Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 19th November 2017 - 23:38:28

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJs Soda Twisters review

« RJs Berry Twisters reviewRJs Berry TwistersSanta Rosa Sliced Turkey reviewSanta Rosa Sliced Turkey »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.7/10  [13 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7706 - RJs Soda Twisters
Manufactured by RJs

RJs Soda Twisters
Price:
$3.50
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at leading supermarkets nationwide

RJs Soda Twisters product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsTwo twisted flavours in each pack: Cola and Blue Lemonade.

Ingredients:
Cane Sugar, Invert Sugar Syrup, Wheat Flour, Water, Rice Bran Oil, Acidity Regulators (E296, E330, E331 , E262), Burnt Sugar, Flavours, Salt, Colour (E163)

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cola   lemonade   nzmade   rjs   twisters
Other listings you may be interested in:
Crema di Parmigiano ReggianoCrema di Parmigiano Reggiano
Rating: 7.8
Ham and Pineapple Classic PizzaHam and Pineapple Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.3
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden VegetableUncle Ben's Express Rice : Golden Vegetable
Rating: 8.8
Pickapeppa Gingery Mango SaucePickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.3
RJs Berry TwistersRJs Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Mr Cheese - TastyMr Cheese - Tasty
Rating: 8.3
Wrigley's Eclipse Chewy MintsWrigley's Eclipse Chewy Mints
Rating: 9.6
Fresh n Fruity YoghurtFresh n Fruity Yoghurt
Rating: 8.5
Oxford Ham QuicheOxford Ham Quiche
Rating: 9.2
Corn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Brimstone PizzaBrimstone Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Splenda  Sugar Substitute Sweetener GranularSplenda  Sugar Substitute Sweetener Granular
Rating: 6.3
RJs Fruity TwistersRJs Fruity Twisters
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 16th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Opening up my KIWIreviews package, I was excited to see a bag of RJ's Twisters in my box. I received the Blue Lemonade and Cola variety, which sounded delicious!! I was making up the kids snack boxes for after school activities and decided to put in one of each flavour to their boxes. Unfortunately for me - and the kids, there was ONE blue lemonade in the entire bag. Whilst I understand that machines are involved in the packaging (I would guess) when a bag states two flavours, you do expect more than one piece of one selection. While this was disappointing, that was probably the only thing I did not like about the Twisters.

The packaging of the Twisters is bright and bold - definitely attracts the eye, and does well to show the product inside. The nutritional information shows these are high in sugar and salt, but hey - they are confectionary, and designed to be a sometimes treat, so no real surprise there! I love that the packet is a nice thick packet, and not see through, and very easy to tear open - all combining to make this really feel like a treat!

I love liquorice so had all fingers crossed that these would be as nice as many in the RJ's range. I was definitely not disappointed! I had thought that the cola and blue lemonade would be twisted together, hence the name Soda Twisters, but finding them separate was not a bad thing either ! They have a lovely sweet aroma - like the coke bottle lollies from my childhood... They have a great flavour - not overpowering but just right!

We have already bought others to have - with the kids being the ones urging me on the most, and for kids that are usually ALL about chocolate, that is saying something!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 8th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As with the other RJ's twisters we tried these were a big hit with the whole family and we loved that they are different to other RJ's products in that they are not liquorice but retain some of that taste and texture. I love cola flavoured lollies myself but these days I find cola bottles a little harder to eat as I have sensitive teeth that can't handle a lot of hard chewing. These twists have a soft eating slightly chewy texture but are definitely easy to eat a bit like a soft liquorice. This made it enjoyable for me to eat them as I didn't get the jaw pain and tooth sensitivity.

Like with the Berry Twisters my son made me giggle in that he had to check the cola twists were not black lollies as he does not like black liquorice or aniseed flavours. I pointed out to him that these in fact were not even black they were a darkk brown and they taste like Cola. They quickly became a hit as he too is a fan of cola lollies, although the lemonade had a more appealing colour for young children being a nice bright blue he did seem to prefer the Cola in taste which left me mostly getting the lemonade to try for myself.

I probably didn't like these as much as the Berry Twists mainly because the lemonade was not quite the preferred flavour to me, I enjoyed the cola however and would happily buy these again in the future.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 5th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I looooove cola flavoured lollies,mid they can get it write, lemonade I'm not as fussed on but haven't met one that I haven't liked, yet. Out of the three options, this packet have slightly less sugar than the other two but whowzahs does it have more sodium, almost nine times more than the others which seems huge but I guess necessary for the flavours to not be too sweet. I decided to make the classic NZ lolly slice but replace the marshmallows with these and the slice was a huge hit, the twists were a great addition and not only did all the kids like it but they were asking me to make the dish again and again.

My mum enjoyed the collapse flavoured one more than she expected as she's not a Coke person, it's not a personal choice of her when out and about. My ten year old liked the cola, my eight year old gave it a thumbs up and thumbs down and my six year said she hated it. I didn't find the flavour strong enough, which is probably why my mum liked it and I didn't. My six year old and I wouldn't eat the cola again but the others would. The Blue Raspberry was enjoyed by my ten and eight year olds and they would happily eat it again. My mum thought it tasted like a weak green apple and had a plasticy taste to the final product, I concurred with her and miss six said she never wanted to eat it again.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 5th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Anyone that knows me can vouch for the fact that I love sweet food items over savoury items. Lately, I have been enjoying liquorice especially as a snack on the run. When I first saw the RJ's Twisters range, the flavour that instantly caught my attention was the Soda ones. Ever since I was a younger girl I have always loved juice and fizzy drinks, my favourites being lemonade and cola. My favourite lollies are also the sour cola fizzy bottles, so my hopes for the taste of this non-liquorice was high.

The packaging was really eye-catching with its vibrant blue section teamed with the reddy brown below. I opened the packet and was met with an odd smell but couldn't work out what it smelled like. I first decided to try a lemonade Twister as I wanted to save the cola one to savour. I popped the lemonade one in my mouth and chewed it. I was quite disappointed in the taste, it did not taste at all like lemonade and felt plastic like. The after-taste was not pleasant and I needed to get a glass of water to freshen my mouth. Feeling quite deflated after that experience I tried the cola one. Unfortunately, the cola didn't taste much better in my opinion. I wasn't sure if it was because I was expecting an intense cola flavour. After sucking on the cola piece for quite some time I eventually started tasting a bit more of the cola flavour.

Overall I do not think that I would personally purchase these in the future.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 4th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Mmm cola flavoured lollies...I was hooked from then! When I was younger, there were non-sour cola lollies which of course you just can't find now. Only super sour ones, which is not a bad thing, but sometimes you just want something that tastes nice, and doesn't give your taste buds a kick! So I was all over these when they came...after hiding them from the littlies as I know they wouldn't appreciate them haha.

So initial bite (and what a chewy bite that was!!) was not as expected. The cola taste didn't hit me as very strong, and I would actually put it down to not enough flavour for me. Maybe I've grown accustomed to sour cola now? I'm not sure, but I thought I had better try another one...and another one, just in case. The flavour didn't get any worse, but it didn't grow either. Constant taste of a weak cola, like a fake coke fizzy drink. Not bad entirely, and I did go on to eat almost all of them after sharing a couple with hubby (not a cola fan anyway but actually did enjoy these).

The blue lemonade twisters were a real surprise. I wasn't expecting much as I've never tried blue lemonade before and I'm not a huge lemonade fan anyway. But I must say, I will be buying a pack of these in the near future as they were phenomenal! So much nicer and full of flavour than I had imagined, especially after tasting the cola ones. The texture was nice, played nicely in your mouth with the twisting ripples. The chew factor was great, not too chewy that it stuck to your teeth, but not hard that it felt like your teeth were going to be ripped out. And didn't dissolve quickly so I found I didn't have to eat a lot of pieces in one go.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 28th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was really lucky with this round of reviews parcels and I managed to get all 3 packets of RJs Twisters. I decided to do a taste comparison with my 2 kids and the 2 kids next door (ages 3, 4, 6 & 6) and see what their favourite flavour is. I started by sitting the kids at the table and blindfolding them. I then handed each child a Twister and asked if they liked it, some were easy to tell by them spitting out said twister, others they devoured the whole thing. After they'd tried all 6 I took the blindfolds off and asked them which colour they liked best. They all pointed to different colours and then tried that one, the results were very mixed. My daughter and my neighbours daughter, both 6, liked the two purple colour ones but when it came to eating them they didn't like the flavour and much preferred the green apple one and blue lemonade one. My neighbours son, 3, who's favourite colour was green really liked the green apple one also. My son, 4, was the only one who loved them all but his favourite colour was green and his two most favourite flavours were raspberry and blue lemonade.

It was very interesting to see how the kids perceived the colours and flavours and had to actually decide their favourite without the use of one of their senses. I'm quite happy I did it this way because if I had given them the choice of colour first and they didn't like that one, like the girls and the purple ones, then they would have been hesitant to try any of the others.

After the test I asked the kids what they thought about them overall and once again they had differing opinions. My daughter said some of them were really yuck and she didn't even want to try anymore but some of them were really good so she kept trying. My neighbour's daughter said the pieces were quite big and she didn't need them to be that large. My son just kept asking for me for more, his version of "yummy". My neighbour's son liked a couple of them but I did notice that he only really ate a bite from each.

Overall, I think these two flavours, the Cola and Blue Lemonade, were a miss and a hit, none of the kids liked the cola flavour but two out of four kids liked the Blue Lemonade the most. This could be down to the fact that these kids have never actually tried cola of any type and don't like the taste of it but if it was tried on someone older or even adults they may prefer it because they were bought up on it more. To be honest, I don't think I'd buy this particular packet again because I can see all the blue ones disappearing rather quick and only the brown cola ones remaining. If they were available in individual flavours then I'd definitely buy the Blue Lemonade ones again.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 26th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When my daughters saw these sweets their eyes lit up and they couldn't wait to tuck in. The Soda Twisters come in an attractive blue and red foil bag and have a large picture of the sweets so you know exactly what you are getting. The two flavours are Cola and Blue Lemonade.

The pieces were a good size (4 - 5 cm long) and according to the pack, there are 4.5 servings in a pack (approx 4 pieces). In my opinion, 2 pieces are more than adequate for a serving and after 2 pieces, my girls were satisfied and didn't hassle me for more! They liked the flavour of both and could tell that the brown piece was cola but had no idea the blue twister was lemonade flavoured. To be honest, I couldn't tell either. Neither flavour was really strong but the twisters were sweet and chewy (and like most chewy sweets, got stuck in my teeth!)

My main gripe with these is that I couldn't separate the strands like in the photos! You could see the separate strands that made up the twister but they were too far congealed together to be able to be separated. This wasn't a major but potentially more fun could have been had with the twister and I was annoyed I couldn't be a child again and play with my food!

Overall, a tasty treat that the whole family enjoyed.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was rather excited to hear that one of the new bags of lollies in the RJ's Twisters range contained the flavours of cola and blue lemonade as this flavour combination took me right back to my holiday over in America several years ago where everything was cola flavoured and also either blue lemonade or blue raspberry flavoured both of which were flavours that I loved, every time we went to a zoo or theme park we would get a slushy and more often than not it would be half cola and half blue lemonade, and the best thing about this was that there were unlimited free refills, exactly what you needed as it was just so hot!

Like the rest of the packages in the Twisters range I again really loved the packaging for this flavour combination it was again very attractive with it's metallic foil bag and the colours really popped and were done really well so that they actually matched the colours of the inside blue and brown twisters. Since receiving these twisters for review I have noticed them several times in various different supermarkets and I can happily say that they are very easy to identify in amongst other products.

Taste wise these were great the cola really did taste like cola and the smell you were hit with of the cola when opening up the package was delightful and smelt like the real thing, I am one who loves fizzy cola bottle lollies, but I have to say that these cola twisters were even better than these! As for the blue lemonade twisters these were extremely yummy to I loved the flavour they to me tasted like a lemonade lolly with perhaps a slight berry taste to them. There was a pretty even mix of both flavours in the pack which was lucky as my partner doesn't like cola so wouldn't try these at all, but he did love the blue lemonade flavour and said he'd be happy for me to buy this mix again as long as he could eat all the blue twisters and me the brown, id be happy with that!

As I had been busy cooking up a chocolate slice which has melted chocolate over the top, I decided to use my remaining melted chocolate to dip the twisters in so that they became chocolate coated, I would never have thought after popping the chocolate coated lollies into the freezer for about 10 minutes that I would have been able to add such a yummy twist to the already delicious twisters, bu the addition of chocolate to these was really good, Miss 4 thought they were even more incredible and loved the surprise of seeing what colour was inside once she had bitten into them.

Once again this is another great product from RJ's and one that will be joining me in my supermarket trolley again very soon.

Click here to read the profile of teacher691

Review by: teacher691 (Tania)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I saw these in the shop I was dying to try these. The packaging is bright and inviting and really stands out on the shelf at that was what initially caught my eye. With fathers day approaching it was a perfect time and opportunity for my kids to get their Dad who has the biggest sweet tooth a new treat. Both my kids and I eagerly awaited the big day.

On the morning as soon as his gift was given they pack was opened. The smell was reminiscent of our childhood and we were drawn in. The cola flavour was the first to be tried. It was sweet and tangy just like drinking a glass of the best cola on a warm summer day totally delicious. Everyone was eager to try the blue lemonade as this was a flavour we had only heard about. They were really yummy and tasted like blueberries and lemonade. We got a good mix of the flavours and these were devoured in one session by my husband, myself and my kids so a great hit with all ages.

These Rjs twisters were great value for money and we will definitely be purchasing these again and we look forward to trying the other in the twister range.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 19th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Ever since I have seen these for sale in my local supermarket, I have been dying to know what Blue Lemonade tastes like. I have heard of Pink Lemonade and know our normal Lemonade but the colour Blue is foreign to me and it has silently been killing me not knowing the answer. As soon as I received my KIWIreview package of goodies this is the first thing I opened.

Now for some reason I had expected the two flavours to be twisted together as one, so was pleasantly surprised when I found they were both separate. The packet was easy to open and when popping my hand in I was not expecting them to be as big as they were - I had an image of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory when they ate those small lollies and I was also expecting it to be a lot firmer then what it was. I guess that is why 'one should never assume things' as everything I had guessed had been wrong up to that point.

I decided to try the Cola first and I was reminded of my school days eating Hubba Bubba Cola Bubble Gum (although my husband thinks they are more like the Popsicle Cola Ice Blocks) they were fantastic so full of flavour and something I could happily eat a packet on its own easily. The next thing was the Blue Lemonade and I am still having trouble trying to figure out the flavour. There is the subtle undertones of a Lemonade drink but then it is also kind of similar to the Lemonade Ice Blocks. I found the flavour was weaker than I was expecting but it had a nice after taste and one that I have grown to enjoy the more I eat them.

The packet actually is very deceiving and I have found there are actually a lot in this little packet as I have ate more than my fair share, my husband has had quite a few and both my girls have had one or two pieces. As a family we all agree that these are very addictive and something we would all eat again. I think my husband has been the most vocal over them, which is huge as he does not usually comment on lollies and is usually a one or two piece man but he was going back for more last night and just kept saying 'these are so good'. My daughters were begging me to take a flavour each to school today but as I wanted them all to myself I said no.

Definitely something we will be having again. I think they are a little big so I have cut them in half and they are the perfect snack size while sitting on the couch reading a book.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

A staple of many children's childhood memories is getting some pick and mix lollies from the dairy; especially getting sour cola bottles. So I was definitely curious to see how this products cola flavour stacked up to the classics. Opening the bag, you can smell that sweet cola scent, it almost has a slight vanilla and citrus tang to it too, which is nice. Grabbing a couple twister pieces out of the bag, and they were very consistent in size and had a nice weight to them. Very firm to the touch, so they didn't make a mess if you held them.

Now, this packet contains two flavours, Cola, and Blue Lemonade. I don't know what blue lemonade actually tastes like; is it a blue colouring adding to a lemonade flavour? or is it it's own flavour separate from lemonade? A search on google seems to lean towards blue lemonade being a combination of the blue coloured berries with lemonade. Part of my confusion is because I could barely make out any flavour when I tried the blue ones. There was a sweetness, but nothing I could properly attribute to a fruit or other flavour.

The cola twister, on the other hand, is a completely different story. Very dominant in flavour profile, if you roll it around in your mouth, there is little worth writing home about, but once you bite into it, you get a burst of flavour. Very much cola flavoured, with a little bit more spice flavouring than the classic cola bottles. It actually warms the tongue if you leave it to sit there for a little bit, and gives a little tingle as well. A good strong flavour, but not something I could have too many of, which in reality makes the blue lemonade the perfect partner, diluting the flavour to an extent.

Luckily the product is great value for money, as the entire pack was gone before the end of my workday.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 15th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am sure that we are all guilty of enjoying a sweet treat now and then, myself and my husband included! It is always nice to find something new that we can enjoy together so when these Soda Twisters from RJ's came up for review I just had to try my luck at getting a pack. Lucky me - as I opened my latest review parcel I found not only one, but all three varieties of these RJ's Twisters in my box. I quickly took a photo of all of the products I received and just had to open a bag to try.

Asking my husband which packet he would like to try first he opted for these Soda Twisters that feature cola and blue lemonade flavours. I quite like that each packet includes two flavours as it is nice to have a bit of variety and not have just the same flavour. The packet was very eye catching and the colours fitted very well with the product. The blue matching the blue lemonade flavour and the red matching the cola flavour. This would certainly stand out to me on the shelf in the supermarket. I also like that the product contains no artificial colours or flavours.

Opening up the packet I was met with the most amazing cola smell. It reminded me very much of the cola popsicles I used to enjoy as a child. Unfortunately the blue lemonade smell didn't stand out at all as the cola was very strong and took over, but this didn't deter me as cola is one of my favourite flavours when it comes to lollies. I tipped the contents of the packet out into a little bowl so that I could count how many pieces there were. The first thing I noticed is that there was an uneven mix of flavours. We had 18 pieces in total, 12 of them were the cola flavour and only 6 were the blue lemonade flavour. Sometimes I do wonder why the flavours can't be even, but I guess in this instance the cola is probably the more popular flavour but I would have preferred the same amount of each flavour.

The lollies consist of three strands that have been twisted together. It is certainly very clear why they have been names Twisters. I opted to try one of the cola flavoured pieces first. As I took my first bite my mind went straight back to my childhood - the flavour was a perfect representation of the ice blocks I remembered earlier. The lolly is very soft and chewy, but not chewy enough to stick to your teeth too badly which I liked as there is nothing worse than eating a very chewy lolly and having most of it stuck to your teeth. The piece was a nice size, providing me with two bites of the cola lolly. Next up was the blue lemonade. The flavour of this variety was a bit more subtle than the cola, and I still had a bit of a cola taste in my mouth which probably didn't help. Had I been given a piece without being told the flavour, I'm not sure whether I would have ended up guessing lemonade or not, the flavour was a little too weak to really be able to say that it was. It was very pleasant all the same, and being that little bit weaker I didn't have such a sweet after taste either which was nice. As my husband was eating them he tried a little bit of each one by themselves before eating them together - to him the Twister name meant they were meant to be joined together. He agreed that the lemonade was more subtle, and he said that the cola was his favourite.

All in all, this is a sweet treat that we would buy again. I did have plans of finding creative ways to use this variety, but it tasted so good just as it was that we ended up making our way through the bag before I got the chance to try anything else. Sometimes it is nice to find a treat that is good just as it is! Thank you RJ's.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 13th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love the colour combination of these two varieties. And the flavours are just as contrasting as the colours would indicate. They taste authentic, just like the soft drinks that have inspired them, and, because cola is one of my favourite flavours, I did enjoy this new experience. My friend, who was helping me to review the packet and whose favourite drink is lemonade, was equally enthusiastic.

The pack contains a generous 20 pieces and comes in an easy-open recyclable bag. The package design is eye-catching, with the swirls of the twisters echoed in the background graphic. Being into electronics and things technical, I could not help but look at the twister ends as though they were electric cables - a personal reaction, I know, but one that emphasised for me that this is a confectionery product for modern times. It means that it will be easily located on a supermarket shelf with its bold graphics and glossy finish.

Since the flavours are so strong, we decided to carry out a couple of experiments. We were having pavlova for dessert so decided to slice some of the pieces lengthwise and use them to decorate the top. The effect was quite pretty but it did not quite work when we came to eat it; there was too much contrast between the soft texture of the pavlova and the chewiness of the confectionery. Both great on their own, but not in combination.

We had planned a walk around the harbour (we were spending the weekend in Ohiwa) and had already organised a scroggin mix to take along. My friend thought it would be a good idea to slice a couple of the lollies into small rings and mix them into the scroggin. This was a much more interesting way to serve it, and just the thing to provide an extra burst of energy when we most needed it. The cut pieces were not at all sticky which was a bonus,

It was raining that evening so instead of staying outside, we opted for an evening at the movies. I had brought a couple of new release DVDs with me; because this part of the world does not have cellphone coverage and tethering will not work without a cell hotspot, we did not have the option of streaming. However, we enjoyed our DVD experience, eating the last remaining twisters as we watched, just as though we were in a real cinema. What a treat! This is one product I will certainly be looking out for when I am next in a supermarket.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 49: Apple Crumble Dessert Cake -  Created by unknown

Product image for Apple Crumble Dessert CakeCAKE
- 125g butter
- 1 cup sugar
- 2 eggs
- 3/4 cup low fat milk
- 2 cups plain flour
- 4 tsp baking powder
- 2 Granny Smith apples


TOPPING
- 1/2 cup plain flour
- 2 tbsp brown sugar
- 1 tsp baking powder
- 50g ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted."
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream