Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 22nd October 2017 - 23:00:11

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt review

« Eureka Premium Popcorn - Dark Chocolate reviewEureka Premium Popcorn - Dark ChocolateEureka Premium Popcorn - Caramel reviewEureka Premium Popcorn - Caramel »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.7/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7674 - Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Brand / Manufactured by: Eureka Popcorn NZ

Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Price:
$4.59 / 70g tub
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Eureka Popcorn NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At selected supermarkets and retail outlets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt product reviews

Normal "butterfly" popcorn pops out into a wildly-shaped mess, with bits of husk that get stuck between your teeth. Not Eureka Premium Popcorn! We use a special variety called "mushroom" popcorn that forms large, roughly spherical balls of tastiness!

Popped and sprinkled with sea salt, this is the classic flavour. Comes sealed in a resealable 70g tub.

Ingredients:
Corn, sugar, salt, vegetable oil

Check out Eureka Popcorn NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Eureka Popcorn NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
gluten free   gmo free   gourmet   popcorn   preservative free   salt   soy free   sugar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Dark ChocolateEureka Premium Popcorn - Dark Chocolate
Rating: 9.2
Kinder SurpriseKinder Surprise
Rating: 6.3
Fry's PopsFry's Pops
Rating: 8.3
Rufus Teague - Honey Sweet  sauceRufus Teague - Honey Sweet  sauce
Rating: 9.8
Mr HangiMr Hangi
Rating: 9.0
Chin Wags Restaurant and BarChin Wags Restaurant and Bar
Rating: 9.0
GoNatural Nut Delight barGoNatural Nut Delight bar
Rating: 9.1
Meal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati RiceMeal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati Rice
Rating: 9.3
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Sour Cream and OnionEureka Premium Popcorn - Sour Cream and Onion
Rating: 9.0
Eureka Premium Popcorn - CaramelEureka Premium Popcorn - Caramel
Rating: 8.9
Wilton Dab N Hold Edible AdhesiveWilton Dab N Hold Edible Adhesive
Rating: 10.0
Gluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'EatGluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'Eat
Rating: 9.3
Avalanche Coconut SugarAvalanche Coconut Sugar
Rating: 8.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 29th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I always eaten popcorn thats caramel covered or butter lovers, so I was looking forward to trying a popcorn that was Sea Salt flavour as I thought it would be something different from my norm.

Eureka Premium Sea Salt popcorn comes is a very attractive cylindical canister that is easily opened and resealed again with the plastic lid supplied. I thought the artwork reflected the appearance of the popcorn very well inside and after studying the label, I noticed popcorn was made in Malaysia and offered Non-Genetically Modified Corn kernels with no perservatives - which was fantastic.

My kids and I were keen to try the popcorn and we were impressed by the perfectly popped kernels which were so light and fluffy looking, we each popped a couple into our mouths and we were immedaitely struck by the sweetness of the kernels. We all struggled to taste the sea salt, which was disappointing due to the fact that was the flavour listed on the packaging.

Don't get me wrong, the popcorn was easy to eat, and I did quote enjoy the flavours but I was left feeling a bit ripped off as I have tasted the same before and it was all a bit same same for me. It should also be noted that the packaging can not be recycled (I checked with my local council), which is disappointing in this day in age. So unfortunately I have had to give Eureka popcorn lower grading in flavour and personal choice.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I love my popcorn. Anytime I go to the movies, I need a large popcorn and a large frozen coke. Every time. I love the warm buttery flavour. That being said, the traditional butterfly popcorn it does have its downfalls; the shapes are inconsistent and fragile, so it's easy for them to break and make a mess, and the kernels get stuck in your teeth ever so easily. So I was interested to see how this product stacked up against my favourite movie food. Generally, popcorn will go a bit rubbery and stale once it cools down, so I wanted to see how the product would combat that.

The popcorn comes in a Pringles-style can, which I kind of like; Pringles are well known for filling their packages as much as possible, rather than having a package full of air. Opening the lid, it is obvious that Eureka have gone with the same philosophy. The packet is stuffed to the brim with popcorn. Funnily though, the nutritional information suggests that the package holds only one serving, and yet the product comes with a resealable lid. USeful if it takes more than one serving, but if you're expecting it all to go in one go, it's a bit of a waste of packaging.

Grabbing a piece of popcorn, I noticed that it felt glazed. It didn't have the dry feeling I was expecting from salted popcorn. Looking closer, I could see it definitely was coated in something. Checking the nutritional information more thoroughly I noticed that 33.7% of the product is sugar. Considering Coca-Cola is only around 11% sugar, I was quite shocked. I was expecting a salty, savoury flavour, instead, I'm hit with a flavour reminiscent of that candy corn you could get from the old Blockbuster video stores.

Is it a bad flavour? Not at all. But I was expecting salted popcorn. The sugar is such a dominant flavour, that it is difficult to even tell salt is an ingredient at all (the product contains less than half a gram of salt). But it must be mentioned that I am a fiend for salt; absolutely love salt on everything. It's not meant to complement and draw out other flavours, for me, salt is the flavour I'm looking for.

It's not what I expected, and not really what I was looking for. I wanted a strong, salty flavour. I got a salty hit with a few mouthfuls as I ate my way through the pack (do be careful, there is a silica pack inside), but I feel guilty after eating it all. The sugar content is really not what I wanted in a premium popcorn.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 31st of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love popcorn and my children do too, it really is a movie watching favourite we most often buy the microwave popcorn that you make in the microwave because my eldest child is a real buttery popcorn lover. I am not a huge fan of the oiliness that comes with butter popcorn in the microwave bags but do love that salty flavour so was keen to try these. I was intrigued that it had sugar in the ingredients as I wasn't expecting to see that in a salted popcorn.

The taste was pretty spot on but I did feel the sugar (sweetness) came through a little too strong for me personally and I would of loved more of a salty taste. It was quite similar to a movie theatre popcorn in that you get the sweet and salty but the shape of these is so much better quite a unique popcorn shape with the same taste as popcorn but a much easier to eat ball shape.

My daughter was not the biggest fan for her they lacked that butter taste and she opted for the caramel variety I also received to review which suited me well as I definitely did prefer the salted popcorn. I still agree that the price is good value for money in that the tubes have a great portion amount and being in this tube makes it easy to reseal and keep the popcorn fresh so none gets wasted by going stale. All in all I really enjoyed these and would be keen to buy them again.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 30th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I like salt on my popcorn (usually when it also comes with butter, though not how the Americans like their butter...) and always add some when we make popcorn at home, though don't eat items that say they are only salted as I find they get too oily. However I am always happy to try something new and was happy to see this arrive. The front loudly states its salted but I noted on the back that there is sugar here as well, so right away was dubious about how salty this might be and so I tried not to expect too much.

As with the other flavour I tried, this container is full to the brim with popcorn which adds to the value. My eldest tried this and whilst he didn't really enjoy it, he also didn't hate it. My six and eight year olds both enjoyed it with my six year old wanting more and more. I tried some but didn't enjoy this as much as I hoped. I could taste barely any salt at all, in fact nine times out of ten I couldn't even get a hint of salt, which was a shame as I would have liked more salt, some pieces had the perfect amount of salt but the majority were sweet, not salty at all.

I wish this had had more salt and so I wouldn't plan on buying this unless the salt was more pronounced.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 29th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Popcorn is one of those marvellous snack foods that you can never tire of. There are so many different flavours and combinations to choose from but sometimes there is just no beating the humble Sea Salt. I haven't met a person yet who doesn't like salted popcorn and honestly I don't know if they'd be worth knowing.

Eureka has done a fantastic job with their Sea Salt flavoured popcorn. It's definitely salty but it is also sweet. The best way I can describe it is Sweet and Salty rather than Sea Salt flavoured which is just perfect for me but others might be a little confused and expecting something a little different.

I didn't really have any huge plans for this popcorn other than eating it during a movie night so instead I decided to have a popcorn tasting event with my family and all 3 flavours of the Eureka Popcorn that I received (Chocolate, Caramel and Sea Salt). Although my family enjoyed the Sea Salt flavour, none of them marked it as their favourite. My husband couldn't decide on a favourite and said all were good. I really liked this flavour and it was a very close second for me. The freshness of each piece and the evenly distributed flavour were a huge plus and something that will keep me coming back for more tubes.

My husband put it best when he said "these popcorns are good separately but I can see myself getting bored of the same flavour, the best way to have them is having them all together like this. You never get sick of one individual flavour because you get a different one with each handful."

Overall, I think this Eureka Sea Salt Popcorn flavour is great and if you are wanting something that everyone will enjoy, regardless of the situation, then this is definitely the flavour for you. The tube may look small and highly priced for the size but they seriously squeeze as much popcorn into the tube as they possibly can without ruining the perfectly popped kernels. I, for one, will definitely be keeping an eye out for more packets of these and am really keen to trial the last flavour now.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 28th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I left the traditional salted popcorn till last - I wanted to see if it was as good as the different flavours on offer from Eureka. It was actually quite interesting - although the pack said it was "original sea salt" flavour, there was a discernible sweet flavour as well. When I looked more closely at the ingredients, I found that sugar was second on the list, well ahead of the salt!

After my initial reaction, I found that I did like the combination. Sweet and salt seems to be in fashion these days, with salted caramel heading the list, so I suppose I should not have been quite so surprised. In fact I had to stop myself from eating the whole lot in one go because once again I had planned to test it with two friends who were coming over to watch a DVD series with me.

Since it was to be a traditional popcorn-and-movie session, I decided to remove the flakes from their original pack and put them into paper cornets like those you sometimes get at fairgrounds. Some fizzy drinks with straws and I had the scenario all set for a fun viewing.

The three of us finished the entire container of popcorn and could probably have eaten more, but unfortunately I had only the one packet to share. The pack actually states that it is one serving, but in that case it is an extremely generous one! Had I not been sharing, I would not have decanted the contents into my paper cornets because the product would actually keep better in the tin.

What I really liked about the popcorn, and this is something that both my friends agreed with too, was that there was no mess. The flakes held together beautifully; there were no crumbs or dust to clean up afterwards, and no fluffy or hard bits to make you choke (something I can do with great expertise when I usually eat popcorn!) My friends were intrigued that I referred to the individual pieces as flakes because that is something they associated with breakfast cornflakes, but apparently that is the correct term for a popped kernel no matter what the taste! So in evaluating this product I have also learned a new word.

I liked the way that a silica gel was included to keep the contents of the packet fresh. This would be especially useful if you wanted to eat some and save the rest for another day. Not that there was any danger of this happening But next time I try them I am going to serve them with a fresh salad. They are so crisp that I think they would hold their texture if mixed and served immediately, and I can see that they would go really well with a combination of olives and shredded salad vegetables - provided the salad is not too moist. The flavours would be stunning together.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 28th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is the one flavour my daughter had been dying to try because the container was blue and it is her favourite colour. I have also been very curious to try this flavour, but for completely different reasons - basically, because I love my popcorn and I can be very fussy when it comes to salted ones mainly because of the quality at the cinema at times. The container is bright and inviting and the popcorn picture on the front looks like fully clouds that you just want to pop in to your mouth.

Opening the container was a breeze and my daughter had her hand in there before I got the chance to ask her if she wanted to try one. Her hand was back in there again before I had even had my first one and she had a huge smile on her face saying 'yum'. It is fair to say my family love their popcorn. I finally got one and the first thing I have to say is I love 'mushroom popcorn'! All the pieces just feel so light and are always fresh and I agree I have not had any stuck in my teeth to date. The second thing I have to say is it the perfect consistency of salt and light air.

These popcorn's are a winner. When you think how much popcorn is at the movies compared to what you get in one of these containers it works out roughly the same the only difference is the quality you are receiving from this brand. Every single one has been pretty much the same size and every single one tastes so good.

Is it something I would buy again - absolutely. Does the family all enjoy - absolutely no doubt about it. My only complaint would have to be, before you know it the container has been emptied and you are left wanting more.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 11th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I've been a fan of popcorn for as long as I can remember, but for most of that time, it has only had 1 flavour - salty butter. I refuse to pay $18.00 for a tub at the cinemas, so have always made my own. Popped in hot butter, sprinkled with salt. It's really only been in the last 12 months or so that I have encountered these new "fancy" flavours, so something as simple and classic as this flavour was actually quite interesting for me.

It's simple, it's basic, yet it was a wonderful new flavour for me. It wasn't oily, it wasn't too salty, it had a slight sweetness... and one certainly couldn't fault the portion size - unlike every bag of crisps in existence, these tubs are packed FULL, right to the foil seal... as the linked photo shows. Literally, not even room for one single kernel more to fit in.

I was planning all sorts of wonderful food experiments for this... but alas, I fell victim to the flavour, and a desire to "quality check" just one more pop to see if the flavour was as uniform as the last one. Naturally, watching a classic TV show in the background, I fell into autopilot mode, and next thing I know I was groping around the bottom of an empty tub seeking just one last morsel. Instead I find something genuinely surprising - a bag of silica gel to absorb any moisture in the tub, and a "refreshment chip" - a plastic-like square that a bit of research informs me is made from natural plant extracts and reduces odours and acts a non-invasive preservative by preventing mould growth. Brilliant!

Overall, this is a really simple but tasty popcorn. Not 100% sold on the price tag though, but then I am also loathe to pay "going rates" for something I could, in theory, make for myself... even if my best efforts don't taste quite as good as these do! Think I may have to buy a few (dozen) more tubs to see if I can work out the secret recipe... #munch

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 4393: Cadbury Honeycomb Fingers -  Brand: Cadbury

Product image for Cadbury Honeycomb FingersCadbury Chocolate Biscuits Fingers in Honeycomb flavour.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Consider the postage stamp: its usefulness consists in the ability to stick to one thing till it gets there."
Josh Billings (1818 - 1885)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream