Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 14th December 2018 - 09:36:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Syrups, Cordials and Concentrates > Classic Soda Syrup - Dry Cola review

« Detroit reviewDetroitClassic Soda Syrup - Citrus Lemonade reviewClassic Soda Syrup - Citrus Lemonade »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.2/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7876 - Classic Soda Syrup - Dry Cola
Brand / Manufactured by: Barker's of Geraldine

Classic Soda Syrup - Dry Cola
Price:
$5.80 / bottle
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Classic Soda Syrup - Dry Cola product reviews

Proud to promote NZ products    •  Caffeine free
    •  Low calorie
    •  No artificial sweetener
    •  Preservative free
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  Shake before use
    •  Refrigerate after opening

We've crafted a premium cola that won't disappoint. We blend New Zealand dark malt, squeezed limes and lemons to create a true classic dry cola that everyone will love. Adding a touch of natural sweetener means less sugar and being caffeine free, adults and kids will love this refreshing and dry thirst quencher.

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cola   concentrate   lemon   lime   low calorie   malt   no caffeine   nzmade   preservative free   syrup
Other listings you may be interested in:
Four Hawk Day RoseFour Hawk Day Rose
Rating: 9.8
Splendia FragolinoSplendia Fragolino
Rating: 8.9
Classic Soda Syrup - Brewed Ginger BeerClassic Soda Syrup - Brewed Ginger Beer
Rating: 9.5
Orchard Thieves Cider with Raspberry and VanillaOrchard Thieves Cider with Raspberry and Vanilla
Rating: 8.1
Lothlorien Apple and Feijoa JuiceLothlorien Apple and Feijoa Juice
Rating: 9.8
Benjer Nectarine JuiceBenjer Nectarine Juice
Rating: 9.4
Nature's Energy : Supa ShakeNature's Energy : Supa Shake
Rating: 5.0
Fruit Juice Mango With Fruit BitsFruit Juice Mango With Fruit Bits
Rating: 8.8
Lothlorien Feijoa Still WineLothlorien Feijoa Still Wine
Rating: 9.5
Classic Soda Syrup - Citrus LemonadeClassic Soda Syrup - Citrus Lemonade
Rating: 9.6
Fanta - PineappleFanta - Pineapple
Rating: 10.0
Lothlorien Feijoa Wine - MediumLothlorien Feijoa Wine - Medium
Rating: 9.3
Soljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NVSoljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NV
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 16th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have been trying to find a drink that is refreshing and not too heavy in sugar. Summer is coming up and I know that I'm going to be drinking quite a lot and water doesn't quench a large thirst.

I read the instructions and I made some up and took a big drink to find that it tasted a lot like water so I couldn't complain about it being too sweet. I asked my kids for their thoughts and one out of three said it was horrible but the other two said it was nice. I'm not sure if I had made it correct exact to instructions but I think if I added a bit more then it would be a stronger taste but the bottle definitely wouldn't last as long making it not very good value for money.

I could actually read the information on the bottle which is a first for me since a lot of the time I struggle with the size of the print on the bottles and labels of things but there wasn't a huge amount of information but all the important stuff is included. I would buy this again as I have tried a few of the other flavours from Barkers and haven't been disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 11th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being someone who doesn't drink coffee and not really a fan of tea, I have often been known to take a bottle of fizzy drink with me when catching up with friends, and sometimes I have a bottle in the fridge at home for when I want something other than water. However, I am very conscious of the amount of sugar in many drinks, and will often opt for diet versions - although these aren't always a very good option either with all the other crap that is in diet drinks. So when I saw this Barker's dry cola soda syrup that is lite in sugar I was keen to give it a go. While it has some sugar, it doesn't have as much as other cola products and I'll always take the better option if there is one - after all, we can't deny everything in life!

I love that the Barker's syrups come in a sturdy glass bottle, especially fitting for the current times when there is such a focus on how much plastic there is in our lives. The label is simple but effective, and you can see through most of the bottle to know that the product inside looks as it should for what it is supposed to be. Opening the top I was met with a yummy strong cola flavour (strong because it is obviously a syrup that is designed to be watered down). I read the bottle and noticed it said one part syrup to six parts cola. I poured some cola syrup into my glass and then topped it up with some soda water. At first I found it to be quite weak so I added some more syrup until I found a flavour level that I like. It is a very traditional cola flavour, and very very yummy. The bottle does say 25 glasses, however with me mixing it a bit stronger I wouldn't get 25 200ml serves. However, with the price that this bottle is, and the number of serves I did get I do think it is value for money, especially when you take into consideration it is a product that is better for you. I loved the flavour and wouldn't change a thing about it. It didn't have the funny after taste of diet products, but I knew I wasn't puttin as much sugar into my body as I could. And my favourite part is that it is caffeine free as I try to have very little caffeine if any in my diet.

Thank you Barker's for another amazing product that will be a regular in my shopping trolley!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 26th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My partner was excited to try this as he a cola lover and we go through a lot of cola flavouring for our soda stream in our house. He poured some syrup in and tasted it, which he said he can't taste anything in so poured more in, and still the same thing. He said it tasted weak so poured more in and still said the same thing. My son then had a try and said it tasted fine and he really liked it. I also tried it and I said it was fine and I liked it.

I showed him the bottle and explained this is a better option then the other cola brands we by and that the less sugar would be good for him. He however likes a stronger taste. My son and I really enjoyed the product but we did however use a bit from the bottle for one drink so then we would not end up getting much drinks from the one bottle.

Overall I like the syrup and I would buy it again for myself and my son but my partner is not sold on the product. I guess it comes down to personal choice and how much of a sweet tooth you have and how strong you like your cola to taste. The labeling of the bottle is great and eye catching and I like the style. I would recommended this to friends and let them know mine and my partners thoughts and leave it to them to try it out for themselves.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 17th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

In my quest to reduce my amount of plastic, I have given my Soda Stream a new lease of life and was excited to try Barkers Dry Cola Syrup. I love Cola and have in the past tried the Soda Stream's branded syrup, only to be bitterly disappointed. I had previously Barker's Ginger Beer and Citrus Lemonade Soda Syrups and been impressed with them but Cola is an entirely different ball game!

The Syrup comes in a sturdy glass bottle and the syrup is a nice rich brown colour. The label claims it's 'Lite in sugar' and 'caffeine free', making it ideal for the kids too. I had a look at the nutritional label and per 100 ml it has 4.6g carbohydrates compared to 10.6g for regular cola, so under half the amount of sugar which is good. The great thing about a syrup is that you can adjust it to your taste and although I followed the recommendations of 1 part syrup to 6 parts water, I noticed that it did look watery and not as dark as regular cola. I added a little more syrup to get the taste I was happy with. It has no artificial sweeteners which was evident when you tasted it as it didn't have the bitter aftertaste that some 'sugar free' but full of other added rubbish drinks have. My husband tried some and commented how it didn't coat your teeth and tongue like branded cola did. He was really impressed and kept on saying how good it was and how we had to buy more of it!

I have to admit that I was really impressed with the cola flavour and will definitely be buying this again instead of a more popular brand of cola. Even when I added more syrup to the glass, it still works out a lot more economical that ready to drink cola and knowing that it has less sugar and won't keep me up all night is an added bonus!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 4th of May, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We love getting a Kiwi Review box, and opening it up - discovering what goodies have arrived for us to try this time. We opened up our box this time and found not one, but two bottles of different soda syrup by Barkers to try. It was great to receive the dry cola in particular as my husband is rediscovered his like for fizzy drink, but I am concerned about all the fakeness in some of the fizzy, and what effect the fake sweeteners and other stuff actually have on our bodies. The other added plus is that Barkers is made here in New Zealand!

The bottle itself is a clear glass, but a thick and sturdy bottle - making sure it does not get damaged if it is sitting in a fridge door, which is where I put this cola syrup before even trying it. I like that I can reuse the cleaned out bottle for things too - just some ideas are a vase, to put ready made drink into it, recycle or upcycle it, and just not add more rubbish to our landfills.

Barkers brand to me is synonymous with quality in both production and tasting, and great taste. I was not at all disappointed with the cola syrup, and knowing that this bottle makes 25 glasses means that my back pocket and my belly with it being low sugar thank you too Barkers!

Having no soda water in the house and wanting to try this straight away, I made it up as per the instructions of 1 part syrup to 6 parts water. I got my husband to take the first taste, as I knows I do not at all like too sweet drinks. After getting his thumbs up, I had a try and was hooked - it is a great taste, not sweet and overpowering, and definitely hit the "thirst" spot!

Overall, this is a really great syrup which ticks so many boxes for me - being better for me with a low sugar content, tasting like a more natural cola, good value and reusable packaging. Huge thumbs up for this Barkers - love to see other flavours too!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 10th of April, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I've said it before and I'll say it again cola is my favourite flavour soda drink. This is a syrup style drink but it's unlike other syrup drinks I have had in the past as the viscosity is pretty thin and it isn't really gluggy. What I like the most about having it in a concentrated form is that you have the ability to mix it to taste how it best suits yourself. The drink is caffeine free which is also a great plus as I don't like to allow the kids to try regular cola but this is a great alternate plus I get my caffeine limit purely from coffee during the day.

It's also low in calories, doesn't contain artificial sweeteners or preservatives and is made right here in New Zealand. I tried the dosage suggestion which is 200ml diluted 1 part syrup to 6 parts water but to me, it didn't have enough flavour punch to it so I added about 40ml more syrup and found it to be pretty close to my preferred taste. The notes of lemon and lime stand out fairly bold and actually taste very well suited to the cola.

As for value for money, this is a great purchase and is defiantly worth its price for a very refreshing cola drink that uses natural ingredients. The packaging is simple and gives off a slightly retro vibe which suits it well. Overall this is a cola that quenches the thirst and tastes great. This is a great alternate cola to the other major brands if you're looking for something different or just broadening your cola experiences.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a big fan of cola (probably more than I should be) though I generally stick with the obvious name brands simply due to cost and having low calorie, sugar-free options. I prefer the more premium colas but generally, find them cost prohibitive so I was very keen to try to the Barker's Dry Cola when I saw it available for review. Right away, the low calorie, caffeine free and low sugar components make this very appealing. At $5.80 per bottle and even taking into account requiring soda water, this makes it appealing cost wise. Pretty much, this was ticking lots of boxes even before I'd opened the bottle and made up my first glass!

The recommendation is 1 part syrup to 6 parts soda water and it was to this specification that I made up the drink. It definitely had a more dry cola taste rather than the over sweet taste of other brands, I very much prefer the dry cola taste, for lack of a better word, I find it more sophisticated. I found it very refreshing and I'm rather glad for the low-calorie factor! I would note that my partner, on the other hand, wasn't such a fan, he felt it didn't taste quite right. Possibly we would want to play around more with the ratio of syrup to soda water to get a more preferred taste.

Overall, a big thumbs up Thumbs Up from me, price, taste and everything else means I'll be keen to keep some in the house and if my partner doesn't like it so much, bonus! More for me!

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 22nd of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Anyone that knows me personally knows that I have a major sweet tooth, and find it especially hard to say no to juice or fizzy drinks, in particular cola. I know how bad they are with all the sugar but just don't have the willpower to stop myself from drinking them. When I was browsing the items available on KIWIreviews to request I was super excited to see that Barker's of Geraldine has released a range of soda syrups, available in Premium Dry Cola, Citrus Lemonade, and Brewed Ginger Beer. I chose to request the Premium Dry Cola as I tend to drink quite a bit of cola and the bottle stated it could make 25 glasses.

When I opened my review box I was thrilled to see a bottle included, I wasted no time in proceeding to make a large glass of cola. I read the directions on the back of the bottle which stated 1 part soda syrup with 6 parts soda water. I gave the drink a mix and took a large gulp, boy was it strong for me like that, so I added another part of soda water and tentatively took another gulp but found it was just right now. I savored the flavour now and it didn't leave a funny aftertaste in my mouth after I swallowed.

I really like that this product is free of caffeine as I already have plenty of caffeine in my diet as it is, the fact this syrup has a natural sweetener as opposed to artificial sweeteners means less refined sugar as well. The label says that Barker's has created this premium cola by blending a dark malt with some squeezed lemons and limes. I thoroughly enjoyed this more than most of the colas I have tried in the past, when my daughter had a sneaky taste she said she thought it was nice, and not many bubbles made it easy to drink.

I will definitely be purchasing this product in the future as I believe it is great value for money, made in New Zealand, high quality, and tastes delicious. I look forward to trying the other flavours in the near future.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 15th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am always game to try a new cola drink so I welcomed the opportunity to review this one. I liked the look of the ingredients: natural and wholesome items (which is no more than I have come to expect from Barker's), and with less sugar than you might find in similar syrups.

I was surprised when I tasted it. My friends, who tried it with me, were impressed by the flavour. It was more of a designer drink than a regular cola, with the smoothness you get from an artisan drink. We did not have access to a SodaStream but used purchased plain soda water as a mix and that worked out perfectly. Using the 6:1 proportion suggested on the label, we all tried it - as I had expected, some wanted a little more soda while two of us wanted a stronger brew.

Personally, I would have preferred less sweetener in the product. I tried putting in more soda but it diluted the flavour too much. I am used to the sharper taste of diet beverages, so I don't like my drinks too sweet. However, the others did not agree: they like full strength products steeped in sugar so they were more than happy with the sweetness factor.

We could all detect the lemon and lime components, and the malt aftertaste provided a welcome full-bodied flavour to the mix. Being caffeine free meant it was a good drink to have late in the day without running the risk of resulting insomnia, and it could safely be given to children who might become hyperactive if given a highly caffeinated alternative.

We found it made a great mixer - we tried the diluted product mixed with ice and with orange slices floating on the top, chilled and added to brown rum (magic!), and served as a float with ice cream on top. It was also nice mixed with whisky, or made into a strong cordial and then frozen in individual ice block trays for a hot weather cooler.

If I were choosing a summer drink, I would go for this one but would then add some lime or lemonade slices from my trees. This would reduce the sweetness without compromising the flavour. I have not yet tried it this way as I did my testing while I was away from home and did not have access to fresh citrus. But now that I am back home, I will be doing some more experimenting with new ways of trying this product.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 7439: Fanta - Pineapple
Brewed/Bottled by The Coca-Cola Company

Product image for Fanta - PineapplePineapple favoured soda with other natural flavours.

Bright, bubbly and instantly refreshing, Fanta is made with 100% natural flavors and is caffeine free.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Computer games don't affect kids. I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."
Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream