Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 15th August 2018 - 17:17:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > DIY Ingredient Kits > Farrah's Taco Meal Kit review

« Augmented Reality Gaming System - AR Gun reviewAugmented Reality Gaming System - AR GunFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit reviewFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.5/10  [16 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 7784 - Farrah's Taco Meal Kit
Brand / Manufacturer Farrah's

Farrah's Taco Meal Kit
Price:
$8.39
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
Leading supermarkets

Farrah's Taco Meal Kit product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSoft flame baked flour tortillas, a rich and mild creamy chipotle sauce with an even more family friendly mild taco spice mix. Farrah's Taco Spice Mix still has all the visuals of cumin and coriander seeds but without the heat. It gives a wonderful aromatic and visually striking taco and drizzle or dollop the creamy chipotle sauce to enjoy.

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
family friendly   farrahs   meal kit   mexican   mild   tacos   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
BITE ME - LollieBITE ME - Lollie
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - HummusFarrah's Wraps - Hummus
Rating: 8.9
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Jelly Belly Fruit BowlJelly Belly Fruit Bowl
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 12th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I grew up eating Taco's as a bit of a family staple, I say that because we had them every second week or so I reckon - a cheap, easy meal means you can't go wrong right?! I don't really know why but this isn't a meal that I've carried with me into my adult years (not to say that I don't like them though and I will randomly buy them from time to time)... however I have never (until now) tried soft tacos! My thoughts are now torn as to which one I prefer!! This Farrah's Taco Meal Kit is totally awesome and one I will be buying again (well, actually, I did that already, but I'll continue to buy it again too) Smile Icon

With two children under the age of five, a busy full time job (teaching children under five) and a husband who often finishes work late in the evenings I'm all about ease when it comes to cooking dinner! Looking at this packaging when I first recieved it (which is lovely, bright and looks delicious) I could instantly tell that this was exactly what was in store for me. The product therefore automatically went up a notch (or maybe three) on the for me haha!

When I first used the spices to coat the chicken, and the second time I brought this the mince, I was a little hesitant to use it all as I was worried it would be to spicy. The packet says mild however I've been caught out with a mild being too spicy for our tastebuds before! However I'm happy to report that I was right in trusting this reputable brand and the taste was 100% perfect and was indeed mild in spice!! My four year old daughter didn't like the coating on the chicken but this is from the child who perfers her pasta plain with no sauce so I'm not counting her vote. She did however eat the mince with the same flavouring - go figure! The sauce in the packet was very tasty and added that little extra something to the meal. Again this was only for the adults but we were happy with that as it meant we got to eat more!

I loved that these taco wraps were nice and small; I've previously only used big wraps but have come to perfer these instead! Both of my children ate a wrap filled with salad for their dinner which is total credit to the softness, non-cracking and great taste of Farrah's if you ask me. They have tried wraps before, folded them, they've cracked and they've picked at their dinner. Total parenting win, so again this product goes up a few more notches!

Overall a top quality product from Farrah's (yet again), a product I recommend to others without any doubt whatsoever and a product that will be frequently in my shopping trolley! Thank you Farrah's!!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

So I love tacos. They are so versatile, and always so tasty because I can make them just the way I feel like at any given moment. Tonight, I had some chicken in the fridge that I had planned to cook for lunch but totally overlooked, so it had to be used. TACO TIME! Chicken drained and chopped, into a bowl to get coated with the seasoning mix. I mixed it with a little bit of sour cream to help it infuse and left it covered in the fridge for an hour to really let the flavours soak in.

The chicken was quick to cook and the seasoning had so much flavour. It stayed moist because of the sour cream too. I then realised I didn't have most of the ingredients listed on the box... but that's why I love tacos - I had some lettuce, home-grown cherry tomatoes, carrots, beetroot, cheese and capsicum all needing to be used up, so that's what I used in them instead. Instead of putting the chipotle sauce on top of the assembled taco, I decanted it into a squeezy bottle and used that to squirt it directly onto the taco before I loaded it up with fillings. This really helped keep the shredded lettuce and grated carrot under control by "glueing" them to the taco and adding moisture to the "salad" ingredients.

While not as beautiful to look at as the box-shot, they tasted amazing and I ended up being a little bit of a glutton, because I was only going to have two, but ended up eating three and still wanting more! They took almost no time at all to make, which is a bonus when you have a hungry child to feed as well. On that note, it's worth commenting that my youngest hates spicy foods, but found he could eat these and enjoy them easily! HUGE bonus points there from me.

I Was going to be good and assemble my tacos, snap off a photo, and then tuck in, but after trying a nibble of the cooked chicken with coating, I knew that wasn't going to happen. I found myself eating my first taco one-handed while using my spare hand to assemble the second one. By the time I was half-way through the second, I was already starting to assemble the third one... it was by will alone I set my hands in motion, putting all the ingredients away before I bloated myself on a fourth one.

Overall, very, very worth the price! Total meal cost for 8 tacos (the 5 that were eaten plus the ingredients for 3 more in the fridge for lunch tomorrow) was less than $15 and that will still leave me 3 taco wraps for something else too!

Click here to read the profile of onyxcyrus

Review by: onyxcyrus (Cat)
Dated: 9th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The packaging of this taco meal kit is great. The picture of the tacos makes them look delicious and fancier than the tacos my family usually eats. It's obvious that the flavour of these is mild, and that it makes 10 tacos in 20 minutes. The ingredients that need to be added are clearly stated on the back. I picked this meal kit as we have been eating another brand of taco meal kit for years and I wanted to see what another brand could offer.

We decided to take the advice of the box and try something different, switching out the chicken breast for mince, as we had some in the fridge already. It took about 20 minutes to cook just as the box said. The flavouring was nice and we loved the creamy chipotle sauce. The kids aged 4 and 7 found these much easier to eat than the hard taco shells we usually buy in another brands kit. They could also roll them up themselves easily and the tortillas didn't crack or split. One thing I love about tacos is that the kids can choose exactly what ingredients they like so no excuse not to eat it. My 4yo is an especially fussy eater and ate her whole taco which is impressive for her!

I recommend the Farrahs taco kit and would definitely buy it again, but think I would prefer it with chicken. I like all the suggestions on the box of stuff to try adding such as chunky guacamole or grilled pineapple salsa. It can help mix your dinners up without having to think too hard. The price is a bit more than other meal kits but I think it's worth it especially if the meal kit is on sale at the supermarket.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 6th of March, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

We love using Farrah wraps, and use the mini wraps a couple of times a day for my daughters lunches. We've never tried the meal kits however, so were very excited to give them a go.

The Taco meal kit was the one we tried, which was a great choice because chicken wraps are our favourites. The instructions were very easy to follow with the spice mix and sauce, and we got to add everything we normally use for wraps. However the taste felt like it was missing something, a certain flavour was missing that we couldn't quite put our finger on but meant we didn't enjoy the meal as much as we had anticipated. Even adding extra sauces to the wraps didn't work. We aren't huge fans of spicey foods so that was nice that there wasn't a lot of spice. Just wish it had more flavour.

The wraps themselves were delicious as per normal, we have never been disappointed by them. The wrap easily, do not break or split and taste fantastic. But while they were a great size for Miss 6 and Miss 2 to have 1 or 2 each, they were quite small for us to put the chicken and our salad into one. Wraps are definitely more our thing to eat as it keeps in the contents as opposed to these soft tacos which left quite a mess on the plate!

The mixing and instructions were so easy, and Miss 6 was very excited to be able to help in the kitchen for dinner as it's not something that she normally gets to do. While I cut everything up, she prepared the already cut up chicken with the spices.

At over $8 a kit, it seems on a high side but even so, I'll be keeping an eye out for the other meal kits when they go on special at the supermarket to try. We definitely want to try mince next time also, and not just chicken even though it was suggested. But we probably won't be eating the harder taco shells again as these were much easier to eat and handle, especially for Miss 2 and Miss 6.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Taco's are not something that we regularly eat in this house, as the children have some sort of aversion to the hard U shaped tacos that are standard. They complain that they are too hard to hold, the "stuff" spills everywhere, and they just do not like them. I decided to show them that tacos can be different to that - and this is where the Farrah's Taco Meal Kit came in.

First things first - I checked out the packaging and what I needed. The packaging is lovely, bright and depicts well the meal. Each different meal kit is a different colour so you can clearly differentiate and choose your family's favourite. The back of the box suggested what I would need to make chicken taco's, however, we quite often have chicken, so I substituted it for mince. Next I grabbed my eldest and asked if she would like to help me cook dinner. Unbelievably, almost, all 3 kids wanted to help so I quickly assigned them tasks they could do.

Opening the kit was easy, and inside were smaller sized soft tortillas, a spice mix and a chipotle sauce. Knowing my kids are not super keen on spice, I first cooked theirs and set them at the table to make and eat them. I then cooked hubby and mine - adding the spices and really looking forward to the chipotle sauce. By the time I sat at the table, the kids had made and nearly devoured their first soft taco - and my oh my - how the tune had changed about tacos now. They loved that they could fold them, "like an envelope I'm going to eat Mum" exclaimed my middle daughter. It was great to see them in control of their dinner, choosing what order to put things into it. As for the spice and chipotle mix - I thought it worked SO well together - the flavours and bit of heat were delicious. My hubby said they were not as spicy as he hoped, and added his Kaitaia Fire sauce to them - and declared THEN they were perfect.

This kit is honestly a great thing to have in your pantry, for those days when you are tired, or hot, or the kids are bored with your usual, or in fact, anytime - they are a perfect fun family dinner that is relaxing also, as I not once had to ask them to keep eating - they devoured more than one each too!

Thankyou Farrah's for creating a great kit - and providing ideas on how to use it that really are a hit with young and older alike!

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 5th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always been a fan of Farrah's products, being lucky enough to try some through KIWIreviews but also having purchased some myself. They are my favourite wraps to use, so I was excited to see that they had brought out kits that contained not only the wraps, but the spice mix and sauce you needed to create a complete meal.

I can be very busy at times. I work full time as an early childhood teacher, which means some nights I have meetings and am home late. I also run my own business, attend a gym and go to regular Zumba classes - all of this alongside finding time to spend with friends and family. Because of this, cooking nice, healthy meals for myself can often be the thing that I don't do, and I end up having takeaways of some description. After eating them I feel awful and wonder why I keep doing it to myself! So my goal for the start of this year is to discover some quick and easy dinners that I can make for just me, that are nice and healthy, light and will also give me left overs for lunch (killing two birds with one stone!). Kits like this are absolutely fantastic for that. They really are quite quick and easy to prepare, and they are healthy, light and tick all my boxes!

Heading to a friends to have dinner together I decided to take my Farrah's taco kit with me. I thought it was a good chance to not only try it, but to get someone else's opinion too. I got some chicken out of the freezer and grabbed what salad ingredients I had in the fridge and headed over. Once it was getting close to dinner time we got busy in the kitchen! He prepared the chicken, cutting it up into small pieces and putting it in a bag. Once it was all cut he tipped in the spice mix to make sure the chicken was coated. The box called for 450g, but we had 600g but it was still enough spice mix to coat the chicken enough to get flavour on each piece. This was then cooked in a fry pan with a sliced onion too. While the chicken was cooking I prepared the salad. We simply used what vegetables we had between us, not paying any attention to the required salad veges on the box. We used lettuce, capsicum and carrot and decided that was probably enough as we didn't want to take over the flavour of the chicken. Once the chicken was cooked we heated the tortillas in the fry pan and served our dinner up. The smells coming from the kitchen and I could tell I was going to like this one!

As we sat down to eat we both went quiet. These tacos were amazing - so amazing that neither of us said a word during dinner - they were too tasty to stop and talk! The spice mix on the chicken was beautiful, certainly very mild which is good as I don't like spice. And the chipotle sauce - well, it matched perfectly with the spice mix and just finished off the flavours perfectly. The salad ingredients we chose were perfect, so it is good to know it is just as good using what you have in the fridge. This kit will definitely be a regular in my house and I look forward to trying some of the other kits too.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 26th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Taco's are a firm family fave in my household with the kids loving the ability to choose their own ingredients and create their own flavours. We have tried other taco kits on the market but my children often find the spice mix to spicy so we usually buy the tortilla wraps and make our own flavouring with herbs and spices. This taco kit however with it's mild combination of herbs was absolutely perfect for a family, not at all too spicy and herbs and spices that the children could tolerate.

We used beef mince for our taco's as that was the children's choice but the box suggests also to use chicken which would also be very nice. I loved how the box had a few different serving suggestions, we tried the grilled pineapple salsa with our meal which worked very well with the mexican flavours, it is great to get ideas of new things to try alongside the meal kits. I have found recipes for things I had not thought of or tried before and really enjoyed them.

In the kit you get 10 taco sized tortilla wraps, they are a lot smaller than your traditional wrap but as they are for taco's they are the perfect size and comparable to the size of a hard shelled taco. For a family of four 10 tortillas is a good amount and we did have leftover wraps. The children found the soft wraps easier to use than hard taco shells and it is much more enjoyable for me eating it this way I will always use soft taco shells from now on.

The accompanying Chipotle sauce was very nice also, it was a change from a salsa you might otherwise serve with taco's and I loved the smokey flavour. I liked that again it was quite mild as I have tried chipotle sauce in the past and it has been very hot. I think Farrah's have done a great job of creating meal kits that are full of flavour and family friendly, we will certainly be buying these again.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 26th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Tacos are a favourite in our house. The girls (7 and 9 years old) love that they can put whatever they want in their tacos and are not made to eat anything they don't. The Farrah's Taco Kit was the last of their three dinner kits that we tried. As with the others there were lots of ideas on the box and you could pick and choice what you put in your tacos.

The children were surprised that the tacos I put on the table were not the hard "U" shaped ones they are used to. I was pleased with that as the hard taco shells are usually stale or broken. We had neither of these problems in the Farrah's kit. The tortillas were soft and fresh. We were all happy to stuff them with our fillings. I added the spice mix to the mince as it was cooking and was pleased to see it mixed well and I didn't need to add any oil or water to make it work. The girls were too scared that it would be too spicy for them so refused to try it. My husband and I both enjoyed the flavour and thought it was quite mild as the box had suggested. The creamy chipotle sauce was a nice addition to our tacos and quite a different colour and flavour to the sauces in the other kits.

All of these meal kits have been a hit with both my husband and myself and we will be stocking up on them if we see a good special. I am now sold on soft tacos and doubt I'll eat a hard taco shell again.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 23rd of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge lover of Mexican food and I love how items like tacos, burritos, and enchiladas can be easily customized to each person's liking. When I saw that Farrah's had made some new Mexican themed meal kits I was over the moon. I put my request in and eagerly awaited for my review box to arrive in the mail. Upon opening my box and seeing the Taco Meal Kit, I quickly pulled it out to investigate it closely.

Looking at the front of the box I was captivated by the bold colours. The colour combination works so well together with the brightness contrasted by the dark colour. The image of the tacos all made looked very delicious and appetizing. In the box, there were enough flour tortillas to make 10 tacos which is very generous. On the night that I decided to use the kit I was making dinner for 3 adults and 3 children. I had already looked at the recipe on the back of the box so that I could make sure I had all the ingredients necessary. When I removed the tortillas from the box I was a tad surprised at the size of them, I had expected them to be slightly larger. The mild chipotle sauce sachet was generous but we still would have liked some more.

Following the instructions on the box, I proceeded to make dinner. Everything was easy to prepare and the aroma while cooking was mouth-watering. I chose to leave out the radishes from the recipe as no-one in this household likes the taste of them. The tacos and filling were easy to assemble, and despite my concerns, the tortilla's weren't too small and could contain a decent amount of filling.

After my first bite of one of my tacos, I quickly realized that I did not particularly like the onions that had been soaked in cider vinegar. They were too bitter for my liking and my children also picked them out and left them aside. However, I loved the rest of the flavour combination with the cabbage, lettuce, chicken and chipotle sauce. The box claims that the tortillas "won't crack, won't split when rolled" and I was amazed to find that this was, in fact, correct, no matter how many times my children decided to deconstruct then reconstruct them.

I have always been a proud supporter of Farrah's products due to them being NZ made, and of a consistently high quality. I would suggest that everyone tries this meal kit and customizes the tacos to suit their own taste. Next time I think I will try using mince, lettuce, tomato, chilli beans, grated carrot and grated cheese. This kit is very affordable and I look forward to trying more products that are available in the range.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 21st of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This meal kit was the smallest of the three that I got to try but don't let its size fool you because it still helps to provide a nommy dinner and plenty of flavour. I knew the box size meant the tortillas would be small but I was still a tad surprised at how small, until I remembered that tacos aren't meant to be big. The packet clearly states on the side that this is suitable for vegetarians which is great as I love being able to use a range of products but hate having to read every single ingredient on the packet. The packet also feature a recipe on the back as well as a couple of other suggestions, none of which you have to use but it's handy to have.

I opted to make my own mix for thonights tacos, so I started by saut√ ©ing some mushrooms, onion and garlic before throwing in some sliced cabbage and diced nutolene (a vegetarian protein). I removed some of the mix so my kids could eat sans spice and then added the spice mix to what was left and let cook for awhile. Dishing up I added some cheese, my mix, some sour cream and a dash or two of the chipotle sauce. My mum and I ate ours and found them to be delish! We had three each and while mum managed to eat all hers I was nice and full after just two. I did find that there was almost no heat at all to the meal but plenty of flavour, keen to have this for dinner again.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 20th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Mexican food is always a real crowd-pleaser in our house. The problem for us is the time it takes to produce them. We can only ever have them as a special treat at weekends when we have the whole afternoon to prepare. That is why I was really excited to try this Taco Meal Kit from Farrah's, as anything to make the production of a meal which everyone is guaranteed to eat is a very good thing!

The box was a bit smaller than I expected, but it was the perfect size to house all of the ingredients, and it's so nice to see a company using an appropriate amount of packaging for the size of the products inside. The box had the recipe on, making picking up the additional ingredients needed really easy. There was also an alternative recipe if you didn't like the original one.

I was quite surprised at how many tortilla wraps were contained inside the packet- there was enough to make 10 tacos, which fed our family of three for dinner, lunch and an afternoon snack the next day. The tacos were very simple to prepare using the enclosed ingredients. Including the pink pickled onions, the recipe only took 30 minutes to prepare (although I left the onions to sit a little longer than this to get them really nice and pink), These would make a perfect pot-luck plate or party appetizer, as they were so easy to prepare and as you can assemble them yourself, everyone can have as much or as little of each thing (which is also great if you are trying to appeal to all of your family's requirements!).

The tacos themselves were out of this world. The spice mix had given the filling a lovely mild flavour, which was really loved by the whole family. The tacos themselves were very easy to fold and didn't split (which is what usually happens to us when we make tacos), and the addition of the onions and smoky sauce on top just finished it off beautifully. The size was perfect too- great for little hands to hold to really feel like they were joining in with the assembling fun.

Overall, this Taco Meal Kit is a must try. The whole family loved them, generous sized portions and such a great flavour make this a really great value product. Great job Farrah's, you have made tacos accessible to everyone!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 16th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Farrah's products are always such a hit in our house and so I was pretty excited to see that they have released a new range of Mexican inspired meal kits knowing undoubtedly that these were going to taste fantastic! Taco's a family favourite when it comes to dinner times, and since seeing that tacos are now both available in soft and hard shells we have switched to using the soft variety as these are just so much easier to handle and eat! The family saw the taco meal kit out on the bench one morning along with a small package each of mince and chicken which were defrosting and couldn't wait until dinner time as they knew this meant only one thing TACOS!!!

Within the very attractive and eye-catching box are all of the spices, sauces and tacos you need to create a delicious and healthy meal, all you need to do is add your own favourite meats and vegetables and your good to go, the back of the package has a heap of ideas to try such as grilled pineapple salsa, and pickled pink onions if your feeling a bit adventurous and have time to try these out. However with time not on my side I used shredded up lettuce, chopped tomato, cucumber, avocado and cheese along with mince and chicken, oh and sour cream.

This meal could not have been simpler to prepare I prepped all of my salad vegetables and popped each one into it's own individual bowl and then seasoned the mince and chicken separately with half of the included Mild Taco Spice Mix each, I popped both meats into separate fry pans and within 5 minutes each of these were cooked and smelling divine as the aroma of the spices was released. I popped these onto the table along with the salad vegetables while I quickly warmed the tortillas in the microwave for a few seconds and then dinner was served DIY tacos it was.

Everyone seemed to go quiet over dinner time tonight, why because we were to busy eating this delicious meal, it was a hit and everyone loved it, Miss 4 actually downed 2 tacos which really surprised me and she commented that "there not spicy for me" after I warned her that she might find them to be a bit spicy, my partner and I agreed that the spice mixture was just perfect and that it added such a nice flavour to the meat and that it worked great with both mince and chicken, we really didn't have a preference for the meat they were both equally as tasty. The winner of our meal though had to be the chipotle sauce, not only was it of a beautiful orange colour but it tasted great a beautiful hint of spice that was so lovely and creamy it tasted great!

With this amazing meal kit from Farrah's there really is no going wrong as you only add the foods you love to make it suited to your own taste buds, super quick to prepare and great to eat Farrah's have done it again and I will be buying this again very soon.

Click here to read the profile of emmzip

Review by: emmzip (Emily)
Dated: 15th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The day my review parcel arrived, I opened the package to find the Farrah's Taco Meal Kit and immediately I wanted to try it as it looked delicious. So I went straight to the freezer and got out a packet of mince to defrost for dinner time as tacos are generally made with mince. Then I read the box to find this taco kit suggests making the tacos with chicken breast but I already had mince out so thought we'd just have it that way.

When dinner time came around I cooked up the mince with the taco spice mix as per the instructions on the back of the box. The instructions were very easy and clear to follow. My sister was joining us for dinner and doesn't like spicy food so was a bit wary after the 'mild spice' on the front of the box, but the taco mix has no spiciness at all. I served the tacos with lettuce, tomato, cheese and the creamy chipotle sauce. The sauce was delicious, again we thought it may have a wee bit of spice to it but no spiciness at all. The instructions said to warm each taco for 1 minute in the frying pan, but I just microwaved the tacos for 10-15 seconds.

On the front of the box, it states 'won't crack, won't split when rolled' so I was really intrigued to give the soft tacos a good trail. I grabbed one and rolled it both ways, multiple times and no rips or tears. I was really surprised as generally, wraps do tear a small amount when rolled up. So big tick of approval from me, nothing worse than ending up with a huge mess due to a taco splitting.

The Farrah's Taco Meal Kit packaging is very bold and stands out on the shelf. The delicious photo of the taco's on the front of the package is very eye-catching. I really like that it clearly states on the front of the box how many taco's it makes and that also included in the kit is the taco spice mix and the creamy chipotle sauce. On the rear of the box is the clear, easy to read instructions and the ingredient's list for each of the 3 components within the box. My partner, sister and I were all impressed with the ease of prepping a delicious meal and the taste of the taco's themselves. I would most definitely purchase the kit again in the future and am eager to try the other kits in the Farrah's range.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 11th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Farrah's Taco Meal Kit is so great and the whole family really enjoyed the meal and it was super easy to make. I did not have all the ingredients but what used worked well and was so yummy we all went back for seconds and thirds. The chicken smelled amazing cooked in the flavouring and when I walked in the door after work it was the smell that got me drooling for dinner. I was lucky enough my partner cooked me tea and he said it was easy as to use the he really enjoyed making tea.

The creamy chipotle sauce was so good and tasty and made the tacos complete. We ended up using grated cheese, lettuce, tomato and red onion with the chipotle sauce and I used a little sour cream and wow the taste buds enjoyed there meal. I loved the samples they suggested on the back to go with it. I would have loved to have tried the pickle onion or pineapple salsa, it would have made it more tastier.

The pack feed 3 adults and we had left overs which were great as I only used two chicken breasts. If my son was here for tea it would have been the perfect amount for all of us, and I think for the price it is great and an easy meal. It would also be a great kit to take camping as its easy and fun and something different to make while camping besides sausages on the bbq. I could see myself having these many more times to come for dinner and I look forward to it. I also cannot wait to try it with different ingredients and to try it with coriander like it suggests as I love coriander. I will be recommending the Farrah‚ ™s taco meal kit to friends and family and looking for it to add to the trolley next time I go shopping.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I think of Tacos Mince automatically springs to mind so I was a little surprised to see a recipe for Chicken Tacos I did not even know they were a thing. I asked the girls what they wanted to do and they both said Mince so we stuck with the family favourite. We adore Tacos not only are they fast to prepare everyone can make there own which makes life so much easier. I decided to make it plain so we could test out the taste and left out the corn and beans I usually add and just had Mince, Onions, Cheese, Tomato, Avocado and Lettuce.

Adding the Mild Taco Spice Mix had my mouth watering as it smelt divine and later on I found out it tasted just as good as well. I had everything prepared in under twenty minutes so I was more than happy. Everyone helped themselves and adding the Chipotle Sauce to the dish was awesome everyone, especially my husband was raving about it - definitely a winner. The girls asked if we could have it again even before they had finished there first bite. It smelt, looked and tasted great.

I am only upset that I did not look at the back properly beforehand because it gave options to add to your meal of Grilled Pineapple Salsa and Pickled Pink Onions which my husband ripped off the box and is dying to try next time we have something similar. The pictures make those items look amazing.

My biggest problem with this meal box is the price I do find it rather expensive when you still have to add the rest of the ingredients. But I guess when you look at the convenience that the meal offers and the fact that in less than half an hour you can have on your table it is a win win I guess. We were all impressed with the meal and especially the fact that it has ten wraps included made it even better. I do like, unlike other varieties, these do not crack or break when you fold them over. Something we will definitely be having again.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 10th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Preparation:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

There was more than enough in this pack for four people; as there were just the two of us, we decided to have it for dinner two nights running - always a good thing to do when you are super busy! There is something about November that gets everyone up and energised, whether because the days are longer, or just because all those things that have been accumulating all year have to be completed like RIGHT NOW! And we could not have picked a more versatile meal kit to trial.

On the first night we prepared the tortillas the traditional way, using half the seasoning mix and sauce and 300g of chicken. Ok, that was a little more than the pack suggested, but never mind. We both love chicken! After pan frying the meat and spices, I served them up on the warmed tortillas topped with tomatoes, radishes and spring onions. I did not have time to go shopping for red onions, but the pickled pink onion recipe sounds so yummy that I will be trying it at some stage in the future. That was a delicious meal, with the spice component very understated - I could imagine it would even appeal to the children in our family so I intend to try it on them at some stage.

On the second night, we did something a little different. I had a roast chicken which I had picked up at the supermarket so I decided to use some of that instead of cooking more meat from scratch. I shredded it and mixed it with the remaining half of the spice mix, and put it in the pan to sear the spices, but there was no liquid left in the chicken. Problem solved - I added the rest of the sauce mix and stirred it well; even though this might not have been the "right" way to cook it, we were very happy with the outcome. The chicken was moist and very flavoursome!

Once we had piled the chicken mix into warm tortillas, we added half a tablespoon each of warmed cream style corn, shredded lettuce, finely chopped radishes, sliced capsicum, sliced cucumber, and diced tomatoes to the chicken base and then topped it with a dressing consisting of mashed avocado, sour cream, and a dash of lime juice. It was so good we would have eaten more if we had been able, but there were only five tortillas left! We did have a slight problem with the tortillas being stuffed so full that some of the mixture squirted out, but that is what plates are for - damage control!

I am really taken with this new product. It is not expensive when you think that one packet fed the equivalent of four hungry adults, and you can basically use any combination of protein and vegetables. I am looking forward to another couple of variations next time - hummus instead of chicken, fresh asparagus and courgettes added to the vegetable possibilities, and even fruit (like pineapple, as suggested on the pack). It is not only a good summer meal, but could also make a hearty winter dinner if served as a cheese-and-onion-and-sauerkraut grilled roll with a vegetable soup to go with it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.8
Product reviews for listing 7545: Get Real Food Tomato Sauce -  Produced by Get Real Food

Product image for Get Real Food Tomato SauceOur tomato sauce is free from refined sugar and preservatives, with a whole lot of good stuff.

Made with NZ-grown tomatoes and pumpkin, then sweetened naturally with dates and apple juice, this sauce is a hit with the whole family.

Ingredients: New Zealand Tomatoes (30%), Water, Pumpkin (24%), Cider Vinegar (Brewed from apple cider), Apple Juice, Dates, Onion , Sea Salt, Spice, Garlic, Herbs.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We don't have much money to do this, so we're going to have to think."
Sir Ernest Rutherford

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream