Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 15th September 2019 - 22:47:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Whisk Fudge Sauces review

« Whisk Fudge Bars reviewWhisk Fudge BarsLuis and the Aliens reviewLuis and the Aliens »

Score: 9.3/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8040 - Whisk Fudge Sauces
Produced by Whisk Handcrafted Confectionery

Whisk Fudge Sauces
Price:
$7.00 / jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Whisk Handcrafted Confectionery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store

Whisk Fudge Sauces product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFudge in a liquid form, decedent and delicious!

Serve hot over ice cream or cold as a filling or spread. Add to hot milk for an awesome treat... the possibilities are endless!

Choose From:
    •  Liquid Russian
    •  Sea Salted Caramel
    •  Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt

Check out Whisk Handcrafted Confectionery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Whisk Handcrafted Confectionery Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
caramel   chocolate   fudge   nzmade   russian   sauce   sea salt   sugar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Bay BakeryBay Bakery
Rating: 8.0
St John's Wort PlusSt John's Wort Plus
Rating: 8.3
Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and OnionWattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion
Rating: 8.8
Whittakers Marlborough Sea Salt and Caramel Brittle ChocolateWhittakers Marlborough Sea Salt and Caramel Brittle Chocolate
Rating: 6.3
Cecile's Boys & Gold MuesliCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli
Rating: 8.3
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Special Fried Rice
Rating: 9.0
Kiwi Seasonings - Wild Basil and SeaweedKiwi Seasonings - Wild Basil and Seaweed
Rating: 8.3
AqabaAqaba
Rating: 7.3
Whisk Fudge BarsWhisk Fudge Bars
Rating: 9.1
McDonalds - Grand AngusMcDonalds - Grand Angus
Rating: 8.5
Crema di Parmigiano ReggianoCrema di Parmigiano Reggiano
Rating: 7.8
Spiced NZ Apricot with Mango SauceSpiced NZ Apricot with Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Maketu Bacon & Egg - Single ServeMaketu Bacon & Egg - Single Serve
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 9th of October, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Flavour: Liquid Russian

When my family saw this jar of Fudge sauce I had to stop my daughters arguing over who got to have the miniature metal whisk which was attached to some pretty ribbon wrapped around the lid! The sauce is beautifully presented in a hexagonal glass jar with simple and stylish labels on the front and rear which allows you to see the caramel coloured sauce.

Now, I'm not going to talk nutritional values as if you're eating this, you know there aren't many! What I will tell you is that this fudge sauce is delicious. The first thing I did was open the lid and have a sniff and it had a beautifully rich caramel smell. I quickly got a spoon for a taste test and it was thick, grainy with crunchy little pieces in them (I think they were crystallized sugar). Hubby saw this and wanted to try some and after lots of mmming and aahhing he said he was going to make a coffee and add a spoonful to it. He said it was one of the smoothest and tastiest coffee's he had ever tasted and I made a mental note to hide the jar as it wasn't being wasted on his coffee! My girls and I had some on ice cream later that evening and it was a big success. The sauce was quite thick and I swirled mine around so I didn't just eat a clump of it (which I was tempted to do!)

I have to be honest and say that this was one of the nicest fudge sauces I have ever tried. It's also extremely versatile as there are lots of uses for it. I plan to put some on warm brownies and add some to the middle of cupcakes to make them a little more interesting! This is an indulgent and luxurious fudge sauce that is reasonably priced so I'd definitely recommend it!

Click here to read the profile of teacher691

Review by: teacher691 (Tania)
Dated: 30th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Flavour:Sea Salted Caramel

This is a 200 ml petite bottle of fudge deliciousness. A lovely glass bottle of fudge sauce with a hand tied ribbon tag and a cute whisk embellishment gives note to the handmade confectionery that awaits within. This fudge sauce is available in three delicious flavours Liquid Russian, sea salted caramel, and dark chocolate with pink Himalayan salt. At $7 a jar it is available from their website or their stall at the Christchurch markets and it is good value for money as is the 3 pack of minis which are a 50ml pot size.

I love all things fudge and nothing beats home made! I have been lucky to try Whisk Confectionery Fudge bar and was pleasantly surprised and rated them highly so I was excited about trying their fudge sauce. To be honest salted caramel would not have been my first choice as I have had a bad experience in the past. However I decided now was time I grabbed a spoon and jumped right in. On first pop of the jar the smell was sweet and delicious begging me to try some. It is a velvet smooth rich buttery caramel with a crunch this is the salt pieces that add texture and a subtle saltiness that cuts through the sweet fudge. I offered it to my children to try who gladly grabbed a spoonful straight from the jar. They thought it was YUM! and when asked if they would recommend it to others they said a definite yes and that they wanted some more on top of some ice cream. I also have been requested to have this as the filling of miss 12 birthday cake.

I love the fact that this is made by a small company in Christchurch and buy purchasing this you support a NZ made product. The added bonus is that it has all real ingredients that everyone would be familiar with. I think that with the holiday season coming up this fudge sauce would be a great addition to any Christmas hamper or ice cream sundae station. I can't wait to try the Russian Fuge flavour.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Flavour: Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt

Fudge sauce, when at its best, is the perfect sweet accompaniment to so many desserts. But the majority of fudge sauces are artificial, over-sweetened or just plain dull. I was really excited to see these Whisk Fudge Sauces for review on the KIWIreviews site, and in particular excited by the Pink Himalayan Salted Dark Chocolate variety. After all, who doesn't love the combination of a rich dark chocolate alongside a hint of salt? I was really hoping for great things.

When we first received the pack I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was a gorgeous little glass jar. It had a lovely little whisk attached to some gorgeous ribbon and felt like the artisan product which it is. I immediately thought that it would make a gorgeous gift or the perfect thing to take to a meal when someone says 'don't bring anything', and you wouldn't even need to gift wrap it. I was really happy to look at the ingredients list and see only ingredients which I would find in my own kitchen at home. Certainly no unpronounceable names or odd-looking numbers in this little jar. I was also really reassured to see the pack needs to be refrigerated after opening- so pleased to do this rather than have a whole host of preservatives in it.

I have to admit that, once I had seen how good the jar looked, I couldn't help myself but get stuck into it with nothing more than a teaspoon. I was also a little surprised that the sauce wasn't actually a liquid at all, but rather more solid. Much more of a ganache consistency than a true sauce. To me, this was a big plus - much more versatile, and able to be thinned down with a small touch of heat. The taste itself was unbelievable. Such a velvety, rich and smooth consistency, not too sweet but just sweet enough to leave you coming back for more. The little hit of salt wasn't overpowering, but was enough to really bring out the sweet notes of the sauce beautifully.

I did manage to prise myself away from the jar for long enough to try it in a couple of other scenarios. It was a triumph over our home-made profiteroles- the richness really complementing the freshness of the vanilla cream. I also added a couple of heaped-teaspoons into some warm milk to make one of the most delectable hot chocolate drinks which I have ever tasted.

Overall, this product is versatile, easy to use, and most importantly, absolutely delicious. Perfect as a way to make a special weeknight dessert, or as a gift, it is really a jack-of-all-trades for so many sweet applications. What a fantastic product- don't hesitate to buy it!

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 17th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Flavour: Liquid Russian

My all-time favourite fudge is Russian, but I can also tell you they are all not created equal. Some are too sugary, some are too creamy, some crumble to pieces and some just do not taste "Russian-like", so while I was excited to try this Liquid Russian fudge sauce created by Whisk Handcrafted Confectionery I was also feeling a bit apprehensive that it may be an epic fail.

I really liked the hexagon glass jar and the label was kind of attractive on one face but I did think they could do more with back label for it to cover three faces of the hexagon with all more information regarding the sauce, ie uses, website and location of business etc for extra marketing for the company. Another suggestion would be to look at making the front label more gourmet (expensive) looking to really appeal to the market of gift purchasers.

I opened the jar and inhaled deeply...wow, what a yummy smell!! Beautiful exacting "Russian-like" fragrance hit my senses and immediately made my mouth water; I rushed to get a teaspoon to dig in! The taste was just as good, so smooth and decadent which made me want more and more spoonfuls. I had to stop myself as I could have gone on to eat the whole lot so I decided to think about how I course the rest of the jar. Fudge filled cupcakes was my first thought, warmed and over ice cream, drizzled on top of a smoothie or shake, or of course as an excellent Christmas gift to your nearest and dearest.

The price is very competitive and I believe this fudge sauce has the potential to sell really well in the right stores and of course online.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 14th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Flavour: Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt

This product is a cute little thing. A small 200ml hexagonal-shaped glass jar, ideal in terms of recycling and reuse of the packaging afterwards, as well as being a small enough quantity that you aren't going to go overboard in your serving like I would be tempted to do with products like the large Nutella packs. While a six-sided jar is unique, when you have two labels with nutritional info side by side and a separate "front" label, that means the labelling isn't symmetrical, which plays havoc with my attention to detail. I'd rather an additional sticker to even it out, or perhaps a five-sided pentagon jar instead. But that has no effect on the product itself.

Before I talk about the fudge itself, I want to talk about the unnecessary levels of aesthetics and extra pieces in the packaging. There is the necessary jar, but then you have the floral ribbon that runs under the jar lid, a gold safety pin that attaches a cardboard that specifies the flavour (despite it being mentioned on the back stickers) and a small miniature metal whisk. All of these little extras do admittedly make the product look gourmet and handcrafted if you were to see it on the shelf. However, it does strike me as extra rubbish at the end, and a production cost that is going to raise the price of the product. I'd love a more minimalistic design.

Looking at the back stickers with the product information, I like that there are only seven ingredients. While I may not know what dark chocolate "components" are, I know what white sugar, brown sugar, cream, salted butter, and cocoa are. And this familiarity with the ingredients makes me feel more comfortable with the product. I do have to question some of the font choices though; tall narrow font in such small size can prove difficult to read, and while I hate to nitpick over small errors, spelling should be a simple thing to check ("decadent" is spelled incorrectly, as is "refrigerate").

BUT LET'S TALK ABOUT THE ACTUAL PRODUCT INSIDE THE JAR NOW. Opening the jar there is that distinctive dark chocolate scent; well-contained in the jar, but dip your nose past the rim and you are greeted with a sweet but slightly bitter aroma. The presence of the pink himalayan salt is not really noticeable in the scent, or even in the flavour with the exception of along the surface of the fudge where salt has crystallized in a few sparse patches where it meets the jar. The science is still out on whether pink himalayan salt is any healthier than regular table salt, but so far studies show no significant difference, so its use in this product certainly seems to be used more for the sake of an area of marketing differentiation, rather than providing a healthier product, or different flavour.

That's not to say the salt has no purpose. While ordinary salt could have done the trick too, and it isn't so much present as a noticeable flavour, what it does offer is balance. Dark chocolate is bitter, so sugar is used to oppose that bitterness, but then with the salt component, the sauce has a much more neutral flavour. Not too sweet or bitter or salty; just a little bit of each which gives the sauce a very broad flavour profile.

The consistency of the sauce is slightly less viscous than marmite and has a toothpaste texture straight out of the fridge. Easy to use for a spread, though it isn't quite savoury enough in flavour for it to be something I'd use on bread. What this product would be ideal for, is something for dipping fruit in, or as a topping for a desert. Half a minute in the microwave (without the ribbon and metal components of course) and the sauce is easily pourable.

A simple product that has a lot of unnecessary packaging and frivolously "different" ingredients for the sake of catching the eye of the consumer. Tasty, and a great product for use in desserts (if you're feeling creative, it could work well as a filling for a muffin, rather than using cream cheese), but I'd be more interested if that price was brought down a tad.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Flavour: Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt

I applaud companies when it comes to there packaging that gives you examples on how to use the product. It opens up a gateway to new possibilities as I had only considered using as a topping on ice cream.

In this occasion it recommended serving hot over ice cream and as we were having ice cream last night I thought this would be the prefect opportunity to try some. The problem lay when it said 'hot' I had no idea how to heat it. I did not want to put the whole jar into the microwave so instead opened the jar and put a couple of spoons into a separate bowl, then placed the rest into the fridge. I put in the microwave for 30 seconds which is retrospect is rather silly cause when I opened the door it was bubbling away, next time I will only do for a couple of seconds until I get the right consistency. I poured it on to the ice cream and found I ended up wasting a lot as it stuck to my bowl so out came the trusty finger and I had fun licking the bowl clean. I was surprised by how thick it was but it gave a nice addition to the ice cream. It did not spread as much as I was hoping and instead basically stayed put when poured on to the ice cream so did cover as much as I wanted.

Today after breakfast I thought I just needed that something extra so thought I would try adding it to some heated milk as was suggested on the jar. First of all I tried a small class with just cold milk and found the sauce stuck to my spoon and did not come off. I then heated some milk in the microwave and found exactly the same thing happened to matter how much stirring I did. The milk was a dusty brown and I could see ghost trails from the spoon so the fudge was coming off just not as much. In the end I put the spoon in my mouth and then drank the milk which gave it a nice chocolate taste. Definitely something I am going to have to play around with.

It also suggests using as a spread of a filling. My nanas birthday party is this weekend so I plan on making chocolate muffins and will put some filling into the center and hoping it gives a hidden element. It is something I am looking forward to playing with as I do enjoy the taste I just need to find the best way to heat it without causing to much wastage.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 10th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

FLAVOUR: Salted Caramel

I love a good fudge, fudge sauce, fudge bar, fudge ice cream (we once took a one hour detour for some divine fudge ice creams, seriously...), so I was happy to see this jar of yummy goodness in my parcel. The label is lovely and really suits the product and to boot, it has a lovely little silver whisk charm, which my kids were absolutely smitten with and fought over who got to keep it. There's the prerequisite nutritional information and ingredients list but I did notice that there is no 'eat within blank days of opening', so I'm curious as to its shelf life once opened, though I don't think it would last long enough to go off.

I received the Sea Salted Caramel, upon opening it I thought it smelled delicious, my kids agreed and we all had to try some on a spoon before we went any further with it. Everyone agreed that it was delicious with my ten-year-old kid declaring it the best fudge ever. I did find, however, that there wasn't much of a sea salted aspect to it. The kids first requested that we make some muffins and put a dollop of this in the centre, once they had cooked and cooled down we also added a dollop on top. The dollop in the middle melted into the muffin giving it a lovely gooey centre, the fudge sauce gave a nice addition to the muffins and the kids all agreed they wanted more.

Later, having eaten half the contents of the jar, directly from a spoon (sorry, not sorry kids) I figured that I should try and use it in something else before it all disappeared into my mouth. Having recently started a new job, I decided to treat myself for this step back into the workforce by buying myself an expensive bottle of white chocolate liqueur. I poured myself a shot and added some of this yummy sauce, and whilst it wasn't utter perfection it did taste nice enough that when the jar is empty it will have some liqueur added to it. Adding it to the liqueur also brought out a hint of the sea salt I had been missing. Another plus for this sauce is that it has tiny little pieces of fudge in it, so I loved that little change in texture.

This was a hit and will be great for any fudge lover.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 10th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Flavour: Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt

Wow this fudge is super amazing and so yummy I was so lucky to try this review. When I opened the jar and had a smell I loved the chocolate hit I got straight away. I got a tea spoon and dipped it in and I notice how soft and gooey the fudge was. I put some in my mouth and wow how amazing my taste buds were in heaven. I could not wait to try this fudge with dessert. I loved the cute jar that it came in and the see-through glass jar which meant I could see how much was in the jar as I used it.

I decided to have some fudge sauce on ice cream so I got the jar out and went to put some on and noticed how hard the fudge had gone since being in the fridge so I removed the lid and the extra tag that was around the lid and placed it in the microwave for 30 seconds which was enough to melt it enough to pour over the ice cream. I loved the texture and the gooey goodness of the fudge and it went well with ice cream and we tried it with both chocolate and lemon cheesecake ice cream and it worked well with both flavours.

My whole family tried the fudge and all the results were how amazing it was and wanted more the next time we had ice cream. I loved the fudge so much and I sneakily would eat some straight from the jar a couple times without anyone knowing. I will be keen to purchase this again and will be recommending to friends. I look forward to trying the other flavours one day soon hopefully.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 9th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

FLAVOUR: Liquid Russian

Whisk's Liquid Russian is without doubt a treat item. And, oh my, what a treat! With that knowledge, it was safe to proceed and simply enjoy trying it out without the worry about whether it was good for me. Put simply, it would be good for my tastebuds and mental health but probably not so good for the hips. The words 'Russian fudge' get my mouth watering and craving the sweet taste. I have to be careful when I decide to make Russian fudge that I have people to share it with as I would quite happily eat the whole thing.

Whisk have created a cute, simple jar to market their product. The pretty ribbon around the top of the jar and the mini whisk attached to the product tab adds such a classy element to the presentation. The label says that it is hand crafted and the colourful ribbon backs that up as I can't help but think of some of the homemade gifts that I have been given over time.

I left the jar sitting in the pantry for over a week before I even dared to open it. I knew that I would struggle not to grab a teaspoon and gobble the whole lot as soon as the seal was broken. When the time came to review it, I opened the jar, stuck my spoon in and then I got to enjoy the exact taste that I expected from Russian fudge. The liquid Russian fudge sauce has a velvety texture and is a pleasure to have in my mouth. There are some bits around the outside of the jar that are a bit firmer and crunchy. These bits are like Russian fudge in taste and texture.

In order to stop myself eating it all with my spoon, I had to think of other ways to enjoy it. I have got to say that you wouldn't be disappointed if you did simply sit down with the jar and a spoon!!! Total fudge heaven!

I asked my family what they thought I should serve it with and some of the ideas were to serve it with ice-cream, on a banana split, spread onto apple or pear slices, in muffins or on waffles. I would happily try it with all of them. In the end, I settled on serving it with another one of my personal favourites - meringues! I used meringue nests and put cream inside them. I them microwaved a couple of teaspoons of the sauce in order to liquify it and I then drizzled the sauce over the meringue. It was a tasty combination. I managed to sneak one in before dinner but I guess I will have to share some more with the family after dinner...or will I?

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 8th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

FLAVOUR: Sea Salted Caramel

When I read that KIWIreviews was going to be getting some of the new Whisk Confectionery products to review, my mouth started salivating and I couldn't wait to see if I would get to try some.
I love sweet treats of all types but fudge would have to be my definite weakness. The idea of a tasty, flavoured fudge sauce, gets my mind racing with ideas on how to use the product. There were 3 flavour choices to choose from - Sea Salted Caramel, Liquid Russian, and Dark Chocolate with Pink Himalayan Salt.

One of my top choices was the Sea Salted Caramel, because come on who doesn't love a caramel fudge sauce?? When I saw the hexagonal glass jar in my review box I was ecstatic! The label is simple but sophisticated looking, with a white label and gold writing. The logo for Whisk Confectionery stands out, and I think it is very clever having a whisk underlining the company name.
The jar is 200ml in size and the fudge sauce encased in the jar is a luscious looking caramel colour, I couldn't wait to taste it.

I managed to fight back my temptation until dessert time, out came the ice-cream into a bowl and next it was time for the fudge sauce (I was too impatient to heat it up haha.) When the lid was removed from the jar, there was an unmistakable sea salt and caramel aroma that wafted up to my nostrils. I got a spoon and started to scoop the fudge sauce out, I was impressed by the thickness of the consistency and put a big dollop on my ice-cream.
My first taste and I was instantly hooked, the rich creaminess of the caramel combined with the sea salt was perfect. Both elements worked well together with neither overpowering the other flavour. I particularly enjoyed the crunchy sea salt as another texture in the smoothness.
Once I had finished that first serving I couldn't help myself, I ended up grabbing a spoon and having some straight from the jar. When I requested this product I had grand plans of using it in some baking - however because of my love for it (and lack of self-control) I wasn't left with enough to experiment with. I told my partner I would need to purchase some from the website to try in baking.

I had never heard of Whisk Confectionery before seeing the products on KIWIreviews, but now I have become a very keen fan. This product is handcrafted, and you can tell while eating it that it has been skillfully made with love. I look forward to trying more items in the Whisk Confectionery product range, I think they would make perfect gifts, and being NZ made you know you are supporting a local business.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 24th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

FLAVOUR: Liquid Russian

We had a birthday party looming, so I chose to review this variety as it would appeal to the children. It is a versatile product which can be used for lots of different things - lighter than chocolate, and such a cool colour! I used part of the pot to decorate the dessert: two kinds of ice-cream (caramel choc chip and coconut/mango, flavours chosen by the birthday boy) topped with chopped candycanes and hot caramel sauce.

Despite the kid appeal - the little boys all loved it - the result was quite sophisticated in appearance. I think that was partly due to the combination of browns and creams, not the usual colours you associate with children's choices. The adults all tried a little as well! It was interesting just how far the sauce went once it was heated: half a jar was plenty for twelve servings.

We used some of the rest to put on blinis in place of jam. I spread some of the sauce on to hot blinis; the sauce melted and covered the surface, and I then added a rosette of cream on each one. Blinis are great for little kids' parties as they are not too big so there is no waste. I did not want to see any of the sauce wasted but there was no chance of that happening - every scrap of every blini was quickly devoured.

I still had a quarter jar left, and this was earmarked just for the adults. After the guests had all gone home and the birthday boy was tucked up in bed, we had our own treat - a pavlova with whipped cream and hot fudge sauce poured over the top. I adore pavlova so need no excuse to try a variation on the fruit-and-cream version. We had not given any pavlova to the kids as they had enough rich food without it, but we did compromise and keep a helping that the birthday boy could have next day so he was not left out.

I did not get much in the way of helpful comments from the kids: ice-cream and blinis disappeared with all the other party food, accompanied by satisfied grunts but not much else. The adults, however, were all enthusiastic. They liked the way it melted with the minimum of heat (a few seconds in the microwave for the ice-cream and pavlova, even less when added to the hot blinis), but set again quickly as it cooled so it did not become messy. They loved the flavour and said they would now be interested in exploring other ways of using it. And me? I could quite happily just get a spoon and eat the lot straight from the jar. A good thing I had lots of company to test it!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 12th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

FLAVOUR: Liquid Russian

I love to try out new sauces and toppings whenever I see them in supermarkets and for this reason, I have a rather large amount of tasty sauces in my fridge such as strawberry, passionfruit, caramel, and chocolate. These always seem to come in handy whenever I needed something a little bit extra to drizzle over baking or as a special treat to add to ice cream sundaes particularly when we have visitors over for dinner and I realize that I've forgotten to make something yummy for dessert.

When I saw the range of Whisk Fudge Sauces up for review I was very excited to be able to try one out, and the one which caught my attention instantly was the Liquid Russian flavour. When it comes to fudge Russian fudge is one of my all time favourites, as well as my partners and we will choose this over chocolate fudge anytime, so to see this available in liquid form was rather exciting!

The Fudge Sauce comes in the cutest little jar which holds 200mls of pure goodness, I love the jar is see through so you can see exactly what the product looks like before buying it. A beautiful brightly coloured ribbon sits just over the lid with a cardboard tag which mentions what flavour the sauce is, in this case, Liquid Russian, but the best bit of all is the adorable and very cute tiny metal whisk shaped bead which is attached, my daughter instantly fell in love with this and rushed off to use it to create a necklace with. The back of the label includes all of the nutritional information you need and I love that the ingredients are all things you're likely to find in your own pantry.

Opening up the jar I was met with a beautiful thick, glossy sauce of a golden caramel colour and I couldn't help but dip my finger into it for a quick taste, it was amazing and reminded just of Russian Fudge without being too overly sweet. I decided to serve some up for dessert after dinner as I was dying to have more so I popped some caramel fudge ice cream into 3 bowls and heated a small amount of the sauce in the microwave for a few seconds so it was a lovely flowing liquid which I then poured over the ice cream and topped off with some chopped up Whisk Sea Salted Caramel Fudge pieces, the results amazing.

The next day I decided to put on my thinking cap while doing my weekly Sunday baking for the week's lunches and snacks and came up with the idea of making a pinky bar slice. This consisted of a yummy shortbread like layer, covered in caramel (this is where I used the Liquid Russian Fudge Sauce) topped with some fluffy pink marshmallow and a layer of chocolate. The slice turned out AMAZINg with the Liquid Russian being by far the yummiest and stand out flavour within. My partner, daughter and I loved it and my partner's parents who were around for a visit did also they specifically asked where I got the sauce from.

At $7 a jar, this is not to bad at all and something I will be wanting to buy again, I love that it is made in New Zealand in small batches and that I can support a NEw Zealand company by doing so, it would make a perfect addition to a gift hamper.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 127: Pacha's Kebab Caravan -  Located : Lion's Den, The Square, PN

Product image for PachaFor fine, authentic kebabs, cooked while you watch and wait, drop in and see us.

You'll love the authentic taste of the mediterranean.


Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people."
W.C. Fields

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream