Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th November 2018 - 00:20:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Baking Additions > Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue review

« Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink reviewDr. Oetker Easy Icing - PinkDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Chocolate reviewDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Chocolate »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.8/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7845 - Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Brand / Manufactured by: Dr. Oetker

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Price:
$2.69
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Dr Oetker

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue product reviews

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing Chocolate is a ready to use glace icing perfect for topping cakes, cookies and pastries. To use simply knead the pack and squeeze onto the top of your baking for a delicious finish without any mess.

Each pack contains 100g and covers approx. 12 mini cupcakes, 6-8 cupcakes or cookies or the top of an 18cm (7-inch) round cake.

    •  Great for baking with kids too!
    •  Available in Pink, Blue and Chocolate varieties.
    •  Allergen-free and suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians.

Check out Dr Oetker onlineClick here to see all the listings for Dr Oetker Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube Check them out on Pinterest They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
allergen free   blue   gluten free   icing   pouch   ready to use   vegan   vegetarian
Other listings you may be interested in:
Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre BoxAngry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box
Rating: 7.9
Maketu Chilli Beef and Cheese pieMaketu Chilli Beef and Cheese pie
Rating: 7.8
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Pitango Kids Organic Spaghetti BolognesePitango Kids Organic Spaghetti Bolognese
Rating: 9.6
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - ChocolateDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Chocolate
Rating: 8.7
Breadbowl with Meatball SaladBreadbowl with Meatball Salad
Rating: 9.3
Dr. Oetker Easy Choc - MilkDr. Oetker Easy Choc - Milk
Rating: 9.4
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - PinkDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink
Rating: 9.4
Gluten Free Weet-BixGluten Free Weet-Bix
Rating: 8.3
Dr. Oetker Easy Choc - WhiteDr. Oetker Easy Choc - White
Rating: 9.6
Cafe CubaCafe Cuba
Rating: 5.8
GoNatural Macadamia DivineGoNatural Macadamia Divine
Rating: 8.9
Dr. Oetker Ready to Roll Icing InspirationsDr. Oetker Ready to Roll Icing Inspirations
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 17th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having previously tried Dr. Oetker Easy Icing Pink and really liking it, I was really keen to try their blue one, mainly because of the flavour of the pink one was so moreish that I was hoping the blue one was also.

Once again the Easy Icing Blue was not only just coloured but flavoured as well, similar to a blueberry taste but not quite, with a brilliant blue hue colouring. The icing was kneaded for 2 mins or added to warm water to soften so it can be easily poured from the pouch, which makes its ease of use for little children hands fantastic.

We decided to use this icing for our batch of vanilla and lemon cupcakes the kids and I had made that day, with my 12-year-old being very happy to take the reins icing all the cupcakes herself without my help at all, this certainly gave her a sense of achievement which is all you want in a 'ready-to-use' product. She managed to ice a full 12 cupcakes and pretty much managed to eat all 12 too!

This is an excellent product to have in your pantry as it doesn't need to be chilled and has an added bonus of being suitable for vegetarians.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 26th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Growing up my parents were constantly trying to get me to help them in the kitchen, whether it was cooking dinner with them or whipping up a baking storm. However me being stubborn I wasn't going to have a bar of it and showed no interest. Now that I am a parent I really wished I had spent time learning, but now my children and I learn recipes together.
One of our favourite recipes to bake is Vanilla Cupcakes from the Edmond's Cookbook. When I saw KIWIreviews had the Dr. Oetker Easy Icing in blue available to review, I thought it would be ideal for a baking mission with the children.

The packaging is bright and the brand is recognisable with the logo. The serving suggestion picture shows a bright blue icing covering cupcakes, my son saw this and commented "that's what our's are going to look like mum."
The directions of how to use this product are simple, first knead the sachet for at least 2 minutes to make sure the icing is mixed and soft, cut a corner of the packet and squeeze the contents out. If you find the icing still hasn't softened much after the kneading, it is recommended to place the unopened packet in some warm water for 30 seconds. One of the reasons I requested this product to review was because I was curious to know what the flavour would be like, in the past I have tried the chocolate and the pink one.

After snipping the corner and squeezing some of the icing out I was very impressed with the brightness of the colour, I was expecting it to be a duller shade than what was shown on the packet, but if anything it was considerably brighter. The consistency was just right for pouring on the cupcakes and was easy to smooth. This product set quickly and firmly. When it came time to taste I was excited, the flavour was nice and just the right sweetness. I can't really put my finger on what flavour it could be, but it's still pleasant to eat.

I recommend this product to anyone keen on baking and wanting a quick, no messy dishes icing. I found it especially helpful to use while baking with my young children.

Click here to read the profile of onyxcyrus

Review by: onyxcyrus (Cat)
Dated: 18th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The Dr. Oetker easy icing comes in pink, blue and chocolate flavours. Myself and my 4 year old daughter were excited to try the blue variety. We decided on making a batch of sugar cookies to test the icing on. Once our cookies had cooled down we read the instructions on the back of the packet. Basically you need to knead the packet until soft. This took a few minutes, the top half being easier and the bottom of the packet slightly more difficult. I cut a corner off the packet so we could squeeze it out, my daughter found this difficult, as it tended to pour out. I then took over this job while she spread the icing with a spoon and then added sprinkles.

The icing did come out easily but didnā ™t spread on tidily, and it was quite thick and hard to spread with a spoon, however it set quickly which is good when you have hungry kids. These may work better on cupcakes which are easier to ice than cookies. The colour was exactly as advertised on the front of the packet. We made around 25 cookies which the packet easily iced, it was a struggle to get the last bits of icing out though. The sprinkles set well into the icing and didnā ™t tend to fall off once moved around from the container to a plate. We had a guest that afternoon and he absolutely loved the cookies.

I would buy this to store in the pantry for school holiday baking, or if the kids had friends around. With all the other dishes and mess from baking itā ™s nice to have icing ready to go. I think itā ™s more for kids though and would make my own icing if I was baking something for adults.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 24th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I'm no whiz in the kitchen, so I'm always grabbing icing off the shelf that only requires the adding of water to make a good icing, with this range you don't even need to do that however what you gain in convenience you loose in quantity. You knead this until it's nice and soft (though if you don't have the time you can just pop it in some warm water to speed up the process). I let my seven year old shave the fun of kneading this as she was most keen on trying it out and she offered to work for her icing, lol. It took a little longer than the packet suggested but she has little hands and not as much oomph as the rest of us.

Opening it up requires a small snip with the scissors, which is handy for small quantities of icing. My seven year old was quick to sample some of this and happily pronounced it to be yum. I tried some but wasn't blown away by it, it just tasted like vanilla to me, which was a shame as I would have liked something like a hint of blueberry to it. We decided to use this on some muffins that we'd made earlier. While this came out nice and easily I did find it started to harden in decent timing but this also meant that the we had to soften it some more which got a bit messy.

My kids loved this, and it did have a lovely blue shade to it but I found it too sweet and so wouldn't be in a rush to buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 19th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was given three varieties of Dr. Oetker's Easy Icing to review: Pink, Chocolate and Blue. I had hoped that the blue icing would be as appealing to me as the other two varieties. Unfortunately, it lacked flavour. It was just very sweet and needed a bit of essence to complete it. The children did not find this a problem however as they happily licked out the packet.

The concept is great. It is a pouch of ready-made icing. You simply massage the pouch to soften the icing, snip off a corner and squeeze out the icing. This would be particularly handy if you didn't have a well-stocked pantry with all the colours and essences you need. Another great time would be if you were baking at someone else's home and wasn't sure what they had.

I chose to ice some plain biscuits. It certainly made them more appealing to the children. The colour was as vibrant as on the packet. I found that most of the icing was easy to squeeze out but I had to cut open the packet to get the last third out. It reminded me of the cornflour oobleck I used to make with the preschoolers. It is both liquid and solid. I wouldn't want to muck around when icing as it sets quickly.

Although I will be keeping some of the pink and chocolate easy icings in my pantry the blue one will be reserved for the rare time I need blue icing.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 18th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

There is nothing more terrifying then getting a call from a family friend saying she wants to have a catch up and it is right on lunch time. Opening up the pantry there is slim pickings but I spotted some plan biscuits and I knew I had to use the icing to try out - so I thought could kill two birds with one stone. While my eldest had a quick clean up my youngest got to work kneading the packet until it was soft. She was so proud of herself when she declared it was soft enough, so I quickly took over and to my amazement she was right.

I pulled out a plate, threw the biscuits on and cut the corner of the packet and let Miss Six ice them. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful blue colour - it really is bright and magical. My eldest and I stood watching in awe as she continued to ice the biscuits. As it was quite thick I grabbed a knife to spread it over the surface, but quickly noted this was not required and it looked way better with some volume added to it. We all tried one and all three of us agreed they were yummy and then stuck them in the fridge and continued to have a very fast clean.

When our guests arrived the kids took off and played until I heard the phase I hate 'mum we're hungry' so I proudly went to the fridge and pulled out the plate of our blue biscuits. Everyone said 'wow' and then it was followed by 'bubblegum' or 'blueberries' and then as fast as they appeared they disappeared. Then I was drilled on the product by my 'bestie'. I showed her the 'pink' flavour that we have still got to use and she sat there kneading the product and commented about how relaxing the whole process was. Now, let me point out she is a goddess in the kitchen and can whip up something in a second and she is the sort of person who can ice a cake and make it look so professional so for her to say that she is going to go out and buy it is saying something!

It was unanimous that the icing flavour was yummy. It is my favourite to date. The colour, the taste, the ease, the quickness of the whole thing has me sold. I love a product that manages to make me look good and is so simple to use. This blue little packet of magic has found a place in my heart.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 22nd of February, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I absolutely love Dr. Oetker baking products and they have become my go to brand for all of my baking needs, infact I have a rather good collection of various bits and pieces from the range beginning to form up in my kitchen pantry from sprinkles, to fondant and tubes of decorating chocolate and sparkly coloured gel icing, and I can say after testing out the pink easy icing that more easy icing is going to be the next thing that I add to my collection and make sure that I always have on hand for times of need.

Making icing is not my strong point, there is always a problem arising for me in this process, the icing is either not the right colour, to thin or to thick, and no matter how many different types of icing recipes I try out it's hard to find one that works for em and that is fail proof. With Dr. Oetker Easy Icing all of the hard work is done as this product is ready to use.

TO try out this product Miss 4 and I decided to whip up a batch of cupcakes together which when completely cool we decorated with this blue icing. The icing was such a beautiful blue colour, it was vibrant and bright and I loved the fact that it wasn't to dark. Once applied to the cupcakes the finish of the appeared lovely and smooth with a really nice shine to it. Miss 4 immediately said that the icing reminded her of water so we based our cupcake decorating around this, topping our cupcakes with some fish and shark shaped lollies and adding some mini white marshmallows as bubbles which looked pretty cute. The icing tasted really nice and I found it not to be to overly sweet, it had a very vanilla like taste to it, and I loved how it didn't taste extremely artificial.

The product was simple to use, Miss 4 could use and prepare it by herself and the instructions for use could not have been simpler. After kneading the contents for several minutes to soften and ensure the product was mixed through you simply cut a small corner off one of the sides of the packet and your good to go. The icing flows effortlessly and went on perfectly onto the cupcakes, as they were of a normal cupcake size this pack covered 6 cupcakes, but if you were doing mini cupcakes it should cover 12. The icing is quick to set taking approximately 15 minutes in the fridge.

Another amazing product which I feel lucky to have tried, I can't wait to buy more of the easy icing and look forward to testing out the chocolate variety one day in the future.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 4th of February, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Miss Five loves blue so she immediately put her hand up to test this variety. I found a simple cupcake recipe that she could manage with minimal help and we were away! Having made her cupcakes and cooled them ready for decorating, she took out the packet of icing and got some sprinkles to add on top. (I did not think we needed sprinkles, but I was assured that they would go beautifully with the blue icing, so who was I to argue?)

She started by kneading the contents, ensuring they were soft enough to spread once the packet was opened. The bottom of the packet (where there is a fold) was slightly harder to work so she asked me to help and we soon had it all ready. I then cut one corner off so she could squeeze the contents out. She found this process quite straightforward, letting a dollop fall onto each cupcake so she could then smooth it with the back of a spoon. In effect there was very little spreading needed as the icing was exactly the right consistency for coating.

It was too much to expect her to finish the lot without at least one taste, however, so the spreading spoon ended up in her mouth after the first cake. (I can confirm that she used a fresh spoon for the rest!) She thought it tasted sweet but could not identify a specific flavour. She made me taste it too, and the only flavours I could pick up were lemon and vanilla bean, and even then it was so subtle that I could not be sure. My daughter tried a taste too and she thought she could identify blueberries, but maybe she was influenced by the colour.

Whatever the flavour, it looked wonderful when Miss Five had finished her icing. She put sprinkles on a few before the icing had set, but I asked her to leave some of them plain as some of the family might not want the extras - and this proved to be true. The icing set into a shiny surface which adhered well to the cake; there was no splitting and no streaks or ridges as it dried out - in fact the effect was highly professional

Although the blue was quite extreme and might not be quite the thing for a formal party, it would be ideal for a children's party - especially a theme party where there were to be a few dominant colours. Miss Five thought it would be a good idea to have a "learning to read" party with her friends and ice some cakes in blue, red, green and yellow as they are the colours often used in brightly coloured readers. At her age, everyone is learning to read, so that would be an appropriate way to go. In the meantime, we passed them round the family and the comments were unanimous - from "cool!" (the younger ones) to "unusual colour but it tastes fine!" from the oldies!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 6937: Loaf Mini-Bites - Rocky Road Bites -  Brand / Manufactured by: Loaf

Product image for Loaf Mini-Bites - Rocky Road BitesPerfectly toasted nuts, soft marshmallows, chewy fruit jubes and loads of chocolate.

Share them around, or save them for your own stash.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream