Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 13th December 2019 - 00:03:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry review

« RJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice reviewRJ's Mixed Bullets - LicoriceRJ's Smallsorts reviewRJ's Smallsorts »

Score: 8.8/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8385 - RJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry
Manufactured by RJ's Licorice

RJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry
Price:
$5.00 / bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

RJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsMixed Raspberry Bullets - And for those that love raspberry licorice, the mixed milk and white chocolate raspberry bullets are available.

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
milk chocolate   nzmade   raspberry   white chocolate
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pizza Hut - Delivery - Palmerston NorthPizza Hut - Delivery - Palmerston North
Rating: 5.3
New Way Sausage RollsNew Way Sausage Rolls
Rating: 8.4
Murphy's Law Irish BarMurphy's Law Irish Bar
Rating: 8.0
Roshen Coffee Time BiscuitsRoshen Coffee Time Biscuits
Rating: 9.3
St Andrews Limes - Just a DressingSt Andrews Limes - Just a Dressing
Rating: 9.2
Sids Crazy SaltSids Crazy Salt
Rating: 9.9
Turkish Calzone - Deli MeatsTurkish Calzone - Deli Meats
Rating: 8.4
Alexandra's Dukkah - AromaticAlexandra's Dukkah - Aromatic
Rating: 9.2
Balsamic Honey VinegarBalsamic Honey Vinegar
Rating: 8.8
Anathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion RelishAnathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion Relish
Rating: 9.7
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Hot-Shots TLC Cookies - Banana MinionsHot-Shots TLC Cookies - Banana Minions
Rating: 8.7
Choc Chippies Muesli BarChoc Chippies Muesli Bar
Rating: 6.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of glenfelik

Review by: glenfelik (Angela)
Dated: 2nd of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These are totally delicious! I was super lucky to be gifted a bag and that has resulted in my going and purchasing more. I have also purchased a few extra packets to pop into Christmas Hampers this year.

Raspberry Licorice is a firm favourite in our household and often used for an after swim treat for the kids. So glad that it is becoming more readily available. RJ's is a top quality brand and always seems to be stoked in our local Countdown. And sometimes if you are lucky it's on special which is always a bonus.

I haven't managed to find a deformed bullet yet, they have all been perfectly covered in either milk or white chocolate. I love both types of chocolate! They are a great packet to pop into the glovebox and dish out on car trips as well. Seeing where they are made (ie Australia) is a tad disappointing, but that seems to be happening with a lot of chocolate, candy producers at the moment.

My only complaint is that the bag could hold more - well maybe that is just because they are super tasty so more is always good! And maybe they just are so super tasty that they get eaten too quickly.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Our family have long had the debate over which is better raspberry licorice or traditional black licorice and for some raspberry wins out every time. I personally prefer the red but will happily eat either especially when smothered in chocolate. These mixed raspberry bullets were even more appealing being covered in both milk and white chocolate. I couldn't decide which was better as both choc combinations worked amazingly and added that creamy level to the chewy licorice which is delightful.

There is a pretty even distribution of both chocolate choices in the packet so you get a nice amount of each as there is definitely enough in the packet to share with the family or have some and put away for another day. The packet is resealable which is great if you don't finish the packet in one sitting so they can store away in the pantry. The plastic used in the packaging is also a good thick quality so the bullets do not get damaged inside the packet when transporting it home from the supermarket. I have noticed some of the other packets are using a softer packaging these days.

The bullets inside are perfectly formed with such a smooth coating of the chocolate can't notice any imperfections and each bullet is uniformly the same as the others. There is the perfect amount of chocolate so you get a thin layer on the outside that doesn't overtake the raspberry licorice flavour underneath. I like to try and eat the chocolate from the outside and save the licorice for last on traditional bullets but these were so good to just eat as is. Even if you are not a white chocolate fan as some people in my family are finding it too sweet the layer is so fine and compliments the raspberry so well you don't even notice.

These were a new firm favourite in our household and have since been purchased again with many arguments over sharing and who got the most between the three children. We will definitely continue to purchase them in the future and for what you get inside the packet for the price they are pretty good value for money. The majority of RJ's products are usually a little more expensive than you pay for other confectionery brands but we do love the quality and the point of difference RJ's offers as there are not a lot of licorice products still around today.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I love raspberry milkshakes, raspberry jam, raspberry licorice....well anything raspberry, so I jumped at the chance on reviewing the latest offering from RJ's Mixed Bullets, Raspberry Licorice.

A favourite in our house from RJ's (especially with my 18 yr old daughter) is their Raspberry Chocolate Twists, where the chocolate is in the inside, whereas with these Mixed bullets and chocolate coats the licorice on the outside. The first things I noticed with the bag was the 'punchy' artwork on the bag and the fact is was resealable, this is such a great addition as on the rare occasion you don't eat the whole bag in one sitting you can reseal for later without fear of the bullets falling out.

The bullets themselves are perfectly formed and you can easily grab a generous handful when reaching into the packet. The chocolate coating is so very smooth and creamy, something RJ's have perfected over the years I think, you can choose the bite down on the bullet and let the chocolate crack and break over the licorice or you can simply suck the chocolate off until you are left with just the licorice. But the total beauty of this sweet is the choice of white or milk chocolate, you can have the best of both worlds or you can choose to only eat one flavour and share the other.

I really liked this chocolate licorice but I must admit I was disappointed with one thing....IT WAS MADE IN AUSTRALIA? When did this happen? I thought RJ's was a New Zealand company based in little Levin and now they are getting things made in Australia? This concerns me as my home town Dunedin recently lost all production of Cadbury's chocolate to Australia, it started off one line, then another and then another until it totally ceased, so let's not hope this isn't the start of awful trend. I will continue to support RJ's as their confectionery range is very good but in the future I will be more attentive of where it is made.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have to admit that I am a huge fan of RJ's products and I don't think I've tried anything of theirs that I didn't love. I was obviously more than excited to try their Mixed Bullets and this joy was shared by the rest of my family who tried to rip the bag open as soon as they saw them! Luckily, the bag is resealable and I knew that I was going to have to ration these before they all disappeared. The first thing I noticed was the size of the bag which was a decent 220 grams. the bag also has a paper feel to it although there is no mention on the packet if it is recyclable. Something that also had me a little confused was that the RJ's logo proudly says it is 'New Zealand's Finest' and the packet features a New Zealand map with an arrow pointing to Levin, yet on the back, it says Made in Australia. I'm hoping that's a typo!

When I looked in the bag, there seemed to be a large number of milk and white chocolate bullets. Each bullet is around 2cm long and features a yummy raspberry licorice cylinder coated in real chocolate. I did think that the white bullets looked a little like maggots as you could see the licorice through the chocolate. I told my girls this in the hope that it would put them off, but it didn't......

Personally, I liked the white and milk chocolate bullets equally and loved the contrast in flavours, however, both my daughters and hubby preferred the milk chocolate bullets, although this didn't stop them from eating the white ones! My youngest daughter loved sucking the chocolate off and then chewing the licorice and I must admit, this was quite therapeutic! Overall, RJ's have produced another quality product that will be finding its way into my trolley!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I ADORE RJs products, and in particular the red licorice, so was quick to jump and request these. I mean, what could be better than red licorice covered in not one, but two different varieties of chocolate - yum!!! I much prefer the red licorice to black, however, as I quickly found out, this can be a bad thing, as so do my three children, who as soon as the bag of these was opened, wanted to try them.

The packet itself is very recognisable as RJs, with the bold colours and black and white logo. Each packet is quite different however - making it easy to differentiate between each of the products. Whilst you cannot see the contents of the packages due to it being foil to keep the wee morsels fresher - rest assured the picture on the front is very indicative of the actual product - well nearly - the ends of the bullets are mostly covered in chocolate. I really like that the packet is resealable - or rather I would if I had no children and could see these lasting past more than one serving!

Looking at the ingredients list, I did note - like another reviewer - that the percentage of milk and cocoa solids in both the white and dark chocolate were similar - resulting in both being quite creamy chocolate. The taste of the chocolate itself was really nice - not a gritty type that you sometimes get, so these definitely have a quality taste and texture, in line with the RJs products I have had in the past. The licorice bullet part is raspberry and a great texture and firmness - it is soft but chewy, and even after being put into the fridge, is easy to bite through. My personal; preferred way to eat them is to suck all the chocolate off however, then eat the licorice!

I would possibly add a bit more of a chocolate layer to the bullets - I did feel like there was a bit more licorice than chocolate, but in saying that - I happily would have eaten them all as is!! One thing I would like to see is a dark and milk chocolate or a dark and white chocolate version of these too!

I have already put these on the shopping list to buy, as the kids loved these as well and want to try mixing them into icecream next I believe! I am wanting to try cutting them up and baking them into cookies... wonder how they will turn out....

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 1st of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I will be the first to admit that I have a ridiculously sweet tooth, I am especially partial to chocolate and licorice, add them together and that sounds like the perfect combination. RJ's licorice has been my preferred licorice brand for a while now, I love that they are a NZ company, and they are constantly surprising me with their new and exciting creations. While I was browsing the KIWIreviews site I noticed RJ's had some new products available, straight away I was drawn to the Mixed Bullets - Raspberry licorice. When I saw a packet in my review goodies I couldn't wait to rip into them!

Like the majority of RJ's packets, this one stands out and would definitely catch my eye on the supermarket shelf. The background of the packet is comprised of 3 main colours, with the RJ's logo prominently placed at the top, next the large label with the product name, then below a large delectable looking image of the licorice bullets. The packet states on the reverse side that there are both white chocolate, and milk chocolate bullets contained inside. The resealable packet is a great idea, however I didn't really get to use it as I demolished the packet too quickly. I will admit that I was disappointed to see that this product was made in Australia.

This 220g packet contains quite a substantial number of bullets, I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the bullets. I decided that first I would try the white chocolate one, looking at it, the white chocolate had hints of the raspberry licorice peeking through, and it was a luscious red colour. I took a bite and the flavours worked so well together, the texture was soft which was pleasant because I am not that fond of hard licorice. I resisted the urge to scoff more white chocolate bullets, and picked up a milk chocolate one instead. The flavours worked well together, but I preferred the white chocolate bullets more.

I have already purchased another packet of this product, I must admit that they are very moreish, and I lack the self control to only have a few at a time! I am always surprised by the fact that RJ's keep coming up with great flavour combinations and products. Thanks RJ's for another product I will be keeping stocked in the pantry!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 1st of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I can not believe I am about to say this, considering how I adore licorice - but unfortunately with me, this one missed the mark. It's not entirely terrible, its just not something that I would buy again. I love the black bullets and have already purchased three packets in the last month but this red flavour just wasn't a great fit.

As soon as we received the box, my little bloodhounds had there eyes on trying them. I resisted for a while, until I was home alone with the intention of eatting a majority of them before the others returned. Opening the packet is a breeze and the bonus is the packet can be resealed. You get the option of either milk chocolate or white chocolate covered bullets. The chocolate on either is yummy but I found it didn't really mix with the raspberry flavour. After eatting a few I put the packet to the side with the intention of putting in the fridge and quickly forgot about them.

As soon as my girls entered the house they knew. Don't ask me how but they knew there was an open packet of licorice in the house that they have not tried. I was asked within two secods of walking inside if they could try. Refusing is no use, so agreed and was asked where are they and I had no idea. The packet was not where I left it, - however was found within seconds and they were both squealing about how yummy they were. They both come from a long blood line of licorice eatters as my nana always has a container in her kitchen and whenever we, my cousins, parents, family; visit nana we all bee line to the kitchen and grab some. She has all sorts, straps, twisters - basically a variety always sitting there. I now have a packet sitting in my fridge and the girls have always had access to them.

I put in the fridge after they sampled a few and left them there for a couple of days. Walking in to the kitchen I grabbed the depleted bag I quickly realised some little peoples are liking them too much! Luckily there was about a quarter of the packet left. I found I prefered the chocolate more solid and enjoyed sucking on them but found the raspberry licorice too hard and to strong in flavour. I would of preferred the raspberry chocolate log consistancy to what these are. It just was a bit of an unnecessary workout for the mouth. I just did not like the 2 items together it felt like the rasberry hard licorice was fighting with the soft chololate - just not something I will purchase again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 27th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've always enjoyed RJs flavoured licorice. Could never stand the black stuff; aniseed never appealed to me. But RJ's always did a great job of satisfying my sweet tooth and creating a product that never went stale because it was consumed very soon after the packet is opened. This is emphasised by the fact that right now, I have a packet sitting next to me with one milk chocolate, and one white chocolate bullet. I had to force myself to leave them just to refresh my memory while I wrote the review. If not for that, I would have eaten the whole pack on my own, in one go.

If you weren't a heavily overweight man with no sense of portion control then you would love the packaging of this product. A nice colourful foil pack that mixes the matte look with a glossy logo and product image to really make it pop. And it is resealable too (another big positive aspect if you want to save some for another time).

While the packet shows off both a white chocolate and milk chocolate variety, it's interesting to see that the minimum percentage of cocoa solids and milk solids are actually quite similar between the two (29-31% cocoa solids and 23-24% milk solids). The white chocolate definitely has a flavour that reminds me of Milky Bar's and Cadbury Dream, while the milk chocolate is slightly stronger than the usual Dairy Milk, bringing it more in line with the taste of the Whittaker varieties.

The bullets are made up of a tube of raspberry licorice coated in chocolate. Admittedly the coating is a little thin. Flavour-wise the balance is reasonable between the chocolate and licorice, but from a visual standpoint, the thin layer is not complete. at the ends of every single piece, you can see a circle of raspberry licorice where the chocolate doesn't quite cover the edge.

Looking at the texture and consistency, despite being stored at room temperature (it is winter, mind you) the chocolates did not melt together. There is an ever-so-slight stickiness to them, but not to a level that makes them messy. RJ's seems to have two types of licorice. Either the really soft (almost "gummy" level)
gets-stuck-in-your-teeth variety, or the more solid "chew it well or it'll get stuck in your throat" variety. This product is more of the solid variety. Chewing the bullets and you are more likely to break the chocolate off of the licorice than actually combine the two elements together, no matter how hard you chew.

Personally, I'd love the softer licorie to be used for this product, with a slightly thicker layer of chocolate. That being said, I near enough ate the entire packet in one go, so it's still a very, very enjoyable product.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 10th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Every single person who tasted this product enjoyed it - both the milk and the white chocolate flavours. Even I, someone who does not usually go for milk chocolate, ate three of them. (The white chocolate bullets were another issue altogether; I ate quite a number of them. I do have a weakness for white - or very dark - chocolate. I just don't much like the colours in between.) But this particular milk chocolate has a nice cocoa aftertaste with none of the sickly sweetness I normally associate with this variety. Possibly the unique chocolate blend has something to do with it - who knows? All I can say is that I would eat these again.

Although I had several, there was plenty left for everyone else. As with the other products in this range, there is a generous amount in each packet meaning that there is plenty to share. Not one person found anything to complain about; rather, it was quite the opposite, with everyone asking for another helping. All but one found the price was reasonable given the number of bullets in the packet. And the individual bullets were a good size for grown-up mouths.

We all thought the ratio of chocolate to licorice was ideal. The natural raspberry taste of the licorice stood out, but was not enough to mask the flavour of the chocolate surround. I even tried one of each type at the same time and found that this was just as successful; I could still discern the two different chocolate flavours, although there was now a slight mocha after-taste to them. Altogether this is a sophisticated combination that will no doubt appeal to a wide range of ages.

There were no children present, but I think ours would all enjoy this product too. They have all had raspberry licorice in the past and every one of them, like all children, enjoys chocolate, so I can safely say that I will be trying some with them too. The adults all agreed that they liked them well enough to try them again, so I am sure the children will get to test them sooner or later.

I can see this product being a success for various occasions - they look good, they taste good, and as far as I could see the chocolate holds its shape successfully at room temperature. There is nothing worse than finger food that dribbles all over your hand (and clothing!) when you attempt to eat it. I would serve them on a platter with mixed nuts and mandarin segments or fresh berries (in particular, raspberries in season), or just in individual dishes for people to help themselves.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 660: Jointex Plus
Brand: Healtheries

Product image for Jointex PlusHealtheries Jointex Plus is a unique formulation combining high strength ingredients, including Glucosamine and naturally occurring Chondroitin, to help rebuild cartilage, promote healthy joints, and improve joint mobility.

Recommendations for use:
    •  Relief from joint problems ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I like to pick up hitchhikers. When they get in the car I say, "Put on your seat belt. I want to try something. I saw it once in a cartoon, but I think I can do it."
Steve Wright

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream