Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 23rd November 2017 - 05:24:23

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced review

« Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon reviewMrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - CinnamonMoonPie Bites reviewMoonPie Bites »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.8/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7631 - Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced
Brand / Manufactured by: Cloverhill

Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced
Price:
$2.99 each
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by International Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced product reviews

A traditional European spiral donut, packed with sweet, sweet flavour and topped by a rich chocolate icing. Great straight out of the pack, but also good warmed up and served with whipped cream, custard or ice-cream.

Allergy Info:
    •  Contains wheat, barley and soy products.
    •  Contains milk.
    •  Contains egg.

Check out International Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for International Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   donut   doughnut   folic acid   honey   niacin   salt   sugar   thiamin   turmeric
Other listings you may be interested in:
Wilton Dab N Hold Edible AdhesiveWilton Dab N Hold Edible Adhesive
Rating: 10.0
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice BlendSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice Blend
Rating: 9.8
Original Muesli - Vanilla CashewOriginal Muesli - Vanilla Cashew
Rating: 9.1
Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon PocketSundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Dad's Pies - Pepper SteakDad's Pies - Pepper Steak
Rating: 9.2
Maketu Sausage Roll - Single ServeMaketu Sausage Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea SaltEureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Lime & Passionfruit CurdLime & Passionfruit Curd
Rating: 9.6
Simla Indian CafeSimla Indian CafeChoc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
Homebrand Cake Mix Vanilla packet 340gHomebrand Cake Mix Vanilla packet 340g
Rating: 9.5
GoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-packGoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-pack
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This product intrigued me from when I first saw it was available for review and even now that I've tried it, it still interests me! I can't say that I loved it however at the same time I would buy it again just to be able to try it again and trial out a range of different ways of eating it. I shared this chocolate iced jumbo honey bun with my mum, my husband and our two children (aged four and two), we choose to eat it as is, straight from the packet, quite simply because we wanted to experience the product as it was initially intended.

Unwrapping this product, I knew from reading reviews already on here to be wary of the icing sticking to the plastic. I used scissors, cut the end off and then down one side so had no problems at all with the icing sticking. I had to giggle to myself as when reading the other reviews I had also read a few comments about it looking like a poo, I didn't agree but alas that was the first comment my husband made haha Smile Icon None of us were put off trying this product though!

To me the portions of this seemed quite big, there is no way I could of eaten this in one go by myself and I was glad to be sharing it. The icing on the bun is really nice and is quite rich chocolate. The bun itself is really dense, not quite the springy donut image that I had in my mind. I was also surprised by the after taste or more feeling that it left - it was really oily?! I can totally imagine and appreciate that this would perhaps change greatly when the product is heated and I am looking forward to trying it in this way. My mum noticed the oily flavour/texture too, however the kids and my husband didn't seem to be bothered about this. Perhaps a case of individual tastes!

I am so glad of the company International Foods for making products such as these available in New Zealand, I will be buying this again and recommend that you try it for yourself if this type of treat interests you.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 1st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My girls' eyes lit up when they saw this Chocolate Iced Honey Bun and luckily I managed to hide it for a while before it disappeared! The chocolate bun comes in a wrapper with a clear window which shows the chocolate coating and when opening the wrapper a little bit of skill is required to ensure the chocolate stays on the bun and not on the wrapper. The bun is 135g and contains 590 calories with 26g of sugars and the list of the ingredients looks like a short novel. Sometimes it's worth ignoring this information though!

The bun itself reminded me of a big coiled up poo and didn't look too appetizing! I cut it into three pieces which made it look marginally better but was hoping that it would taste better than it looked. We ate the bun cold and luckily we all enjoyed the taste and texture although I got the impression that it had been heavily processed. The bun itself was quite heavy and not as light as from a bakery but was definitely filling! I would have struggled to eat this bun in one sitting.

Overall the bun got the thumbs up but due to the huge list of ingredients, I would probably hesitate to buy this again.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 21st of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My kids get super excited whenever a parcel arrives from KIWIreviews. If I'm not home or not quick they have a tendency to rummage through it and decide who is snaffling what first. Thankfully they know I need photos first these days, and they at least wait until I have done that bit before turning into a bunch of neanderthals fighting over the goodies.

When this latest parcel arrived, they had all decided they needed the popcorn and had made dibs on the donut treats as well lol after a small discussion it was decided there was enough of the treat to be shared with everybody and they all calmed down enough to agree to wait till lunch time that day to try a little bit of everything. I had already read reviews on the products I had received, so was aware that the icing may stick to the packaging upon removal. Remembering this I was very careful when opening, so as not to have to much icing stick.

Happy to report that this was a success with only minimal icing left in the bag. I do recommend perhaps using scissors to cut down either side of the bag and pull the top down rather than trying to remove the donut from an opening only at the top, this will lead to less of the icing sticking Smile Icon once removed we plated up and cut into bite sized pieces. I was impressed with the brightness of the inside of the donut, I expected it to be more dull in colour like our ones here.

So taste wise...turns out none of us really liked it Sad Icon maybe we are used to our super sweet donuts here, I don't know but there was no fighting for seconds. Everyone had one bite sized piece, said it was ok, and that was the end of that. Half a donut left sitting on the plate uneaten, which I admit surprised me, as one of my kids will consume anything and everything (that kid did return an hour later and finish it himself haha)

So sadly, I thought this would be really popular with my lot, as did they, but it wasnt. However, if you like traditional European foods then you will like this. Price wise you get a good sized donut and if I liked it more I would have no hesitation buying them.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 14th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My family took a look through the box of food I had been given to review and each of them, without knowledge of what the others had said, commented that the Cloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun with chocolate icing looked like a turd. I had a chuckle to myself and hoped that this would mean that this would put them off eating it. There was no such luck. Once I had cut the bun up so I could share with Miss 7 and Miss 9 it looked a lot more appetising, especially as the bun itself was not a chocolate colour.

The bun can be served hot or cold and I opted for the cold version. The girls and I really enjoyed the sweet bun. The bun itself didn't have much flavour but the icing carried it. I would be careful in summer where you store the bun so that the icing doesn't stick to the wrapper. I would make a good lunch box treat for a labourer.

Although it was shared equally between the three of us they would have happily have had half a bun each. Even someone like me with a big appetite would have struggled to finish a whole bun without help. The suggestion to serve with whipped cream, custard or ice cream means that it could have easily done the three of us for afternoon tea or dessert.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 13th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Who doesn't like chocolate? I know there's nobody in my family who doesn't so when I saw these Jumbo Chocolate Iced honey Buns up for review I couldn't wait to try them, as they are an American product they took me back to my days of traveling around America where I tried out many similar individually wrapped cakes and products, many which were an absolute delight to eat. I had previously eaten the Cinnamon Honey bun which was delicious so was looking forward to trying out another flavour in the range.

Coming in a plastic packaging there is always a risk that an iced product such as this will stick to the roof of the plastic and come off a baked product but luckily in this instance I didn't encounter this problem. Taking the bun out of the plastic I could smell an instance smell of honey which immediately made Miss 4 question "what is that yummy yummy smell?" before proceeding to tell me "I want a try". I cut a small piece off the end of the bun and both Miss 4 and I ate them as they were, without heating they tasted nice but I found they weren't the softest texture and were in a way harder than I would've liked, however the chocolate icing was rich, chocolatey and sweet, and the taste of the honey was definitely there.

With almost a whole bun left over I decided to cut it into 3 pieces and then cut a slit through the middle of these which I filled with a thick vanilla bean custard, I then popped these into the microwave and heated for about 15 seconds until they were just warm. This worked wonders for the honey buns, and it was like they were almost sprung back to life. The bun had gone from quite a hard texture to one that was like a donut, light and fluffy and best of all it was lovely and warm. These actually reminded me of a Boston Creme Donut which is my absolute favourite donut that I always pick if I get the chance, a yummy donut which is filled with custard and topped with chocolate icing this was just like it. My partner loved it as did Miss 4 and they've both been asking if I can buy more of the Chocolate Iced Honey Buns and also of the Cinnamon Buns.

Healthwise they don't weigh up to the greatest figures, but they are a TREAT and not something that you would obviously eat everyday, they are also a item you can easily cut into 2 due to the generous sizing and get 2 serves out of if you were worried about the calories they contain. Another yummy treat from Cloverhill which I look forward to buying again, they'd be a great addition to any lunchbox and they are ideal for turning into a quick and easy dessert when paired with, custard, ice cream or cream.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

So... as a kid I spent some considerable time in the USA, and of course who can spend ANY time in the States without hearing about, and likely trying, one of their "glazed donut" varieties? Not me, as it turned out. I think I must have had at least one glazed doughnut in every state we visited... and it was always the chocolate glazed that grabbed my attention first. Thus... I had to give this a go, even though it isn't quite a doughnut.

I found it to be a bit denser than the average doughnut, closer to a cake but less dense than a bagel and certainly a sweeter dough. It had a nice resistance-to-bite to it which made it feel like I was eating something more substantial than "a sweet treat". I have no idea if the sweetness was in fact honey - there was none of the honey flavour evident, buried under the chocolate, but it certainly was a rich dessert that's for sure.

I decided to try it cold - straight from the pack - and after my third bite I was starting to think I wouldn't get through it in a single sitting, it was very rich indeed. So instead I made it to the half-way mark and pout the rest in the fridge for the next day. After dinner that night had settled, I warmed up the remaining portion in a bowl - 20 seconds in the microwave did the trick nicely - and added a scoop of Lemon Cheesecake ice-cream and a few wedges of tinned peaches on the side. This was a delightful dessert, though still rich, and a good portion for me after a very meat-centric dinner.

Overall, I think I would be tempted to buy one of these now and then if I wanted a naughty treat for dessert. The price is quite good if you look at it as a 2-portion dessert ingredient, rather than a single snack. That said, even as a snack it's not too far off the price of a slice or danish at your local bakery. I'm curious to see how well they would freeze though, as I would only buy them if I had a need, but sometimes they can be hard to find so stocking up would also be an option if they will store well.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Most of our family love chocolate so anything with that word in the description is bound to be received positively! I am the only one, it appears, who does not like chocolate in quantity. I enjoy small amounts, but for some reason the intense Chocolate Appreciation Gene seems to be missing from my DNA. However, given that we were going to divide the bun into several pieces so we could all comment, I was happy enough with my allocation.

We noticed that, although the pack had been stored in a cool place, the chocolate icing had melted a little inside the packet, enough to make removing the bun a sticky affair. I wonder if it should be stored in the fridge next time? The packet does not specify this, but I think I will play it safe next time I buy it.

Everyone loved the product. It did not seem to be a problem that some of the icing landed on fingers; they were quickly licked clean! We put a sliced mango on the plate as well so as to lessen the sweetness of the bun, and enjoyed the combination. My daughter put some forks out as she thought it might make eating the pieces less messy, but in the end most of just used our fingers. When it is just family it is not necessary to be too polite, but if I were serving it to visitors I might borrow her fork idea.

The children had fun reading the label and learning to pronounce some of the more esoteric ingredient names. This caused lots of laughter as they tried to work out whether or not it was healthy food. In the end they assured the adults that it was probably not very good for them as it tasted so yummy, but they would like to have it as an occasional treat. They commented especially on the rich, dark icing and thought that as chocolate goes it was pretty good.

I found it quite rich and was not able to eat very much, but the other adults were more than happy to help out, so it was no time at all before the plate was empty. However, the amount I did eat was more than enough to confirm that it was deliciously decadent. I would certainly buy it again if I had someone to share it with, and plan to try it at some stage with fruit (probably mango again) and custard in a chocolate trifle.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6492: Balsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan Focaccia -  Brand / Source : Kapiti Artisan Bakehouse

Product image for Balsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan FocacciaThis hand-made Italian style stonebaked loaf is topped with balsamic roasted onions, parmesan and tasty cheese, then finished with herb butter.

To experience the delicious taste of this authentic bread, simply heat and eat.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream