Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 24th November 2017 - 18:32:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion review

« Farrah's Wraps - Hummus reviewFarrah's Wraps - HummusThe Emperor's Revenge reviewThe Emperor's Revenge »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7738 - Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Brand / Source : Farrah's

Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Price:
$5.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFarrah's Caramelised Onion Wrap is a deliciously flavoured wrap packed with sweet and savoury caramelised onion pieces. This classic combination with a hint of thyme brings a unique and slightly sweet flavour to the Farrah's range. With onion pieces that you can see, filled, folded, wrapped, stacked or baked, they'll taste great in a huge range of wrap recipes.

Ingredients:
Wheat Flour, water, vegetable oil [with antioxidant (307)], onion (4.5%), brown sugar, vinegar (balsamic, malt), corn flour, mustard (seeds, flour), herb, salt, spice, rice flour, emulsifier (471), raising agents (500, 450, 341), preservatives (282, 202, 200), acidity regulator (297), dextrose, stabilisers (466, 415), enzymes.

Contains gluten.

    •  This product is manufactured on equipment that also produces products containing sesame seeds and soy.
    •  Vegetarian
    •  Vegan
    •  Halal Certified
    •  Dairy Free
    •  Yeast Free
    •  New Zealand made

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cramelised onion   dairy free   farrahs nzmade   halal certified   vegan   vegetarrian   wraps   yeast free
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Taco Meal KitFarrah's Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Snyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Salted CaramelSnyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Salted Caramel
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - HummusFarrah's Wraps - Hummus
Rating: 8.6
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Ming Du Takeaway Food BarMing Du Takeaway Food Bar
Rating: 7.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw these, I really wanted to have a try, we don't eat wraps very often in our house because the last lot I had ripped, fell apart so it put me off spending money on products that didn't suit what I wanted it for. I thought I would bite the bullet and give these a go since they say on the packet easy to roll and no ripping.

I thought I would use these for a wrap dinner with left over roast chicken. These were so soft when I pulled them out and they also smelled really good, like onion. There was a piece already ripped off in the packet so I had to have a taste before adding the ingredients to the wrap. There was a hint of Caramelised onion but you couldn't really tell it was onion to start with, the caramelised part was the hero of it all.

I added Mayo to the base of the wrap then topped with roast chicken and salad, this is where I normally get stuck trying to fold it altogether and it staying that way. Counted my chicken and off I went folded up the bottom, perfect not rips or cracks, still so soft. Pulled over one side and then rolled to make a perfect yummy wrap. I was so impressed on how it just rolled over nicely and stayed like that, no undoing, so when I made all 6 wraps they were still together when I called the tribe for dinner.

I had no complaints for dinner, these wraps were really nice, pity there was only 6 in a packet but 2 each did work out well. My son who is normally fussy with different flavours actually ate them and enjoyed it, my partner didn't complain either, now if we can get Gluten free ones like this would be amazing lol. We will def have these on our shopping list once a week as they are perfect with left over roast meat. Will have to get some other flavours and try them different ways. Perfect healthy meal idea for sure.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first tried Farrah's wraps a year or so ago through KIWIreview's and fell in love with the greatness that is this brand; they scream quality from the rooftops in so many ways! Being winter has meant we haven't eaten any wraps lately - they seem to be a meal we gravitate towards in summer - so seeing Farrah's had a couple of new products in their range I was excited to try these out. Caramelised onion is a flavour I enjoy and love adding to meals so this seemed like a natural choice to put my hand up for. Being lucky enough to be chosen was an ultimate bonus and saved me a little from the grocery bill (cause either way I will be buying them time and time again) Smile Icon

We used our wraps in a couple of different ways to try them out.... The first night we had them with roast chicken and salad ingredients to make 'traditional' wraps I guess you would say, the only difference was that I grilled them slightly to melt the cheese. This ended up making the wrap a bit crunchy around the edges which made for a great different texture. I was surprised that even with this, the wraps still didn't rip or tear! We also ate wraps fresh straight from the packet = yum all round! And lastly we made wraps into chips by cutting into shapes and baking until crispy. All round we loved every option and although these are slightly more expensive than other options I truly think they are worth it.

These caramelised onion wraps definitely impressed me from first opening the packet, I could smell the product and I could see bits of real onion = amazing! The packet by the way is super handy as its resalable - a feature we often use in our household as its normally only myself and my husband who eat wraps. This time round however Farrah's won my four year old daughter over and she was eating them straight from the packet! They truly are just that good!! Whatever you do, you really do need to add these to your shopping list today Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 20th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love Farrah's wraps and my husband and I love caramelised onion so Farrah's Caramelised Onion Wraps would be a match made in Heaven for us. My girls (7 and 9 years old) on the other hand think that anything with onion in it should be avoided at all costs.Little did they know they ate some of these and loved them.

I first tried these wraps on night when we were having one of Farrah's meal kits and needed to stretch the meal out a bit further. I found that the smell when I opened the packet was more subtle than I expected and wasn't probably wouldn't have been recognised as onion unless you have seen the packet. Miss 7 loved the wraps so much that she was eating them plain without adding anything to them. I found the flavour to be quite subtle but I loved them as it complemented rather than overpowered the flavours of the fillings. For lunch today I made a simple wrap with just sausage and egg in it. Again the onion flavour was a good match with the fillings and the wrap held up to being rolled without cracking or splitting.

I thinks that this is my new favourite wrap although my girls will probably boycott it when they realise that it has onion in it.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 20th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We eat a lot of wraps in our household- they are our go-to easy snack. We also really love the sweet yet tangy flavour of caramelised onion on pretty much any sandwich or salad. I had never tried caramelised onion wraps before, and so when these wraps from Farrah's came up for review, I jumped at the chance to combine two of our favourite things!

The first thing that I noticed on receiving the wraps was the size. The wraps are very generous, more than large enough to make a meal in of wrap (if you can stop eating them that is). The packaging is great- the resealable top is so useful when you don't want to use the whole packet, and also makes it really easy to freeze them to prolong the storage if needed. Amongst the other really useful information on the back of the packet (including the recipe for the picture on the front), was the other uses that the wraps could be put to, which really inspired me to branch out in my thinking of what I could do.

First we sampled these wraps lightly heated. They were delicious- slightly sweet and tangy, beautifully soft and very moreish. The essence of caramelised onion was there, without the risk of overpowering the wrap's filling.

We then decided to sample these wraps in a number of different ways- simply filled with some grilled chicken and salad, as quesadillas with some salami, beans, capsicum, spinach and cheese, and finally cut into triangles and served with chilli con carne as nachos. The caramelised onion flavour complimented all of these beautifully. When cooked, the wraps are crunchy and held their shape well. I was also amazed that despite all of my folding and bending, they never split.

These wraps are amazing. So useful, delicious and such great quality. As a person who has contemplated whether paying a tiny bit more for better quality, I will never go back to another brand. For anyone thinking of trying these, I would say Farrah's wraps will not disappoint you.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 14th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Sometimes I absolutely dread having to face dinner after a long day. Work, school pick up, martial arts practice, homework followed by my youngest having ballet. Then home again to do more martial arts practice and honestly, the thought of dinner is the last thing I want to think about. Farrah's wraps are perfect for these occasions. It takes five minutes worth of prep and then everyone gets to make there own while everyone talks about their day and I don't have to think about anything.

I was so excited when I heard that there was now this option available and even happier when I got selected to try them, as it meant, I didn't need to cut up or fry any onions myself. We usually buy the garlic or spinach variety and when I am feeling creative I make them at home by just frying them in butter and adding brown sugar - I was interested to see how these tasted compared to my own.

I cut up some fresh pineapple, avocado, tomato, brown rice salad, lettuce, cheese, chicken and garlic hummus. I love how simple it all is. Put the wraps in the microwave and heated for twenty seconds and everything is ready. The biggest drama is my youngest taking all of the avocado and tomato before anyone else gets any. Sitting down I became so engrossed in the conversation that I completely forgot what I was supposed to be doing so lucky I remembered half way through, and then it hit me that there was no real flavour coming from the wraps. I asked everyone else if they could taste the Caramelised Onion thru the wrap and not one person could. I scooped off the filling from my wrap and just ate it as it was and again there was no real onion flavour. It had a hardish taste to it but I would not call that onion.

Both hubby and my daughter said they would like another one so I ended up going half with my daughter. That is one thing I love about Farrah's wraps they do not crack or break when you cut them they keep there shape and they freshness. I am really disappointed as I really wanted there to be the onion taste as we love our onions. But alas I think I will stick to the spinach or garlic variety and just keep adding the onion to the fillings.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 11th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I could not have chosen a better time to review this product. We had ended up in Hokitika and thanks to being "in the know" with the locals had been able to purchase half a kilo of freshly caught whitebait for just $30. Not only was this a treat in itself, but whitebait and caramelised onion is a match made in heaven. Add a dozen free-range eggs (also locally produced), a couple of oranges (because we did not have any lemons), and some ready cooked fish pieces as garnish on the side of the plate, and we had the ultimate kiwi dinner!

We had no oven and other proper cooking facilities in the bach were pretty limited, but we managed to get the whitebait and egg mix cooked while the rest of the meal was to be served cold, and by the time we had all finished there was nothing left bar for a few pieces of orange peel. Unfortunately, however, the six of us had eaten the whole packet of wraps so there were none left to try with alternative ingredients. That will have to happen the next time we buy this flavour, but I have to say it is probably the best of all the Farrahs wraps I have tasted so there is no question about whether or not I will be looking for it when I next go shopping.

Before eating my own wrap, I cut a piece from the edge to try it on its own. I had chosen to serve the wraps flat on the plate for this meal rather than rolling them as the orange was meant to be squeezed over the whitebait, and that would not have worked so well in a roll. But that also meant that I was able to taste a little of the wrap unadorned. It was amazing - a really strong flavour of onion which confirmed the initial effect I had noted when I first broke the pack seal and sniffed the contents. It was much more aromatic than any other Farrahs wrap I have tried, and it was that aroma that first made me think of combining it with whitebait and citrus.

I really like wraps when I am on the road. They are so versatile which means you can get healthy ingredients to fill them and have a proper meal ready in a very short time period - with minimal or no cooking, depending on the ingredients chosen for the filling. I tend to go for the Farrahs brand because they don't fall apart, and that is a bonus when you are eating without plates or cutlery as you are less likely to lose half of your dinner in the sand or on a park picnic table where the cleanliness might be in doubt. And if you don't eat the whole packet in one go, the resealable opening keeps them fresh for several days without the need for refrigeration.

To summarise - tasty, practical, look good (especially with the little pieces of onion visible), go perfectly with fish dishes, and inexpensive at around a dollar per wrap. What is not to like?

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 10th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Wraps. a definite favorite of mine but until now I haven't branched out into different flavours so this was a new one for me. I am a big fan of caramelised onions so was very keen to try this one. The wraps themselves are nice and soft, they roll easily and even when packed with lots of fillings, they don't break apart, either when being rolled or being eaten. The flavour was nice though with the fillings added in, I don't know that I would identify it as caramelised onion specifically but still very nice and a noticeable difference from plain wraps.

We tried these out as a lunch item, filling them with lettuce, tomato, cheese and lunch meats. Very tasty and at this time of year, a nice summery feel to them. Like other Farrah's wraps, it is a little higher on the calorie side than I generally prefer but stuffing them full of salad ingredients balances that out for me. That along with the price being a little high for my budget, means these would be more of an occasional lunch option for me. If buying wraps though, I would be more inclined to pay the extra and go for these over other options.

I'd definitely recommend these to others!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Farrah's wraps have always been a high-quality product. Packaged in groups of six within a resealable packet, a lot of thought has been put into keeping the product as fresh as possible for multiple servings. The clear front facing packaging is also useful as you can properly see the product before purchasing.

Opening the packet, the first thing I noted was there was an obvious aroma coming from within the packet; the sweetness of caramelised onions. It was a noticeable scent, but certainly not overpowering; without caramelised onions being written on the packet I would struggle to pinpoint what the aroma was. But knowing it is onions, a closer sniff does remind me of the smell of a salad with red onions and a balsamic vinaigrette (one of the ingredients used to caramelise onions).

The wraps have the same glossy feel to them that the rest of the range has, and the same soft, easy to roll and fold characteristics that we have come to expect. I used the wraps with a bean mix, combining a four bean mix, with some mushrooms, a tomato and herb base, and a generous helping of chilli. The wraps provided a hint of sweetness to the meal, that would usually have a bland flavourless carb-loaded wrap in its place. It made the wrap a part of the flavour profile, rather than just a method of eating the meal.

The one downside for me is the calorie count. One wrap has around 165 calories, which is over 10% of my recommended calorie intake for the day. A tasty product. But not an everyday food for me.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 28th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I don't know what id do without Farrah's Wraps! Since trying them over a year ago through KIWIreviews they have become a staple item each week during grocery shopping, my family absolutely loves the massive array of flavours which they are available in and even more so that unlike other wraps these ones do not rip, split, tear or crack when folded or heated!

I am a huge fan of caramelised onions, I use it to flavour burgers, pizza and of course wraps it is always such a welcome addition for a flavour burst to many meals, so when I saw that Farrah's had developed a Caramelised Onion flavoured wrap I was very excited to try it out! Opening up the package for the very first time I got the most lovely smell of sweet caramelised onion was released, and as I removed my first wrap from the packaging I was even more impressed to see that little pieces of onion and herbs (which i'm thinking are Thyme) straight away I knew that these wraps were going to packed full of flavour... of course I was right, I wouldn't expect anything less from Farrah's!

I decided to first of all cut a couple of the wraps into triangle shaped wedges to create some chips to serve with various dips - hummus, kiwi onion, salsa and caramelised onion to share with a group of friends who were coming for dinner, having baked these in the onion they came lovely and crisp and went great with every variety of dip served. Several of my friends commented that the chips had a sweetness to them, and I had to agree the caramelised onion flavour was certainly there and added a great taste to them, another friend also added that it was nice to be able to actually see the pieces of onion in them as it showed they used a real ingredient rather than a flavouring.

With the 3 remaining wraps these made the perfect dinner for my partner, myself and Miss 4 we all loved them. To serve I decided to try something a little different than usual and folded the wraps into quarters so that they had 3 little pockets, in each of the pockets we each put in our favourite fillings, for mine I had pineapple rings, streaky bacon, grated cheese, avocado, lettuce and crumbed chicken tenders with mayonnaise and tomato relish, the flavour combination inside the wrap was amazing and even with the wrap being so packed full of various flavours I could still pick up on the sweetness of the wrap.

As far as Farrah's wraps go these have to be right up there as one of my favourite flavours alongside the garlic butter wraps. Farrah's wraps are amazing and I love the versatility that this product provides no matter which way you choose to use the wraps they taste fantastic and give stunning results every time, I can't wait to see what Farrah's brings out next for me to try! These wraps be more costly than others on the market but in my opinion they are worth every cent.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 349: Pompeii
Located: The Square, Palmerston North

Product image for PompeiiPompeii has developed a reputation as Palmerston North's Premier Gourmet Pizza Restaurant.

She was opened in 1988 at a big site in the Foodtown carpark, re-located to her current site on the Square in August 2001, and is still one of the most popular dining destinations in PN.

Her original concept was fashioned around a large Pizza style BYO restaurant that provided a delivery and takeaway service as well.

She is ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted."
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream