Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 12:32:42

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Herbs and Spices > SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub review

« SpiceCraft Chicken Salt Rocks reviewSpiceCraft Chicken Salt RocksSpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/Rub reviewSpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/Rub »

Score: 9.5/10  [5 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 8060 - SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub
Brand / Manufacturer : SpiceCraft NZ

SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub
Price:
$8.00 / 60g shaker
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by SpiceCraft

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected outlets

SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA winner for blackened salmon, hot wings, pork ribs. Also makes an awesome tomato salsa and a great dip with sour cream and lime juice.

Hot enough to know that it's cajun, but not so hot that it's ridiculous!

The hottest in our range.

Check out SpiceCraft onlineClick here to see all the listings for SpiceCraft Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
cajun   herbs   nzmade   spices
Other listings you may be interested in:
Gluten Free Weet-BixGluten Free Weet-Bix
Rating: 8.3
SpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.1
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb Stock
Rating: 9.4
SpiceCraft Chicken Salt RocksSpiceCraft Chicken Salt Rocks
Rating: 9.4
SpiceCraft Original Salt RocksSpiceCraft Original Salt Rocks
Rating: 9.8
Smokey Harissa Tuna PocketSmokey Harissa Tuna Pocket
Rating: 9.2
Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate IcedCloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced
Rating: 8.8
Newport Chocolates - Build Your Box 9-piece PackNewport Chocolates - Build Your Box 9-piece Pack
Rating: 9.0
Balsamic Honey VinegarBalsamic Honey Vinegar
Rating: 8.8
Leena Spices - Harissa Spice MixLeena Spices - Harissa Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
SpiceCraft Smokey Garlic saltSpiceCraft Smokey Garlic salt
Rating: 9.4
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi SeasoningSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi Seasoning
Rating: 8.1
Misha's Italian CafeMisha's Italian Cafe
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nikkib90

Review by: nikkib90 (Nikki)
Dated: 6th of March, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have had the presence of the most difficult guest to please with flavoured food in my company recently and he is one man that loves a good spicy rub on his fish. Knowing that he is a bit of a self proclaimed connoisseur of all things spicy I just had to try the SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning to see if I could create a meal that would please. Well didn't I get a shock when the comment was that the spiciness, flavour and kick took him right back to the bayou in New Orleans with memories of a Fais do do to follow.

When the SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning rub arrived I could see through the clear packaging that the colours in that little container were going to pack a punch when added to the recipes I had in mind. With the list of spices in the pack written around the front label it was easy to see that this was a product of quality and not full of additives and unknowns. I love that just by looking and reading the label I can imagine the flavour sensation that will be experienced, although there was chilli's on the front I was still uncertain how hot or not this was going to be. Being a lover of hot and spicy food I wasn't concerned about the heat level for me but others may want to know what they are getting into. No MSG - that is a winner as we try to avoid flavoured foods that contain MSG due to reactions to it.

In preparation of a meal for someone with a like of hot and spicy I decided to start this on a fish dish and prepared a fillet of fresh snapper prepared with the SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning that was pan-fried in a little bit of butter, served with a salad and baby potatoes. This cajun rub is not for the faint of heart as it packs a very big punch which is great if you want to taste the heat and clear the sinuses, so we were pleased with the finished product. I would sprinkle it on liberally to fish, chicken, ribs, chicken nibbles, prawns and then serve them in a salad, wrap, tacos, with pasta, the options are endless. If you use a little less you will still get a beautiful flavour so you can ensure the family will enjoy this spice from those that like it toned down to very hot and spicy. I'd like to try it on homemade french fries served with aioli and see what that's like.

I would love to try more of the SpiceCraft range as they have put attention in the detail of this product and hit the mark perfectly. I imagine their other spices would also be on point to being very authentic and delicious. Thank you SpiceCraft and KIWIreviews for allowing me to please one very difficult palate with your product.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 4th of February, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Spice Craft Cajun seasoning/rub, wow! I thought this would be great to try as we are always looking for new flavours to try. We are already a cajun spice fan but haven't really found anything that really worked for us. We love a bit of heat in our spices but often find then weak in flavour. So glad we tried the Spice Craft range.

Looking at the package I think it looks good and works well. I love that the herbs and spices are on the front of the label. It's a effective design and an easy way to see just what you are getting. I also love that it is gluten and dairy free and that this is clearly labeled on the front easy to see. The container, although looks good is plastic. I tend to try to buy less plastic items when shopping so this is a slight blemish for me. Although it does seem like a tough plastic that may last refilling over time.

On opening the container the smell didn't seem that strong. I had decided that I was going to make cajun chicken and veges for dinner. Even though I saw the five chillies on the front of the container I put a bit more, well maybe quiet a bit more than the recommended 1-2 tablespoons per 500g of meat. I rubbed it into the chicken and left it to sit for a few minutes. Then added to the pan with a small spray of extra virgin olive oil and another sprinkling of cajun spice. The spice seemed to stay attached to the meat well during the cooking process unlike some spices. It was looking delicious.

Dishing up hubby just couldn't wait and had to test the chicken. All I got was not sure if the kids will like this. He was right, one bite and it was a no from both kids. It was too hot for them. I liked the flavor but next time may stick to the reccomend amount. Hubby on the other hand absolutely loved it.

The Spice Craft cajun seasoning/rub will definitely be used again in this household. It's good to know that with using less it may also lessen the heat. At $8 it's reasonably priced as you don't need to use a lot each time. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a hot spice.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 13th of November, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

"The hottest in our range". This was the sentence that caught my attention. I love hot things, and spent a few years adding birds eye chili to practically every single meal that I cooked. But I have been forever disappointed by what has been categorized as the "European" standard of hot. Buy a spicy chicken burger from McDonalds, and there is no kick to it. Buy a "super hot" hot sauce, and drown fries in it because it has the same heat as tomato sauce (a.k.a. sweet bugger all). Things just have a habit of being watered down to appeal to the masses. This is a product that actually surprised me.

The container itself is a strong plastic shaker, but if there is one word of warning, do take the top off before you open it. The product has a seal on it, to keep the product fresh as possible, which is fine. However, I only realised it was there after I had opened the lid to use it. I went to twist the top off to remove the seal and nearly snapped the lid off completely as the hinge for the flat is a very weak plastic piece. So do ensure the flap is closed before you try remove the top, or that freshness saved by the seal will be lost from the flap being ripped off and not being able to keep the product sealed after it's initial use.

To try the product out, I made a simple wrap. Chicken coated in cajun rub, with lettuce. No sauce, nothing to distract from the flavour of the cajun flavouring. I was unsure how much to add, as I didn't know the strength, so I erred on the side of excess and ensured the chicken was well and truly coated. I know the product has a good level of heat, because one bite into the wrap and I had the hiccups. When I get the hiccups, I know it is hot. And of course, as I was on the excessive side, I know the heat level can be controlled well by reducing the amount used.

I love my chili sauces. I love hot things. This rub will certainly fit into that range of hot things that I enjoy. Living with people that have dietary restrictions, the Dairy-free and Gluten-free attributes are an added bonus in that a larger audience can eat it without guilt or backlash from the body.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 10th of October, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My partner and I really do enjoy creating in the kitchen (or as often happens, he creates for me to eat!) and are always on the lookout for new ingredients that we can use to create a yummy meal, especially something that adds flavour to something reasonably simple. When I was putting in my latest round of requests I thought this cajun spice rub would be an amazing one to try. It sounded so versitle and that's just what I like. I was excited to see the jar in my box when it arrived.

When I first picked it up I was surprised in the container - it looks like glass, but was infact plastic. The label is simple but effective. Looking at the product picture on this listing I can see that the spice comes in either the container as I received, or a resealable bag. I like this as it means next time I can buy the bag and refill the container that I have already.

Upon opening the lid I was met with the most amazing smell of herbs and spices. Nothing seemed to smell any stronger than any others, instead it was an amazing smell that combined all of the herbs and spices included. When I went to read the label to see what is in it, I got a little bit confused. Under the ingredients list it mentions herbs and spices, but didn't list individual ones. It wasn't until I looked at the jar again that I realised the herbs and spices are written on the label on the front, along with things that the rub can be used for.

My partner and I decided that we wanted to make some homemade burgers, and thought that this would be a great addition to the pattie mix. The patties were simply beef mince, onion and the seasoning. We cooked them up and served them in a burger with some lettuce, cheese, aioli and smokey bbq sauce. As I took my first bite I was blown away - the spice certainly has quite a bit of a kick (bearing in mind I am usually a reasonably mild spice eater!) but the flavour was amazing, and it paired so well with the aioli and the bbq sauce. There wasn't a lot of the spice rub in the patties, but it certainly didn't need more as the flavour was definitely strong and definitely there! We both enjoyed it so much we agreed that this would be how we make our homemade burger patties from now on.

Thank you Spice Craft and KIWIreviews for making one of our favourite meals even tastier!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 5th of October, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

For one reason or another, I seem to be doing a lot of Mexican/cajun/creole inspired meals of late. Maybe it is the change in the weather as summer starts to think about arriving, or maybe it is the availability of fresh salad ingredients that is the reason - or maybe it is just because my friends and I are starting to really appreciate "interesting" dishes that have a mild kick to them.

This new seasoning is perfect for bridging the gap between traditional kiwi barbecued foods and the more exotic flavours of the southern states of the USA and Mexico. Despite the "hot" ingredients - it is advertised as the hottest in the SpiceCraft range - we did not find it too daunting. Even the children enjoyed it, which was unexpected to say the least. I tried out three different recipes, each with a different group of people that included children, and even the youngest (aged six) did not find it too hot for her taste.

The first recipe I tried was with grilled salmon. I mixed the rub with a little olive oil, left it to soak in, and then cooked it over a high flame. We had this with some garlic wraps and a green salad. It disappeared quickly, leaving me wishing that I had bought more salmon since we could easily have eaten much more. The oil ensured that the spices adhered to the surface so that none of the flavour was lost.

A couple of days later, we sprinkled the rub on to diced chicken which was then fried with onions and small pieces of plain sausage. This was served with refried beans, avocado halves filled with crispy tortilla strips, and wholemeal bread rolls. The refried beans were topped with a second sprinkle of the rub just before the meals were served, adding a slightly pink glow to the grey-brown surface. This meal was greeted with just as much enthusiasm as the first, and once again the children present clearly enjoyed it.

Finally, I made some egg sandwiches for a picnic using shredded lettuce, chopped parsley, mashed hard-boiled eggs and a little butter as the filling. Instead of adding mild curry powder, as I usually do, I used the cajun rub to season the eggs. The sandwiches vanished within minutes; the new flavour was obviously a winner with everyone.

This is the third in the range I have tried, and I am impressed by just how much variation there is in flavour. I will be looking out for it in the supermarket when the current supply is gone, and will be exploring more ways of preparing tasty meals with it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 5.9
Product reviews for listing 567: KFC - PN
Located: Princess Street, Palmerston North

Product image for KFC - PNLocated at 99-103 Princess St, Palmerston North. Phone 0-6-353 7435

Admin Note: This was all the information available


Admin Note: November 2006 - The new store has opened. Product image reflects current store configuration.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream