Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 19th September 2018 - 07:21:45

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Baking Additions > Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink review

« Typhoon Fury - Oregon Files #12 reviewTyphoon Fury - Oregon Files #12Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue reviewDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7844 - Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink
Brand / Manufactured by: Dr. Oetker

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink
Price:
$2.69
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Dr Oetker

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected supermarkets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink product reviews

Dr. Oetker Easy Icing Chocolate is a ready to use glace icing perfect for topping cakes, cookies and pastries. To use simply knead the pack and squeeze onto the top of your baking for a delicious finish without any mess.

Each pack contains 100g and covers approx. 12 mini cupcakes, 6-8 cupcakes or cookies or the top of an 18cm (7-inch) round cake.

    •  Great for baking with kids too!
    •  Available in Pink, Blue and Chocolate varieties.
    •  Allergen-free and suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians.

Check out Dr Oetker onlineClick here to see all the listings for Dr Oetker Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube Check them out on Pinterest They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
allergen free   gluten free   icing   pink   pouch   ready to use   vegan   vegetarian
Other listings you may be interested in:
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - BlueDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Rating: 8.9
Dr. Oetker Easy Choc - MilkDr. Oetker Easy Choc - Milk
Rating: 9.4
Roshen Nougat - cocoaRoshen Nougat - cocoa
Rating: 9.1
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Sour Cream and OnionEureka Premium Popcorn - Sour Cream and Onion
Rating: 9.0
Sooshi Ice CreamSooshi Ice Cream
Rating: 7.4
Dr. Oetker Easy Choc - WhiteDr. Oetker Easy Choc - White
Rating: 9.6
Dr. Oetker Ready to Roll Icing InspirationsDr. Oetker Ready to Roll Icing Inspirations
Rating: 9.6
Watties Tomato Sauce - Roasted GarlicWatties Tomato Sauce - Roasted Garlic
Rating: 8.4
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - ChocolateDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Chocolate
Rating: 8.7
Hospital Fish ShopHospital Fish Shop
Rating: 9.0
The Best Balsamic Mint SauceThe Best Balsamic Mint Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Tiffany's CafeTiffany's Cafe
Rating: 6.0
Pretzel Crisps - SesamePretzel Crisps - Sesame
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 13th of September, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was really keen to try this readymade Dr Oetker icing as there has been numerous times when I need only a little bit of coloured icing and I am either out of icing sugar or food colouring, so it means a quick run down to the supermarket.

The pouch the icing comes in is very useful as it does not take up too much space on your shelf and you could buy all colours the Dr Oekter range and store them stacked together on the shelf with your packet gravies and sauce mixes etc.

I read the instructions on the reverse and decided to warm the pouch to make it easier to get out, only took about 30 seconds in warm water and the icing seemed a lot more pourable. I cut a slit on the top corner and then smelt the contents. For some reason I didn't really expect the icing to have a berry flavour, the pouch said pink, but not flavoured as such, so I was really pleasantly surprised that it had a really lovely raspberry type scent and flavour. Due to me not realising this, I had decided to drizzle over my cinnamon scrolls and while I was reluctant add raspberry icing to cinnamon, I forged ahead and I was so glad I did, cause they were really yummy. I has still so much left over so I sealed the pouch with a bag sealer overnight in the fridge and used the balance of the icing the next day on my mini cupcakes.

My family and I really loved the taste of this icing and its ease of use, I will certainly purchase again.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 25th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was the last of the Easy Icing icings that I tried and it had me the most curious, though probably not for reason you might guess, it was because of the three I got to review only this one lacked a 'suitable for vegetarians' line on the back, under the listed ingredients. So I planned to use this on a day where it was just me and the kids and I knew my vegetarian mother wouldn't be partaking in the treat. My elder two kids set to work taking turns to knead this into something softer while I researched why this wasn't labelled vegetarian suitable.

My ten year old snipped off the corner and the three of them took turns icing their own cupcake, they each found it nice and easy until they got about two thirds of the way and then we had to cut it open for them to manage getting out the rest, which takes away from the ease of the product. While we left the cupcakes icing to harden then kids licked the packet clean, saying the they really like the icing and further proved that by gobbling down the cupcakes. I found this was the least sweet in the range and also liked the raspberry flavour of the icing.

Of the three, I would see us buying this again. I do note that the ingredient Carmines is what throws up the vegetarian red flag however I also see that this listing states that it is suitable for vegetarians, but as Carmines is made from bugs I'll err on the side of caution and only bring this out when I know it's just for the kids.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 21st of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The best part about this product is the ease of the whole thing. I have had to look after a friends son for this week, after school, and my six year old daughter took it upon herself to organize afternoon tea all by herself - since she helped with the other two flavours she knew exactly what to do and walked to the pantry pulled the sachet out, grabbed the half used biscuits that we had used for the blue flavour and took a plate to her play table. She sat there massaging the packet and told me she did not need any help (on more than one occasion) and proceeded to cut the packet open and then tip the icing on to the biscuit. I did notice it was a little gloggier than the previous ones and I realized then that I should of double checked the softness of the packet as I am guessing she did not kneed it long enough. She also told me that she did not require a knife as she liked it thick on the biscuit.

Miss Six finished doing all the biscuits and then put them in the fridge, with the instructions for me 'not to touch' and went off and played. Ten minutes later I had the three of them sitting there eating the biscuits and then I was 'allowed' to have one also. As with the other two flavours I found it very sweet but it had the hint of raspberries and I found I really enjoyed the taste. All four of us agreed it was really yummy and I was then told that I need to keep buying it as it would now be my daughters job to make afternoon tea every day. She has definitely fallen in love with these icing flavours and the procedure.

My girls school is having a gala on tomorrow night and they have brought home the 'dreaded plate' to fill with home baking. Now this is one of my biggest fears as I hate baking and worst still I hate decorating but I am actually feeling mildly confident - well with the icing at least - and tonight I am going to the groceries with the pure intention of finding the icing and checking the baking area for something with no icing on it, or, worst case scenario, my own oven will be used and abused tonight with some actual baking.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 19th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love raspberry buns and when I saw the Dr Oetker Pink Easy Icing that is what I thought of straight away. Making your own icing is always fiddly you add too much liquid then you have to add more icing sugar and it is messy. It is also a hassle if you don't have all the ingredients and no one want all the essences and colouring taking up loads of space. The easy icing is a great solution. It is already mixed in the packet and you just soften the icing by massaging the packet for two minutes. Then you snip of a corner and squeeze the icing out onto you baking.

My nine year old walked into the kitchen just as I was grabbing the icing out of the pantry. She was keen to help and looked at me strangely as I demonstrated how to knead the packet. She had a go for all of 30 seconds before handing it back to me. By that time it was already much softer than it had been but I kneaded it for another minute to be sure.

I decided to use the icing to sandwich two basic biscuits together. The icing was easy to squeeze out to start with and I just put a blob in the middle as the sandwiching would do the spreading for me. I found that it was hard to get the last third of the icing out of the packet so I cut it open and used a knife.

The biscuits were taken to Guide camp and were a big hit with the girls. The icing had a lovely raspberry flavour and Miss 9 enjoyed licking the empty packet clean. I was happy with the results both the looks and the taste. It is something I will be looking out for in the supermarkets.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 14th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

With a daughter (miss four) who is a keen for any sort of baking, cooking and helping in the kitchen this easy icing seemed like the perfect product to try out for one of our many weekend baking experiences! Being that I wanted her to have ownership of all of this process we pre-made some muffins and used some store brought biscuits to create yo-yo biscuits and iced muffins. This meant that when it came to using the icing all I had to do was provide some supervision and let her know the written instructions on the packet... She was away! Oozing self confidence and so stoked she was allowed to "bake" by herself she utterly loved this experience and consequently this product; I have to say that I wholeheartedly agree!

Following the clear, persicse instructions as printed on the packet meant we had perfect results! The icing was nice and smooth, making it easy to squeeze from the packet onto our product. I love that this came in a little pouch ready to go. The packaging is bright and clear meaning it would stand out on the supermarket shelf which is perfect for when I'm next looking for it because believe you me we will definately be buying this product again! The number of uses for this icing is countless and I believe I will always be ensuring there is a packet in the pantry for those last minute "bring a plate" events or desserts that call for icing when you really just can't be bothered making any.

The taste, for me, was quite sweet and a lot more so than the normal butter icing I perfer to make. However both of my children (aged four and two) didn't bat an eyelid at this and gobbled up the finished baking (liking the icing off first of course Smile Icon ) without any concerns. My daughter loved the fact the icing was pink and had all sorts of questions about "how did it pink"? Talk about a science discussion taking place mid baking experience!

Without a doubt this is a top quality product, full of convenience, which in our busy world I am totally grateful for and recommend for others to try! For the price tag, you can't loose! I'll be buying this not only as a staple to always have in the pantry but also just for an "activity" for my daughter for some weekends. Thank you Dr. Oetker for another great product!

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 6th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I very often need pink icing, which hasn't been a problem in the past with with either dry pink mixtures or by simply adding red food colouring or gel. But my pink icing often lacked taste, in particular a strawberry or similar taste. So seeing a strawberry ready to use icing was quite exciting, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it to try!

Miss 6 and myself decided to try the strawberry icing alongside the chocolate icing and made myself and Dad an anniversary cake. A simple rich chocolate cake in which we hoped that the icing wouldn't overpower it (we are not huge icing fans and a light layering is often enough to suffice). So we got to work on the kneading, which was a very simple procedure but we must have lacked the full kneading fingers because it didn't flow out of the packaging as I expected. It meant that when we went to create a shape on the cake, it took a bit more work with a heated knife.

The taste was very scrummy and worked in very nicely with the subtle chocolate taste of the other icing which surrounded the strawberry heart. It didn't dry out quickly so applying hundreds and thousands was very easy.

A delightful product to use which left a flawless pink finish without clumps of icing sugar which can happen with traditional homemade icing, and no streaks like food colouring can do if not mixed properly. And what a bonus, no staining on hands or kitchen benches like food colouring does. I'm not a big fan of a messy kitchen while working, so I loved it!

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 1st of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love doing home baking, ever since I was younger I have been surrounded by family and friends that have been keen bakers. My parents tried to get me in the habit of baking when I went flatting, as they believed it would be healthier and cheaper, rather than buying prepackaged baking from a store full of preservatives. Now that I am a parent myself I tend to bake any treats for lunches as it works out cheaper, and I make enough so I can freeze it for a later date.

When I saw that Dr. Oetker had some Easy Icing available to request on KIWIreviews I jumped at the chance to try some. My icing I make from scratch never seems to be completely perfect, more often than not it is too runny and too sweet - this doesn't mean I don't eat it though haha. I had my fingers crossed that I would be lucky enough to be chosen, and thankfully I was. The packet really stands out with the Dr. Oetker identifiable colours of red, white, blue and green. There is a delicious looking cake on the front covered in a bright pink icing. The back of the packet states that there is enough icing to cover approx 12 mini cupcakes, 6-8 cupcakes or cookies, or the top of a 7 inch round cake. Conveniently the goodies arrived on the day that I had already planned to do some baking on.

When it came time to decide what to make I decided on Yoyo biscuits, I thought that would be a good use for the icing to sandwich two biscuits together. After the biscuits had cooled I got the packet and read the instructions, the first step was to knead the icing in the closed packet for 2 minutes, I found this quite relaxing. When I thought it was ready the next step was to cut the corner of the packet and use, I was sceptical and didn't expect the icing to come out - how wrong was I. The icing flowed easily when I squeezed the packet, was a nice consistency and was a pleasant pink which reminded me of candyfloss pink. I put a decent amount on the cookies then pressed them together, I was very impressed how quickly the icing set and how effective it was. I managed to make 8 Yoyo biscuits using the icing.

When it came time to tidy up my mess from baking I decided to try the little amount of icing that was leftover, the flavour was absolutely delicious and not at all too sweet. To me, it tasted a lot like raspberry and there was no funny aftertaste. I will most likely be purchasing this product in the future, especially when it comes time to do baking for my daughter's birthday party. This is a quick, tasty, no hassle and no mess way of having icing.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 22nd of February, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Baking is something that I love doing, however as a mother of 1 who works full time it is not something that I often have the time to do as much I would like to. So when I saw this icing come up for review I knew this would be the perfect product for me to test out, icing is not something that I am great at making infact it often takes me longer to make up a batch of icing than it does a cake or muffin mix, I can never get the consistency just right it's always to thick or to runny.

With Miss 4 with me picking up my review goods there was no way that we were going to be leaving without the pink icing mix, after all pink is her favourite colour! Before even arriving home Miss 4 was begging to do some baking so that she could test out this icing, as we were short on time I compromised with her that we could use the icing to decorate a pack of plain biscuits that we had in the pantry just waiting to be used, luckily this idea was good enough for her.

As there was no baking, mixing or cooking required with this product I decided to let Miss 4 do all of the work, reading through the instructions with her each step of the way. The instructions could not have been simpler and Miss 4 loved that she was able to do everything herself. After kneading the packs contents for several minutes Miss 4 and I agreed that the icing felt just right and didn't need to be placed in hot water for it to soften anymore. Using the scissors Miss 4 cut a small hole off one corner of the packet and then set to work.

I must admit I was very impressed by the consistency of the icing it was perfect, and reminded me of the look of a glazed icing (which I can never get right) Miss 4 and I both found that the icing was very easy to work with and that it squeezed out effortlessly and was easy to apply to the cookies, best of all it didn't run or drip anywhere! Miss 4 had collected up a variety of different decorating goodies from up in the pantry - M&M's, sprinkles and raisins and had fun placing these on the icing which had no problem holding all the little pieces in place. The icing set within minutes of being in the fridge which was lucky as there was a very eager little person waiting to try them out.

I was really impressed with the product in regards to the beautiful pink colour it was and also the taste it was lovely and sweet without being sickly and it reminded me a lot of candyfloss. With my daughters birthday coming up in the next week I will be buying more of this icing as I feel that both the blue and pink colours are going to be perfect for decorating mermaid and sea themed cookies.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Pink is one of those colours that is perfect for jazzing up fun foods. Think pink and you visualise party favours, sticky snacks, iced treats and kids' dressing up time. As an icing, it is a great colour for kids to experiment with, which Miss Five and I quickly discovered when we decided to put it to the test by making one of our family's favourites, custard squares.

Miss Five did the whole process on her own (under my supervision of course) except for the cooking of the custard - she was too short to reach the stove safely. She was very pleased with herself and could not wait to assemble the squares so she could put the icing on top. She had to knead the contents while they were still inside the packet, but because it was a very hot afternoon this did not take long at all before they were suitably squishy. Having snipped off one corner (again with my help as the plastic was quite strong) she squeezed the lot out and then spread it over the entire surface. Because of the air temperature, we then chilled the slab in the fridge so the icing would set before we cut it.

When we took the slab out, the icing had set to perfection but was still sufficiently elastic to withstand the cutting process without splintering. The result was a really professional looking plate of squares with enough for the six of us to have two apiece. They had a generous coating of icing: it was the right quantity so there were no leftovers to worry about. I often have trouble making my own icing. Frequently I make too much or too little and then it refuses to set. This took all the worry out of it, and it was easy enough for a five-year-old to do on her own.

The adults thought the flavour was a mild raspberry (one said strawberry!) and a couple of them said the appearance reminded them of Sally Lunns (also known as Boston Buns) minus the coconut. They thought the icing would be great to use on a bought plain cake like madeira if you wanted to impress, and one of them is going to buy a packet to try out on afghans in place of chocolate icing. My daughter thought it was less sweet than some icings, which suited her, but Mr Eight thought it was a bit too sweet and said he would dribble it over the surface and make a pattern rather than spreading the entire contents.

Miss Five voted with her spoon. Having made the batch and consigned it to the fridge, she attacked the packet which I had split open and busied herself removing every last bit off the inside. She had already scraped the custard pot, but then what use is cooking a fancy dish if you can't get to scrape the bowl afterwards? That's the rule!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 7432: M&Ms - Pretzel
Manufactured by MARS Confectionary

Product image for M&Ms - PretzelCrunchy Pretzel Balls coated in milk chocolate and wrapped in a crisp candy shell.

Serving Size: 1 unit (32.3g)
Calories: 150
Servings Per Container: 1
Calories from Fat: 40

Amount/Serving : %DV*
Total Fat: 4.5g : 7%
- Sat. Fat: 3g : 15%
- Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Small opportunities are often the beginning of great enterprises."
Demosthenes

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream