Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 22nd October 2018 - 10:02:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Salted Caramel Choc Twists review

« RJ's Candy Coated Licorice Chocolate Balls reviewRJ's Candy Coated Licorice Chocolate BallsLoaf Mini-Bites - Explosive Ginger Bites reviewLoaf Mini-Bites - Explosive Ginger Bites »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 7.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8028 - Salted Caramel Choc Twists
Manufactured by RJ's

Salted Caramel Choc Twists
Price:
$4.70
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Salted Caramel Choc Twists product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSometimes things can get a little twisted around here! Enjoy.

Salted Caramel choc-filled centre, wrapped by a soft Caramel twisted licorice.

Allergens:
Contains gluten from wheat, soy, dairy and liquorice extract.

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
caramel   chocolate   licorice   liquorice   nzmade   rjs   salt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Saffron, Dill & Mustard MayonnaiseSaffron, Dill & Mustard Mayonnaise
Rating: 9.1
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - NaturalPiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Natural
Rating: 9.3
Little Chef Spring Roll PastryLittle Chef Spring Roll Pastry
Rating: 10.0
Leaning Tower Pasta Uno : Saucy Spaghetti & MeatballsLeaning Tower Pasta Uno : Saucy Spaghetti & Meatballs
Rating: 4.3
RJ's Candy Coated Strawberry Chocolate BallsRJ's Candy Coated Strawberry Chocolate Balls
Rating: 9.1
Bangkok Thai RestaurantBangkok Thai Restaurant
Rating: 9.0
Alexandra's Dukkah - TraditionalAlexandra's Dukkah - Traditional
Rating: 9.4
Crown Jewels Range - Hell Raiser Crown Jewels Range - Hell Raiser 
Rating: 8.8
Cook Street Chinese TakeawaysCook Street Chinese Takeaways
Rating: 9.5
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - BlueDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Rating: 8.8
Barker's Lime CurdBarker's Lime Curd
Rating: 9.0
Kennys Kumera ChipsKennys Kumera Chips
Rating: 8.3
McDonalds Family Restaurant & McCafeMcDonalds Family Restaurant & McCafe
Rating: 7.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 14th of October, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I saw this in my small box of goodies, I couldn't wait to get into them and share with my three children. We've all tried the licorice log version of this and thoroughly enjoyed it, so we were hopeful that these would be just as yummy, as the bonus with this size is they're a lot easier to share with the family than a log. My daughter must have read my thoughts as she bought over a pair of scissors with which to open this, otherwise, as she correctly guessed, the bag would be too hard to open unaided or without being able to tidily reseal it.

Upon opening it, we all agreed that there was a hint of caramel to smell but nothing too strong, the pieces were all nice and firm and none were stuck together. I handed out some to my three kids and we all took a bite. My seven and nine year olds both loved the treat, gobbled down their piece and promptly asked for more. My eleven year old was a little more restrained and did want a second piece but when finished found that he had had enough sweetness for the time being. My mother had a piece and enjoyed it well enough, despite it not being her usual treat. I am quite happy to let my kids finish these off, I enjoyed the center of these which was the salted caramel chocolate but the outer layer I simply didn't like at all.

A win for my kids but I will stick with the licorice logs.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 16th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I have really enjoyed reviewing the RJ's products that I have received so far, so when these arrived as part of my review box, I had a certain expectation I suppose, and was excited to try these as I had not seen them before.

RJ's products are hand in hand with quality to me, and being a New Zealand made product makes that even better. The pairing of salted caramel chocolate and caramel flavoured licorice sounded like a caramel delight I needed to explore. Luckily the kids were all still at school, so I was able to try them myself without the 3 gannet children begging for a taste!

The packet itself is simple and appealing with the distinctive silver black and white colours of the RJ's brand. Every packet also has a picture of what the product is - so you know exactly what you should expect when opening the bag. The nutritional information is on the back and well set out - showing ingredients and also allergen warnings - always good to be aware of.

The packet is easy to open - and tears easily - but does pose a problem if you do not want to eat them all at once, that it is not resealable, which would be a great change to the packet. My advice is to cut the top off rather than tear it, so a simple peg can be popped on the top to keep the remainder fresh.

Biting into the first twist I was pleased with the amount of chocolate in the middle - none of this stingey little bit - but a nice mouthful. The caramel licorice twist on the outside was soft, but not squishy and not too sweet - complementing the salted caramel flavour well. I did have a couple of twists to try them and did find after the third that the flavour became sweeter, and probably not something I could eat a lot of. I decided to try cutting these and adding them to the kids icecream, and they lend themselves to this very well - they are not mushy and do not fall apart when cut and when added to vanilla icecream the sweetness complements it. I think that they would be great in yoghurt or on the top of caramel muffins too!

I would buy these again, however, I prefer the salted caramel logs that RJ's do - less of the sweet taste to overcome, and a much more manageable (willpower) portion size for me!!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I was very disappointed to find I had to fight the bag to open it and there was no way to reseal it once it was opened. Maybe because some other items I had recently reviewed was so simple to open I expected the same from this product. No matter how much I pulled or strained I could not get it to budge, and it made no difference if I tried to go across ways or downwards. So, in the end had to find some scissors to use. But once I finally did manage to get the bag open I was welcomed with the sweetest caramel smell.

I don't know why but I expected black chocolate but instead was welcomed with a brownie caramel licorice covered around brown chocolate which makes complete sense when you thing about it. It had the nice twist to it and they are a little over a bite size. When ever there is an opportunity to have Salted Caramel both the girls and my husband jump at the chance where as I am just getting used to the taste. I do not like it when it is too salted or too caramel I am right in the middle. I usually shy away from the flavour but I seem to get out voted more and more so I am adjusting my taste buds.

The good thing about this flavour is I think the packet will last a while going by my personal preference alone I found them to be extremely sweet and not a flavour I could have all the time. Even the girls limited themselves to only two pieces and said they would have some more again later. My husband had to have a couple to see exactly how he felt and said he liked the caramel flavour but could not quite pick up the salt. I put into my trusty shelf in the fridge and to date I don't believe anyone has gone near them since.

After thinking about it I think if the size was cut down to maybe a third they would be better digested as the size they are now it is just too over powering with the flavour. Its a shame as we really love the caramel coated log and I assumed it was going to be exactly like that. I think this is something that will be eaten once and a while but can't see myself buying another bag.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 8th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've always associated licorice with the horrible black stuff so I was so happy when RJ's developed new flavours and combinations. I love Salted Caramel and Chocolate so for me, this was a match made in Heaven! Needless to say, when my girls saw the package they hassled me until I opened the packet. It is the usual foil bag with an accurate picture of the twists on the front. Both my girls loved them and were keen for another one although the pieces are quite large and I found it difficult to eat more than 3 in a setting. The Twists come in a large bag with 42 pieces in them and you could easily cut the pieces in half to make them go further. To say we loved them was an understatement! We loved the firm chocolate centre and the caramel licorice although there was only a faint salty taste. There were very sweet but delicious when you allowed them to melt on the tongue!

I decided to get adventurous and sliced the twists thinly and added them to some cupcakes. I must admit, these were scrumptious and a big hit with the family. The twists added lovely chewy chocolate bits to the cupcakes that standard chocolate chips couldn't. Although they worked really well in the baking, I preferred them just the way they are! Another job well done by RJ's and a great price for a big bag of great tasting licorice!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 7th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Salted caramel is certainly not a new idea, but its recent surge in popularity has certainly seen it being adapted into a number of food items that it has not been a part of before.

The packaging comes in the usual foil pack that RJ's is known for. The pack is easy to open but isn't resealable, so you have the risk of ants getting in or the product going stale if you don't eat it quickly. According to the front of the packet, the caramel flavour is present two-fold, with both caramel licorice and salted caramel chocolate. One would hope this means the product will have a strong flavour.

Grabbing a couple of pieces from the bag, the licorice is firm so you don't have to worry about the pieces sticking together too much or getting stuck to the base of the packet. Having chocolate present in these products does mean the licorice pieces do end up looking a little dirty or dusty due to the chocolate coming into contact with the licorice.

Upon inspection I was very impressed with the ratio of chocolate to licorice, with the chocolate taking up perhaps 75% of the volume of the product. While the licorice doesn't stick to itself all that much, it does merge with the chocolate quite well. I have a tendency when I eat products like this to eat the outside and inside pieces separately, and this proved difficult to do effectively. It's definitely been designed to be eaten together in one go.

Despite the caramel flavour being present in both the chocolate and licorice, I found the flavour rather dull. Almost coming off like the flavour of a stale coffee that happens to be more sugary than bitter. The zing of the salt only hits you once when you first bite into the chocolate and the level of saltiness is inconsistent and does vary throughout the pieces in the pack. Overall the flavour is unbalanced.

I'm not a coffee drinker. I find it far too bitter and unpleasant, but I have worked in a cafe for several years and am very familiar with the smells of stale coffee products. So for the caramel flavour to remind me of a diluted version of that bitterness, I don't find it appealing at all. Due to it's similar qualities in flavour to that of coffee, I imagine it would pair nicely with the caffeinated beverage. But this is not a product for me.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had three very willing testers waiting impatiently for me to open the bag - my daughter-in-law and the two teenagers, Miss 17 and Mr 15. Finally, daughter-in-law got so impatient that she grabbed the bag off me and opened it herself. Before I could ask her not to tear it too much as I wanted a review photo, she had ripped the corner off much more neatly than I could have done and handed it back to me.

Miss 17 was off to referee netball shortly and had thought she would not get any, so she was thrilled she was able to take part too. Lollies are not something any of us eat every day; they are a special occasion treat to enjoy in company. I gave everyone two and took two myself, but not before I had sniffed the inside of the bag. Even this was enough to surround me with the unmistakable aroma of caramel - one of my favourite flavours.

The lollies were quite firm when we first bit into them. I chewed my first then let the second melt at its own pace. I thoroughly enjoyed the second way of eating it because the different flavours separated out. First, you got the pure caramel taste of the outer section, the flavour enhanced by the salt. Then, as the outer melted away, the inner core of chocolate became evident. It held its cylindrical shape momentarily before it too collapsed and melted down. Delicious!

My daughter-in-law enjoyed them but found she could not eat many as they are quite rich. She stopped after three while Miss 17 kept right on going. They were driving 200 km to the tournament, so I gave them another dozen to take in the car on the understanding that they would phone me as soon as they got there with an updated report on their reactions. Miss 17 was very pleased about that, needless to say.

By the time I had finished my second, Mr 15 was on his fifth. We had waved goodbye to the others, so the rest of the packet was ours to share. I was impressed by just how many the pack contained; according to the information printed on the outside, there were approximately 42, but it seemed as if there were a lot more than that. Like my daughter-in-law, I found them quite sweet, and after I had eaten a third, I decided I had had enough for the time being. Mr 15 had no such qualms; he would have eaten the rest of the packet in one go if I had not stopped him.

After dinner, we got the packet out again. Mr 15 said his fingers still smelled of caramel, even though he had washed them, but he did not seem too unhappy about that. I had two; the rest disappeared gradually until all he had left was an empty packet and a big smile on his face. Later in the evening, we had a phone call from the other two. Miss 17 had happily eaten most of them. Her mother, like me, had not been able to manage more than a couple more. But they both enjoyed them and said they were a great way to eat chocolate when you are in the car as the mess is all inside the twisty bit.

I think they are excellent value for money, given the number in the packet and the length of time it takes to eat them. None of us found anything negative to say apart from the richness which stopped the older ones from eating too many. They are made from natural ingredients and look beautiful when they are served up. We had put some into a fancy glass to serve them and agreed that it would be quite a nice centrepiece for a dessert table. Yes, we will be buying these again.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 11th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I absolutely love RJ's products particularly all of their delicious fruity licorice treats. When I saw the Salted Caramel Choc Twists come up for review I must say I was a little curious as I would never have considered such a flavour combination to be turned into a tasty licorice flavour, I was skeptical and was tossing up whether or not to request these but I am so glad I did salted caramel is a flavour I have come to enjoy over the past few years when it became all the craze, and you can't go wrong with chocolate, and somehow RJ's got the combination of the 2 spot on to create the most delicious licorice treat!

With a net weight of 280grams in the bag the amount of licorice twists is very generous, I counted 42 twists in my bag which equates to 7 servings of 6 pieces each, these days it's hard to find any product such as confectionery where the bag is actually full of the product rather than fresh air. The design of the packaging is attractive and eye-catching and I love the way that RJ's have used a combination of brown and golden tones to portray the colours of the product itself. Buying this product means that you are supporting NZmade which is always something I like to do when possible, the map of New Zealand on the back is a cute design being made out of licorice twists.

Next came the taste test I decided to pull these out today at lunch for our visitors to try and they were a hit. A delicious, soft and chewy licorice outer encasing a salted caramel chocolate centre, flavours which worked generously together. I must say that we all agreed that the licorice tasted of a creamy caramel with a hint of salt, however the chocolate taste didn't really come through on this occasion, even when I tried eating the 2 layers separately, Miss 5 and her friend (also 5) declared they were so good and were begging for more, the adults also loved them and said they tasted like a mix between toffee and caramel flavours without being over sweet.

I had plans to try these out in some different dishes but decided against it as some things are just best left eaten as they are and I believe these are one of those things. I can't wait to buy these again soon as they are absolutely delicious.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 4125: Mangonui Fish Shop
Located : Beach Road, Mangonui, Far North

Product image for Mangonui Fish ShopMangonui Fish and Chip Shop

The Mangonui Fish and Chip Shop is a national icon for one of New Zealanders' favorite meals. It is often mentioned as producing the finest fish and chip meals in the country. It may not necessarily be the best, but the location would be very hard to beat.

The shop, which is actually more of a cafe, sits in a magical location, right over the water. The fish is all locally caught and ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
Albert Einstein

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream