Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 27th June 2019 - 10:09:09

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Telecommunications > Handsets > Huawei Y6 Pro 2019 review

« Ko Flit te Tirairaka me nga Heki Muna reviewKo Flit te Tirairaka me nga Heki MunaOn The Basis Of Sex reviewOn The Basis Of Sex »

Score: 9.0/10  [1 review]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8313 - Huawei Y6 Pro 2019
Manufactured by Huawei

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019
Price:
from $199
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Huawei NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retail and mobile provider outlets nationwide

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019 product reviews

Unique Colour
A shadowy shade that sets a beautiful trendy look. Midnight Black is a dark and classic colour that everyone will appreciate. (NOTE: Other colour options not available in NZ)

Limitless Dewdrop
Discover a new world without boundaries in the 6.09" Dewdrop HD+ display. This wide screen with a 87% screen-to-body ratio provides a greater view for your videos, photos and favourite books. The HUAWEI Y6 Pro 2019 also blocks out harmful blue light and is TUV Rheinland certified.

Stunning 8 MP Selfie Camera
The 8 MP front facing camera on the HUAWEI Y6 Pro 2019 paired up with an advanced Selfie Toning Flash 2.0, a front flash toning light assisted by screen light, enables you to capture a true, natural and accurate portrait even in low light conditions.

Lowlight Photography
Capture greatness with the 13 MP rear camera. The wide f/1.8 aperture lens lets in 50% more light to enhance the quality and clarity in your low-light shots.

HUAWEI SuperSound - Built-in FM Radio | Histen 5.0 | Party mode
The HUAWEI Y6 Pro 2019 can release an additional 6db of sound with stronger bass effects. This phone is your personal portable speaker while listening to music at home, partying with friends or hanging out at the beach. And you also have a built-in FM radio that can be heard without earbuds.

Equipped for Performance
The 12nm chipset and 3 + 32GB expandable large memory of the HUAWEI Y6 Pro 2019 can store all of your content and has the ability to multitask smoothly.

Intelligent
The HUAWEI Y6 Pro 2019 leverages a 3,020 mAh battery with intelligent battery optimization. The software with hardware synergy works together to keep your phone going all day long.

EMUI 9.0 with Android 9.0 Pie
EMUI 9.0 is a smart, simple and intuitive software upgrade. The full screen gesture navigation and added system speed enhancements with an intelligent Phone Manager help to deliver an overall smoother experience.

Low-light Face Unlock
Experience our fast and responsive face unlock algorithm which keeps your smartphone safe and can even work in low-light environments.


Specifications:
Colour: Black
Display: 6.09" HD+ (1560 x 720)
Chipset: MTK MT6761 (4-CORE)
Operating System: Android 9 Pie
Memory: 3GB RAM + 32GB ROM

External Memory Support
Type: microSD
Max Capacity: 512 GB
Note: microSD card is non-standard configuration

Network: LTE TDD / LTE FDD / WCDMA / GSMGPSGPS / AGPS, Glonass, BDS

Connectivity:
    •  Bluetooth
    •  Micro USB
    •  Wi-Fi Direct
    •  Wi-Fi Hot Spot

Sensors:
    •  Proximity sensor
    •  Ambient light sensor
    •  Gravity sensor
    •  SAR sensor

Cameras:
Rear Camera: 13 M AF Camera, f/1.8
Front Camera: 8 MP FF Camera, Selfie Toning Flash 2.0

Audio: *.mp3, *.mid, *.amr, *.awb, *.3gp, *.mp4, *.m4a, *.aac, *.wav, *.ogg, *.flac, *.mkv
Video: *.3gp, *.mp4, *.webm, *.mkv
EMUI: EMUI 9.0
Battery: 3,020 mAh (Typical value)
NFC: No

In the Box
    •  1x Handset
    •  1x Charger
    •  1x USB Cable
    •  1x Quick Start Guide
    •  1x Eject tool
    •  1x Battery cover protective film
    •  1x TP protective film

Check out Huawei NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Huawei NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
android   bluetooth   fm   handset   huawei   radio   smartphone   usb   wifi
Other listings you may be interested in:
HTC One M8HTC One M8
Rating: 9.5
Jabra M5390 Bluetooth Headset with USBJabra M5390 Bluetooth Headset with USB
Rating: 8.5
Telecom Outlet - Leading Edge CommunicationsTelecom Outlet - Leading Edge Communications
Rating: 9.0
Teletop RC G-style Ear Hook - EH101Teletop RC G-style Ear Hook - EH101Huawei Mate 9Huawei Mate 9
Rating: 9.8
Oppo AX7Oppo AX7
Rating: 9.5
Huawei Ascend P8 LiteHuawei Ascend P8 Lite
Rating: 9.8
PowerMat 2px hard mat with 7 piece PowerCubePowerMat 2px hard mat with 7 piece PowerCube
Rating: 9.8
Huawei Nova 3iHuawei Nova 3i
Rating: 9.5
In Win iBite standIn Win iBite stand
Rating: 9.0
HTC Magic with GoogleHTC Magic with Google
Rating: 9.3
Teletop RT Battery Pack - VB407-L for Vertex VX-426Teletop RT Battery Pack - VB407-L for Vertex VX-426Nokia 6165Nokia 6165
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 1st of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Cost:
Score 10 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Functionality:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10

When you look at entry-level these days, the more mature buyer will remember when even these specs were considered unaffordably flashy, features to be found in only the most expensive handsets. As with all things tech, prices drop, specs increase, features get added to the top end and everyone takes a step down the ladder each time a new sibling arrives on the market... thus, today a phone that would have cost over $1,000 even 5 years ago can be picked up for under $300 - or even cheaper at some outlets. What a world, eh? However, as the world accelerates into the future, we now see this phone as somewhat basic... and there are a few little things that reinforce this feeling in consumers.

I'll get the bad stuff out of the way early, so if any of these are deal-breakers for you, you won't need to keep reading. One of the key things that shows this to be entry level is the power plug. With USB Type-C now being the benchmark of a top-end phone, this unit takes the microUSB plug that is the default for rechargeable devices these days. Gone are the days when proprietary power plugs were seen as acceptable by the consumer marketplace, but now that we can use a plug system that doesn't require fiddling around in the dark trying to get the plug the right way up, having the older style plug in this unit is somewhat frustrating. Using the Type-C plug would have given this phone some good kudos without impacting the cost at all significantly. On the plus side, it does have a 3.5mm headphone jack, which will help if you really want to finish watching that movie but the battery is getting a bit low - ditch the Bluetooth speaker and slide in some earbuds for extended viewing time!

Also missing is the NFC feature. While still not huge, this is a technology that is slowly seeping into everything - billboards, bus stops, display adverts, tags in stores, contactless payment systems etc. Thus, a phone that fails to include this may be easier to slide into the bottom end of the market, but it won't slide into the hearts of owners in a few years when it becomes something vital at the store checkout. Still, by then I daresay the newest phones of today will be just a memory of 'old tech' so maybe that isn't as much of a factor for the young as it is for older buyers. With a lack of AC WiFi (aka 5GHz band), and no fingerprint sensor rounding out the Sad List of features not in this unit, what are we left with? The answer is, for me at least, a surprisingly good phone for the price.

I'm not a big gamer, so a phone that can thrash PUBG Mobile at max res is never going to be on my wishlist, which is good because this unit has a good bit of grunt, but nothing supercharged in any way. It handles simple games - I played the new Harry Potter-themed game from Niantic (Basically, a reskinned version of Pokemon GO!) on it quite happily for hours on end as I wandered around town snapping photos, testing signal strength in various locations, playing various media over mobile, WiFi and OTG-connected data sources, etc. The battery drain of this game is moderate, but nothing drastic, and the phone kept up for many hours despite the constant drain of high-resolution GPS running constantly. I always carry a portable power pack with me these days, and it was surprising and refreshing not to have to plug that in during the day while testing. That's what you get when you match a low-power chipset with a 3020mAh battery and wrap them up in a power management package that is actually quite smart about usage optimisation.

A quick note on the GPS - I found that it was a bit slow to get a lock when I was indoors, and in some well-sheltered spaces near the middle of the building, there was zero GPS signal lock at all. Keep in mind - if you are inside a building, you really ought to know where you are anyway, but the GPS will kick in by the time you reach your car or the end of the driveway. Expect some small delays if you are using Google Maps as a driving nav-aid, but the signal is fairly steady once it has a lock with more than 5 satellites.

The screen is pretty good considering it's only 720p HD. The clarity is crisp and the colours displayed are vibrant without being over saturated... though in certain lighting conditions, some of your photos may be super-saturated as the camera tries to enhance dim colours. This is particularly common for sunrise/sunset shots where the light makes the colour a bit washed out in the foreground. However, this appears to be symptomatic of a number of modern phones that come with some form of AI image tweaking, because I have seen this same thing happen on other brands of phones too. Nothing major, just be aware that you may want to download an image editing app that will allow you to adjust the saturation in the final image. With the modern trend of the 'notched display' - where the camera, led, etc. are located in a small area 'cut out' of the top edge of the screen - this phone runs with the best of them. The only item that actually resides in the notch - thus, the only thing that takes a bite out of the display - is the front-facing selfie camera. Everything else is tucked away, somehow, in the amazingly thin bezel. This means that you get a screen that pretty much takes up the entire front of the device. It is actually quite impressive if you are using any basic AR apps. For those who like to sit around and share their photos with their mates, it is worth noting that the screen has a very wide angle of view, meaning you don't all need to crowd up. On the flip-side, this also means that you shouldn't read your private emails on the bus, because everyone around you could see them if they happen to look that way.

WiFi was pretty good - a solid connection was to be expected with the mesh network infrastructure I have set up in the building, but even so, it was surprising to see that it was a little laggy when it came to sending files over the network. Downloading photos from the phone to the network storage brought to light that transfer speeds from the phone are noticeably slower than speeds when it came to receiving files. In case this was related to the types of files, I ran some tests sending the same files in both directions - text files were fairly quick in both directions, but highly compressed files - too dense to squeeze down any smaller - took longer to send than receive. While this is common with most protocols, checking the transmission speeds against a couple of other Huawei phones I have around showed this model's send:receive speed ratio is a bit out of whack with its kin. Don't expect to upload large files to your social media with this - better to lower the photo/video resolution a bit and save yourself some data allowance as well as time.

When it comes to the cameras, they are good, but as is to be expected from this price-bracket, nothing spectacular. With the main, rear-facing camera topping out at 13MP, you should expect some decent results, but the phone seems to do odd things under various lighting conditions. I found that under low light, it went a bit nuts on the sharpening and the results were good on the camera screen but taking them into photoshop showed some odd and awkward artefacts along edges that should have been rounded, but got tweaked to look like creases. Also, as mentioned earlier, colours were off. Still, it does a good job in daylight and the details are enhanced by the processing. The front-facing, aka Selfie, camera on the other hand, was a little underwhelming. At just 8MP the level of detail is a bit rough. Again, low-light situations were rather disappointing with the aggressive sharpening causing some mixed, but usually displeasing, results. I also noted that when taking selfies against a cloudy, overcast sky - all too common in NZ at this time of year - the clouds got utterly blown out leaving me with a flat, slightly-off-white blur behind me instead of the richly textured clouds I was trying to capture as part of the shot. Also, with no image stabilisation features built-in, video (which is really only viable under good lighting conditions) and long-exposure shots are sadly sub-par without a tripod. Still, video chats are certainly tolerable as long as you aren't jogging around while you talk.

Overall, this is a good entry-level phone for someone in their 30's an up. Younger people will want, nay, demand something with more grunt because "...I want to play the newest games, Dad... this sucks.!" This is a phone, first and foremost. It handles calls well, the onscreen keyboard - assuming you don't immediately download and use a 3rd-party keyboard app - is good and fairly accurate, and it will do a moderately good job with most non-thrashy apps out there. You can play a mean game of Angry Birds, or go catch yourself a few hundred Pokemon well enough, but if you want to burn rubber in 'Asphalt' or go hunting in an MMORPG, then this is not the 'droid you are looking for. While still far above 'basic phone' status, this is more ideally suited for someone who wants a useful tool to help them keep their day under control, than someone who wants a device through which they can pretty much replace the real world on a daily basis. Even under high workload, relatively speaking, the phone stays quite cool in your hand, which was a huge and pleasant surprise for me. While I wouldn't use this as my first choice to watch media - some shows on Netflix sounds good, but the vocal range was a little pitchy in places and bass was weak across the board - I would happily consider buying one of these as my 'primary backup device' should my usual phone ever get damaged or waterlogged. Would I say this phone lived up to its hype? Nope, not even close. But even taking that with a grain of salt, I would have to say this phone is certainly worth the price, considering some of the rubbish devices available on the market these days! Beware parallel imports!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Telecommunications'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 3015: BlackBerry Curve 8300 Commuter Series Case -  Brand / Manufactured by: Otterbox

Product image for BlackBerry Curve 8300 Commuter Series CaseThe OtterBox Commuter Series for the BlackBerry Curve 8300 Series is a perfect on-the-go accessory for everyday handheld technology users. Safeguarding the screen from scratches and the corners from bumps and shocks this style case offers sleek design with reliable strength. ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream