Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 26th September 2017 - 20:31:59

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : Strawberry review

« Grin Natural - Whitening Toothpaste reviewGrin Natural - Whitening ToothpasteAnathoth Farm Lemon Curd reviewAnathoth Farm Lemon Curd »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.8/10  [5 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7691 - Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : Strawberry
Brand: Grin Natural

Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : Strawberry
Price:
$7.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Grin Natural Products

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at all leading supermarkets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : Strawberry product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWe don't think kids need artificial sparkles or a fake bubble gum flavour to get excited about brushing... so we've left the unnecessary extras out! Grin 100% Natural Kids toothpaste is a gentle and effective gel specifically formulated to give the kindest treatment to your little one's baby teeth. Developed in cooperation with New Zealand dentists and chemists, it helps to clean your child's entire mouth. Clean, white baby teeth + naturally soothed gums + a great taste that even the fussiest little brusher will love - now that's something to make kids and their parents grin!

    •  Made in New Zealand from 100% natural ingredients
    •  Organic Calendula Oil, Organic Sea Salt and Organic Aloe Vera help to inhibit bacteria growth and soothe gums
    •  Available in natural orange or natural strawberry flavour; "delicious", real fruit flavours that even the fussiest little brushers will love.
    •  Natural sugar-free xylitol adds a hint of natural sweetness and helps to prevent plaque build-up with regular brushing. All the yum, with none of the bad stuff!
    •  NO Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS), NO Triclosan, NO added sugar, NO preservatives, NO artificial colours, NO artificial flavours, NO fragrance and NO harsh abrasives
    •  Fluoride, paraben and palm oil free
    •  The only natural toothpaste available in New Zealand dental clinics
    •  Not tested on animals
    •  Does not contain gluten
    •  Recycle the tubes through our recycling program

Key ingredients:
    •  Organic Calendula Oil This sunshine yellow flower doesn't just look pretty - it's pretty powerful, too. Calendula oil contains potent antimicrobial and antioxidant compounds that are effective in killing harmful, cavity-causing bacteria. The anti-inflammatory properties of calendula oil also make it gentle and soothing on developing teeth and gums.
    •  Organic Sea Salt Ever wondered why dentists suggest rinsing with saltwater after a dental procedure? The alkaline nature of sea salt increases the pH balance of your mouth, creating an environment that bacteria really, really hate. The sea salt we've put in Grin is certified organic, so it retains more of the good stuff such as calcium, magnesium, silicon, phosphorus and iron.
    •  Organic Aloe Leaf Extract We all know how good Aloe Vera feels on sensitive, stressed skin - but did you know it's great for oral health, too? A study published in the May/June 2009 issue of General Dentistry found that Aloe Vera gel was just as effective as regular toothpaste in cleaning teeth and eliminating cavity-causing bacteria. Unlike regular toothpaste, however, Aloe Vera is all-natural and contains no harsh abrasives - making it a gentler choice for your little one's mouth.

Directions for use: For best results, brush at least twice a day after meals.

Check out Grin Natural Products onlineClick here to see all the listings for Grin Natural Products Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
aloe vera   calendula   fluoride free   gluten free   nzmade   organic   palm oil free   paraben free   preservative free   sea salt   sls free   strawberry   sugar free   toothpaste   triclosan free   xylitol
Other listings you may be interested in:
Green Tea ScrubGreen Tea Scrub
Rating: 8.9
Quattro Energy razorQuattro Energy razor
Rating: 7.0
Raid Fly Control System - Portable CubeRaid Fly Control System - Portable Cube
Rating: 9.6
Air Freshener Wild LavenderAir Freshener Wild LavenderPest Xit UltraPest Xit Ultra
Rating: 9.1
Grin Natural - Whitening ToothpasteGrin Natural - Whitening Toothpaste
Rating: 8.3
Martha Gardener Lavender Wool MixMartha Gardener Lavender Wool Mix
Rating: 10.0
Sunsilk Co Creation Shampoo Straight PerfectionSunsilk Co Creation Shampoo Straight Perfection
Rating: 9.2
The Scented Soap Deli - Apricot BlossomThe Scented Soap Deli - Apricot Blossom
Rating: 10.0
Primal Earth 24hr MoisturiserPrimal Earth 24hr Moisturiser
Rating: 9.5
Chux Cleaning Cloth Magic EraserChux Cleaning Cloth Magic Eraser
Rating: 9.6
Dynamo Front Loader Laundry LiquidDynamo Front Loader Laundry Liquid
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 24th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Brushing teeth is one of those tasks that can either be a parenting breeze or it can be a continuous battle, and toothpaste can be a big part of the equation. We have found a brand in our house that the children are happy with, and I'm afraid I'm a, if it's not broke don't fix it kind of a person, in other words, we don't change our children's toothpaste flavour. Needless to say, Miss 11 was very excited when a new toothpaste turned up. She stated I like the packet, and I had to agree with her, it's very visually attractive in a bold red, black, and white.

When we squeezed it out I was surprised to find it was clear gel, and had a gentle strawberry smell. The flavour was a lovely mild strawberry, and it didn't bubble and froth too much, and it seemed to do a great job. After a week of using it, my girls had lovely clean teeth. My eldest daughter who generally uses adult toothpaste gave it a try too and the only difference I noticed was that her breath wasn't as fresh smelling as it was with adult toothpaste. I passed this on to my friend with toddlers to see what the younger kiwi children thought of this flavour, she reported back that it was a resounding success, and they were wanting to brush their teeth after every meal!

As a mum, I really liked that this toothpaste contained only natural products, and it seemed to tick all the boxes for children, clear gel toothpaste, mild flavour, sweet smell, and bright attractive packaging. This toothpaste is safe for use for babies over six months, which means you don't have to wean your children from a baby toothpaste to a children's toothpaste which is great.

The price seems a little expensive for the size of the toothpaste, but you get what you pay for, and the fact that it is one hundred percent natural ingredients, sugar-free, sourced and made from New Zealand means I would be willing to purchase it.

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was really intrigued when I saw Grins 100% natural strawberry toothpaste that I was super keen to try it. My son has an issue with his breath that it doesn't matter how many times he brushes his teeth his breath doesn't smell clean and was wondering if using a more natural product would work better than the normal ones with all their chemicals.

Sadly upon getting my son to brush his teeth, we could still smell his breath and upon asking him to do it again it didn't get any better. The natural strawberry flavour was not strong enough to mask the smell that our normal brand with the traditional mint additive does. The kids did tell me they liked the flavour of the strawberry though and I'm sure for kids who don't need a strong flavour it would work well but unfortunately for us, it didn't work.

I think it's a great idea to bring out a more natural product versus the chemically enhanced ones we normally buy. The price is a lot more than the ones in the local supermarket so this might be a disadvantage to Grin. I would recommend this for people to try if they can get away with a more natural product, especially for kids.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 9th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Teeth brushing is Miss 4's least favourite job and whenever it comes time for her to brush her teeth she will more often than not stand in protest and refuse to do so, not even buying her a toothbrush which features her favourite Frozen characters seems to help, the reason being that the reason behind this is the fact that she doesn't like the taste of mint flavoured toothpastes or any other toothpastes that we have tried to give her as a matter of fact. With strawberries being one of her favourite fruits I was very keen to try this toothpaste out on Miss 4, who was also very keen to try it once she saw the pink packaging with the dinosaur on it without even knowing what flavour it was.

Having never used a natural toothpaste before I really wasn't sure what to expect from the grin toothpaste as it is 100% natural, I did wonder if it would do the same job as a normal toothpaste or if it would be lacking in someway. Over the course of the last week Miss 4 and I have been trialing this out twice a day, morning and night as we have brushed our teeth and I am pleased to say that I am rather impressed with the results. The toothpaste appears to be a lot runnier than normal toothpaste so you do have to be a bit careful when squeezing it onto your toothbrush, but in saying that it also makes it much easier to rinse I have found. The flavour is great it tastes just like fresh strawberries and Miss 4 is the hugest fan we have had not a single drama about brushing our teeth since receiving and trying this, and she is often begging to do her teeth now, she loves the teeth and says it reminds her of strawberry pudding.

With all natural , organic ingredients you can rest assured that this is a product you can trust and that is good for your teeth, and one which will help to protect both teeth and gums and also help to prevent plaque build-up. Priced at $7.99 for the smaller than usual tube size is quite steep but I am more than happy to pay the price if it means that I can rest assured that Miss 4 has clean, healthy and strong teeth all the time, the cost is nothing compared to what could be if her teeth weren't in top condition in years to come. I am very interested in trying out more products in the grin toothpaste range, especially the orange one for Miss 4 as I'm sure that this will be another winner with her.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 4th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My girls (7 and 9 years old) are very fussy when it comes to toothpaste. There is only one type of toothpaste they like and refuse to brush their teeth with any other paste. When I was given Grin's natural kids toothpaste I wasn't entirely sure how it would go down with them. I told my girls I had a kid's toothpaste for them to review and they were excited especially when I told them it was strawberry. "I love everything that is strawberry," said my youngest.

As it was just before dinner I gave them both a tiny bit of toothpaste on their finger tip to try and they both loved it. The girls are now keen to brush their teeth. There have been no reminders about teeth since we got the tube. My husband,who is anti natural toothpastes since he is a strong believer that fluoride is the only thing that works, found the toothpaste and asked me about it. My girls both told him it is strawberry flavour and it is yummy.

Although it is a kid's product product I have been using it for the last week to get an indication of what it is really like. The first thing I noticed is that is is a clear colour. There is no colouring added. The toothpaste isn't as thick as other toothpastes. This meant that it came out of the tube a bit faster than I was used to so I needed to be careful when putting it on my brush. The taste was a lovely mild strawberry flavour which was a lovely change from the strong mint flavour of most toothpastes. As first I was concerned that it wasn't really cleaning my teeth but I certainly don't have the furry feeling that I would have if I had skipped brushing my teeth.

This toothpaste is what I needed when I was pregnant. The only time I vomited was brushing my teeth and I was sure it was the strong mint flavour of the paste combined with the brush down my throat triggering my gag reflex. At the time I searched the supermarket shelves for a toothpaste that wasn't mint.

I am sure I will be buying this toothpaste regularly as the girls and I are sold on it.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 1st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My daughter and I were divided on this product at first. We both loved the fact that it is made from natural products and is therefore safer if children swallow instead of spitting (and many of them do!) But she was concerned that, although it is free of undesirable additives, it also does not contain fluoride. She had always understood that this is needed to minimise the chance of tooth decay. It is a difficult one as a child who brushes regularly and then ingests the fluoride along with the toothpaste is at risk of overdosing on the fluoride because the developing teeth cannot cope with too much of it. This is going to be an ongoing debate.

We gave it a trial with the two children to see what their reactions might be, and we adults both tasted a little too. I liked the taste immediately; it tasted like real fresh fruit and if I were a child I would love to use it! There was no funny aftertaste and the taste lingered rather than dissipating too quickly. My daughter had the same reaction as I did: she also said it was a good size to take when travelling.

Miss Five also thought it tasted like real fruit, and more than a week after first trying it she is still looking forward to teeth brushing time. In fact, she has to be watched because she likes to use too much on her toothbrush. She was intrigued by the way it "squeaks" when you massage it into your gums, and thought the gel was pretty!

Mr Seven was not so keen on the flavour. He has a very strong sense of both taste and smell, and he thought it did not taste authentically fruity - however, he quite liked it and said he was happy using it. He too commented on the appearance of the paste - and he loved the packet! He used the product with an electric toothbrush and said he sometimes swallowed it, but he does not do that with just any toothpaste as they don't all taste as good.

Both children said their mouths felt really clean after they had brushed, and they thought they would like to buy it again. Strawberries are a favourite summer fruit for both of them so I am sure the flavour had something to do with their choice. They were delighted to find that there is an orange variety as well and would like to try that one next.

Their mother and I were pleased to see how readily they took to the new toothpaste, and now they have started to ask if it is time to brush their teeth rather than waiting to be told several times in a row to go to the bathroom.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 5106: Lip Balm
Brand: Eternal Essence

Product image for Lip BalmDry, Cracked Lips? A moisturising lip balm

Website: www.eternalessence.co.nz/lip-balmsClick out to an external site

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream