Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 18th October 2019 - 19:25:06

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Soups and Chowders > Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal) review

« Down to Earth Organic Soup - Chunky Tomato reviewDown to Earth Organic Soup - Chunky TomatoDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil reviewDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil »

Score: 8.7/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8380 - Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal) -  Brand / Manufacturer: Down to Earth

Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal)
Price:
$4.39 / 300ml can
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Down to Earth

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal) product reviews

Imagine a dish served up by the chefs into the royal kitchens of Amber, to make their queens happy. This recipe, favoured by Jaipuri royalty, has been developed as a soup by Down To Earth.

We've added selected herbs and spices for a wholesome taste. Have it as a 'Dal' with your food or savour it as it is. Pack in proteins, easy to digest and mouth-watering thin moong dal soup is a perfect choice for children as well as elderly people. Moong dal soup is a healthy soup that is very high in proteins, very flavorful and tasty.

The moong dal soup recipe is highly nutritious and naturally detoxifies the body. It works by cleansing the liver, gall bladder and vascular system of any undigested toxins. Moong dal soup is low in fat, rich in B complex vitamins, calcium and potassium.

Check out Down to Earth onlineClick here to see all the listings for Down to Earth Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
bay leaves   carrot   celery   chilli   coriander   cumin   ginger   gram   onion   organic   parsley   pepper   potato   salt   soup   thyme   turmeric
Other listings you may be interested in:
Jelly Sweets Lolly DisguisesJelly Sweets Lolly Disguises
Rating: 9.6
Down to Earth Organic Soup - French LentilDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil
Rating: 8.8
Kinder SurpriseKinder Surprise
Rating: 6.3
RJ's Mixed Bullets - RaspberryRJ's Mixed Bullets - Raspberry
Rating: 8.8
Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - CinnamonMrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon
Rating: 8.9
Sweet Pepper SauceSweet Pepper Sauce
Rating: 8.6
Seafood and Veges DumplingsSeafood and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.0
Spreadable Fruit - Seville OrangeSpreadable Fruit - Seville Orange
Rating: 7.9
Down to Earth Organic Soup - Tomato with Cashewnut CreamDown to Earth Organic Soup - Tomato with Cashewnut Cream
Rating: 8.0
Bake Your Own - Pancake, Pikelet & Waffle MixBake Your Own - Pancake, Pikelet & Waffle Mix
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Chilli Beef RollMaketu Chilli Beef Roll
Rating: 8.4
Down to Earth Organic Soup - Chunky TomatoDown to Earth Organic Soup - Chunky Tomato
Rating: 9.7
Down to Earth Organic Soup - Roasted Red Pepper and TomatoDown to Earth Organic Soup - Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 13th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have never had a Moong Dal soup before, or anything similar, so I really wasn't too sure what to expect from this, other than the fact that I was going to be something that I had never had before. I gave the can a little shake about, as I do with all cans of soup I get, before fighting with the tab to open it (and split some of it on the ground when it finally decided to rip open) and pouring it into a microwavable bowl. I gave it a stir, as it had come out with some big globs of mixture, and then popped it in for a couple of minutes to heat up.

The ingredients told me that there would be carrot, potato, celery, parsley, onion, ginger, black pepper, thyme, bay leaves, green gram (which Google tells me are mung beans), coriander, green and red chilli, turmeric and cumin, so a good mix of veges and spices. This sounded like it could be a filling meal, so I settled down to dig in. My middle child noticed I was having something new, and requested that she try some, she found it ok but nothing fab, once I added a little salt to it, we both agreed that the taste improved quite a bit. I can't say that I would have this again, but I appreciate having more options and especially having brands I can suggest to my vegan and vegetarian family members.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love to have soups in the cupboard for the unexpected - things like sick days, cold days, or "husband is working late tonight" days. As I do relief teaching and am also self employed, quick and nutritious meals are also good to have. I was excited to see this soup on the list to request, as I had not heard of it before, and love trying new things, as well as know that they are good for me being organic and more keto/paleo than a lot of others.

The 300ml serving size of the can rather than a standard size made a good sized meal for me, and I found I could reheat is easily in a large mug/latte bowl, which is a huge plus in my book, with less chance of spilling it in the microwave, or tipping it down myself!! While it is a pull tab opening, I did find this a little hard to open and never actually got the lid fully off. There is not a need for a can opener - but, I do advise to be careful as it is easy try and use a bit of force and spill it! I do recommend giving the can a good shake BEFORE pouring it into whatever you are going to heat it in and again after heating give it a really good stir, as the more solid bit of the soup stays quite together.

What you really want to know is though - what is the taste of the soup like? Having not tried any sort of dal soup before, this was new to me - and I tried it with an open mind. When you first look at it, is is similar looking to a thick pea and ham soup - however, upon tasting it, I was met with a lovely texture and flavour, with a nice blend of spices and taste. I could definitely taste ginger and curry - but could not pick out what others went into it. It is quite savoury - not at all like one of the others I have tried - and a nice smooth texture - not thin and watery but not chunky either. For this reason I would think it would be good for children and older people alike - so a versatile soup. It is gluten free, vegan, low in fat but high in calcium, potassium and certain vitamins also.

I would absolutely buy this soup to try and think it is a nice and flavoursome change from other soups I have previously eaten. Cannot wait to try more flavours!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This curried green gram soup from down to earth has a very delicate blend of flavours that are not too profound and it gets lots of flavour from its organic ingredients that do not use chemical additives and it has been freshly made with herbs and spices so that the flavours are just right and blend together well. When I first tasted the soup I was not expecting such a precious, delicate, savoury flavour but I received it and was very satisfied and the flavour is unlike other dishes I have had that fit in the same category.

The texture was rather pleasing as it was very creamy and smooth, not too chunky which is the way I like it as I'm not a fan of heavily textured or chunky liquidy foods so this made for a great light meal. The herbs are visible in the soup and it looks very appetizing, to say the least. The smell was absolutely divine as it had a lovely aroma of ginger and coriander.

The design of the label is very intricate and well made with a variety of lovely, eye-catching, saturated colours displaying a semi-realistic image of what the soup looks like. The soup comes in a convenient tear open 300ml can that you can take with you on the go. This is a very flavoursome soup packed with nutrients and protein plus it is very wholesome and filling. I would purchase this soup as it ticks all the boxes with me. I allowed the kids to take a mouthful each to see what their impressions were with it and the girls liked it but the boys were not impressed which is understandable as they are quite fussy.

The fact that this soup is gluten-free and vegan-friendly is also great as it caters for a diverse range of people and it is also low in fat and a good source of calcium and potassium. I look forward to tasting the other food products in the down to earth range now knowing how tasty this is. I have always liked soups and this has just given me more reasoning as to why.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 6th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I requested this soup I knew I was requesting something out of the norm for me, but I reassured myself that unless you try it you'll never know and you might even like it. Down to Earth Curried Moong Dal Soup comes in a small 300g can which I thought would be aimed towards the popular 'soup for one' market, making it a perfect size for lunches at work or home.

When the can arrived I could immediately see this was the real deal, made in India and organic, with interesting information and artwork all over the label. The can was made to be torn open with the tear off top but unfortunately no matter how hard I tried I could not open it, so I got out my trust can opener which sorted things for me. I had pre-shook the can and I was surprised to see how liquidy the soup was initially, until I poured it into the bowl, the soup had a solid lump in the centre which plopped out in my bowl. I mixed well with a soup and it soon broke down and I was open to see the soup was actually quite thick and full of herbs and vegetables which were very visible which was really nice.

I heated the soup up in the microwave and once hot I was able to inhale the light curried spice fragrance and it made my mouth water. I decided to have a plain wrap torn up as a side with the soup and I tucked in, the soup was really very nice, very filling and such a nice mix and level of spices. I decided then and there I would check out their website and I saw that there were four places who stock the Down to Earth soup in my hometown so I will definitely be buying again.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love soup and this was the first flavour I reached for to try when I get the reviews. I wasn't to sure what to expect but I was looking froward to trying the Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal). My older son and partner were having a heavy meal of carbs and I am trying to be healthy so I had the soup which they ended up having as well. Once they smelt it cooking they wanted some.

The easy to open can is great, poured the soup in the bowl and heated it up in the microwave. I thought the texture was great and I classed it as being thick and had good chunks in it. My partner thought it was runny. So that was interesting the difference in thought there. How ever we both really liked the flavours. My older son was not that keen on it.

I found it fulling enough even though I shared it around with the family. It was nice though but I am not sure if I would rush out to buy that certain flavour again. However it would be good to keep a can in the cupboard for those days you feel like something different. It is good value price wise for the can of organic soup. I would recommend this flavour to my best friend though who I know would love this flavour and she eats a lot a soup and being organic is great for her with her pregnancy and diabetes.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 15th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always thought of dal as a somewhat heavy foodstuff, so my first taste of this soup surprised me because it was so light. I can just imagine being a member of the Jaipuri royalty being served this dish by a master chef - it adds a special dimension to the recipe. I had been prepared for a dull, rather flavourless soup, but this is nothing of the kind. It is bursting with delicate flavour and both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Since being introduced to this range of soups, I am revising my impressions of Indian cuisine. What a treat!

On reading the ingredients list, I was interested to discover the range of spices included. Turmeric, the new super spice, is one of them along with cumin, chilli, ginger and coriander (my personal favourite). And it shows. The spice mixture creates an aromatic taste sensation that appeals to me because it is not esoteric, not relying on chemical additives, but just natural, honest-to-goodness flavours. Although the label description would indicate that it is curry, it is more than that since it is lighter and more finely blended.

I think this soup would come into its own as an energy source on a hiking trip or after a solid workout. It is rich in all the right vitamins and minerals, providing a complete body support system without the addition of unnecessary calories. It is high in plant protein and calcium, so could easily replace a less healthy lunch choice without the need to compromise on taste. The can label advised that lemon juice, salt and pepper could be added to enhance the flavour, but the print was so small that I did not realise that until after the soup had all gone. However, I found the product was perfectly acceptable straight from the can and did not really need any additives to make it better. The soup spoke for itself.

Next time I purchase this soup (and there will certainly be a next time; both of us are agreed there) I am going to try it with some home-made flat bread. I make a variant which includes pimientos, garlic and asafoetida, and I think it would be a perfect accompaniment to the soup. The flavours would not be so strong that they would clash, and the bread would make the soup go further while adding its own unique touch. We are looking forward to trying it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.7
Product reviews for listing 8099: Bennetto Coffee Dark Chocolate Mini Bars -  Manufactured by Bennetto Natural Foods

Product image for Bennetto Coffee Dark Chocolate Mini BarsDeep and dark Ecuadorian organic chocolate, combo'd with crunchy milled Peruvian coffee beans for a rich coff-choc flavour sensation. A definite winner!

Organic, Fairtrade and vegan certified.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks."
Doug Larson

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream