Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 17th November 2018 - 00:42:36

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Crispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts review

« Villars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate Bar reviewVillars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate BarGirls Trip reviewGirls Trip »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.1/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7834 - Crispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts
Manufactured by Crispo

Crispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts
Price:
$6.90 / 130g box
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Zenesco

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store

Crispo Nocciole - Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts product reviews

Delicious Nocciole Hazelnuts Covered in Milk and Dark Chocolate.

Check out Zenesco onlineClick here to see all the listings for Zenesco Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   dark   hazelnuts   milk
Other listings you may be interested in:
Whittakers Samoan Extra Dark ChocolateWhittakers Samoan Extra Dark Chocolate
Rating: 8.8
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Passionfruit Mint Tic-TacsPassionfruit Mint Tic-Tacs
Rating: 7.2
BAKED Pizza - Make and BakeBAKED Pizza - Make and Bake
Rating: 9.8
Villars Classic Swiss Milk Chocolate BarVillars Classic Swiss Milk Chocolate Bar
Rating: 9.5
Cleaning Your Microwave with LemonsCleaning Your Microwave with Lemons
Rating: 10.0
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Whisk Fudge SaucesWhisk Fudge Sauces
Rating: 9.3
Villars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate BarVillars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate Bar
Rating: 9.2
Bowel Biotics + CapsulesBowel Biotics + Capsules
Rating: 10.0
Mexican Creations: NachosMexican Creations: Nachos
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Butter Chicken Simmer SauceTaste of India Butter Chicken Simmer Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Top Notch Macadamias - Roasted SaltedTop Notch Macadamias - Roasted Salted
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 10th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love the old chocolate coated almonds and haven't tried hazelnuts as nuts, only as a spread as a kid. I was looking forward to trying these and I had no plans to share them with the lads on the work site. When I got the box of samples back to my caravan I saw these on top and tucked in right away. I was a bit blown away to see two different types in the box and thought maybe the lighter ones had gotten a bit of sunstroke or something, you know how choc goes pale if it gets too much sun? Nah, it was milk choc and dark choc. Nice!

I grabbed one of the milk choc ones first and popped it in my mouth. It was sweet and started to melt almost right away. What really impressed me though was that it didn't feel like it was gooey. It felt firm and wasn't really melting in the heat. The hazelnut had all the flavour I remembered from when I was a kid, and it went with the chocolate really well.

When I tried the dark choc covered nuts though I had to pause a bit because they didn't taste quite right. I decided to leave them in the fridge overnight and try them again the next day. Cold chocolate has less flavour than choc at room temperature, so after knockoff I put the box on my dining room table while I grabbed a shower and got changed then tried the dark choc first.

It had that deep almost bitter taste of real dark choc and I thought it was one of the best flavours I have tried in ages. It beats the peanut slab hands down. The milk choc nut was also good but now it tasted sweeter after the dark choc. I guess you should pay attention to how you eat them. I think I would have liked to have had a box that was one type or the other, because having both can really mess with your tastes. One thing is for sure though, didn't matter which way round I ate them, I loved them and will be looking to buy some more. They are about the same price as a box of scorched almonds so it wont break the bank.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 9th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always had a love for anything that is chocolate. Growing up I was always excited when it came to Christmas time and I knew that Santa would be leaving a box of chocolate covered almonds in my stocking. I would tell myself that I would only have a couple at a time so that the box would last for quite a while - however my willpower was never strong enough and I would be lucky if there were any left the next day.

When I was browsing through the items on the KIWIreviews website I noticed there was a product with eye-catching colours, I saw the description and was instantly drooling over the thought of those chocolate covered hazelnuts. I put my request in with the hope that I would be lucky enough to receive some to try. Upon opening my review package I was over the moon to see a box of them peeking through the other items in the box. The packet is designed wonderfully between the contrasting vibrant colours and the delectable looking chocolate hazelnuts on the front. The box is a perfect size at 130g and contained both dark chocolate and milk chocolate covered hazelnuts. These were made in Italy so I was expecting them to be of a high quality.

When I opened the box I was surprised to see that there was no plastic packet inside the box to contain them. The smell was delicious and I instantly knew I had to taste them right away. Firstly I chose a milk chocolate one, I let the chocolate melt in my mouth and it was very smooth and tasty. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hazelnut was not as solid as I had been expecting it to be, this was dangerous as I found myself eating several in my first tasting. Next I took a dark chocolate one out of the box, this chocolate was also a smooth, full of flavour tasty ball of deliciousness. My children managed to each get to sample these and also thoroughly enjoyed the flavour.

I will be looking into where I can purchase some more of these to have in the pantry and also to give as gifts. The price is very reasonable for the quality and quantity f chocolate hazelnuts in the box. Now I am off to find some chocolate to eat as after writing this I am now craving some.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These little nuts were a real find. When I lived in Ireland, we had friends who had a huge hazelnut tree and every year we made a pilgrimage to their place so we could make like squirrels and harvest enough for the months ahead. The ritual cracking and shelling was all part of the fun, and there was no risk of eating too much with a dozen of us sharing one nutcracker! But it meant that each nut was a real treat, something to be enjoyed in good company and savoured for its delicate flavour and crunchy freshness.

So, as I said, a real find! Instead of the woody outer shell, there was chocolate instead. And not just chocolate but a mix of milk and dark which meant I could home in on my choice (dark of course!) while the lucky friend I had invited to review them with me got her own favourite, the lighter milk chocolate variety. However, in the interests of being impartial, I did try one of hers and she tried one of mine. I have in the past tried hazelnut milk chocolate in a slab and did not like it at all, but packaged in this way there was less chocolate and more nut and I found it far more palatable. But what a good idea to give the consumer a choice.

The packaging was simple, with an outer card packet and an inner sealed bag. There was no reseal function, but this is probably a good thing as chocolate and plastic do not go well together in hot weather. I put some into a wine glass for serving, and transferred the remainder of the contents to a glass jar immediately as they were then safe from rolling away and getting lost! Delicious though they were, neither of us could manage more than two in one sitting because they are also quite rich. The chocolate coating is substantial and very creamy, and the hazelnuts themselves are dense in texture and quite filling.

Although the price is steep, they are a treat to be saved for a special occasion. They lasted us four days. We had them twice just as they came out of the packet, served with coffee after dinner, but we also tried them once on top of a dollop of cream to decorate a trifle, and once cut in half with a fruit salad made of halved stoned cherries and diced fresh apricots. In both these dishes they added that extra crunchy zing. This is the first time I have tried a Crispo product and I am impressed - I will be on the lookout for other products from this firm.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum! That one word really does describe this product perfectly! Nuts and chocolate ~ a match made in heaven that couldn't go wrong right? Wrong! It really can go wrong and in our household we've tried this way to many times unforunately. There is quite simply nothing worse than soggy nuts and yucky tasting chocolate! I'm very pleased to report that this fine product is nothing like that, its the complete opposite and in turn is a product I look forward to buying again; both for myself and for others as a gift. The chocolate is melt in your mouth, the hazelnuts are fresh and crisp. Yum, yum and yum! You really do need to try this product for yourself to understand totally what I mean.

In order of great testing we had to of course immediately try one from the box; by one I mean perhaps ten because once my husband and I started it was a little hard to stop to be honest! I love that the box contains both milk and dark chocolate giving variety to the box and also catering to all needs. In our household I love both dark and milk chocolate however our children only like milk chocolate and my husband tends to lean more towards dark chocolate. It was wonderful to have just one box of chocolate that catered to everyone - this is something that very rarely happens! I must say that although the box/packaging is great, it would be good if you were able to reseal this. At the moment once its opened, its open and I feel this doesnt give as much flexibility to the product and how you might use/eat it.

Miss 4 and I did some christmas baking making biscuits to take camping with us so we added some of these chocolate hazelnut's to the top - this added a little extra special something to our baking and everyone that tried one loved them. Another product that hit the nail on the head so to speak and has impressed everyone who has been lucky enough to try them! I loved the fact that these didn't loose their shape once baked, the chocolate didn't melt away from the nut and it simply just stayed exactly as it was before going into the oven.

For me and our household budget these are slightly on the expensive side however I will definitely be buying again as they are just too yummy not to! I will also be keeping an eye out for this brand and any other products they make - it's the first time I've heard or tried it and am quite impressed Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When you consider the cost of a box of chocolate-covered almonds and then add in the fact that these are imported, have two different confections in the one box (milk-choc covered and dark-choc covered), and are a nut that you don't find very often in NZ... I think the price is pretty good really, all factors considered. I also found the taste of the various chocolates and the nuts themselves to be wonderfully rich and very pleasant... so for me, these are an ideal treat-snack.

I say snack, because I know I could easily have polished off the entire box on my own in a single sitting, however I wanted to offer a taste to a couple of friends. They both agreed these were delicious, and I was treated to an afternoon of watching movies and being subtly nagged to break out the box for a second/third/fourth round of taste-testing. #YeahNah

While not readily available in retail stores or supermarkets, they are easy to buy through the Zenesca website. This limited availability is likely to negatively impact the rapid uptake of these treats by consumers, which is a real shame since they are a delight to eat and contain a nut that is very flavoursome.

I found that the flavour did change a lot when they had been chilled in the fridge for a while - the chocolate became firmer and I needed to let it sit on my tongue for a bit before the flavours started to really come through. While some people may find this a negative, I personally love that. it means I am far more likely to savour one or two instead of snarfing down a handful like a crazed bandicoot. This makes their value for money even better in my book.

Overall, while they are something I would dearly love to have a plentiful supply of at hand, these are so tasty and appealing to me that I will be forcing myself to buy them only for special occasions. It could get very expensive for me otherwise. LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Nuts and Chocolate, these two things are just made for each other... I was interested in trying these Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts because while I have tried other chocolate covered nuts before (Peanuts, Almonds, Macadamia), I've never actually tried chocolate covered Hazelnuts.

I was pleasantly surprised by how different nuts covered in chocolate can all taste so unique, I was even more surprised by the fact that the same type of nut covered in two different types of chocolate (milk and dark) could taste so different! But that is exactly what this amazing little packet has taught me. I loved how one smallish 130g packet can contain 2 different types of chocolate rather than having two separate packets forcing you to pay twice as much to get the two types.

Taste wise, these chocolate covered hazelnuts were everything I could have asked for and more. The chocolate coating was smooth and delicious and the nut crunchy and not too soft. My workmate said they tasted like "good quality chocolate" and would happily pay the asking price for these although he does prefer Almonds covered in chocolate more. But knowing him that will not stop him one little bit from finding and purchasing these.

The only downside I could see with these Chocolate Covered Hazelnuts where that I couldn't find them in supermarkets and it looks like they are only available online which means on top of the higher price for the chocolates you also have to factor in shipping costs but looking at the Zenesco website the shipping prices are well displayed and you can even get free shipping for spending over $50 AND the best way to offset that shipping cost would be to purchase at least 5 boxes which brings the price down even further!

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 1st of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These were in a beautiful looking box which showed the hazelnuts through a lovely little window. I liked the clear description on the box. I couldn't open the box in such a way as to reseal it, so basically had to throw it out. I loved the look of the coated hazelnuts in the dish I poured them into (and forgot to take a picture). They had a lovely exotic look with the name nocciole being really unusual.They were sealed in a great way to keep them lovely and fresh.

They were a great size - quite big but not overwhelming. I thought the shiny nature of the outsides looked very enticing before tasting. I tried the first one and they were a lovely chocolate texture and a strong and really nice hazelnut inside. I am not the biggest fan of hazelnuts but I have to admit this was a great way to have them as a treat. I had them with a strong cup of coffee and they were perfect. I probably should have saved these to share with a group but actually, they were way too yummy.

The taste and smell were very chocolately but a nice gentle milk chocolate, not a bitter dark chocolate which was perfect with the hazelnut. The texture was a good mix of crunch and soft as the chocolate texture was not too hard. I think this is a great party treat or as a perfect size of packet to share between two for a great treat. I will be buying these again as a lovely dessert style nibble as my husband also enjoyed them and says they are definitely a good indulgence for a special occasion.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 1st of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These Nocciole Hazelnuts Covered in Milk and Dark Chocolate are lethal! They come in an attractive box with a clean image of the chocolates and hazelnuts and a small clear window at the bottom of the box so you actually get a little peak of the real thing. I did have plans for these and thought I may add them to some cupcakes to give them a mystery surprise in the middle but I'm afraid they didn't get that far. Every time I opened the fridge they called to me and slowly they just disappeared! When I first opened the box to try one I found that the box wasn't resealable but knew they wouldn't last long enough to worry about expiry dates!

There is obviously a mix of dark and milk chocolate nuts and they also vary slightly in size which I quite like as it doesn't suggest they are mass produced. These chocolate nuts are delightful with the perfect balance of chocolate and hazelnut. The chocolate is a good quality which make these taste slightly luxurious and I felt they needed to be savoured rather than devoured! The price also reflects this but these are superior to other popular brands of chocolate hazelnuts. I particularly liked the dark chocolate nuts as the slightly bitter chocolate and nut combination was delicious.

These wouldn't be an everyday purchase but would be great for impressing your friends when they come to visit!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 20th of December, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These Nocciole hazelnuts covered with milk and dark chocolate are super yummy and a great treat. I liked the see through patch on the box so I can see the inside coated hazelnuts which are a great size as well. I like the two shades of chocolate the milk and dark and my favourite were the milk ones. My partner also really them both and between us we enjoyed a yummy snack. His comment was that they are very tasty hazelnuts with chocolate; he is a man of many words.

I found the only down fall with the box was that you could not close it afterwards, so once it was open I felt like I needed to finish the packet as I did not want them sitting in the cupboard and not being shut up properly. The box itself is eye catching and the green is lovely and catches the eye even more so. The hazelnut pictures look great the green leaves makes the hazelnut picture pop out.

Overall a very delicious treat and something you would want to enjoy and savour the moment. The price I find is a little steep, but yes they are a treat. There is the right balance between the hazelnut and chocolate I found that nothing overpowered the other flavour. The crunch is yum from the nut and chocolate just melts in your mouth. When my son arrived home I gave him a couple to try in which he was licking his lips and asking for more, he loves chocolate and reckons these were so good. It is also dangerous as he could probably eat a whole box on his own if he was allowed which would become expensive if you were buying them weekly as a treat. They would be more for special occasions I would say, a lovely birthday gift, for Christmas or anniversary.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 3065: Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain Mustard -  Brand: Chop Chop!

Product image for Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain MustardPremium chicken breast, shredded and mixed with a delightful light mayonnaise and wholegrain mustard sauce.

    •  Premium cooked chicken breast
    •  Cage free, sustainably farmed chickens
    •  Gluten free
    •  Halal certified

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"No man deserves punishment for his thoughts. It is the actions that should be punished."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream