Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 19th September 2019 - 03:42:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Feijoa & Pear review

« Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & Brandy reviewBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & BrandyBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black Pepper reviewBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black Pepper »

Score: 8.4/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8226 - Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Feijoa & Pear
Produced by Barker's of Geraldine

Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Feijoa & Pear
Price:
$6.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Feijoa & Pear product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsUp your platter game with Barker's new Fruit for Cheese! Delicious fruit paste that pairs perfectly with cheese and is most at home upon your DIY platter or grazing board. Popping up in supermarkets nationwide - in the specialty cheese section.

Light and fresh NZ Feijoa and NZ pear are the perfect accompaniment to creamy cheeses such as Brie and Camembert.

    •  Gluten Free
    •  No artificial colours or flavours
    •  No preservatives
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  Vegan-friendly
    •  Refrigerate after opening.

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
feijoa   fruit   fruit for cheese   gluten free   pear   preservative free   spread   vegan   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - QuinceBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Quince
Rating: 8.7
Chicken and Veges DumplingsChicken and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.1
Cuisine Scene Asian-Style SauceCuisine Scene Asian-Style Sauce
Rating: 9.2
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & BrandyBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & Brandy
Rating: 9.4
The Crown CreperieThe Crown Creperie
Rating: 9.6
MamasDonutsMamasDonuts
Rating: 9.2
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple ChocTasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc
Rating: 8.6
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Kaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.5
Chicken & Chips PizzaChicken & Chips Pizza
Rating: 8.2
KFC - PNKFC - PN
Rating: 5.9
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black PepperBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Pomegranate & Black Pepper
Rating: 8.2
Nando's - JohnsonvilleNando's - Johnsonville
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 1st of July, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We are a family of cheese lovers. My daughter, who is three, will often request cheese and crackers as a snack, and my hubby is always raiding the speciality cheese section at our local supermarket. But despite this, I was still not really sure what to expect from a product described as 'fruit for cheese'. However, I decided that as we eat so much cheese, we were exactly the type of people who should be trying this product out for KIWIreviews, and that the feijoa and pear combination sounded like the perfect place to start.

The product itself is packaged up nicely in a little tub. The packet suggests that it is best enjoyed with soft cheeses, so that is exactly where we started. I have to admit to being a little surprised at the texture. I expected more of a jelly or a harder paste, but this is like a softly-set jam, and spoons out easily and cleanly onto a plate. The combination of pear and feijoa is a match made in heaven. I'm not quite sure how they have done it, but the pear isn't overpowered by the feijoa so both get a chance to shine. The texture is melt in the mouth, so you don't notice it at first, but the burst of fruit and sweetness to accompany the soft cheese and crunchy cracker works perfectly. It definitely pairs best with milder cheeses, the flavour was slightly overpowered by the rather ripe blue which we had in the fridge, but we tried it alongside mild soft and harder cheeses and it worked in each instance. I would say that as it was so mild, most people will like it, so it's sure to be a crowd pleaser. It would be perfect added to a sharing platter for groups of friends or family. I was also pleasantly surprised at how far it went as you only need a little on each cracker.

I was also able to find uses for it outside of cheese and crackers. It works well as a little sweetener added to a morning bowl of porridge (a little taste of autumn in the middle of winter), it is delicious mixed through creme fraiche and then added to fruit for a quick dessert, and makes a great jam alternative if you are bored of your usual spread.

I really didn't know what to expect from this product, but was very pleasantly surprised. Perfect for cheese-lovers, platter-preparers or just people wanting a multi-functional product to have on hand. Give it a try as you will not be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 9th of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Out of the three flavours I had to try out, Feijoa and Pear was the one that I felt would be the safe bet. Both flavours that I like with a similar texture, so it was the one I was least worried about. Strangely enough, it ended up being the least exciting of the bunch. Perhaps due to the fact that I had no soft cheeses to pair it with, I tried it with some smoked cheddar but it didn't really appeal too much. It actually ended up working better on toast on its own as a type of smooth jam preserve.

The packaging is very high quality. Easy to open and seal shut, easy to stack, and has a foil top inside that's easy enough to open and keeps the product fresh for longer. The consistency of the product is really smooth but still has a level of cohesiveness to it which is the perfect balance of easy to get out of the tub and still easy to spread.

The flavour itself was not very strong which did surprise me. Feijoa is quite renowned for its unique flavour that is both sweet and sharp and always stands out in the crowd, but it seems that the pear has completely disabled the strength of flavour of the feijoa. I would really be more likely to use this in a fruit pie, but then again, it may just need some soft cheeses. Perhaps if I had some camembert or brie, then I would have had a greater appreciation for it.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 7th of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was a little bit hesitant to request this product, but I decided that the point of being part of KIWIreviews is to try new products and step out of my comfort zone sometimes! In recent times I haven't been much a fan of feijoa - to be fair, I probably only tried my first feijoa two years ago when visiting my Dad in Christchurch. He has a feijoa tree and it grows a lot of fruit, and I managed to wrangle one from my feijoa loving nephews to give a go. I didn't really enjoy it, but I'm actually starting to think it's because of the texture rather than the taste, as I have tried a few feijoa products lately and I have enjoyed them.

I am a big fan of crackers and cheese, and a nice relish or chutney can absolutely make it. Upon reading the container it suggested that this feijoa and pear fruit for cheese was best matched with soft cheeses such as ricotta and brie however unfortunately I had neither! But I decided to give it a go with what I had - a simple block of mild cheddar cheese. I spread a little bit of the fruit for cheese on the crackers before topping with a slice of cheese. Smelling the product there was a definite smell of feijoa, and a definite sweetness from the pear. However, when I tried it I realised that the feijoa flavour was very weak, which didn't bother me too much at all. There was a nice sweetness from the pear that matched perfectly with a nice plain cracker and the nice mild cheddar cheese. Trying to imagine the product with some brie, I actually think I would prefer this just as I was having it.

I took the fruit for cheese to work as a number of my workmates are fans of cheese and crackers, and my boss, in particular, LOVES feijoa. Three other people tried the feijoa and pear fruit for cheese and the consensus from everyone was the same - it was really yummy, had a nice amount of sweetness without being too sickly sweet, and that the feijoa flavour was only subtle. One of them doesn't like feijoa at all but enjoyed this product, and my boss who loves feijoa went and ordered her own tub in her online groceries that night! The other thing we did all agree on is that the price does seem a little bit steep for the size of pottle, however we all said that for a treat or on a special occasion we would splash out for this product.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 2nd of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.5/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I really had no idea what to expect but was interested in giving it a go as new things to eat are always welcome. It is a good size bottle with some good information on it. I cut up some cheese and got some crackers and then called the family to try this product. The boys both said they don't like it but couldn't give me a firm reason, my daughter said it was ok but she didn't seem to really enjoy it. I didn't like it at all, I found that it was too sweet and I since I have a sweet tooth I was really surprised that I'm not a fan of the taste.

I did think upon opening the bottle that the texture reminded me of puree baby food and the smell was also a lot like baby food. My dad was about the only one who said that the fruit wasn't too bad, he just dipped a tiny bit onto a cracker and said that it did improve the taste of the cracker.

I know that there are worse things I could be eating but this didn't make that big an impression due to the texture issues (I do prefer that my food not be too much like baby food) and how sweet it is. When checking the ingredients I was expecting sugar to be high on the list but fruit is listed first. Since this wasn't a hit with the family it is not going to be making an appearance in my shopping trolley.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 1st of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I usually have cheese on crackers as a snack at work but normally I top it with different types of hot sauces so I thought to give the Barker's of Geraldine fruit for cheese a try for something different and although I thought at first that the concept of fruit on cheese was a little weird I am very glad to have ventured out to give it a whirl. The Fruit for cheese comes in a nifty little 210g container with a twist to remove lid and the pot is see through so you can visually check the contents inside before purchasing and opening. The label on the front of the Feijoa and pear flavored fruit for cheese suggests to match it with soft cheeses such as Brie and ricotta so naturally, I followed this suggestion and purchased a Blue Brie cheese to try it with.

I cut four slices of the cheese, placed them atop crackers and spread the fruit paste over the top to get good even coverage. Before eating the crackers I spooned out a little portion of the fruit paste to try by itself and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't overly sweet and just held the natural flavor of feijoa and pear. The consistency of the paste is that of a jam and that is probably the best comparison I can give for this paste as it is very much a jam than anything else. I proceeded to eat the cheese on crackers and love the way that the fruit paste blended well giving a nice sweet fruit taste to the creaminess of the cheese and the savory flavor from the crackers.

For me personally, I really did enjoy the fruit for cheese but I think I would only have it every now and then as I do prefer the Hot sauce's on cheese but if your more preferable of eating sweet natural flavors then this will be right up your alley. It has a very nice fruity flavor and is gluten-free,vegan-friendly, has no preservatives and is made right here in New Zeland. I think the price of $6.99 is a reasonable price for the 210g and is on par with similar products.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 19th of May, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

With so many good shows coming to an end this last week, curling up on the couch with a Cider and Cheese & Wackers are a must. Such a simple treat but yet an extremely yummy snack made even more special when you add a topping to it. These Fruit for Cheese are perfect for such occasions.

My daughter loves Feijoas at the moment and is eating as many as I will let her get away with in a day, but ironically hates any topping on her cheese so I was hoping this would be the solution that I required. It worked as soon as she heard it had Feijoa's in it she could not wait to add to her Cracker. The problem was she started using more topping than anything else.

II am other other way I love Pears and as much as I wanted to love it as much as other members of the family did, I have to admit - it did take me a little while to warm to the taste. It is way sweeter than I expected. It does look like mashed up pears to me but taste more of the Feijoa in my opinion. Now, what really surprised me is my husbands reaction he loves he - seriously he is using it on everything. He made Banana Bread yesterday and is spreading this on his slices instead of using butter. He even used on his sandwich with sliced ham. Between him and my daughter they have practically finished the container in two days which is crazy - realistically it should last a week or so but they love it so much they are practically eating it by the spoonful.

I find the container is great and love that you can twist it easily to close it. Also the fact can see how much is left so I could easily see how much he ate alone last night after I went to bed. I also do love that there are no artificial colors or flavours and its gluten free so doesn't make me to upset that he is eatting so much.

I was lucky to be sent three flavours and in my opinion this was my least favourite which I guess is lucky as I would have to fight the other two in order to get any. I am guessing it will become a regular addition to the shopping basket from now on, although at close to $7 I am going to have to put my foot down on how much they are eatting of it.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 15th of May, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Feijoa's... one of my favourite fruits that I patiently wait all year to get my little hands on! Although feijoas are one of my favourite fruits, I also quite like pears so when I see the 'Fruit for Cheese' up for review I knew without a doubt that this is one of the varieties that I really had to try. The thought of feijoas always makes me think about my childhood where each Feijoa season I would venture up to Kaitaia to stay with my grandparents and gather up huge amounts of Feijoas from under there many trees down in the orchard, where I would quite happily sit for the day with a spoon in hand eating these delicious fruits.

When I first opened the pot of Feijoa and Pear I was impressed by the strong scent of Feijoa that came over me and on a quick taste test I was sold, Feijoa was by far the most predominant of the two fruits but you could definitely taste the pear as well. By this stage my Feijoa loving 6 years old had seen me with the pot containing images of Feijoas and she too was wanting to taste it's contents, a huge thumbs up from her and she wanted to finish off the tub with a spoon... sadly for her this wasn't happening as I had many other ideas of my own!

WIth some Brie in the fridge and crackers in the pantry I decided to put the product to the test, adding a generous dollop of fruit to each cracker and then a slice of Brue... yum, Brie was the perfect cheese for this cracker due to it's softness and it went so well with the sweet fruity flavours.

I decided to make some cinnamon doughnuts in my pie maker so after making up the doughnut batter I half filled the pie maker with this and then to each of the doughnuts added a generous spoonful of the feijoa and pear' before adding more batter over top of this. Once cooked I rolled the doughnuts into a mix of cinnamon and sugar, and quickly ate one while it was still warm... oh my gosh these were amazing and the warm sweet tastes of the filling and cinnamon and sugar were to die for the flavours complemented each other so well, and I truly don't think there could be anything better. My partner dislikes Feijoas but I gave him one to try and he even said how nice they were!

The next morning Miss 6 was having some cereal with yoghurt for breakfast and she asked me if she could have some of the fruit for cheese over the top, as odd as it sounded I agreed, and slightly melted a small amount in the microwave for her and then drizzled it over the top for her. She declared it the best breakfast ever, by this stage I was curious as to how it would taste myself so had a little sample, only to find that it actually paris really well with plain yoghurt.

With a small amount of the fruit for cheese left in the pot, I have a couple of ways I would like to try the remainder out (as a cupcake filling and drizzled over pancakes). This product has so many uses other than with cheese, and is another great product by Barkers if your a Feijoa fan you should give it a try for sure!

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw these barkers fruit for cheese I was in two minds for this I love fejoia and pear but for cheese seemed strange but I'll give most things a go so went for it. The tub is lovely looking and we'll you twist the lid not pull and get annoyed like I did I was too excited I didn't see the twist arrows on the top with the word twist so many hints not taken.

Once opened you could smell the fejoia even my 9 year old sad man that fejoia smells good he didn't actually know beforehand what it was. We cut up some normal edam cheese and gave it a try. We liked it and kept eating more the kids then asked for a small container of their own with cheese and off they went.

I was really surprised how good it was with cheese and it didn't seem out of place, the fejoia in our opinion was more there than the pear but that worked for us. We tried it with carrot sticks and again was good even with apple slices.

This is Def a lovely addition to a platter or school lunches everyone in our houses liked this and then afterwards we thought about it on crackers with cheese and salami which I'm sure would be great too. Overall this would be brought again for platters, dinner parties and just because we want dome thing different?

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 14th of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a huge cheese fan, so seeing these Fruit for Cheese pottles come up for review, I requested them. I am also a HUGE feijoa fan, so was delighted to receive this one. I was very pleased to note that in true Barker's style this is a NZ Made, not too many additives product that I have come to expect from Barker's.

Taking a look at the pot - it is a a lovely looking pot, with nice artwork on it, meaning for something like friends over, or a birthday party you do not need to put it into something else - it looks nice as it is. I like the "locking" lid that you turn to close rather than simply push on - it seems much more secure, as long as everyone actually knows to do that!! I opened up the pot, and removing the lid, found a foil seal also - so this product can remain in the fridge sealed for quite a while. The ingredients list is really good - making sure to tell you everything in it - and it was nice to see the fruit as the major ingredient. It is reasonably high in sugar, but then, you want the sweet to compliment the cheese.

I was a bit peckish when my review box arrived so got out some oat crackers, my camembert cheese and this. I chose to spoon a little onto the top of each cheese and cracker, but you could just as easily spread it underneath the cheese. I liked the look of the fruit paste on top to be honest, so that is my personal display choice! Tasting it, wow - it was really nice!! You can absolutely taste both the pear and the feijoa in it, and it has the same texture as well. Whilst being sweet - together with the cheese it does not taste too sweet - it is a great combination that I will be honest - had never though of feijoa with cheese!

I took this to my daughters birthday party also - and everyone liked it, and said it went well with the creamy cheeses as suggested. I think this could be used in the place of jam, however - if you choose that however, it becomes a very expensive jam!

All in all - really really nice - and definitely full of flavour. I would class this as a treat, as it is a on the pricier side. In saying that, I think it is worth it, as it is a quality, well made fruit paste, with potential to use it for other things too.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 9th of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I am a big feijoa fan, from harvesting the trees where ever we lived and gorging myself on them as a child to enjoying the range of feijoa fruit juices available, feijoa sorbet and of course, lollies soI knew I needed to try this fruit for cheese. My eight year old wanted to get right into it but she was unable to open it on her own so it came to me but even I struggled with opening it up, the bonus of that though is that once closed again the lid won't pop off in your fridge or if it hits the ground.

Trying it out, you could tell that it has real feijoa in it as it has the same slight grittiness to it that the fruit does which helped to make this feel like an authentic product. I've tried this a couple of times on its own and I could easily tell that it has pear and feijoas in it, however, for the first time for me, this combo just didn't work quite well and I found it left me feeling a bit ick. I didn't let this stop me though and tried it out with a wide range of cheeses but was unable to find one that I thought it paired well with (having tried it with the suggested cheeses and others we had). My nine and eight year olds both enjoyed it and my mother said it had a really nice feijoa taste and found the pear was a nice accompliment to the feijoa.

I wouldn't buy this for myself, but when three out of five enjoy it, this could well end up in our fridge again.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 9th of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

A good place for me to start this review is to say we are feijoa addicts, especially my 7 year old son. having feijoa trees at home, feijoa season is never long enough and can often eat too many so as not to waste them. One of my favourite ways to use feijoas is in a feijoa and pear or feijoa and apple crumble, both are delicious served as a desert and the flavours go so well together. While both fruits are sweet they have different tastes and balance each other very well.

I had never thought of using either of these fruits with cheese although I regular have fruit or even jam with cheese. Now I have I can personally say I think it is a wonderful new way for me to enjoy them and I will certainly buy this again especially when feijoa season is over and i'm craving that taste. It was suggested to use this with cream cheese which I love so I was keen to use it with this however my 7 year old misheard when I read the container out loud and thought I said icecream so had to have it with icecream.

He was very happy with his suggestion and would easily of eaten the whole container this way if I hadn't of stepped in to get at least some of it with cheese. Having this on a mini plain blini with some cream cheese I could see the definite appeal to eat it with cheese so also had it with cream cheese on crackers in the same way. One of my favourite pizza toppings is chicken, cream cheese, and apricot or cranberry sauce so I thought why not try it on pizza and I didn't find it too bad at all while quiet sweet and with that definite feijoa taste I thought it worked just as well in savoury dishes as a cranberry or an apricot sauce.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was staying with a family who have their own feijoa and pear trees, so they were very keen to try this variety. They sometimes include pears in dishes like Waldorf salad, but had not thought of combining it with cheese. As for feijoas, they have quite a strong flavour on their own and they have long been made into jam and included in fruit salads. And, of course, both fruit are eaten raw in season. Everyone thought having the two together was an interesting combination, and when I brought out the brie I had purchased to accompany it, they could not wait to get started.

Reactions ranged from "Interesting!" (from one of the children) to "Wow, where can I buy this?" from her father. Everyone liked it, and were fascinated to see that I had chosen to serve it on Girl Guide biscuits. These biscuits are delicious served with cheese rather than just dunked in a hot drink, and the texture was perfect to offset the softness of the cheese and the full flavour of the product. Opinions as to the balance of ingredients was varied; some thought the pear taste overwhelmed the feijoa, while others thought the opposite. I could certainly taste both, and noticed particularly that the slightly gritty texture of the pears was apparent.

We also tried some with a slice of pumpernickel, spread with a scraping of cream cheese instead of butter, and then with a small amount of the fruit added on top. I really liked it served this way and would have had another slice but we had managed to finish the whole jar. The pumpernickel has a rich malty flavour which complements the fruit beautifully. However, this combination would be best made fresh and eaten immediately as I can imagine the topping would slide off otherwise; pumpernickel is not porous like bread.

I would use this product sparingly if I were just serving it in place of a jam because it is very sweet indeed - it needs something to counteract that sweetness or it could become too much for some. I don't like a lot of sweet food so combining it with other ingredients tones this aspect down somewhat. There is not a lot of added sugar - most of the sweetness comes from the natural fruit - and there are no artificial ingredients added to boost the flavour.

Pricewise it is competitive; I saw it in their local supermarket featured as an "opening special" so I might get another pot to try other possibilities for it. I think it might be quite nice on a sponge cake with unsweetened whipped cream; it would provide flavour interest and I can see it going down well with the family. So that will be my next experiment!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 4928: Mild Guacamole
Produced by Fressure Foods Ltd

Product image for Mild GuacamoleA traditional mild guacamole made with fresh avocado (95%), fresh coriander, fresh onion and other spices. A great dip, the perfect snack.

Try it in salads or as a healthy addition to wraps and sandwiches. In fact, we're told it goes with anything!

Made with 2 fresh avocados.

No Additives - No Preservatives - All Natural

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is a curious thing... that every creed promises a paradise which will be absolutely uninhabitable for anyone of civilized taste."
Evelyn Waugh (1903 - 1966)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream