because I can order online while at home and it's ready by the time I drive in; which is convenient for a busy family on the go.

In conclusion, Domino's Pizza has provided what they advertise and does so in an effective manner that does not disappoint.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 1st of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

We eat takeaways a lot, dominos is a pretty standard go to shop because they are everywhere or so it seems and you can't beat $4.99 a pizza. I must admit that my favourite is a little more expensive but with kids it means you can buy extras and they still taste good re-heated the next day.

Location wise, you never seem far from a dominos store and if you cannot find one, I believe the app can help you out. I visited a store last week and my pizza came out to me hot, the two staff members where polite and most helpful about vaccanys.

When ordering I do question the lack of asking if they can get you anything else because sometimes I am questioning dessert and because I'm not asked, I never do it.

Flavour wise, the Hawaiian is our first standard order pizza because of the traditional taste, closely followed by the pepperoni and meat lovers but the best, most perfect pizza for our family is the double bacon cheeseburger on stuffed crust and drool worthy (maybe I'm biased). Every time I have had this pizza, it has been perfectly delivered to me.

My issue with some of the pizzas, like the bbq chicken and rasher bacon is that the bacon is often well cooked and scratches the top of my mouth while eating it. Its no biggy as it tastes good but scratched up mouths are hard to chew with.

Click here to read the profile of kim_blee

Review by: kim_blee (Kim)
Dated: 29th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 7 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10

After being a dedicated buyer of the Dominos brand, I am becoming increasingly disappointed and will no longer purchase their pizza.

The thing that has let them down is the Italian sauce. It has become so spicy that it is inedible, and my kids (who love pizza) will no longer touch it. And while the $4.99 would normally be considered good value, if the pizza is going to waste, then its not good value. And their solution to have a different sauce (their suggestion), is never going to work. We like the Italian sauce, but not spicy.

I am not sure why they changed the recipe, because they were on to a brilliant thing, but unless you are lovers of all things spicy you are not going to enjoy their pizzas.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 18th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Branch: Paraparumu

I was staying in a motel with my family. We had already had fish and chips and Chinese takeaways the previous two nights so decided to have pizza. The big problem is my sister is unable to eat wheat. We sent online and found that although Pizza Hut was very close to us Domino's had a gluten free base. She selected her pizza and the rest of us decided what we wee going to have and we placed an online order. Within a minute of placing the order I received a call from the Paraparaumu store informing me that the sauce that we requested for our gluten free pizza wasn't gluten free. The staff member then informed us which sauces were gluten free. We really appreciated this because for many people gluten is life threatening.

My father and I went off to pick up the order. I hadn't paid much attention to the location when I placed the order but had seen Raumati Beach on the address so we headed off to the Raumati Beach shops. There was no Domino's there. I rang the store (thankfully the number was still in my phone from their earlier call). The staff member was very helpful at giving me directions. When we eventually got there I was relieved to find our order was still waiting for us.

We enjoyed our regular pizzas and the pasta was a huge hit with the kids. My sister did comment that although her toppings were great the gluten free base was very tough. She did however eat the leftovers cold the next day without a comment.

What I was most impressed with was the staff's knowledge and friendliness. It would have been helpful to have GF in brackets next to the gluten free sauces and the correct address for the store on the website. Although Raumati and Paraparaumu are connected the Domino's store is only a few doors down from the Coastlands shopping centre on SH1 in Paraparaumu.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Branch: Bethlehem, Tauranga

We will get Domino's pizzas more often than other Pizza places as it is the restaurant that is closest to our house and probably out of all the pizza places it would be the cheapest too, with Pizzas for as little as $4.90 you can really have a cheap takeaway dinner.

The menu at Dominoes is really extensive with a wide variety of different pizza's and they have vegetarian and gluten free options to cater for a variety of people. The value range of Pizza's which are only $4.90 are really good considering their price you get a good amount of toppings and they taste really nice too. You can also choose a range of bases so if you prefer thin base you can have that over a deep pan base. The toppings seem to be good quality and you can tell the chicken is real chicken not processed meat.

They have recently brought out a new gourmet menu of which I have tried the Chicken, cranberry, and brie which was really really good and had a good amount of brie and cranberriers on a really nice thin base. The new range would be good if you were having people over for a dinner as it is more fancy than normal pizza. The price is more expensive at $16 per pizza but they definetly do taste great.

The service is generally good at my local store however there are times when you are left waiting at the counter for someone to serve you while they are all out the back making the pizzas. Also they have a computer screen that displays when your pizza is ready and there are times when it will not be ready when it is supposed to be ready. The other thing I don't like is that they ask you to pay when you pick up and I prefer to pay when I order but overall it is a good experience.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 5th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Whenever we buy pizza which isnt that often as I try to make my own, I find the service at the Whangarei store pretty good, they are always pleasant and friendly, both over the phone when ordering and on pick-up.

The pizzas themselves are tasty depending on what flavour etc you order and what base you order you pizza on. I cant comment too much on what's available as I totally order the same pizze every time! Meatlovers on the extra cheesy base is simply amazing!!! I like the fact they have different menu's for different budgets ~ theres the classic menu and the traditional menu. Dominoes has to be the only pizza place ive seen that offers just a cheese pizza for the fussy child in the family (or any adult haha I must admit to wanting to have this as I remember having it as a child).

Recommend to others and totally prefer Dominoes over Pizza Hut pizza's

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 10 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Branch: Whangarei, Northland

Not a huge fan of store bought Pizzas...prefer to make my own but Dominoes is my first choice if I am feeling lazy. I find the service at my Whangarei store great, they are always pleasant and friendly, both over the phone when ordering and on pick-up.

The pizzas themselves are tasty depending on what flavour etc you order and what base you order you pizza on. I love lots of sauce on my pizzas and when I place an order I will ask for more sauce and they haven't failed my yet!! Also I like the fact they have different menu's for different budgets....the classic menu and the traditional menu and offer a just cheese pizza for the fussy child in the family!!

The Whangarei store is always willing to change the toppings and never seem put out by any request that I have made so far. Even through a few management changes the service and quaility of the pizzas haven't changed, if anything they have improved for the better.

So if you are wanting a tasty and no fuss meal head to you local store and check out the pizzas at Dominoes Pizza....you won't be disappointed, and if you are take a road trip to Northland and visit my Whangarei store!! Smile Icon because then you will know what a great pizza tastes like.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 7 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10

Branch: Henderson, Auckland

We decided that we would buy a pizza from Domino's as we hadn't done so before. Our first time buying from them was also our last. And when I complained to the staff I never heard back.

We thought that the taste of the pizzas overall was delicious, but for the amount we paid for only two pizzas, we could have bought twice that, for the same price, from elsewhere. We though the taste was great, but the cost, far too much and not worth it. Their prices do seem to have changed over the past year, but due to our last experience we are hesitant to try.
Our other complaint with them was their delivery. They had this thing on the computer that you could look at to keep a track of what stage your pizza was. Had it been made, was it waiting to be picked up, was it on route, had it been delivered... We got to it saying that our pizza had been delivered, so naturally I expected it within minutes. Half an hour later and 6 unanswered calls it finally arrived, and not fresh or piping hot.

I may try Domino's pizza again, one day, but I don't think it will be any time soon.

Click here to read the profile of cheekiedrakie

Review by: cheekiedrakie (Yvan)
Dated: 9th of February, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10

Branch: Pioneer Highway, Palmerston North.

This evening I ordered three pizzas from Dominos - Pioneer Highway, Palmerston North.
    •  1 Deep Dish Hawaiian
    •  1 Deep Dish Meatball Monster
    •  1 Deep Dish Meatosaurus

I spoke to Steve when I places my order and specifically requested that the Meatosaurus have only half the pizza with BBQ sauce.
Unfortunately when the Pizzas arrived I discovered the meatosaurus had bbq sauce on the whole pizza. Disappointed, I called the store, rather unhappy, and spoke to Mandi. Having worked in a call center myself, and had to deal with disgruntled customers on a daily basis, I would like to commend Mandi on her handling of the situation, and thank her for arranging a free replacement, which arrived within half an hour.

Overall, after an initial disappointment, I would like to commend the handling of the situation by the Domino's staff.

The pizza itself was nothing to write home about, better than some compeditors, but not as good as the frozen pizzas one can get from a supermarket.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 19th of October, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 1 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 2 out of 10

Branch: Pioneer Highway, Palmerston North

3 months ago I had a run-ine with some cold pizza and the operations manager gave me a letter for a free pick-up pizza as a sorry-note. I thought it was time to use it up since it was within 24 hours of expiring. From the first moments of the phonecall I knew this was going to be yet another bad one. The staff person was pushy, demanding, rude and intolerant of a customer placing an order and asking what a 'potato bake' was.
It turns out their new promotional item (replacement for the delightfully tasty cheese and garlic pizza bread) is a punnet of wedges, with cheese, bacon and fresh liquid cream, and shoved through the pizza oven. Sounds strange, thought it might be worth a try, and carried a pricetag of $5.95.
After 10 minutes of trying to get a clear picture out of the unhelpful staff member, I placed the order and hung up, waited 18 minutes and then made a 6 minute drive to collect the food, assuming it would be waiting in the HotCell cabinet. I was wrong. When I arrived, my name was on the board as "Order is Ready" and yet the staff person had to spend 4 minutes asking other staff for the order, only to be told it was STILL IN THE OVEN COOKING! She took my money, rang on the sale of the Potato Bake, didn't ask about the letter for the free pizza, gave me my change and vanished. When my order FINALLY arrived 5 minutes later (a total of 18 minutes longer than the promised 15 minutes), in the hands of yet another staff person, I was confronted by the staff person demanding payment AGAIN. I had to say, TWICE, "I have already paid. The money was taken by that young woman" and pointing to her at the back of the cooking area. He got really rude, so I just turned away and walked out.
I got the food home, and cracked open the potato bake first, hoping for something remarkable to offset the rude service. No such luck. The potato bake was overcooked, the bacon was thoroughly burnt, the cream and cheese mix had set into a semi-waxy layer and tasted slightly rancid, and the wedges themselves were floury and so embedded in the cheese-cream that they fell apart at every attempt to get them on the fork. Very disappointing. The meatasaurus pizza was ok, but a little overcooked as well.
The end result was very much a let down, and I dont think I will return to the Pioneer Highway store again. I have always found the Terrace End store to offer me much better service, and the food is usually top notch there.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 7th of January, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 9 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Branch: Terrace End, Palmerston North

I rang the 0800 number from my cellphone as I drove back into town from a day at the beach with mates. I had to press a few buttons to get routed to the Palmy store, but that's normal.
I ordered a couple of pizzas for pick-up (had a voucher from in the mailbox for some cheapies, so why not eh) - one El Scorcho on Classic Crust, one Big Kahuna on thin crust, and a garlic bread for nibbles. By the time I got there, they were ready. And smelling great!
Got home, unpacked, and we tucked in. First off, the Big Kahuna was tasty, but nothing special. Needs something unique to really make it a 'Domino's Pizza' instead of 'a hawiian pizza with a new name'.
However, the El Scorcho was awesome! Everything I thought it would be, and more! The flavour stayed with me well after the pizza was gone. I was reminded of the fire and flavour, the tasty tomato sauce, the meat, the cheese, the whole yummy combination... every time I burped. No complaints though.
Mucho goodo pizza folks! I'll be back.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 5th of January, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Branch: Terrace End, Palmerston North

I had been wanting to try Dominos as soon as it arrived in Palmy. When I received the flyer in the mail along with the coupons well I HAD to try it! I rang the freephone number on the flyer and received a pleasant greeting. I ordered one Deep Dish Big Kahuna pizza (ham, cheese & pineapple) and one Classic crust Double beef & bacon cheeseburger pizza (from memory has beef, bacon, cheese, bbq sauce and a swirl of mayonnaise), and one garlic bread. All up the order came to $17.40 and I was told I could pick the order up in 15 minutes. Great. We arrived at Dominoes approx 15 minutes later, our order was waiting for us when we arrived. Got home & opened the box, wow - smelt & looked GREAT. Tried some garlic bread, nice and garlic-buttery, but however I found it a bit soggy. Now for the pizza - Big Kahuna on the deep dish crust. Lots of pineapple, crust was great. Tasted great, but I dont think it was much different to another well known pizza company. Time to try the Double beef and bacon on Classic Crust. Very meaty and tasty, and the mayo really topped off the flavour. My favourite of the two. Can't wait to try their other pizzas - especially the Mr Wedge, that looks particularly interesting. All in all, was impressed - abundant toppings, REAL mozzerella and a light mozzerella option which cuts back 50% of the fat, not too pricey, short wait times, friendly staff. Will be going back for seconds.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 24th of December, 2003

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Branch: Terrace End, Palmerston North

Well after the good first review by one of our core review team we were invited to the offcial opening of the Palmerston North store, this being one of the very first Domino's Pizza store in this part of the country.

After a bit of a chat with the Franchise owner and a talk with the New Zealand Operations Manager, I was given the grand tour. The first thing I noticed was in the chiller was all these pizza pans with times and dates on them, this was quickly explained that their dough and bases are made there on the premises and are rotated to ensure no dough is used past it's use by date. Another thing was the toppings, these are stored in chilled containers in a special bench that also has cool air passed over the toppings all the time.

And of course the most vital piece of any pizzaria the ovens. These two ovens are capable of churning out a whopping 65 pizza's each per half hour, that's an incredible 130 pizza's every half hour. Now that's what I call a good turnover. And lastly they have specially designed pizza warmers to keep that pizza nice and hot at a blistering 83C until you are ready to collect.

And now for the taste. What can I say it is simply the best pizza I have tasted in a while, and their special Domino's Crust is a must to try.

So would I dine there again? Certainly. Would I look at going anywhere else? Not a Chance.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 22nd of December, 2003

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Shop & Staff:
Score 8 out of 10
Location:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

Branch: Terrace End, Palmerston North

I walked in and ordered "...just one pizza, a Meatosaurus on a thin crust, and I'll try that deLIGHT cheese please." "That'll be an extra 50c, is that OK?" "So I pay more, for less? " "Yup." "OK, that'll be fine, thanks." "Sure, be ready in about 15 minutes."

I was quite surprised to see my name appear on a queue list on a PC screen to one side, telling me EXACTLY how far away my order was. Very impressive, and a constant reassurance that they hadn't lost my order, as another Pizza supplier seems to do with alarming regularity.

While I waited for my pizza to cook, I took the opportunity to check out the latest addition to Palmy's culinary marketplace.

It's the little things that really make the best impression. Like the menu boards being down at our level, on the front of the counter, shielded behind safety-rated glass. The PC-controlled queue system, as previously mentioned. The wide range of combinations possible with the food was also a draw-card, since they stock Garlic Bread and Soft Drinks, plus have a range of pizza component combos.

The staff were friendly, informative, and open to a chat when things were quiet, and didn't all look and feel like the 'cookie-cutter kids' you can find at many other branded fast food outlets with their standard lines, starched uniforms and glued-on smiles. Despite the staff still being 'green' (since the store only opened their doors a few days ago), they seemed to be pretty good, considering. The franchise owner even invited me outside for a chat, and offered to give me a walk-through of the store at a time that suited, provided it wasn't busy as.

In what seemed no time at all, my pizza was ready, and I said goodbye to this great team, and grabbing my pizza I handed over my money (also a new thing to NZ, pay on pick-up, not pay on order. What a great way to show confidence in your product!) and headed home. Even outside in a stiff breeze, the smell was making my tummy complain at my miserly refusal to just sit on the curb and hoe into it.

When I got home and opened 'the box with the spots' my first impression was "Where's my Pizza?" It didn't look like much, but like all good Italian dishes, the size of the portions is not the big issue, the taste and the way it fills you up is. With only 3 slices in my belly, I was soon disabused of any idea of sparce portions, this pizza is tasty, surprisingly filling, and good value for money on all counts.

I found the store location to be excellent (diagonally opposite another big-brand pizza store also reviewed on this site under RESTAURANTS) which also happens to be just 5 minutes walk from my base of operations. All in all, a great experience I look forward to repeating in the near future, and often after that.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7371: Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel Crunchy -  Brand / Manufactured by: Popped

Product image for Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel CrunchyGrown and made in New Zealand, GMO free, Handcrafted recipes with all natural ingredients cooked in Coconut oil.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream