Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 23rd November 2017 - 05:26:53

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > MoonPie Bites review

« Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced reviewCloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate IcedGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Sticker Activity Book reviewGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Sticker Activity Book »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.4/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7632 - MoonPie Bites
Manufactured by Chattanooga Bakery

MoonPie Bites
Price:
$2.99 / 88g box
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by International Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

MoonPie Bites product reviews

MoonPie has been crafted by the Chattanooga Bakery, a fifth-generation business, since 1917 and has become an iconic American snack with over 1 million MoonPies produced each day.

Now, to celebrate our next 100 years, we are proud to bring you MoonPie Bites - an impoppably delicious MoonPie candy treat.

It's S'more fun as a bite! *No campfire required.

Allergy Info:
    •  Contains wheat and soy.
    •  Contains milk.
    •  Packaged in a facility that also handles milk, soy, egg, wheat, peanut and treenut products.

Check out International Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for International Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
biscuit   chocolate   cocoa   marshmallow   milk   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mexican Creations: NachosMexican Creations: Nachos
Rating: 9.1
Caramel Cashew Nut BarCaramel Cashew Nut Bar
Rating: 8.4
Station Grill Rubs - Raspberry ChipotleStation Grill Rubs - Raspberry Chipotle
Rating: 9.0
BITE ME - LollieBITE ME - Lollie
Rating: 9.8
Chicken Parmigana Deli Choices RollChicken Parmigana Deli Choices Roll
Rating: 8.3
Hubbards Cookies & Cream RumblesHubbards Cookies & Cream Rumbles
Rating: 9.0
Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
Oven Baked Sandwich: TSBOven Baked Sandwich: TSB
Rating: 8.5
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun SeasoningMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun Seasoning
Rating: 9.7
Sids Smokey Garlic SauceSids Smokey Garlic Sauce
Rating: 9.3
Chocolates Are Us - Ginger BrittleChocolates Are Us - Ginger Brittle
Rating: 9.4
Cadbury Dairy Milk Freddo - Peppermint LilypadCadbury Dairy Milk Freddo - Peppermint Lilypad
Rating: 9.0
Sealord Tuna Sensations - SataySealord Tuna Sensations - Satay
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 8th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Growing up I seemed to watch a lot of TV shows that were based in America, and watching these shows introduced me to the different types of American foods that are popular there. The main food I seemed to keep seeing was S'mores. The S'more consists of a Graham cracker with marshmallow and chocolate that is heated till it goes gooey. I frequently saw that these were toasted over a campfire and they looked delicious and my kind of treat.

When I saw these MoonPie Bites available to review on the KIWIreviews site I was excited, to say the least when I saw them in my review box I was eager to open and try right away. The packaging is a perfect size for grasping in a single hand. The front of the box is very busy visually, there is a picture of the MoonPie Bites showing the actual size, which is just bigger than the size of a pea. I think the picture of the moon with a bite out of it is a clever addition. The marshmallows pictured look soft and the chocolate looks delicious, I was very excited. On the back of the box, there was a brief description about MoonPie.

upon opening the box I was very surprised just how little they were, and didn't think there would be much flavour. I popped one in my mouth and chewed it till it was gone which didn't take very long hehe. I must admit I was quite disappointed. I thought that the texture was quite solid, where was the gooey marshmallow I was so looking forward to? The chocolate was strong and smooth and worked well with the other flavours, however, the MoonPie Bite left a horrible after-taste.

In conclusion I do not think I would go out of my way to purchase these, but that is just my personal opinion.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 7th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have never tried a smore before other than the smore variety of pop tart but having a lot of american shows on sky tv I have heard a lot about them. I think chocolate, marshmallow and biscuit is a pretty winning combination altogether and you can see why it is such a big hit with american's and be so popular with the children. My children having watched a lot of disney channel knew what a smore was even though they have never had one before.

I liked the taste of these and I think with the bite sized pieces they were very enjoyable I can imagine a normal sized smore would be quite sickly with all the different ingredients. I'm not sure what a graham biscuit is but I am assuming it is a bit like a digestive as I found the biscuit itself must of been quite plain which is probably necessary with the marshmallow and chocolate. I felt I got enough of the flavour with the size of these bites which were quite similar to that of a m&m.

My kids liked them so the box did go down quite quickly between the three of us although it was a decent size box for the price of the product so there is definitely enough for sharing. I would buy them again as a treat for the family.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I noticed this product up for review I just knew I had to put my hand up so to speak and then kept my fingers crossed in the hope I that I got the opportunity to try this product. I am not American nor have I ever been to America but boy oh boy do I love some of the "American treats". Its wonderful that these are available in New Zealand thanks to companies like the wonderful International Foods who provided this sample. I love s'more's and anything chocolate/marshmallow related - they both bring me fond memories of camping holidays! Something I am trying to pass down to my own children as well - aged four and two - they were also keen to try out this new treat when it arrived!

I have to say that this product wasn't at all what I expected! I don't think that's an entirely bad thing, just simply that it was different to my perceived expectation in my mind; perhaps because of the packaging? I thought this product would be a lot more like real marshmallow inside than what the product ended up being like. The more I ate these little morsels of goodness the more I liked them. My husband and our two kids (aged four and two) had no problems making their handfuls disappear. The Moon Pie Bites are full of bits of biscuit and covered in dark chocolate; the type of treat that once you start eating them its hard to stop! It's a lucky thing there are lots of these in the packet because by the time the four of us had a few each there were still plenty left which was a pleasant surprise. Deciding we needed to stop eating them for the day I placed the packet in the fridge. When the packet caught my attention a few days later I quickly put some in my mouth before the kids noticed haha! I was interested to see that keeping this product in the fridge had changed it somehow and I actually liked the new textures even more than when the moon pie bites were at room temperature.

Adding these to my dessert one night meant I created the ultimate chocolate lovers dream. Warm chocolate pudding, chocolate fudge ice-cream and moon pie bites - wow what a creation! The moon pie bites really added that something extra to this dessert and gave it the texture it required. I will definitely be buying this product again, even if its quite simply only for this dessert....YUM!!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 15th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Moon Pies are very much an American product that my girls have only had once or twice. I did know that the idea of bite sized Moon Pies would appeal to them. I was right. The packet disappeared in record time and I'll admit that I certainly had more than my share.I expected the bites to be a miniature version of the traditional Moon Pies but instead they were a ball shape about the size of a jaffa.

They had a chocolate outer shell with biscuit and marshmellow inside. They were the sort of thing that you can't just eat a few of. Although there were plenty of bites in the box once you start eating you don't want to stop. If the manufacturers had wanted us to eat less they would have made the box smaller or the plastic bag inside resealable.

The bites don't have a strong flavour. Of the three ingredients the chocolate is the dominant one. The bites would make a good addition to an ice cream sundae or to decorate a cake. Another good idea would be to have them as a surprise inside the bottom of an ice cream cone. These were a novelty and a nice change from out usual treats.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have only eaten proper Smores once in my life, and that was as a kid on a trip to the States... and I have to say, they tasted nothing like these. Since then I have tried a number of times to make my own, to varying degrees of success, as I can't help but try to vary the ingredients to try and find a taste profile that suits me best. In the end, I basically gave up, because the closest thing I could find that had biscuit, marshmallow and chocolate, is a commercially-produced product that was cheaper to buy than replicate. So I was quite curious about these, since they ought to be quite authentic, considering they are made in America - home of the Smore.

So, after getting the box open - which was actually very easy - and the plastic bag open - which wasn't quite as easy - I took a few for a small taster. Different. A lot of "biscuit", not much "marshmallow" and only a thin taste of "chocolate" - so I had a few more to see if this was standard or just dumb luck to grab the "runts" of the pack. Nope, they all seemed to share this recipe... and that's where I started to lose interest. Biscuit-balls with chocolate is not what I think of as Smores... but despite that I had s'more.

Eventually, I couldn't bring myself to eat any more so put them aside to offer to Mr9 in a few days time. I thought it may have been best to store them in the fridge, so when I pulled them out a few days later, both Mr9 and I had a couple. Strangely, the flavour was better, and a bit more appealing... but still sadly lacking in marshmallow.

Overall, a nice treat, one that would be good for chomping on in a movie... but not one I plan to buy again in a hurry. I definitely think these need more marshmallow to them.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 13th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

MoonPie is something I saw a lot of during my travels around America although for some unknown reason not something that I tried which is funny considering I enjoy chocolate, marshmallows and crackers/biscuits. Moonpies are often mentioned on American tv shows and movies and I have several times seen them making an appearance on The Simpsons, so when I saw these pop up for review I decided it was time for me to try them.

I loved the packaging that the Moon Pie Bites came in it was bright, colourful and had so much going on in the box, with the picture of the moon and the image of chocolate and marshmallows both Miss 4 and my partner were eager to try these out so we opened up the packaging. My initial thought that there were a lot of bites inside the clear plastic bag which was inside the box so lot's to go around, much to my liking as I love to try out my review goods in more ways than one. They were all roughly in uniform size and each was well coated in chocolate, they were of similar size to the New Zealand icon the Jaffa.

My family and I took a few of the pieces each to try, and Miss 4 straight away declared them yummy saying that were "yummy, yum crunchy things" though she couldn't distinguish what they tasted like. My partner said they were ok and though he would happily eat them he wouldn't go out of his way to buy them, sadly I had to agree with him although they were nice I probably wouldn't buy them over other products. I think what put me off them was perhaps that I was expecting them to be in a lot more like a S'more, with a soft and gooey marshmallow filling, with a crunchy cracker between, however these were more like a sugary mix of cookie/cracker with the colouring and flavour of a marshmallow that was encased in a dark chocolate. I would however I decided like to try a Moon Pie of a usual size rather than as bites as I feel this may be better suited to what I would like.

With about half a box left I decided to make up half a batch of rocky road to add these to as a dessert to take along to dinner at a friends, with these already being in the size of a small ball it meant there was no need to chop them up which was perfect. I combined them in a bowl along with some mini marshmallows, macadamia nuts and some dried blueberries and then mixed in some melted milk chocolate and put it into a tray to set, once set it was cut into pieces. Everybody liked the crunchy pieces of cookie that these bites added.

Though not a product I would personally buy again you may like them, I just had a different idea of what they may be like.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have had Moon Pies before, both commercially produced and home-made, but this was my first introduction to the miniature version. I thought there would be a couple of large biscuits inside the packet, but was surprised on opening it to discover lots of tiny sweets. I had intended to cut the biscuits into small pieces so my friends could help me to review them, but as it happened there was no need to do this. There was plenty for everyone to try, and although the packet announced that there were two servings, I thought there was more than enough for lots of people!

The sweets are melt-in-the-mouth perfection. The chocolate is dark which suits me as I don't like it too milky. This melts away, leaving a chewy inside of marshmallow and biscuit. Mr Eight removed his from his mouth so he could see what the insides looked like, and said it looked like a light brown pea but it certainly tasted a lot better! Whereupon he popped it back into his mouth and finished it. His grandfather, meanwhile, was delighted when he realised he had encountered another item that his false teeth could manage.

One of the children said they were a bit like jaffas, but the other two disagreed strongly. They pointed out that the chocolate in jaffas is on the inside whereas with the Moon Pies the chocolate is on the outside. Although the room was warm, the chocolate did not seem to be melting on their hands so that was a plus for me. Some confectionery can be very messy to eat!

We had made our way through the first half of the packet when I decided to make ice-creams for the children and put a few of the sweets on top. I had some cones left over so it was a chance to use them up. All the adults decided to have an ice-cream too except for the children's grandfather, so I put a few of the lollies into a sherry glass just for him! He was very happy with his special dessert.

I think what impressed me most was the amount you get in the packet. They seemed to go a long way, possibly because they are very light so you get a lot in an 88g packet. Seven of us all had a good chance to try them, both as a standalone treat and as part of a dessert, and we all liked them. The children thought they would be good to take to school for a treat with their lunch as the chocolate seemed to be unlikely to melt and make a mess. This is one product I will certainly be buying again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 7758: Howler Hotdogs - Gluten-Free -  Produced by Golden Goose Foods Ltd

Product image for Howler Hotdogs - Gluten-FreeIf you've got a gap to fill, here's something to really get your laughing gear around...

A Meaty Bite that everyone can enjoy.

How We Make Sure Our Gluten Free Hotdogs Are Really Gluten Free
We love making everyone's gluten-free journey a bit easier by having a great tasting gluten free hotdog available in the Howler Hotdog range, and with family and friends with Coeliac and auto-immune ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream