Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 22nd July 2019 - 17:33:18

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Meat and Poultry > Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs review

« Hellers Hot & Spicy Pork Ribs reviewHellers Hot & Spicy Pork RibsKiwi Bacon - Maple Middle reviewKiwi Bacon - Maple Middle »

Score: 8.8/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8180 - Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs
Brand: Hellers

Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs
Price:
$17 / kg
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Hellers

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsMade from pork marinated in a perfectly balanced tangy sauce, Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs are sure to be a hit with the whole family. Now in a handy tin, separate the ribs, poor the sauce over and slap them on the barbie or stick them under the grill in your oven.

INGREDIENTS
Pork (74%), Water, Sugar, Fermented Soybean Paste, Salt, Tomato Paste, Honey, Light Soy Sauce (Soybean Extract, Wheat Flour, Salt, Preservative (202), Sugar, Dehydrated Vegetables (includes Garlic, Onion, Apples), Vinegar, Thickener (1422), Acidity Regulator (260), Colour (150c), Spices. Contains Soy, Gluten & Sesame.

Check out Hellers onlineClick here to see all the listings for Hellers Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   garlic   gluten   hellers   honey   marinated   onion   pork   ribs   salt   sesame   soy   sugar   tomato   vinegar   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Diamond Coat N CookDiamond Coat N Cook
Rating: 10.0
Apple sauceApple sauce
Rating: 10.0
Bay BakeryBay Bakery
Rating: 8.0
Pasta mia Fresh PappardellePasta mia Fresh Pappardelle
Rating: 9.4
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Gluten-Free Turkish Flattie Heat'n'EatGluten-Free Turkish Flattie Heat'n'Eat
Rating: 8.9
Marcels Sweet CrepesMarcels Sweet Crepes
Rating: 8.8
Oxford Steak & Cheese pieOxford Steak & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.0
Act II Popcorn - Light Butter FlavourAct II Popcorn - Light Butter Flavour
Rating: 9.8
Barrys Bay MaasdamBarrys Bay Maasdam
Rating: 8.8
Coconut Hot Chilli SauceCoconut Hot Chilli Sauce
Rating: 9.3
Lone Star Cafe & BarLone Star Cafe & Bar
Rating: 8.9
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - MangoPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Mango
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 3rd of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Having tried the Hot & Spicy ribs in this range, I was looking forward to evaluating the Sweet & Sticky variety. Ribs are a favourite, although I do not serve them very often because they are fiddly to cook, so it is useful to be able to purchase an off-the-shelf prepared version - especially when they don't require freezing or even refrigeration. There were two of us ready to try them, so while they heated in the oven, I cooked some runner beans. We had fresh rewena bread which would be useful to soak up any extra gravy, and tomatoes to decorate the top.

My cousin's oven is outside: a cast-iron lidded pot which is placed over the open flame of an enclosed custom-made barbecue pit, and heated till it is ready. Controlling the temperature is rather hit and miss, but does not seem to be too relevant unless she wants to make a sponge cake! For reheating the ribs it was just fine. We emptied the ribs into the foil dish they were packed in, and then wrapped the dish and ribs in more foil so it would all heat evenly. Meanwhile, the beans were happily bubbling away in a separate pan to one side of the flames.

When we served the ribs, we were both accosted by a delicious spicy smell from the foil. We had divided the ribs into two racks before heating them, but decided to rip the individual ribs apart with our fingers so we could see how tender they were. This rather messy procedure was best undertaken outside, but it was beautiful beach weather so we were not bothered about sticky fingers and ruined carpets. In fact, we were enjoying the process to the point where we ate the beans with our fingers as well - it was simpler, and of course we had the rewena bread to tidy up the drips.

Tender it was indeed, and it certainly lived up to the sticky part of the product name but both of us felt the flavour lacked something. It was sweet, but a little too plain for both of us. It would have been interesting to have some of the children there as they might have had a different idea, but both of us thought it needed a boost to liven up the flavour. The ingredients were on the right track - Hoisin sauce and other condiments frequently used in Oriental cooking - but we just thought there could have been more concentrated flavour. It did not grab us in the same way we had experienced with the Hot & Spicy variety we had tested a couple of days earlier.

I would buy this product again, however, and so would she. We thought it was reasonable value for money; after sharing the packet, we both felt we had had plenty of meat. It went well with the plain vegetables, and there was enough sauce to allow us both to dunk the rewena bread. Storing the product would be user-friendly and require very little space. But we would add more flavour in the form of garlic salt or paprika, just to give it that little extra zing.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 2nd of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Hellers are famous for their sausages, but I think these ribs might end up being Hellers best seller. They come ready to cook, complete with a tin foil package that you can pop straight into the oven. They are a versatile product, you can cook them on the barbie for that authentic outdoor flavour, or they can be placed straight into the oven. No matter what the weather they can be enjoyed.

I choose to put these to the test and oven cook them, after peeling away the plastic I popped them into the oven, delighting in the fact that they were pre-marinated, and ready to go. I had just enough time to whip a salad together and they were ready to eat. Oven to table in fifteen minutes, and as I was serving them up they smelt delicious! The cooked ribs looked just like the packaging, and it's not often that happens.

The family found them a hit, they tasted amazing, my husband in particular kept saying, these are good, like these are really really yummy, and he wasn't the only one. The meat was tender and delicious, my thirteen year old described it as melt in your mouth. The packaging on these ribs says a sure fire hit for any BBQ or get together, and that almost says it all. I am not a natural born cook, but I could easily host a dinner party and serve these with no effort on my behalf and still impress my guests.

When it comes to cost and quantity, I think these are value for money, at $17 a serving these are restaurant ready ribs, and we had six of us eating dinner and there was plenty to go around. I often buy items to pop in the freezer for unexpected guests, and this would be a great instant impress your guests, dinner with a salad.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 27th of February, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Pork ribs are one of my own personal favourite dishes. There is something to love about diving in with your hands and getting both sticky and messy as you gnaw meat off each bone. I have previously prepared ribs at home, however, with a new baby and family life in general, time isn't really on my side at the moment. That is why I was really excited to try these Hellers sweet and sticky pork ribs, which seemed like a perfect solution to my issue.

When I received the packet I was quite surprised to see that they had included a tray to cook them on. This is great as sweet and sticky sauce normally leads to sticky burned mess to clear up later from the tray you are using. The tray is also aluminium, so one fully cleaned down can either be used again, or popped in the recycling bin to be turned into something else.

When I pulled the ribs out of the packet, I was surprised at how generous the portion seemed. At first I didn't realise that there were two lots in the packet, as one seemed like a reasonable amount. This was great as one pack easily fed three of us. I noticed that the sauce was a little thinner than I usually like, and so I chose to add a little extra of my own BBQ sauce before cooking to make them exactly how I would like them.

Cooking was really easy, and in no time at all we were sat at the table ready to devour our delicious-smelling dinner. I was very impressed when I started to munch my way through them. Although they weren't quite falling off the bone, the meat was incredibly moist and there was a lot of meat compared to the amount of bone (which isn't always the case). The sweetness was just right, and didn't overpower the ribs in any way. My idea to add some thicker sauce worked perfectly, adding just the right level of messyness to my fingers, and so I was left with a truly delicious dinner which was served within 30 minutes.

Overall this is a fantastic product for a weeknight meal. Easy to prepare, juicy and tasty, with so little fuss in clearing up. If you are looking for a great weeknight alternative to takeways, this would be it, and such a treat to be able to enjoy something like ribs with so little effort. I can't wait to have them again soon.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 23rd of February, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love a good meal of spare ribs so trying these ribs was a no brainer, I know that ribs contain quite a lot of bones and that you have to get sticky to really enjoy the meal. I don't do the cooking during the week so that was left to my dad, he commented that the packaging was adequate but that it could do with stating how much is in the pack, a serving suggestion was mentioned (this pack would feed between x to y number of people).

The taste was good, nice and sweet but not over sweet, there wasn't much sauce left over but I found out afterwards that there was enough for my dad to roast potatoes as well. I know I would buy these ribs again and find other ways to cook them. I just wish that there was a bit more meat on the bones but I know that is normal with ribs.

Overall I was pleased with the product, the meat was delicious and tender better still none got stuck in between my teeth and even though I used my fingers I never got really sticky. I would be interested in finding out how this would taste if cooked in other ways.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 20th of February, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Juicy, succulent, tender and tasty, These are the words that immediately came to mind when I had my first bite of Hellers Sweet & Sticky Pork Ribs. I'm going to be honest and say that I did have doubts when I saw them come out of the over but those doubts quickly went away after I tried that first bite.

I'm not a big ribs fan. I usually avoid having too many bones in the meat I eat and I don't really like getting too messy when eating (having 2 kids making a mess is enough for me) but I really wanted to give these Hellers Pork Ribs a try and see if they were worth the mess. I can certainly tell you without a doubt that these Pork Ribs were amazing. The flavours in the sauce were seriously mouth wateringly good. My husband even had to grab a spoon after so he could finish off the sauce after he'd eaten his ribs.

One of the best things about these ribs was that they came in their own cooking pan which means less dishes! On the back there were a couple of different suggestions on how to cook and we decided to try the oven baked way. Cooking them for 15 mins (well heating them up really since they were slow cooked prior to packaging) and then slicing them up for easier eating. The serving size on the back suggested that it would only be one serving but the packet came with 2 racks of ribs and we cut them up and served it with broccoli and cauliflower and it quite easily served myself, my husband and my two kids (5 yrs and 7 yrs) for dinner.

The kids devoured theirs and as expected made quite a mess on their faces but it was easily cleaned up with a paper towel. They both requested more and when we told them there wasn't any they asked for me to add it to next week's shopping list. That's a definite win from them and since they like it also I'll definitely be looking for these in the supermarket!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 14th of February, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

My family and I absolutely love ribs and when going out for dinner at a restaurant they always one of the meals which we always contemplate ordering. The great thing about ribs that they can happily be eaten all year long - in Winter they are perfect teamed up with some creamy mashed potato, and a side of steam vegetables and in the Summertime with some crispy golden garlic bread, corn on the cob and coleslaw. I am a huge fan of Hellers products, we always tend to have some sort of Hellers product in our fridge or freezer and to see that their range has now expanded to include ribs was great to see, I could not wait to try them, nor could my family.

Sweet and Sticky sounded like the perfect flavour combination to me, so these went straight in the oven on the day they were received. As the ribs have already been slow cooked for 4 hours they just needed to be reheated, so 15 minutes in the oven and they were piping hot and ready to enjoy. The smell that wafted from the kitchen was divine it was sweet and seemed to have a hint of BBQ to it. I cut the ribs into singular pieces and had 8 all together, enough for my family of 3 to enjoy. Pouring the remaining sauce over the ribs I teamed them up with some salad and garlic bread for dinner. I found the ribs to be a little chewier than I would have liked, especially after reading that they were meant to be "fall-off-the-bone succulent" and also found the sauce to be rather watery unfortunately, I was more expecting a thick, sweet, sticky sauce full of flavour but this isn't what I got. I could taste the sauce had a nice sweetness to it however. Miss 5, however, loved them and my partner said he would eat them again, though they weren't the best ribs he's had.

I can see so much potential in these ribs especially being a Hellers product, but I would love it if they were flavorsome with a thicker sauce. The tinfoil dish is ideal for a quick and easy cook and clean up which saves time and mess. Though these weren't my favourite I will still be keen to try other Hellers products in the future.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 7448: Ass Kickin' Original Hot Sauce -  Produced by Ass Kickin Sauces

Product image for Ass Kickin' Original Hot SauceTake this mini bottle of Original Hot Sauce with you anywhere, it's the perfect blend of Habanero and Serrano peppers that form a thick rich flavour that transforms an ordinary meal into an Ass Kickin' meal where ever you go.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Do married people live longer than single ones or does it only seem longer?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream