Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 20th October 2019 - 14:33:40

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Lighting > Solar > Solar Powered 20m 200-LED String Fairy Light review

« Red Joan reviewRed JoanRound LED Solar Fence Lights reviewRound LED Solar Fence Lights »

Score: 7.6/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8205 - Solar Powered 20m 200-LED String Fairy Light
Manufacturer / Brand: CrazyDeal.co.nz

Solar Powered 20m 200-LED String Fairy Light
Price:
$17.38
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by CrazyDeal NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store

Solar Powered 20m 200-LED String Fairy Light product reviews

This solar LED works by converting solar energy into electricity during the day to charge a small battery, and it lights up automatically at dark. It is suitable for indoor and outdoor decoration with trees, wreaths, etc. LED lights STEADY and FLASH in a string, form a beautiful and fairy world.

Sealed with good waterproof performance, it is made from environment-friendly products with a high energy conversion rate. The solar panel is supported by a garden spike.

Put under sunshine during the day, and it begins to light up at night. It varies with the intensity of sunlight received, placement, user's geographic location, weather conditions and shift of seasons.

Put on wall, window, door, floor, ceiling, grass, Christmas tree, post or building, adds perfect atmosphere to your place. A perfect decoration for Valentine's Day, Christmas party, wedding, or just to give your BBQ patio some ambient light at night.

Specifications:
    •  Solar Panel: 2V, 0.6W
    •  Battery: 1.2V, 1200mAh (Included)
    •  Light source: Super Bright LED
    •  Switch: ON/OFF/MODE (flash or steady)
    •  Working mode: 8 Modes
    •  Available in: Warm, White or Multi-coloured (Yellow, Red, Blue, Green)

Package Includes:
    •  1x Solar Panel
    •  1x Spike
    •  1x Solar String Fairy Lights

Check out CrazyDeal NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for CrazyDeal NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
ecofriendly   indoors   led   light   multicoloured   outdoors   rechargeable   solar   string   warm   white
Other listings you may be interested in:
Value Brand LED Bulbs - Cool WhiteValue Brand LED Bulbs - Cool White
Rating: 9.9
Eveready Dolphin LED LanternEveready Dolphin LED Lantern
Rating: 10.0
Wifi Lights - Wireless Lighting Starter KitWifi Lights - Wireless Lighting Starter Kit
Rating: 9.3
LED Flashing MouthpieceLED Flashing Mouthpiece
Rating: 10.0
Philips Scene Switch 2-in-1 LED bulbPhilips Scene Switch 2-in-1 LED bulb
Rating: 9.8
Value Brand LED Bulbs - Warm WhiteValue Brand LED Bulbs - Warm White
Rating: 9.9
Philips Deco Classic LED filament bulbPhilips Deco Classic LED filament bulb
Rating: 9.5
Round LED Solar Fence LightsRound LED Solar Fence Lights
Rating: 8.3
LZ LED Lightbulb - B2210wLZ LED Lightbulb - B2210w
Rating: 10.0
nanoleaf Aurora Smarter Kitnanoleaf Aurora Smarter Kit
Rating: 9.5
Wireless Cabinet LightWireless Cabinet Light
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 7th of June, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 9 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Set: Warm

I love solar lights, I would use them everywhere if I could. So getting the chance to review these fairy lights from Crazy Deal is great.

We have no lights in our back yard, and in a small rural community so there is not a lot of light around us. When I got these lights I was hoping to add a little light to the yard. On opening the box I saw how long 20m was. There were enough lights to light up a good section of the yard. I had a good look at the lights and then put them back in the box ready to put up on a fine day.

Well, I would suggest that when putting the lights away be sure not to tangle any part of the lights. When we finally had a good day I got the box out ready to install. I then spent just under an hour trying to untangle 20m of fairy lights. When they tangle they really tangle good. The kids lost interest and left me to deal with the mess. Finally, they were all free and the kids returned to help put up the lights.

We ran the lights along the raised garden beds and around my daughters play house. We just hooked the lights on nails, wire and tree branches. They were easy to hook into place and wrapped around the poles of the playhouse well. My daughter placed the solar panel in the garden and the 5 minutes later on the lawn to get the most sun possible. We then left it to charge.

I completely forgot about the lights so when hubby got home he asked what the flashing light was outside. Without knowing we had set the lights to flashing and they were very brightly flashing away in our back yard. We changed them to the plain steady light. The lights were very bright. They definitely lit up along the garden and the playhouse.

The lights have continued to work well although we have turned them off during the stormy weather we have had recently. I'm not too keen on the flashing mode but the steady move works well in our yard. The solar panel is small enough to hide in the garden but big/strong enough to catch the sun to charge. And as it is moveable we can relocate it in different seasons to adjust for the light and hubby can move it when mowing the lawn.

Apart from my experience with untangling the string the lights are good, bright and worked well. For $17.38 I was not expecting the best fairy lights possible but they are a good cheap option if you want some solar lights. It will be interesting to see how they weather over time. At this stage, I have a happy daughter who loves the fact her house has pretty twinkly lights.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of May, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 10 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Last Year's christmas I finally decided to give solar outdoor fairy lights a go, I had used solar garden spike lights before but never string lights like these. The idea of saving power and using a more environmentally friendly method of solar power was a great motivator and I was impressed with not having to have cords running from inside the house. I was keen to try these lights and decorate our garden porch to give some light at night.

They are super easy to set up my partner put up some clips to hold the wire in place along the front and side of our porch and step, placed the spike into the soil and we waited for the sun to charge the battery panel ready for night. The first night the lights seemed fairly dim although they probably hadn't had a chance to gather enough charge, I have found with other solar garden lights they work better the longer they have had to charge. By night two they were definitely a lot brighter and were easily visible also adding some light to the front porch.

It is a fun addition that you can have the lights on a steady on position or flashing on and off. We have just let them run and they do come on nicely by themselves as soon as it starts to get dark outside, they have been outside in rain, wind, and sunshine and other than not staying on for as long or not being as bright on grey or rainy days they handle the elements well and we have had no issues. These would be a great cost effective way to decorate your outdoor spaces being a good price and not using any electricity.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 5th of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 1 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Set: Multicolour

I love the idea of solar lights, my mother has a small solar owl light which looks fabulous, so I was keen to give some fairy lights ago as I had considered them at Christmas time. Opening it up, there was one double sided sheet of instructions, the problem with this though, is that both sides was the exact same information and the solar panel had three settings, off, flicker and steady (just the words I'm using for them) and this fact wasn't in the instructions, so I took them with a grain of salt. We took care not to let it unravel and the kids clambered up the big bottle brush tree that graces our front lawn. It took about half an hour for them to carefully wind it around and around the various branches and we then placed the solar panel to catch the most sun and let it soak up the rays.

The first night they didn't light up at all but we weren't expecting it to considering it only got an hour of sunlight. The second night it didn't light up but I thought that may be down needing a couple of days. By the third night, with no lights, I decided to check them out and that's when I discovered that the first bulb was working wonderfully but the cable connecting bulb one to bulb two (and therefore all the rest) had fallen out! I had checked everything after the initial placement, so knew this wasn't our fault. I managed to get our friendly sparky to come and soulder the wires together to get it working again and immediate testing showed it worked.

The first night after repair, nothing... The second night we had some very, very faint light. The following night gave us some nice light, however it flickered like there was no tomorrow, switching on and off and fading on and off, it didn't matter if there was a breeze or not. Nights four, five and six gave us no light at all and the kids and I pondered the task of taking them all down again. Tonight my kids were delighted, the lights had decided to work again!!! And it was the full, bright lights that was what was expected of the product and had been hoping for all along. However... Just an hour later and there wasn't even a glimmer of light coming from these, which is just such a shame, especially when my mothers owl (who got the same amount of light and has been through the wars) is still shining bright and will do till well after midnight.

The small amount of light we got from these was fantastic, it really showed how lovely it could look, but when the promise is hours of full lights this was something I was very glad not to have spent any money on.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 1st of April, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 9 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Set: White

We have recently had an overhaul on our gardens that directly surround our house by removing the soil and placing down river stones, pavers and pot plants and thought what else could we use to spruce up the visuals when it hit us to use solar lights. We saw these solar powered LED string fairy lights up for review and thought that they would be ideal to wrap around our potters in the front garden and laid across the top of the river stones being that there were twenty metres of string lights to use. This set contains one solar panel, one spike to attach to the solar panel for placing into the ground and a twenty metre run of the LED string lights available in White, Warm or multi-coloured.

I placed the solar panel into the front corner of the garden and set the panel up to the best position for facing into the sunlight and turned the switch to on. I wrapped the string lights a few times around each potter and trailed the leftover length across the river stones. The solar panel absorbs the sunlight during the day then when it reaches a certain point of darkness the LED lights automatic turn on. We found even though we set them up late in the afternoon the solar panel generated enough energy to keep the lights running right through the first night as I saw they were still alight at 5:30 am when I went to work.

They have worked very well since having them in our garden and have withstood quite a few rain spells and heavy wind gusts without moving out of place. They add a great feel to the garden and look fantastic during the night and solar power is the best feature for them as not having to draw electricity. I recommend these for anyone wanting to spruce up the section and add appeal to your home.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 31st of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 9 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

SET: White

I was excited when I opened up these lights as the possibilities are endless and 20 metres of small, solar fairy lights goes a long way! We had just completed laying some rocks to complete an edging around a retaining wall and I said to my husband that they would look lovely around the stones so that when people got out of their cars, they could see where they were going. Please bear in mind that we live rurally with no street lights so when it is dark, it's almost pitch black! We were pleasantly surprised to find that the lights went through all the rocks and over the top of the retaining wall making a nice rectangle. We placed the solar panel stake in the dirt and positioned it to capture the full sun.

When we went to check on them later that night my daughters were amazed and couldn't stop saying how pretty they were. They weren't dazzling but bright enough to light the way and still look amazing. One daughter has always asked that we leave a light on at night. Her bedroom is directly opposite the fairy lights and she can see the lights through her curtains so she has finally said that we can turn the light off!

They have endured some wind and heavy downpours and considering they are low to the ground, have stayed in place. I can see that they are working when I put my daughter to bed and we have had no problems with them. I would definitely recommend these lights if you are looking to make a feature out of something or want to have a bit of fun with your lighting!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 25th of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Endurance:
Score 5 out of 10
Illumination:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

SET: Warm

I got the warm colour to review and I have waited a few days to post this review as it changes daily. On the first couple days I was excited I put the lights up which took about a hour and we nicely wrapped it around the down pipe and through the deck making it look really good and tidy. The length was so long so it took us about half an hour. On the first night they looked really cool and bright I was really happy with them.

However over the next few nights this faded and all the lights stopped working expect for about less then one third of them. I thought maybe they were not getting enough sun light on the solar panel so I moved the panel to get more direct sunlight. This how ever did not make any difference.

A couple nights later they all started working again for one night only and then went back to not working again so unsure what is going on with them. I have held of till now to do the review as each night its like my review changes so if decided to go with it in the middle. Besides the not working properly the lights themselves are cool as and awesome and when all working look cool as.

Unsure if I would buy these myself down the track after them working and then not working, I am unsure if I may of had a bad batch or not but ill look forward to reading other reviews.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Lighting'...

Score: 9.9
Product reviews for listing 7752: Value Brand LED Bulbs - Warm White -  Brand / Manufactured by: Pam's

Product image for Value Brand LED Bulbs - Warm WhiteChange nothing but the bulb - these LED bulbs will seamlessly replace your current bulbs - incandescent or compact fluorescent - without the need to install specialists hardware.

These bulbs are classified as "Warm White" with a colour-temperature of 2700K.

    •  Use indoors only
    •  Use in open fittings only

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream