Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 18th June 2018 - 21:56:24

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Farrah's Wraps - Hummus review

« The Inny-Outy Brollie reviewThe Inny-Outy BrollieFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion reviewFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.9/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7737 - Farrah's Wraps - Hummus
Brand / Source : Farrah's

Farrah's Wraps - Hummus
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Farrah's Wraps - Hummus product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFarrah's Hummus Wrap is an exciting flavour that combines chickpea, lemon juice and real garlic pieces to bring a full flavour to every bite. Every wrap has softness you can feel and smooth edges you can see. We have brought Hummus to the range in a whole new way so that you can keep exploring with Farrah's meal after meal.

Ingredients:
Wheat flour, water, chickpea flour, vegetable oil [with antioxidant (307)], garlic puree, lemon juice (from concentrate), natural garlic flavour, rice flour, salt, emulsifier (471), raising agents (500, 450, 341), preservatives (282, 200), acidity regulator (297), dextrose, stabilisers (466, 415), enzymes, citric acid.

Contains gluten.

    •  This product is manufactured on equipment that also produces products containing sesame seeds and soy.
    •  Vegetarian
    •  Vegan
    •  Halal Certified
    •  Dairy Free
    •  Yeast Free
    •  New Zealand made

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dairy free   farrahs   hummus   nzmade   vegan   vegetarian   wraps
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Birds Eye Vegetable FingersBirds Eye Vegetable Fingers
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Taco Meal KitFarrah's Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.5
Sids Garlic SauceSids Garlic Sauce
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 5th of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

If you were to look in my pantry, I often have wraps of one kind or another as they make a great alternative to bread especially for my lunches at work. I have been lucky to try some of the Farrah's wraps in the past, and I love the fact that they are so soft, fresh and can be folded into a lunch container and still be all in one piece when you unfold them and put lunch together.

To be honest, I have never considered using flavoured tortilla wraps before. I generally put aioli or mayo into mine, and wondered just how much flavour I would actually taste in the wrap. When these hummus flavoured wraps came up for review I just had to request them, and I was excited to receive them in my latest review parcel. I was quite surprised at the size of them, the wraps are definitely very big, but that means you can make a decent sized lunch or dinner with them without having to have more than one. I find the packets for the Farrah's wraps very eye catching. The design is simple and the same on each pack, except that each flavour has a different colour. I am attracted very much to colour, so seeing them in a shop I would be drawn to them.

Open opening the pack I was met with a very fresh smell. Unsure whether there was much garlic or lemon, but definitely the small of a tortilla wrap. Touching the wraps I wasn't surprised to find they were the smoothest, silkiest and softest feeling wraps as other Farrah's wraps I have tried have been just the same. I love the softness of their product, it certainly makes it seem a lot fresher. I took one wrap out of the packet and sealed the packet back up. It is very handy that their wraps include a resealable bag, as I don't have to try and dig out a container to put them in. I also like that they don't have the freshness sachets like other brands do, as I am never sure just how safe those things are if one was to split open. I filled the wrap with some lettuce, capsicum, cheese, chicken and bacon and put on some aioli. They are so easy to wrap, and they certainly don't rip. Another point I have noticed is that usually when I make wraps, I have to use a tooth pick to hold them closed, but with these wraps I simply put a little dollop of aioli on the inside, and they stick together enough to carry the plate and sit down to eat. As I made my way through my lunch I did thoroughly enjoy it, but do have to note that there really wasn't a flavour of hummus that I could pick. Maybe the aioli was a bit of a strong flavour to put in with it, but I tried a little bit of the wrap by itself and still couldn't taste any hummus, chickpeas, lemon or garlic.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 1st of January, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Farrah's Wraps are a regular addition to our shopping trolley and my eldest will only eat their Snack Wraps for her school lunch! I particularly love how they don't crack or split when rolled and they come in a resealable bag so stay fresh. The packet does recommend that you consume them within 5 days of opening but I've found them stay fresh for a lot longer. I do recommend if you have a spare minute to take the time to read 'Our Story' on the wrapper which is quite entertaining. They also provide a range of idea's for the wraps and how to heat (if you like them warm).

When I opened the bag there was a mild chickpea smell and the wraps are a quite large. I first tried the Hummus Wrap with some bacon, lettuce and avocado and have to say that it was delicious. There was a slight hummus flavour to the wrap and it was soft and didn't go soggy which was an added bonus!

One night I decided to spread some garlic paste over one, sprinkle grated cheese on the top and then pop under the grill for 5 minutes. I had just made the lightest, crispiest garlic bread ever and it literally disappeared as fast as I put it on the table. My 7 year old daughter just kept munching away and loved how it crisped up but had some puffy bits!

Overall, these wraps were a big hit with the whole family and so versatile. They make a subtle difference to the plain wraps and I particularly liked the colour which helped to brighten up meals.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always loved farrah's wraps and there are probably not many of the range that I have not tried I was excited to see the new flavours released and this hummus variety got me quite excited as I do love a good hummus with its subtle garlic and lemon flavours. You don't see a lot of flavoured wraps on the market so Farrah's are special in that regards as they offer something a little bit different and the wraps themselves are definitely top of the range with the softness of the wraps and the fact that they do not break when you roll them.

I have to admit I tried the wrap on it's own at first with nothing on it and while the hummus flavour is very subtle you couldn't miss that it was there so they are enjoyable to eat on their own. For this reason I did make some home made tortilla chips to you guess it eat with even more yummy hummus. This was a big hit with the kids they love chips and dips and I would rather use something like this than flavoured chip packets that contain far too much colour and artificial flavour.

Using as a wrap I made salad and chicken wraps for our dinner, while the flavour is subtle again you could pick up on a different taste than a plain wrap and it definitely added to the taste of the meal. Being so soft and fresh they make the perfect wrap there is nothing worse in my opinion than a dry wrap that just splits as you eat spilling the contents all over the place and I have never found a Farrah's wrap that has had this problem.

I love the handy resealable packets to keep the wraps fresh and the fact that you can freeze them until you are ready to use. We do eat wraps more than bread in our house just as they are so much lighter and more enjoyable so being able to have them in the freezer ready to use is a great bonus, and even after freezing and defrosting the wraps maintain the freshness and amazing anti splitting ability that they do from fresh.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 27th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My family and I love Farrah's Wraps, we normally eat the plain white wraps and dress them up with fillings or toast them up as chips. We were all excited to see that Farrah's were starting to make new flavours in their range of wraps and when I had the opportunity to review the new Hummus flavour I eagerly took it up.

I really like how Farrah's keep the artwork on their packet sleeve very similar but alter the overall colour for the flavour, which makes it easier to recognise when they are hanging on their racks at the supermarket. I also love the recipe and use ideas on reverse of the packet as they give you so many ways to mix up the use of the wraps to appeal to all tastes in your family.

I often eat Hummus with crackers, not only to enjoy the tastes like the low-calorie snack it provides. I opened the Hummus wraps and the first smell was a light fragrance of lemon. I decided the try the wrap on its own so I could taste the flavours uninhibited by fillings, sauces or spices, the wraps were lovely and soft with a nice garlic and lemon taste, but really no hummus taste to speak of. I decided then to cut two wraps into triangles, brushed one with olive oil and the other with garlic butter; I placed the triangles onto baking paper and then baked them in the oven. I waited for them to cool and then I served the now chips with garlic aioli, and everyone enjoyed them.

Overall I enjoyed the garlic and lemon flavours that the Hummus wraps offered, but I was a little disappointed with the lack of hummus taste, however, in hindsight most of the hummus I have tasted is flavoured so this wrap is most likely true to plain hummus taste.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 21st of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My family love Farrah's wraps and my husband and I both are partial to a good hummus. I was excited to see Farrah's had added a hummus wrap to their range. This would mean on less thing to add to our wraps which would make a quick meal even quicker. I wasn't sure how mu daughters would like them but try the wraps on them anyway.

The first thing I did with the hummus wraps was to make salad pinwheels for a shared lunch at work. I filled them with ham, grated carrot, cucumber, tomato, grated cheese and lettuce. These went down a treat and everyone commented how nice it was to have a healthy option amongst the food on the table. Due to starting work early in the morning I made the pinwheels the night before and the ones I had left in the fridge at home were still nice and fresh, not soggy or stale.

I have used the wraps several times since the for burritos and we have all enjoyed them although the girls didn't know what they were eating. I found the hummus flavor to be very subtle and wouldn't have known it was a flavoured wrap without reading the packet. When opening the packet I thought I smelt lemon but not hummus. I wouldn't buy these for the hummus flavor but certainly would eat them if offered to me. They are a nice wrap and because of the subtle flavor could be used as any number of ways.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 20th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

If there was a world championship for hummus eating, my daughter would be up there with the champions, such is her love of this dip. And so, when I saw these Farrah's Hummus Wraps, I knew that I (and my daughter) needed to give them a go.

Like the other Farrah's wraps, the packs are resealable which is so useful to increase the storage life without having to decant into another container. The wraps by themselves, simply lightly heated in a pan, were incredibly moreish- hints of garlic and lemon, but also that distinctive addictive hummus savoury flavour which is so hard to describe but delicious to eat. My daughter happily munched on these straight from the pack, giving her instant seal of approval.

As with the other Farrah's wraps that I tried, I was so impressed with the ability to fold and bend them without splitting. They were also really large and amazingly soft. Looking on the back of the pack I was really surprised by the wide range of uses they suggested for these wraps, so I decided to give a couple a go.

We used them to hold some grilled steak, capsicum and zucchini with feta- they added a slightly Mediterranean twist to this dish without overpowering any of the ingredients contained within. We also used a wrap instead of pastry for a quiche. This was such a nice light alternative to pastry, with lots of flavours and a crispy texture. I also tried them layered in a lasagne, which was a lovely light yet flavoursome alternative to the traditional pasta.

Overall I am really impressed with these wraps. Lots of flavours, a generous size and truly multi-functional means that these wraps are great value for money. If you are looking for a wrap that can fit any occasion then you don't need to look any further- great work Farrah's.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 14th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These brand of wraps have become a firm favourite of mine and I like a well made hummus, so I was looking forward to trying this new wrap. When I initially opened this I got a slight hint of lemon, just enough to have me flipping over the pack to check quantities of ingredients and just what was added to make this hummus flavoured. Seeing both garlic flavour and garlic purĂ ©e had me excited as I am a huge garlic fan and so set out to use it in dinner. My first use was to coat a couple of wraps in some homemade garlic butter, slice into small triangles and then bake in the oven. These were a hit with the soup we were eating and there were none leftover. The next day required a quick lunch, so I grabbed a wrap, dumped some cheese, spaghetti and diced onion in the middle and wrapped it up. Baked it in the oven for a few minutes and then chowd down on it. What was great is that even with how wet spaghetti is, the wrap didn't break, crack or split at all, brilliant.

My last use was with rice and a sweet and sour mix on top. My mum joined us for dinner and enjoyed the wrap, she also compared it to some plain and could tell the difference, she wouldn't buy it but she'd happily eat it over the plain. I struggled a bit more to discern any difference between this and the plain and was rather dissapointed I couldn't taste any garlic at all. Mr Ten likes to eat the rice and topping first, and then roll up his wrap to eat last. He declared that the wrap smelt like cat biscuits and then joked that he should try a cat biscuit to see if they tasted the same. He ended up vetoing that idea and stated that even though it smelt like that, he loved the flavour and would like to have it again. I didn't go gaga over this, but it's good to know that's it's another flavour choice for the family.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Wraps are definitely a family favourite in this house especially as we head into summer, they are nice and fast and extremely tasty. Nothing is easier then putting all the ingredients into bowls and placing them on the table and everyone helps themselves - no, mum can you do this or dad can I have more as both girls get immense pleasure by creating there own. We usually get the garlic or spinach wraps and on either we always add hummus to them. When I saw this I thought all of my prayers had been answered.

One of the best thing about Farrah's wraps is they don't crack or break when you fold them over so you never end up with all your fillings falling out. We are definitely chicken lovers and to be honest that is the only meat I have ever had with them, but looking at the back of the packet there is a Lamb recipe that had my mouth watering while reading and I have jotted it down to try at a later date. I think we need to get more creative as we love our Turkish Kebabs and really the world is your oyster when it comes to fillings.

I didn't want to over power my wrap with too many flavours so I kept it very basic and just offered the options of Lettuce, Avocado, Cheese, Red Onions, Chicken and Tomato. I was very keen to try this as I adore Garlic Hummus and I expected to have a taste explosion instead I was left some what confused as to me it tasted extremely plain and I got no other taste from it. I ended up removing the filling and just eating the wrap on its own and again there was no strong taste at all and I am a little disappointed. I asked the rest of the family what they thought and my oldest daughter agreed and said she thought it was a plain wrap. My husband decided to try a different version and made his wrap and then heated it in a fry pan and he said there was a very subtle difference but not much distinction.

Its not something I would purchase again just because we all love our flavour and would prefer to stick to my garlic or spinach wrap. Instead I will continue to buy my Garlic Hummus and just add that to whatever wrap we will be eating next. It had so much potential but unfortunately it did not deliver for us.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 10th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Having already tried the Caramelised Onion wraps, I was keen to give the hummus ones a go, particularly as I am quite a fan of hummus. As with the previous Farrah's wraps that I tried, these ones were soft, easy to roll and didn't break or fall apart like some I've tried in the past. The adults tried these out as a lunch item, filling them with lettuce, tomato, cheese and venison salami (this is reviewed separately) . Master 7 had one with lettuce, cheese and ham and it was devoured pretty quickly, given he is normally a very fussy eater, I was pleased! Personally, I can't say I really noticed a distinctive flavour, to me they actually tasted like a plain wrap, I wouldn't have picked them as being hummus if it weren't for the packet.

Calorie count is something that is important to me and these are a little higher on the calorie side than I generally prefer (surprisingly similar to the caramelised onion) but when stuffed full of salad ingredients balances out the calories. Overall, I would say that these are rather nice but given the cost and lack of noticeable flavour, they wouldn't be my first choice. However as Master 7 liked them, I would consider buying them if I saw them on special.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 10th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

On first opening the packet, I could smell the lemon above anything else - it was strong and slightly sweet, totally obscuring any other flavours that might be in there. This did not really matter as I often find that with hummus - the added flavours usually take over, and the hummus base is lost in the mix. I intended to use the wraps with different fillings anyway so although I did try a little on its own, it did not have a very strong effect. It was what I planned to do next that would make the difference.

We were on the road so I had purchased readymade salads and other items which could be used to assemble the wraps when we stopped for our meal. There was no means of heating the wraps but this did not really matter - I have had Farrahs wraps on other occasions and they are just as nice cold. There were six of us to share the almost-six wraps (because I had taken an exploratory bite out of mine!) so I combined two different fillings, rolled the wraps, and then cut each one in half so that each person could have two different versions.

The first mix was smoked seafood (mussels, kahawai, and tarakihi) mixed with mayonnaise, chopped tomatoes and shredded lettuce. I secured the three wraps with skewers at both ends before halving them as the fish pieces were quite big, but I knew from previous experience that the wraps would not break. However, they might unroll, so I knew to take steps to prevent this from happening.

The second mix was prawn cocktail (made with thousand island dressing) with chopped chives, couscous salad with raisins and pine nuts, and the chopped lettuce and tomato left over from the first three wraps. These wraps got the same treatment, and we then put a half wrap of each variety on to everyone's plate. After that I waited for the feedback!

There was a long silence as everyone concentrated on the food. There was a lot of satisfied grunting going on but not much else. Finally one of the men spoke up. He is Kai Tahu and considers himself something of an expert on fish, so I was interested in hearing what he had to say. But it was obviously going to be good as he was grinning at me. The upshot of that was that he had not spoken earlier because he could not decide which one he preferred - they were both good. As for the wraps, he said they often have wraps at home because they are so convenient, but he had not tasted this variety before and thought it went really well with the smoked fish particularly as the lemon-garlic flavour stood out.

After that everyone else offered their opinions. It appeared we all agreed. While the wraps did not have a lot of flavour on their own, they went perfectly with both lots of fish. It appeared that the combination actually enhanced the flavour of the wraps as well! So success all round, and a product that more people will be looking out for next time they are off to the supermarket.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love hummus. I have on occasions eating half a kilo of hummus in one sitting. The texture and the garlic flavour have always been a great combination, and very helpful in giving me a way to make carrots and celery sticks more enjoyable to eat. So naturally, I was curious to see how the hummus flavours and textures were passed on to this wrap variety.

As is the case with Farrah's consistent packaging, the pack comes with six servings, housed in a plastic resealable package, and a clear front to be able to view the product in the store before purchasing it. Oddly, the description above mentions a flavour that combines real garlic pieces, and yet there are none visible in the product, and the ingredients mention garlic puree (not exactly what I would call pieces).

Opening up the packet, there is a tangy aroma and flavour, most likely from the lemon juice. The product doesn't have any noticeable visual aspects to it; no herbs, and no difference in colouration. This would make me think that the effectiveness of the hummus variety must be all in the flavour. Unfortunately, the end result was lacklustre. Eating the wrap alone with no fillings to confuse the flavours, I could certainly get a bit of sweetness from the lemon juice, but there was very little flavour. After eating the whole wrap, I noticed that my breath had a little bit of the garlic aftertaste going on, but I hadn't received any of the enjoyment of a garlic flavour, just a slight hint on the breath after.

As someone that loves his garlic, I was hoping for a stronger flavour. when I saw garlic puree and garlic flavouring in the ingredients list. At least they named the variety "hummus" and not "garlic hummus", but the flavours were just far too subtle for me. I'll stick to the garlic butter variety. It's not bad (it's obviously a step up from plain wraps), but not enough for me to warrant buying them when there are other options available.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 28th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

To be honest I am not the biggest fan of hummus at all, this is due to the texture of hummus rather than the flavour. When I saw that these had come up for review I decided that I wanted to give them a try as Miss 4 is the biggest hummus fan out there and I decided that in wrap form the flavours would probably go fine and I would be able to eat them, after all when it comes to Farrah's there is no such thing as a bad tasting wrap!

I am really pleased that I got to try the hummus flavoured wraps as they taste amazing, with all of the flavours that you would expect from a hummus style dip but without the weird texture associated with hummus which is what makes me dislike it so much. I was actually very surprised by just how much flavour I could taste in each bite of these wraps, there was a definite lemon scent to them, and a very garlic and chickpea flavour, with a lemony after taste, which at the same time seemed to really bring to life the flavours from the chickpeas and the garlic! Reading the packaging I found that these wraps are in fact made using chickpea flour which explains why they really do taste like hummus!

I decided to try these wraps out in several different ways firstly I cut the wraps into small rounds to use as pastry in mini quiches that I was making, I used them to line some muffin tins and then filled these with a mixture of beaten egg, cheese, salami, tomato, onion and capsicums. I found that the wraps worked really well for this purpose as they didn't go soggy and as they were already cooked all I needed them to do was crisp up which they did perfectly. These tasted great however the strong hummus flavour I had previously tried was somewhat gone.

Next up I used the wraps to prepare lunch for work, I added some mayonnaise to the wrap and then added some shaved ham, tomato, lettuce, cucumber and cheese and wrapped it all up. I couldn't believe how much I could actually still taste the hummus flavours even with the other strong tasting ingredients, I was even more surprised when once I had finished my lunch that I had the strongest hummus after taste! Miss 4 enjoyed a mini wrap of the same style for her lunch also and said it was delicious, to be honest this was one of the first times I have actually seen her polish off a whole wrap, so it must have been good, in her words "this is the best wrap ever!".

As far as wraps go Farrah's have once again hit the nail on the head, great quality wraps which don't rip, break or tear and which are extremely versatile. While this isn't my favourite wrap in the range it is one I would happily buy again if my favourite varieties were not in stock, if you are a hummus fan however this may be right up your alley.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.3
Product reviews for listing 1244: Ham and Pineapple Classic Pizza -  Produced by The Chicago Pizza Company

Product image for Ham and Pineapple Classic PizzaSonny' Beaches' is the family messenger and he always takes a Chicago Ham & Pineapple pizza with him on a job. Having spent some time off shore (for tax purposes only you understand), he's developed a tropical taste for the tangy mix of premium ham, juicy pineapple and our secret herbed tomato base, topped with herbs, cheddar and mozzarella cheese. It's as Hawaiian as 5-0.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Common sense is just experience so ingrained, you use it almost without thinking. The worst thing is, we aren't born with it."
unknown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream