Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 06:26:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Cecile's Goji & Grape Muesli review

« Cecile's Boys & Gold Muesli reviewCecile's Boys & Gold MuesliTio Pablo Salsa Vaquera reviewTio Pablo Salsa Vaquera »

Score: 8.3/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8349 - Cecile's Goji & Grape Muesli
Produced by Cecile's Creative Kitchen

Cecile's Goji & Grape Muesli
Price:
$17.00 / 400g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Cecile

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Cecile's Goji & Grape Muesli product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur newest creation, Goji & Grape, packs a punch. A blend of dried goji berries (the world's most complete superfood), Marlborough's finest grape seed flour, a dash of freeze dried grapes, all mixed with seeds, nuts and Hawkes Bay honey, this muesli is topped off with a scoop of passionfruit powder to make Goji & Grape a tastebud sensation.

Check out Cecile's Creative Kitchen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Cecile's Creative Kitchen Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
berries   goji   grapes   honey   marlborough   nuts   nzmade   passionfruit      seeds
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cecile's Boys & Gold MuesliCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli
Rating: 8.0
Cec's Smart Bar (no fruit)Cec's Smart Bar (no fruit)
Rating: 9.8
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & HoneyCecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & Honey
Rating: 9.1
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & BrandyBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & Brandy
Rating: 9.4
Roshen Wafer RollsRoshen Wafer Rolls
Rating: 8.5
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine Oats
Rating: 9.5
Oxford Lamb & Mint PieOxford Lamb & Mint Pie
Rating: 8.0
Oven Baked Sandwich: TSBOven Baked Sandwich: TSB
Rating: 8.5
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Banana and Hazelnut with Vanilla and CoconutCecile's Creative Kitchen Banana and Hazelnut with Vanilla and Coconut
Rating: 9.3
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & QuinoaCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa
Rating: 9.0
Cec's Traditional MuesliCec's Traditional Muesli
Rating: 8.9
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine Oats
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Cecile's Goji & Grape Muesli is the second muesli that I have been given the opportunity to review from Ceciles range. Their muesli is high quality and visually appealing which is easily seen through the clear "viewing" window on the front of the resealable bag. There is a lot of information on the bag too, its states that is it handmade, very low in sugar per serve (3.2g per 30g), good source of fibre and gluten free which will be very attractive to customers.

The muesli itself is free from oats, but full of seeds, nuts and about 6% actual fruit, while this isn't unusual to have less than 10% fruit in muesli, I think the choice of Goji and Grape as the main fruit tastes leave it lacking as those fruits are not flavoursome enough, they were just too bland for me and with the combination of nuts and seeds, it just left me feeling a bit disappointed.

For me to enjoy this muesli I had to combine with fresh peaches and berry yoghurt, which got me thinking, maybe that's the trade-off for the low sugar that I had to combine with higher sugar accompaniments. Maybe we are conditioned to mueslis so high in sugar that we expect that taste, I decided that there was an element of truth in that but unfortunately I did not really like this muesli on its own, it was bland and sadly lacking in strong fruity taste. In conjunction with the high price and bland taste, I'm sorry I would not be looking at purchasing in the future.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Breakfast is always crazy in our house - with two adults, three kids and three cats to all get fed, are you surprised? That being said, I like to know that we have quick and nutritious options available, and for my kids that is usually cereal, so was excited to try this one from Cecile's. As well as sounding yum, it uses grape seed flour from here in Marlborough, so I am supporting our region too! Hubby was the first to try this, and immediately asked me where I got it. On replying it was a review product, it proceeded to give me his review! I must mention that hubby can be VERY fussy (like the kids) when it comes to cereal - so it was nice to know what he thought!

Before I get onto the taste, I want to talk about the packaging - which is really nice! It has a large clear window at the front, so you can see exactly what you are buying - which is a big plus when you are thinking about trying something new. The picture on the front shows what is in it, and each variety is a different colour so it is easy to distinguish between them. You can see straight away that this is a chunky type muesli - big bits, whole nuts and seeds, goji berries are in there too. The bag being resealable is always handy, meaning no need for another container to keep it fresh.

Traditionally I prefer my cereal with milk and yoghurt, but hubby prefers yoghurt only - so went for that option and said he was really impressed. It is more like a scroggin type cereal and could easily be eatin as a snack or put into lunch boxes, or made into homemade muesli bites or bars. The blurb says it has passionfruit powder and honey in it - but to be honest if they were there, they were not noticeable, I did not feel this was overly sweet, or too many flavours either - it was so nice. Mine with milk and yoghurt was fantastic - I loved especially that it did not go soggy, even when sitting there while I put out the washing (okay okay, I forgot I had made it!!) I particularly enjoyed the goji berries, a really nice and different flavour. I found even an hour plus later, due to the fact that this is made with quality ingredients, I was not feeling hungry - so definitely a filling snack choice also.

Personally, although I felt this cereal was delicious, I am not able to justify the price tag for it, except if it were for a Father's Day type breakfast, so at this stage would not be buying it again. I would absolutely recommend it to people, with the price being the only real downside.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 18th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I am not a breakfast person, haven't been since I was in high school and unless I had a very early dinner and bedtime the night before, no longer find myself hungry until close to ten o'clock in the morning. I had shown my three children this but none of them were interested, muesli just isn't really liked by any of them and so I knew it would fall on me and my mother to eat this. I like that you can see what you are going to get, thanks to some of the packaging being transparent and that you can reseal this, so no need to fumble about the cupboard to find a suitable container (and having them all fall on my feet as they are want to do in my house, thanks kids...).

Opening it up, I could tell there was fruit in it from the scent but it wasn't a strong smell, so I worried that the flavour wouldn't be particularly strong. The suggested serving size looked tiny but considering I don't need much at that time of the day, and I wasn't sure on the taste and textures yet, I thought I would stick with it and I was glad that I did. The flavours I didn't find particularly strong and ended up feeling a little let down, so I decided to try and pop it on some yogurt which was little nicer but it still didn't wow me. My mother had her helping and found that she liked it a little more than me and thought it filled her up well.

Having not enjoyed it enough, I can't see myself buying this, also, at $17 for the bag it is waaaaaaay outside of my budget.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 14th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

One of my favourite breakfasts is muesli with fruit and plain yoghurt. One of my pet hates is having muesli that has been filled with puffed rice or contains an excessive amount of oats. I was therefore thrilled when I saw Cecile's Marlborough Goji and Grape Muesli. It comes in a stylish, resealable bag with a clear window at the front so you can easily see the muesli inside.... and no oats or puffed rice in sight!
The packet says it's hand made and it looks and tastes like it's been made with love.

The main ingredients are nuts (almonds, cashews and walnuts) followed by seeds. Goji berries make up 4% of the ingredients, followed by grape seed oil (4%), freeze-dried grapes (2%), crushed grape seeds (2%) and grape seed flour (0.5%). When you look at the quality ingredients, I think the price is justified and I have to admit that this is the nicest, tastiest, and most filling muesli I have ever tried. The selection of ingredients in the mix was done to perfection and there was an adequate amount of goji berries.

I mistakenly ignored the serving size on my first attempt and poured it in and found that I was full for over 6 hours and didn't need to snack, which for me, is pretty impressive. The following breakfast, I decided to measure out the ingredients and 30 grams (a serving size) looked like a paltry amount. I decided to increase it to 50 grams and I just added 3 spoonfuls of yoghurt with it. I had this at 9 am and didn't get hungry until 2 pm which would indicate that the 30 gram serving would be sufficient (even though it looked so small!) Based on a 30 gram serving, the pack has enough for 13 servings which equates to just over $1 a serve and it's worth it. This is a quality over a quantity product and one that I will be searching the supermarket shelves for.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 12th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

The first thing I took into account about Cecile's Goji and Grape muesli was the packaging was on point as it stood out as being very well presented with its dark brown background and almost neon looking writing and photo of the fruits. You can tell that they have put a lot of effort into its design and take pride in the product they are creating which gives you a sense of trust that it will be great quality muesli. I love products such as this that have a translucent viewing area which allows you to visually see exactly what is within the packaging.

I tore open the bag, opened the resealable pouch and poured myself a bowl of the muesli while my youngest son proceeded to pick out individual pieces of walnuts from the bag so he could eat them being that they are his favorite. I poured in some milk then started to munch through the muesli and I was very pleased to find that it is very filling and doesn't take much because it is substantially dense and compounded of a solid nut mix of walnuts, almonds, and cashews. The only problem I found was it was lacking any bold flavors and I added some sugar to try counter that but it just made it sweeter not actually any tastier. I then added some dried banana and kiwifruit which was a fantastic addition. It stated that it contains a hint of passionfruit and I don't know if it is just my taste buds but I couldn't detect any such taste from it. I could see this making a great trail mix purely just by adding some chocolate chunks or it would be perfect for biscuits as it has such a great nuttiness to it and is very nutritional.

This muesli is beaming with so many positive aspects such as being hand made right here in New Zealand, Low in sugar with only 3.2 grams of sugar per 30-gram serving, Great source of fibre and gluten-free. The retail value of this muesli is $17 for the 400-gram bag and I can understand its pricing as when looking at the value of many nuts they are pricy and essentially this muesli is majority nut-based and it is very filling so a little does go along way but I cannot justify myself spending that much on muesli. However, if I happened to see this muesli on special I would gladly purchase. I would recommend this muesli to anyone who is looking for a satisfying filling breakfast or is into making muesli bars or biscuits or even wants an alternative topping for desserts. Overall it is another great quality product that is locally produced and proudly made here in New Zealand and is a great healthy snack that will easily please.



Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 1st of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

The bag alone screams out sophistication and you know you are in for a treat when you look at the product alone - through its clear window packaging. No little fragments of ingredients instead you are met with chunky nuts and fruit you can actually taste and see. I love the bag and what makes it even better is once you open you just squeeze any access air out and reseal the packet which makes it so easy to use.

You have a couple of choices with this product on how to use it, either with milk or yoghurt in the morning for a tasty breakfast or if you wish has a quick healthy snack that you can have on the go. It has enough flavour in it so can be used in the kids lunches if you want, which is a nice treat as contains Nuts, Seeds, Goji Berries, Grapes and Honey with a hint of Passionfruit. To be honest with you I can not taste the honey or the passionfruit just the grapes and the nuts.

I requested this for a breakfast cereal which is how I used it. The first morning I used with milk but I found the taste was lost a bit and the milk over powered it. So the next morning I had with some Greek natural yoghurt which I preferred made a better consistancy and complemented the cereal more. I was surprised though in just those two mornings I have used up around half the packet which does not make it really cost efficient especially since my daughter was eyeing up today and commented that she would try tomorrow. I did find however it took me longer to eat breakfast as they were rather big bite sizes and I remained content for longer during the day not feeling hungry till much later which is fantastic. I probably didn't need the same amount of cereal as I usually have.

Where as I can not justify the cost at $17 for 400g I would probably not purchase again. Although, if by chance I did I would add some fresh banana or berries just so would last longer or else mix it with my normal cereal and enjoy adding a new taste to it all.

You can definitely taste the walnuts in the mixture and if you like your nuts this breakfast cereal/snack would be perfect for you. While typing this I have been snacking on it and can say it is very filling and pleasant on its own. You only need a couple of handfulls and you are more than content which is great for when out on adventures with the kids. A very versitile dish indeed.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 16th of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

This product really came into its own when I went tramping with a group of friends. It was a cold, wet day but perfect for tackling a gentle bush walk that would be far more challenging in the heat of the summer. We were all well equipped with windproof jackets and drink bottles, and most people had brought along a chocolate bar or two. Because I am not a great fan of chocolate (unless it is dark and very strong) I decided to take a pottle of this cereal instead. It was the right choice. Not only does it provide instant energy, but it is also filling so when you have a mouthful you feel you have eaten something substantial.

It is no surprise that this is such a great energy food. Although the main ingredients are listed as goji berries and grapes, they form only a small part of the mixture. Nuts and seeds are the main ingredients with the fruit contributing flavour rather than quantity. However, there is enough to ensure that the final product is moist enough to slip down easily - a contrast to some trail mixes which are too dry and can actually cause choking if you are eating and walking at the same time.

We had the cereal for dessert one night, serving it with mandarin, banana and kiwifruit, and topping it with dolce de leche flavoured yoghurt. This proved to be popular with everyone, and ensured that our slightly unhealthy main of takeaway fish and chips was complemented by a healthy option. Everyone felt quite virtuous afterwards! Because the cereal itself is filling, one serving apiece was plenty. I had feared that it would all disappear, but it fed four of us and there was still plenty left for another day.

I like the packaging - it is colourful and trendy with a little window to let the consumer see what is inside, and a good quality ziplock closure which will ensure that the contents remain fresh. The price is high ($42.50 a kilo) but because it is so filling you don't need very much, so a 400g packet should last for quite some time. It does not need sweetening; the natural fruit and honey it contains mean that no extra sugar is needed. If I were to eat it as a breakfast cereal, I would serve it with soy milk or yoghurt, but there are so many other possibilities that I have not yet considered that option.

It is a bonus that this cereal is gluten free. I don't have a problem with that, but one of my friends is gluten intolerant which makes it difficult to cater when he is visiting. I intend to add this product to my list of suitable foods so that there is something tasty to offer him when he and his wife next call. I also appreciate that this cereal is extremely low in both salt and sugar. The bonus is that you don't feel deprived because the food is so delicious.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7593: Muscle Fuel Meals
Brand : Muscle Fuel

Product image for Muscle Fuel MealsSelect from our tasty range of healthy fresh meals designed by nutritionists and prepared by qualified chefs. New options being added every month. You can pick and choose meals individually or choose one of our pre selected meal packs that suit your needs. You will find pre-selected meal packs under the tab "Other delicious options"

Your meals are cooked AFTER you order so you get the freshest service possible. After your meal ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We know what the speed of light is, but what is the speed of darkness?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream