Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 19th January 2020 - 21:03:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Farrah's Wraps - Smoky Chipotle review

« Dragon Empire 2 : Guardian of Empire reviewDragon Empire 2 : Guardian of EmpireFarrah's Wraps - Mediterranean Tomato reviewFarrah's Wraps - Mediterranean Tomato »

Score: 9.5/10  [13 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 8432 - Farrah's Wraps - Smoky Chipotle
Brand / Source : Farrah's

Farrah's Wraps - Smoky Chipotle
Price:
$5.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

Farrah's Wraps - Smoky Chipotle product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFarrah's Smoky Chipotle Wraps are full of bold smoky and sweet notes, with just the right chipotle kick. They're perfect for summer BBQ burgers or slow cooked pulled pork and beef.

Every Wrap has softness you can feel, and smooth edges you can see. Fill, fold, wrap, stack or bake - there are plenty of delicious recipes to explore!

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chipotle   dairy free   farrahs   halal   nzmade   vegan   vegetarian   wraps   yeast free
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - HummusFarrah's Wraps - Hummus
Rating: 8.9
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Taco Meal KitFarrah's Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Crispy Chicken Taco Meal KitFarrah's Crispy Chicken Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.2
Farrah's Italian Herb WrapsFarrah's Italian Herb Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Superbeet WrapsFarrah's Superbeet Wraps
Rating: 9.2
Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal KitFarrah's Mexican Fajita Meal Kit
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Mediterranean TomatoFarrah's Wraps - Mediterranean Tomato
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Chia, Oat & HempFarrah's Wraps - Chia, Oat & Hemp
Rating: 9.8
Giapo GelatteriaGiapo Gelatteria
Rating: 9.8
Roshen BatonsRoshen Batons
Rating: 8.5
Anathoth Farm - Beetroot ChutneyAnathoth Farm - Beetroot Chutney
Rating: 9.8
Edmonds Triple Chocolate MuffinsEdmonds Triple Chocolate Muffins
Rating: 8.3
Bakeworks Mini Gluten Free CookiesBakeworks Mini Gluten Free Cookies
Rating: 10.0
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & HoneyCecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & Honey
Rating: 9.1
Innestyle Sauce - ChilliInnestyle Sauce - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
SP Herb Green Curry PasteSP Herb Green Curry Paste
Rating: 6.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of onyxcyrus

Review by: onyxcyrus (Cat)
Dated: 19th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Farrah's Smoky Chipotle is not the first flavour of Farrah's wrap we have tried. We often get the spinach or beetroot flavoured wraps. We always have a packet on hand and use them to make wraps instead of sandwiches for lunches. The kids also love the flavour and colour of the wraps asking for more every time.

This time we tried out the Farrah's smoky Chipotle Wraps to make Enchiladas. The smoky flavour wasn't over powering like you might think. It was well balanced with the flavours coming through from the chicken mix. I love that these are healthier than other options being made from wheat flour instead of white flour. I am amazed with how easily the Farrah wraps wrap up! they claim on the packet that they won't crack or split and I was skeptical at first but no matter how many I wrapped and how much filling I put in they never cracked or split. They are easily the best wraps on the market! I like that they have made these wraps bigger than other brands because I can fit so much more of my favourite fillings inside.

It is great that the packet is resealable in case you don't use them all, they will stay nice and fresh for the next time you want to pull them out. The design on the packet is great, it is very appealing and makes the packet stand out on the shelf. It also has a fresh and modern design which I like. I think the Farrah wraps are a definite must in the shopping trolley and I will recommend them to everyone every chance I get.

Click here to read the profile of irishgreen416

Review by: irishgreen416 (Jasmine)
Dated: 15th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Smoky Chipotle wraps by Farrah's is the third flavour of their wraps that I have tried. Before trying these wraps, I never considered buying flavoured wraps. The extent of my adventurous wrap buying had consisted of spinach wraps that I bought mainly for the added health benefit of spinach because they do not have much of a flavour. This particular flavour has convinced met to supplement my plain wrap buying with these fun types.

If there were such a thing as a near perfect grocery store wrap, Farrah's would be it. The company claims they will not crack or will not split when rolled and they do not. Splitting was a minor frustration with the previous brand I was buying. It is delightful to have a wrap that rolls so well. These wraps are super soft and do not need to be heated to roll well. They are also the optimal size for my partner and me. They are big enough to roll quite a lot of fillings so I only need to eat one burrito versus eating two burritos with much more tortilla and much less filling.

As for this particular Smoky Chipotle variety, it is a subtle flavour when you fill the wrap with many other goodies. It did seem to add a deeper complexity to my meal though and I enjoyed the slightly smoky chipotle taste. These are made with whole-wheat flour, which is nice because it is healthier than white flour. They also have quite a bit of protein (4.5g) from what I would expect out of a wrap. Even though I just tried these making a normal burrito, I like the recipe and meal suggestions on the package. Pulled pork in a burrito would be delicious and using these wraps instead of a bun to have a burger seems like a healthy and lower carb alternative. I hope I remember that idea in the future.

Overall, Farrah's has won me over and their wraps will be my tortilla of choice at the grocery store. I suggest you try these and choose the flavour that you enjoy or that will go best with what you are making. I have not had a wrap from them that I did not like.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 11th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Our household always has tortillas or wraps in the cupboard, due to the fact my eldest does not eat bread by choice and I cannot due to surgery and it not making me feel well! My kids adore "build your own" lunch or dinner wrap, and these are a great easy dinner, caters for all fussiness levels, and is affordable as something different.

Having used Farrah's products before, I was fairly aware of the quality of these and was expecting the same, and was not disappointed. Opening up the bag, I discovered it is a resealable bag, however, I still like to put mine into a container to keep them as fresh as possible. The packaging it great - nice colours and picture of the wraps, and a different, easy to distinguish the colour of the packet. The packet also has a selection of ideas if you have never encountered wraps, and a recipe.

When I opened you the bag I did get a good flavoursome waft of smokiness - and it had me wanting to try them. As it was afternoon tea time, so I thought I would try the kids on them too. I just lightly toasted them and buttered them. The kids were not sure but we encouraged them to try them. For them, they said it was too spicy and they did not like it. Dang it, however at least they tried something new!

Plain on their own, I found them really nice - but the taste did not match the flavour - the flavour was a lot less than expected and does not really linger around. I then decided to use these in a more usual way and make a chicken wrap, thinking that the chipotle flavour could go really nice with it, and I was not wrong - it added a bit of zing to the meal and was really delicious!

These wraps as really well made - no crumbling or cracking when you fold them up, they are nice and soft too - which is great for the kids. All in all, these are really great - are very versatile and definitely will be in my pantry over summer as they keep fresh for way longer!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 4th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Farrah's is a well-known brand in our household due to their extensive variety of wraps and Mexican range of food. Wraps are great for on the go style of meals as they are quick and easy to make up and are tasty making them very convenient for school or work lunches. Having wraps with built-in flavour make them a cut above the rest as they add the extra wow factor to the meal. The packaging on Farrah's smoky chipotle wraps is very appealing as it looks natural and earthy plus having the resealable zip lock is handy if you're having them on your own over several meals but if you're like our family it doesn't really matter too much as the wraps are finished within one meal.

I opened up the packaging and ripped a small portion off the top wrap and placed it in front of my nose to smell the aroma of a smoky bbq which was very pleasing. I proceeded to taste the piece and it had a mild smoky flavour to it that suited the wrap very well. We decided to have chicken wraps for dinner which is one of the kid's favourites so we got to prepping the meal by cutting up tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce, capsicum and cheese. We fried up the chicken and bacon and served it out along with the other additive for the kids to make up their own wraps accompanied by roasted potatoes. The wraps were great as they could be rolled up tightly without splitting which is so frustrating when that happens and they had a great thickness to them of about 1.5 mm plus they tasted fantastic adding that smoky and sweet flavour to the meal.

All of the kids finished theirs loving them and wanting more which is always good to see that they are getting their nutrients without having to be tricked or convinced to do so. I will need to buy another pack at a later date as I would love to try the wraps out as a crispy thin pizza base. Being that they are dairy-free, vegan-friendly and Halal certified it is great that they cater for many people. I love Farrah's range and with products like this continually being added to their line up, it is just cementing them further as being an excellent company.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Farrah's is one of those brands that managed to sway me over to their side, the majority of the reason why being that they can take a lot and don't tear on you like other brands are apt to. Chipotle isn't a flavour I tend to lean towards, ever, but I won't say no to a freebie. Opening this up I could easily smell the smokey side to the flavouring and it wasn't a hit more me but I knew that I needed to give it a good taste test before I passed my final judgement on these wraps.

Hosting a birthday afternoon tea and having not done enough shopping I grabbed these wraps, spread butter and marmite on them, sprinkled with cheese, rolled them up and then threw it into the oven for a few minutes. Taste testing a few, the chipotle wasn't too strong, every now and then a short, tiny hit of heat but it never lasted and it wasn't noticed by the kids. What we did work out though, was that the overall flavour of the wrap did NOT suit marmite and cheese and it ended up getting fed to the chickens and wild birds who happily chowed down on it.

I ended up using it for a late night snack with some rice and veges but was overall unimpressed, the flavour just didn't do anything for me at all and I won't be buying this one again.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've said it before I know but i'll say it again Farrah's really do have the best wraps out and since discovering them I can't bring myself to use a different brand of wraps. When they promise they wont crack or split when filled and rolled they are 100% telling the truth the wraps are robust yet still beautifully soft to eat. The only brand of wraps i've used where I have found that I do not need to heat the wrap to soften it up a bit before use. When you remove them from the packet they are beautifully soft and have all that beautifully freshly baked texture and scent.

I am a big fan of the smoky chipotle spices so when I saw this flavour variety I was excited to give it a try. I noticed on opening the packet you could pick up those smokey notes straight away, as with other Farrah's wraps varities you can taste the flavours they are subtle enough to not be too much but definitely add fragrant background flavours to the wrap itself. In this smoky chipotle wrap I could pick up the smoked flavour but there was a great level of sweet and spicy too. This is subtle enough that it doesnt distract from your chosen fillings but certainly adds a different touch of flavour.

We used these wraps for a traditional burrito as I think the chipotle is a perfect match for mexican style food. Even filling the wraps with saucy chicken, salad vegetables, beans and a saucy salsa the wrap holds itself and doesnt split spilling your fillings everywhere. I am yet to master the burrito wrapping skill I have to admit but being a good size these give you enough wrap to work with that you can get a good fold over even for a novice. With six wraps in the packet they are the perfect family sized packet as we all were able to have a wrap with one spare.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I buy wraps every week, mainly for my husband who makes his own ham, cheese and lettuce wrap for lunch on his work days. We have tried quite a few of the Farrah's wrap flavours with our favourites being Premium White, Caramelised Onion and Garlic Butter, so of course I was keen to try this new flavour of Smoky Chipotle.

The wraps come in a pack of six and are great diameter size compared to other wraps on the market, the packet was resealable and I noticed they are now listed as Halal certified, Vegan and Vegetarian, Dairy and Yeast Free and of course made in NZ! Fantastic achievements, well done.

I decided to just tear a piece off the wrap and taste it on it's own, the wrap was lovely and soft and the flavour was mild smoky with a tiny bit of chipolte kick. I decided that I would buy some pulled pork and coleslaw and our family had smoky chipolte pulled park wraps for our meal that evening, all the family really enjoyed these with my youngest commenting on the nice colour of the wrap as well.

I had one wrap left and decided to cut that one up into chips and brush with olive oil then toast under the grill in my oven until crispy, once the chips had cooled down we had them with a sour cream and chives drip that I had in my fridge. I really enjoyed the wrap made into chips and I decided that this would become a go to for a different yummy snack when guests come over, and with the beauty of the long due date it gives me an option in the pantry other than just crackers.

I would recommend these Farrah's Smoky Chipotle wraps to all who appreciate a good quality NZ made product by a company who is willing to think outside the box.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 5th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wraps are a staple pantry item in our household. Their uses are endless and they are a universal favourite for lunch, dinner or a snack at any time of the day. Having used Farrah's wraps before on many occasions, I know that they are a company with a focus on quality and performance, so we were really stoked to eeceive these Smoky Chipotle wraps to review.

As usual with Farrah's wraps, the packaging is excellent. Colour coding means that you don't get mixed up between flavours (if, like me, you can't just buy one pack at a time), and there is a yummy recipe included on the back, as well as suggestions of how to use them. The packet is also resealable with a really good zip lock system, keeping them fresh if you don't use them all at once.

When we first opened the wraps I was quite surprised at how smoky they smelled. I am quite used to the flavours being subtle in wraps, but this one was reasonably strong. The wraps tasted almost like a mild BBQ sauce- and would definitely enhance any filling they were containing. As usual with Farrah's, the wraps are beautifully soft, and don't split or crack, even when rolled tightly.

I tried the wraps firstly with Mexican food- and the chipotle smoke worked brilliantly with the enchiladas spice. I also tried these to encase some barbecued chicken and veges with a ranch-style sauce- where the creamy ranch and bbq flavours worked in harmony. These also made a perfect snack smeared with marmite and cheese- both my hubby and my daughters were big fans.

Overall these were fantastic. Perfect for so many things and being universally popular with my family. If you like flavour with the classic Farrah's quality, then these wraps are for you. All I can say is yum!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm a huge fan of Farrah's wraps and use them for my lunch every day. I usually stick to a basic ham and cheese filling and enjoy having the flavour of Farrah's wrap 'spruce' things up. The packs are resealable which is great and I find that the wraps stay fresh for a long time. There was a subtle but lovely smokey chipotle scent when I opened these wraps and although I'm not a huge fan of chipotle flavoured sauces, I couldn't wait to try these wraps. The wraps tasted as yummy as they smelt and they really did change my daily wrap from ordinary to extraordinary.

Another advantage that Farrah's wraps have is that they don't crack which is a pet peeve of mine. There is nothing worse than having a wrap that starts to crumble and fall to bits whilst you're eating it. On the weekend I decided to make a quick lunch and spread a little pasta sauce on the wrap and then crumbled some feta onto it and stuck it into my air fryer for five minutes. I rolled it up and voila! A delicious, quick and easy lunch. These wraps are delicious and another fabulous addition to Farrah's wrap range. The biggest problem I'm going to have now is deciding which one to have for my lunch!

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 3rd of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Ever since I can remember I have had a soft spot for eating wraps, they are so versatile and perfect for lunch or dinner. My parents used to make a taco mixture and that was our go-to filling on nights when we wanted a quick, but filling wrap for dinner. When I saw a new range of Farrah's wraps available to request from KIWIreviews I became excited, out of the 3 new flavours the Smoky Chipotle ones jumped out at me.

Upon opening the review box I was ecstatic to see a packet on top, the packaging is extremely eye-catching, the brown background really makes the colour of the wraps stand out. The serving suggestion picture shows delicious vegetables, meat, and a dressing on top of a wrap, this 'no rules' recipe is included on the reverse of the packet. These wraps are dairy and yeast-free, and suitable for vegetarians and vegans. The reverse side of the packet is very busy, but in a well laid out format, including the nutrition information, the story about Farrah's, the 'no rules' recipe, heating and storage information, and an idea of all the ways to use the product.

When I opened the packet there was a definite smoky barbecue aroma that wafted out which was sweet, my mouth was instantly salivating, and I was eager to taste. I had made a mix of chicken, tomatoes, grated carrot, grated cheese, and lettuce, I heated the wrap for 10 seconds and proceeded to construct. Just like Farrah's promised the wrap did not crack or tear while being rolled up, I took a large mouthful and the flavour was incredible, there was just the right combination of smoky flavours and it wasn't overpowering, the texture was smooth, and the wrap was a perfect thickness. These have definitely become my favourite flavoured wraps!

Both myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed the Chipotle wraps and will be purchasing again. I would love if Farrah's would consider making a packet with more in, say 10 or 12, as 6 was just enough to feed our family - 2 adults and 3 young children. I think next time when I purchase this product, I will try to use them as pizza bases, I think the smoky flavour would add another element to a yummy meaty pizza. Keep going with the amazing creations Farrah's!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 3rd of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When my son first seen the Farrah's Smoky Chipotle Wraps he was said mine mine mine while grabbing them and giving the bag a cuddle. He loves wraps and he loves chipotle so the two together was a win win for him. He asked if we could have wraps that night so we did. I love how the bags are easy to open and also close up again with the seal so they can stay fresh if you do not have a whole bag in one sitting. On this time we used the bag up but if the boys are having them with school lunches and work lunches then the seal is great.

We had chicken wraps with all the trimmings like lettuce, tomato, cheese, grated carrot mayo and of course chipotle sauce. My son loved every bite and so did i. The wraps are not super strong in flavour but the hint of flavour is there. Nothing to spicy or over powering just faint enough to know its there. Makes a wrap more appealing as well and mixes it up a bit with the different flavors you can now get.

These are a win in our house and I have brought them again since reviewing them. I was also thinking of taking a couple bags with us when we go to Rarotonga as you can take food over and these are quick and easy on the go lunch snack or dinner. Plus wouldn't weigh much in the luggage as so light weight. Will be getting added the weekly shop in our house. I also love the see through bag so you can see the product. That is always a win for me.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wraps are a godsend for people on the go. Breaky, lunch, dinner covers all your basis. You can add or leave off whatever ingredients you want and what is even better, kids can make their own with no issues. Throw all the ingredients on the table and have a free for all. Even better during the hot season take out for a picnic or a quick snack when hiking around the lake.

Even though its school holidays, the idea of having a lazy day where we all blob comes and goes as life continues and things always inadvertently pop up so when it comes time for dinner prep I find its still a mad rush. I had brought some sirloin steaks yesterday and had no idea what to do with them and then I remembered I had this item to review - perfect. Frying up some mushrooms and red onion I placed to one side then salted the sirlon steaks and cooked them and left to settle before cutting them up. Sliced some cheese, opened can of beetroot and in less than fifteen minutes later had the beginnings of a fantastic meal.

Opening the packet is a breeze and whats even better is they can be sealed back up if needed to be. The first thing I noted was the amazing chipotle aroma that wifted out. I placed four in the microwave and heated for a minute. Put out on the table with the garlic chutney and some lettuce and dinner was done. Everyone helped themselves and I sat down feeling rather proud of my award winner dinner. The hardest part was not snacking on the cheese while slicing it up.

I first ripped off some to try as I wanted to see what kind of flavour these had as I have been let down previously on lack of taste and I have to say these actually delivered. Not over powering but enough of a kick to actual taste something - which is a nice change then just having a blank canvas. I still added some pretty strong individual taste items and with the combination had chosen made an extremely enjoyable dinner, so much so that just having the one wrap tonight was enough. No one went back for any more which is shocking in itself so have two left over which will help with lunch tomorrow.

Everyone enjoyed the actual flavour of the wrap and it was decided we will be having these wraps with the steak again in the not too distant future. A winning flavour for us indeed.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 26th of September, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

On opening the pack, we were immediately taken by the little red flecks in each wrap and had to taste them to see if they were hot. Yes - a nice little kick there, but as with all Farrah's wraps, smoky chipotle is not too hot so even the younger family members can enjoy it. And overall the impression is similar to that of a mild sweet chilli flavour - enough to add a little spice to a meal, but not enough to mask the other flavours.

We folded two into fan shapes and added some build-your-own ingredients, always a useful way to make a quick meal! We had various salads, smoked tuna (which we thought would go well with the smoky flavour of the wraps), and sliced tamarillos. Perfect for lunch on the run and it meant we could add items to taste. They made a great alternative to bread, and as they don't fall apart there are no crumbs to worry about. I used a knife and fork because the fillings were quite runny, but my daughter was happy to just roll hers up and eat it with her fingers.

When the children came in from school, we sliced some wraps into strips and let them dip them into hummus. Because the strips were small, they could be rolled into a scoop shape and used as a conventional potato chip - but of course they were much healthier. Mr Nine was not told that they were chipotle flavour until he had eaten some, and then we shared the secret. His reaction was interesting. Normally, he would avoid spicy food, but he admitted that this time round it was ok! But he did add that he would not choose them if another variety happened to be available! He then proceeded to clear his plate, so I don't think I will be taking that remark too seriously. His sister was quite happy with hers, and said the red flecks were pretty!

I took the bag containing the last remaining wrap home with me, planning to have it next day with a poached egg - I often serve wraps instead of toast for meals like this, but the spicy chipotle was one of the best. I loved the contrast of the wrap flavour with that of the egg; this is a combination I will be trying again! Having finished the wrap, I put it aside to recycle - but that was not to be. Instead, I found a unique use for it.

I had arranged to visit Miss Seven's school next day to read a book to the children in her class. But when I was about to leave the house, I realised that there was a storm in progress. I hate umbrellas as a little rain never hurt anyone - humans have drip dry skin! - but I did not want the book to get damaged. It was then that I remembered the empty wrap packet, still with its ziplock closure intact. The book was a perfect fit! It travelled with me sealed inside its bag and arrived perfectly dry into the classroom. The children were amused when I showed them my new "book bag". Yet another use for a Farrah's product!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 6609: Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc Pork -  Brand: Magills Butchery

Product image for Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc PorkMagills Artistan Butchery Slow-Cooked Pulled Duroc Pork - Cooked for 12 hours, ready in minutes.

Premium full-flavoured NZ Duroc pork, slow-cooked to succulent perfection. Great for tacos, sliders, sandwiches, pizzas and more.

    •  100% natural
    •  Good source of protein
    •  Gluten ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream