Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 17th October 2019 - 18:20:42

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Pete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka Switchel review

« Pete's Natural - Hemp & Manuka Sparkling Goodness reviewPete's Natural - Hemp & Manuka Sparkling GoodnessAlita: Battle Angel reviewAlita:  Battle Angel »

Score: 7.9/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8395 - Pete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka Switchel
Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Pete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka Switchel
Price:
$49 / 12-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pete

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Pete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka Switchel product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSwitchel is the perfect refreshment for the hotter weather. The apple cider vinegar in Switchel boosts immunity and helps your digestive health. It restores electrolytes and helps ease pain and inflammation.

The Lemon Switchel is made from Nelson's very own Goulters Organic Apple Cider Vinegar, Golden Bay lemons and Nelson Honey's Manuka honey - keeping it very local indeed!

Check out Pete's Natural onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pete's Natural Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
apple cider vinegar   honey   lemon   manuka   monk fruit   nzmade   water
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.0
Pete's Natural - Currant CrushPete's Natural - Currant Crush
Rating: 9.1
Pete's Natural - Ling and Zing Raspberry KolaPete's Natural - Ling and Zing Raspberry Kola
Rating: 7.9
Pete's Natural - Feijoa LemonadePete's Natural - Feijoa Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - KolaPete's Natural - Kola
Rating: 9.6
Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural - Ginger Beer
Rating: 7.6
Pete's Natural - Orange Berry FusionPete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - Hemp & Manuka Sparkling GoodnessPete's Natural - Hemp & Manuka Sparkling Goodness
Rating: 7.2
Pete's Natural - LemonadePete's Natural - Lemonade
Rating: 9.3
Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nadePete's Natural - Lime-o-nade
Rating: 8.4
Lite Brewed Ginger BeerLite Brewed Ginger Beer
Rating: 9.6
Basilur Tea Legends : Tower of LondonBasilur Tea Legends : Tower of London
Rating: 6.6
Apple WineApple Wine
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a big fan of hippie type items and ideas such as kombucha, apple cider vinegar for digestion, lemon and honey in the winter and ginger and tumeric and so seeing the Lemon and Manuka Switchel come up for review, I was intrigued as to how it might compare to mixing up your own with apple cider vinegar, water and lemon.

The label says it is a "perfect" drink for hot weather, and with the combo of sparkling water, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, manuka honey, and monk fruit extract, it is nothing, if not refreshing and uplifting. The sour vinegar and lemon hit me first, giving my mouth quite a zing combined with the fizz/sparkling nature of it. I honestly really enjoyed it as something that is quite different to my usual drinks, and although it goes in complete contrast with the health benefits, it goes really well with whisky!!

It states that (among other benefits) the ingredients boosts immunity, helps digestion, restores electrolytes, and helps ease pain and inflammation. Like this drinks other variety of hemp and manuka, I think that you would have to drink a lot of this, and regularly to have a long term and sustained effect, but I definitely do not think it hurts to do so!

I do like that this drink is made in here in New Zealand, and in Nelson (just over a few hills from me) and is in glass rather than plastic. It is a smaller sized bottle, but I do not think most would even notice, it is honestly enough of a serving to be enjoyed. The bottle itself is nice and solid, a big change from flimsy plastic fizzy bottles!

I do think that the price is a bit high for me personally - or rather - I do not think I would want or need to buy twelve at once, and would love to see singles or even packs of four available. I would drink these again, and recommend others to try them, but do not think they would be my first choice.

Click here to read the profile of irishgreen416

Review by: irishgreen416 (Jasmine)
Dated: 7th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

The label says it is a "perfect" drink for hot weather. Perfect is a strong word but I do agree it is very refreshing, regardless of weather. It is a combination of sparkling water, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, manuka honey, and monk fruit extract. If you like the taste of vinegar and lemon, try this drink. I drank it in probably two minutes flat I enjoyed it so much. It is fizzy and the combination of the ingredients pleased my tastes almost perfectly. I could taste almost every ingredient, but it had some sort of zing flavour I could not place, so I assume it is the monk fruit extract since I do not think I have ever tried monk fruit. If it is, I apparently really like monk fruit. The vinegar wasn't too strong of a taste either, for those that think drinking diluted apple cider vinegar is still too strong to drink without further alterations.

It also states it boosts immunity, helps digestion, restores electrolytes, and helps ease pain and inflammation. Apple cider vinegar alone in the health community alleges to have all sorts of benefits for your health, many of which are supported by science. Among other claims, it can lower blood sugar levels, improve insulin sensitivity and may increase satiety which may help you lose weight and reduce belly fat. It may also aid in having a lower cholesterol and have protective effects against cancer. Although some of these claims may need more research, it is enough to convince me that it certainly can't hurt. Lemons and honey are also known to have a plethora of health benefits so the combination of all these ingredients is a super healthy punch!

Further, the drink is brewed locally in Nelson, the bottle is made of glass instead of the horrible plastic, and it is only 162kj per serve. All these feathers leave a delicious taste in my mouth and in my conscience. I already drink diluted unfiltered apple cider vinegar and lemon water daily for their purported health benefits and even though I really do like this drink, it is expensive for my budget, but this will be a refreshing treat for me in the future!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

What more could you ask for in a little bottle of Pete's Natural Lemon & Manuka Switchel which it says that the apple cider vinegar in Switchel boosts immunity and helps your digestive health. It restores electrolytes and helps ease pain and inflammation. I could smell the taste the apple cider vinegar but I liked it. I go through stages of having apple cider vinegar table spoons in the morning but then stop as the flavour gets to strong. So I was excited to try this as a alternative but still getting the goodness.

I really liked it and I guess if I could afford it I would drink them all the time but at the price they are it wouldn't be in my weekly shop or fortnight shop. My partner was not all that found of it. He said he would not drink it again. It was not his kind of drink but he also doesn't get into the apple cider vinegar either.

My older son who loves apple cider vinegar and any vinegar in fact he will drink it straight from the bottle if I let him. He really enjoyed this drink and wanted more of it. It is great chilled and for the health benefits would be awesome for him but to costly for him to just drink it like a big glass of water. I am on the fence with this one as it has its pros and cons and I guess the price is the only thing holding me back from buying more.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I'm a great fan of kombucha and other drinks that help my gut so I was intrigued to try Pete's Natural Lemon and Manuka Switchel. I had to do a quick google search to find out what a switchel was and discovered it was a drink made of water mixed with vinegar and often seasoned with ginger. A quick look at the ingredients revealed that there was no ginger, only lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, manuka honey, and monk fruit extract. The drink comes in a 300ml glass bottle with an attractive label and is made in Nelson, New Zealand which gives it extra brownie points. I noticed there was sediment at the bottom so I gave it a gentle shake to stir everything up and there was a little fizz when opened. I had a good sniff and although there was a whiff of vinegar, it certainly wasn't overwhelming. I thought the honey smell was more dominant.

I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the taste of this drink and it wasn't as vinegary as other drinks I've tried. The lemon is definitely the more dominant flavour and my youngest daughter tried it and gave it the thumbs up. The label says that it is the perfect refreshment for hot evenings and I have to agree as this was lovely and refreshing when straight out of the fridge. It restores electrolytes and helps ease pain and inflammation so it has a number of useful health benefits.

I thought these were reasonably priced, they work out at just over $4 a bottle which isn't bad considering they contain freshly squeezed lemon juice and Manuka honey. I would personally prefer the option of buying them separately as opposed to spending $49 for 12 bottles, and I'm sure others will agree.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 27th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

I like Pete's Natural as a brand. They are always looking for that new trend, and as a man that gets bored easily, novelty and new things are a must. The more natural side of Pete's Natural also helps when you are trying to cut down on that sugar intake. So I must admit that I tried this drink without really looking into what it was. All I saw was Lemon & Manuka, and it brought back though memories of making my own hot drinks when I was younger, raiding the lemon tree (mum wouldn't let me dump lots of sugar in my drinks, but a bit of honey was okay.

I mention not reading the label properly because I had no idea what a switchel was, and got quite a shock when I took my first sip of this beverage. According to Wikipedia, "Switchel, switzel, swizzle, switchy, ginger-water or haymaker's punch is a drink made of water mixed with vinegar, and often seasoned with ginger." The vinegar is what caught me off-guard. I've reviewed drinks that had an Apple Cider Vinegar base, and well...I hadn't been impressed. I liked the idea that the vinegar lowers blood sugar and fights diabetes, or that it leaves you feeling fuller to prevent you from over-eating, and supposedly lowers cholesterol too. But that vinegar flavour was too strong in those drinks.

So how does this new drink from Pete's Natural compare? It's much more manageable. Of course, that first swig caught me off-guard because I wasn't expecting that brackish burst of vinegar. The drink has a much better balance, however, (remembering that ingredient lists must legally be printed in the order, from highest quantity to lowest) with the ingredient in the largest quantity being lightly sparkling water, followed by lemon juice. Only then do we get a lower amount of apple cider vinegar.

I'm still not totally on board with vinegar drinks, but it isn't something that I would tip out either. It is still very much drinkable. It is simultaneously refreshing and sour in a way that straddles the line between something I would like and something I couldn't. I really can't put my finger on it. It's a drink that makes me feel nostalgic. It reminds me of making "tea" as a child, that comfort of a hot lemon and honey drink when you're sick in bed, and weirdly enough, it reminds me of fish and chips.

Here's an interesting aspect, though. A few months back I bought a bottle of rum that I'd never bought before for a house party with friends; Spytail Black Ginger Rum. Now the flavour was so strong, that I couldn't drink it. It sat around nearly full for so long. Because it was a ginger variant (and because I had no other rum available, I mixed some in with the switchel and it works! The ginger rum actually obscures that vinegar taste, so you still be the kick and zing, but the sour taste is gone completely. So while I certainly wouldn't go out and buy this as a drink to just chug away at on its own, there is definitely a lot of potential as a healthier mixer for alcoholic drinks.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 17th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I always assumed that ginger was a compulsory component of a switchel, but apparently I was wrong. When I checked the list of ingredients on the side of the Lemon Manuka switchel bottle, I was so surprised to find that there was no ginger included that I checked online and found that, although it is commonly included, it is by no means essential. So I have learned something! And the omission of ginger does not really matter as there are lots of other tasty ingredients, notably cider vinegar and manuka honey!

Interestingly, my first impression on taking a sip was that it was a real old-fashioned lemon and honey drink just like those my aunt used to make when I had a sore throat. That brought back memories of growing up in the Waikato where winters were damp and old houses were breeding places for colds and runny noses. Everyone had a lemon tree and children were given hot home-made lemon-and-honey drinks with an added pinch of ground ginger to soothe them when they arrived home from school. Later, cider vinegar grew in popularity so that was added too. Pete's Natural has absolutely created nostalgia in a bottle!

I had a small amount first, increasingly becoming more convinced that this was indeed the drink of my childhood. We did not use the term switchel then; it is a recent import from overseas. My father, being a sailor, enjoyed a glass of rum and he would often tip a little into my lemon-and-honey to give it extra zing. Interestingly, rum is also listed online as an optional additive along with ginger! Having finished a small glass, I poured a second - again a small amount - and added a couple of drops of rum essence. I did not have a bottle of real rum in the house, but I thought that might give a similar effect. It was not really the same, but was quite pleasant nevertheless and I am now inspired to purchase a small bottle of rum just to have with my Pete's Natural!

The last third I heated gently in the microwave. In doing this I would be sacrificing the bubbles, but I wanted to see whether it would work. When I was small and we had no lemons available, my aunt would sometimes heat some bottled lemonade and give that to me as a sore throat remedy instead. It seemed to work almost as well as the real thing; the heat, of course, was soothing for inflamed tissues, and the brand of lemonade she used was made with real lemons. The Pete's Natural tasted just like her brew, although a little more acidic. I did not have a sore throat to test its efficacy, but it was very nice.

The medicinal virtues of cider vinegar and honey are well known; there is a useful summary on the label, although this is information I already knew. I would probably make my own brew when at home, but I travel a lot so a couple of bottles like this would be useful to take on journeys with me. Those are the times when coughs and chills often strike, and it is neither easy nor sensible to take along all the raw ingredients just in case. And this product would be perfect to pack, being compact and light.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 5455: Avalanche Drinking Chocolate - Divine -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Drinking Chocolate - DivineSure to impress even the most discerning chocolate connoisseur. It's time to be selfish - this magnificent drinking chocolate is not an easy one to share.

    •  Gluten Free

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream