Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 13th December 2019 - 08:10:46

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice review

« Down to Earth Organic Soup - Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato reviewDown to Earth Organic Soup - Roasted Red Pepper and TomatoRJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry reviewRJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry »

Score: 9.2/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8384 - RJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice
Manufactured by RJ's Licorice

RJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice
Price:
$5.00 / bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

RJ's Mixed Bullets - Licorice product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsMixed Licorice Bullets - These have to be tried, a mixture of dark and milk chocolate bullets in one bag. These mouthwatering treats are perfect for sharing.

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dark chocolate   licorice   liquorice   milk chocolate   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Le Meal - Cottage PieLe Meal - Cottage Pie
Rating: 8.5
Meal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine RiceMeal for 1 - Thai Chicken with Jasmine Rice
Rating: 9.6
Chicken CarbonaraChicken Carbonara
Rating: 8.4
McDonalds - Grand AngusMcDonalds - Grand Angus
Rating: 8.5
Corn Nuts - Chile PicanteCorn Nuts - Chile Picante
Rating: 8.1
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Double Manuka Smoked BaconDouble Manuka Smoked Bacon
Rating: 10.0
Howler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Original DogsHowler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Original Dogs
Rating: 8.8
Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel CrunchyPopped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel Crunchy
Rating: 9.4
L'Authentique Lamb MerguezL'Authentique Lamb Merguez
Rating: 9.8
SP Herb Green Curry PasteSP Herb Green Curry Paste
Rating: 6.5
SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.5
Farmland Fine-Sliced PastramiFarmland Fine-Sliced Pastrami
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 11th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a big fan of the RJs products, and in particular licorice type sweets, but because I am a red licorice type of lady, I couldn't help but wonder whether these would spark a love of black licorice again, especially when chocolate is added to them!

The packet itself is very recognisable as RJs, with the bold colours and black and white logo. All the packaging is also different in some way - ie the colours of the packaging. You cannot see the contents of the packages due to it being foil to keep the wee treats fresher - rest assured the picture on the front is very indicative of the actual product - well nearly - the ends of the bullets are mostly covered in chocolate. I really like that the packet is resealable - or rather I would if I had no children and could see these lasting past more than one serving!

Within the pack there are two different kids of chocolate used on the bullets - milk and dark. This means that with the pack you get variety even - making them even more moreish and yum! The chocolate was also a really nice chocolate, and I am a bit fussy with my chocolate! I would possibly add a bit more of a chocolate layer to the bullets - I did feel like there was a bit more licorice than chocolate, but in saying that - I happily would have eaten them all as is!

I have already put these on the shopping list to buy, as the kids loved these as well. We want to try mixing them into ice cream or adding them into baking and the cookies!

Click here to read the profile of sarahjk

Review by: sarahjk (Sarah)
Dated: 7th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These are delicious! So delicious and moreish that it is hard to stop at just one, or two, or three... I tried to hide these from the kids but it didn't work. I loved that there was a mix of dark and milk chocolate as then you got variety so you didn't get tired of the same flavour in the bag. They were so good. There is a generous coating of chocolate coating that is smooth and quite luxurious. I am a bit of chocolate snob and these passed the good chocolate test with flying colours!

The liquorice was soft end not too chewy (just how I like it!). There was a generous amount in the bag too, plenty to share. They would be perfect for a picnic over the summer months, or for movie night, for snack platters alongside cheese and crackers and for a BBQ too. We had ours on a car journey and they were brilliant. The only improvement I could suggest would be to make the bag resealable for those of us who can't finish a bag in one sitting-just to keep the freshness in, and to stop them spilling in the car when passed to the kids.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Liquorice is a great treat which has a unique taste that I thoroughly enjoy and adding chocolate into that mix makes it even nicer. RJ'S are my trusted goto source of liquorice products and they always satisfy so when I saw that they had released mixed bullets into their range I knew I had to partake in tasting them. The packaging on the mixed bullets is fantastic as always with its rustic look and the colour pairs well with the brown and black representing the Chocolate and liquorice. The mixed bullets come in a 220-gram resealable bag and each bullet is roughly 2cm in length and 1cm thick which is a nice convenient size.

I opened up the bag and a sweet chocolatey aroma wafted out which was very inviting and I proceeded to take out one of each of the milk chocolate bullets and the dark chocolate bullets then I ate each one to see if there were any discernible differences but to my surprise, I couldn't distinguish any differences in taste and I wasn't too sure if it was just my taste buds so I got my children to try them out and they too didn't notice any difference other than the bullets being a different shade of brown. They taste very nice as the chocolate and liquorice pairs very well and it is satisfying to break through the chocolatey shell into the soft liquorice. The chocolate shell itself is about 1mm thick which is perfect for the coating.

The kids and I really enjoyed these mixed bullets and would defiantly purchase these during the shopping because there is a good amount of bullets within the bag and at $5.00 per bag it is well worth it. Each serving is recommended at 25 grams and contains 9 servings per bag which are plenty and great to share or to have by yourself over some time. Overall this is another great product that is welcomed into the RJ'S range giving them more variety in their extensive line-up.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 5th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have reviewed a few RJ's products now and I can honestly say I would buy and have bought all of them again. These Licorice Mixed Bullets feature a small tube of dark liquorice covered in either milk or dark chocolate and come in a generous sized 220g bag.

When I received the bag of Mixed Bullets to review, I was again impressed by the artwork, it was very well designed and while the liquorice was not able to be physically seen through the viewing window, the artwork was so lifelike that I actually felt I could see the contents inside.

When I tipped the liquorice into a bowl, I was so impressed with how many they were, all their perfectly formed shapes and the mix of coloured chocolate coatings made them so attractive and of course enticing to eat. I tried a dark one first and the chocolate was so creamy and smooth the liquorice mixed so very well with it, then onto the milk one and I must admit I liked it slightly more, again it was creamy and smooth and very sweet.

I think these will be liked by many, maybe aimed towards the older market but will still appeal to younger consumers if they indeed like dark liquorice. I can imagine these mixed bullets must be well cut up and placed as a garnish on a cupcake or used as a part of birthday cake decorations, or great gifts for the hard to buy grandparents who can nibble away on them at their leisure with the bonus of a resealable bag.

The only disappointing thing I can say about these Mixed Bullets, was when I noticed these were Made in Australia when I was always thinking all RJ's products were Made in NZ. Hopefully, this does not start a trend.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 3rd of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My son had his 11th birthday party over the weekend and we had 7 older kids here a few younger ones and 10 odd adults. I put these out for everyone to enjoy and they got all eaten up fast. The kids really enjoyed them and loved the chocolate hit they got and said there were heaps in the bag when I poured them out.

The adults really enjoyed them as well and it was a bit of a fight between the children and the adults to get some. The adults also commented they enjoyed the chocolate hit and mentioned there were heaps in the bowl. They are good value for money and you get lots in the bag. If you were to have the whole bag to yourself it would last awhile.

The bag is easy to open and I love the photo on the front its effective and eye catching. Great value for money especially at $5.00 a bag they would be a great treat to pick up at the supermarket and keep int he cupboard for when guests come over. I know most people done always like licorice but the chocolate really breaks it up and it is a good mix . I was surprised at the feedback from the kids but they enjoyed them.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 16th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Growing up Licorice has always had a firm place in my heart. My nana always has a jar of licorice in her kitchen, so like me and my cousins and now my children we always make a bee line straight to the kitchen to grab whatever is on offer. Like my mum and aunty licorice can always be found somewhere in the house.
I love bullets and am so happy that are now in a bag as I have only ever found in mixtutes. There is always something so thrilling when you suck on mouth sze bites of chocolate that melts in your mouth and you end up with a licorice treat.

Looking at the bag I felt rather deflated. It doesn't scream out at me and to be honest when looking in the supermarket aisle I would probably have over looked this product (until now). I tried to put my finger on the issue and I think its the top plan colour its just rather boring. The black stands out but the whole bag is not eye popping and looks rather bland.

Opening the bag is extremely easy and can be sealed straight back up. I though initially I would just try a couple but I found straight away that this is impossible and once I started I just could not stop. Before I knew it my one or two turned into about 20 one or twos and I was still wanting more. I loved them. I found the chocolate wasn't as thick as I would like but it still tasted great. It did not matter between the milk or the dark I just loved the taste.

I finally put in the fridge before collecting the girls. Maybe its because we are a family of licorice lovers but both girls sensed something and walked off into the kitchen. In less than a minue being home they had found the bag and both asking to try it. It was no use saying no so I said one each - which ended up being about 4 as one of them worked out there was different chocolate involved and they had to try both, but they forgot which one they had. Both said afterwards they, like me love.

After letting the rest of the bag sit in the fridge over night I do prefer them this way. The chocolate has firmed up so lasts longer in the mouth. It is definitely a flavour we will be having on a regular basis and can see being added to the shopping basket on a weekily occurance. Absolute winner, no doubt about it just pitty about the packaging.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 9th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I adore licorice but can eat only small amounts because of the salt content. There are two big advantages to this product. First, it comes encased in a chocolate outer which means that you eat less of it. And second, there are so many bullets in the bag that there is plenty to go round a large number of people.

I had planned to bring the unopened packet with me to share while visiting various friends and relations in Canterbury and Otago, but was given no choice in the matter. Miss Seven and Mr Nine, who love licorice and chocolate equally, pounced on them and asked if they could help me to review them. I explained that this time round I was going to take them to some other children, but that they could open the packet and have a few each if they were not too greedy. Miss Seven needed no second invitation; she opened it and there was nearly an argument as she handed two bullets to her brother. He had wanted to select his own!

Once they had tasted a couple, their reactions were enough for their parents to want to try some too. We ended up taking around six or seven each, so I was amazed to see how many were still left. I resealed the packet so I could take a nearly full bag away with me as planned. Then I asked the four of them what they thought of the combination.

Miss Seven loved them. She likes sweets to the point that they have to put out of sight if she finds one she really enjoys, and these came under that category. She also liked the chewy nature of the licorice pieces because they took her a little while to eat. The chocolate was nice and mild which was perfect with the strong licorice flavour. Mr Nine liked both chocolate coatings but said if he had a choice, he would take the lighter version. The adults both commented on the creamy texture of the dark chocolate and thought the bullet size was perfect.

When I closed the packet, I was pleased to see that there was a good quality ziplock closure. This proved its worth as the open pack survived a long bus trip followed by a flight and then a 300km road trip with the contents being perfectly preserved. There was no trace of melting; the bullets held their shape and were just as good as the first few had been. We shared the rest of the packet on our arrival at our friends' house, and the reactions were all similar - everyone liked them, and the younger ones again made straight for the milk chocolate version! They thought the price was reasonable in view of the amount that was included. I am certain both families (and I) will be purchasing this again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 7529: Sachie's Kitchen - Pad Thai -  Brand / Manufacturer Sachie's Kitchen

Product image for Sachie's Kitchen - Pad ThaiEach Sachie's Kitchen meal kit serves four. They include all the base ingredients you need, including pastes, sauces, herbs and spices and noodles or rice, with only a couple of additional perishable ingredients required. The pastes have been prepared locally by myself, and I have sourced some of the more exotic authentic herbs and spices ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream