Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 25th November 2017 - 01:40:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon review

« El Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n Lime reviewEl Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n LimeCloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced reviewCloverhill Jumbo Honey Bun - Chocolate Iced »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.0/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7630 - Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon
Brand / Manufactured by: Mrs Freshley's

Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon
Price:
$2.50 each
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by International Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon product reviews

Make life sweeter, with a Mrs. Freshley's cinnamon Honey Bun.

Fresh cinnamon donut in a traditional European spiral shape, topped with a generous swirl of icing.

Warm it up for a special treat, or eat it straight out of the bag for a sweet snack.

Allergy Info:
    •  Contains wheat, barley and soy flours.
    •  Contains some milk proteins and lactic acid.

Check out International Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for International Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cinnamon   donut   doughnut   folic acid   niacin   salt   sugar   thiamin   turmeric
Other listings you may be interested in:
Patak's Original : Chicken KormaPatak's Original : Chicken Korma
Rating: 8.3
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Brimstone PizzaBrimstone Pizza
Rating: 8.8
EXTRA Drops - Wild MintEXTRA Drops - Wild Mint
Rating: 8.8
Spiced NZ Apricot with Mango SauceSpiced NZ Apricot with Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Jelly Belly Smoothie BlendJelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Rating: 8.2
Roshen Nougat - vanillaRoshen Nougat - vanilla
Rating: 9.3
Cheesy Garlic BreadCheesy Garlic Bread
Rating: 7.7
Oxford Lamb & Mint PieOxford Lamb & Mint Pie
Rating: 8.0
Alexandra's Dukkah - TraditionalAlexandra's Dukkah - Traditional
Rating: 9.4
Cursed PizzaCursed Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Vege PrimaveraVege Primavera
Rating: 8.0
Saffron Lime DressingSaffron Lime Dressing
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mumoffour

Review by: mumoffour (Sarah)
Dated: 11th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Wow as soon as I opened the packet the smell was amazing . I admit I was tempted to hide and eat it as hubby had his beady eyes on it. It looked amazing. I had never heard or seen of Mrs. Freshley's so was intrigued on what it was like. Was not disappointed and will be looking out for these to share with the kids. It's something I would buy a lot of . If this is available in bigger places I would definitely recommend Honey Bun to lots of people.

The Honey Bun Cinnamon had a very mouth watering flavour with just the right amount of spice to it. I love cinnamon but sometimes it can be very strong but not in this. The glaze was a tad sticky and would come off easily but that's more me. Only real complaint I have is there wasn't enough in packet. I have a sweet tooth so always after more of a good thing. Packaging was great you could clearly see what the product was with good information on the back.

This was a great product and would happily review any other versions of this. Made a nice snack with a coffee or cup of tea.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These honey bun treats captured my eye in the items available for review and I liked the sound of the cinnamon - to me it sounded like a cinnamon donut! It sounded like a little package of delicious, and I had a feeling that me children would feel the same! I had read through the package and saw that it could be eaten hot and cold so decided to try it both ways.

The kids came out for a snack so we all sampled it together - and so I could get another opinion on it! My first thought was it is really nice, but quite sweet - so of course the kids thought that it was awesome! I would describe the flavour as like a fruit toast or bun - maybe like a hot cross bun? It is not light, more dense than them though, and not with the cinnamon that I was expecting from its lovely aroma. I did note that the bun does not really look like the package - there is much less icing on it (I am NOT complaining about that - that is actually a good thing) and it is a lot less full (puffy?) that it appears in the picture.

The bun itself is definitely a sometimes treat, being, as I expected, very high in sugar, and would be best savoured over more than one sitting, or, like me - share it with scavenger children! It is a nice treat to have and is a good price, so would definitely be tempted to buy again!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 1st of October, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I enjoy cinnamon, it was one of the great pleasures when I went to visit America a while back as they have so many items with a cinnamon twist, so when I saw this I keenly put my hand up. When it arrived it was a little squished (though this was probably due to its being posted) and so I was a little concerned about getting it out of the packet. The nutrition information on the back shows there is quite a lot of sugar and saturated fat in this, so not something that you could really eat often.

This is a treat that you can enjoy straight out of the packet or you could heat it up. What is good about this, is that the heating suggestions is on the back of the packet, but you also don't need to remove the bun and place it on a plate, you can heat it up in its packaging. So I opened one end and popped it in my microwave as per the 10 second reccomendation. I did find that I needed to microwave it for another ten seconds, but that's not unusual for my microwave. It pulled out of the packet very easily and didn't leave any icing behind, which I was pleased with.

I opted to share this with two of my children and still had a nice amount for us each to eat. My ten year old said it was delicious, a feeling my eight year old agreed with. I was happy to find that although this looks like it is very sticky, I found that it only left a slight stickiness and that always equals less clean up, so I'm happy with that. Taste wise I felt this was very similar to our hot cross buns, just without the raisins. I found that a third of this was a good amount to have, I don't think I would want to eat this whole thing on my own. I would eat this again, however it would be only now and then due to the high sugar and saturated fat content.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love my cinnamon donuts, and have been known to eat them on a daily basis, so this product certainly sounds appealing. When my parcel of products arrived, however, the item didn't look anywhere near as pretty as the one pictured above. The icing was cracking and looked smooshed into the packet. It may have just been a result of how it was packed though.

Reading through the packaging, the product can be eaten cold or hot, so I decided to cut it in half and try it both ways. Interestingly, despite the product looking squished, it cam away from the packaging with ease. slicing it in half I picked up a piece; the product does come across as sticky to the touch and has a very cinnamon scent to it. Flavourwise, you could compare it to that of an Easter hot cross bun, without the raisins. The texture is more stodgy, like that of an apricot danish

The other half I left in the packet and heated up for 10 seconds. Quick and easy, and even after leaving it for several minutes, it still maintained the heat very well. Heated up, the cinnamon flavour is much stronger and is very overpowering in flavour. Not an unpleasant flavour, but definitely a lingering flavour that remains on your breath for a very long time after you have finished the product.

The product has a very high calorific content, with 560 calories per cinnamon honey bun (between 33% and 45% of my recommended daily calorie intake, so it is definitely a product that is best shared unless you are an active person, but the product is something I could easily eat 2 -3 of in one sitting. Could I really control myself if I were to purchase this product? Probably not, to be honest. I enjoy the flavour, and either hot or cold, it is still very nice, but one wouldn't satisfy my hunger, and multiple would destroy any food plan that I would attempt.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 2nd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

While I have enjoyed many cinnamon pinwheels over the years, I have never had a product quite like this. I was intrigued to see just what it would be like. I wasn't quite sure what to expect. With the name "honey bun" I imagined a soft, sweet sticky bun, but with the description identifying it as a 'fresh cinnamon donut' I also had thoughts of a nice sugary donut. I was pleased to see one arrive in my latest review parcel and I tucked it safely into the pantry to save to have for dessert one night.

The packaging on this product allows the customer to see just what they are getting. There is a big, clear window taking up a good portion of the bag which allows the actual product to be seen, rather than having a picture on the front and the product hidden inside. The bright blue is eye catching, and I think it fits well with the name "Mrs Freshley's" as it certainly makes it look bright and fresh.

Upon opening up the packet (which was very easy to do, nothing worse than a plastic bag that is almost impossible to open!) I was met with a very strong cinnamon smell. There was no denying that it was a cinnamon bun! The packet suggested warming the bun, but as I wanted to try it cold too I cut the bun into four pieces - two each for my husband and I. I heated two pieces and left two pieces cold so that we could both try it both ways. The instructions for warming were on the back of the packet and very easy to follow. I liked that you could heat it in its own package, you just had to make sure to open one end (which I had done to cut the bun up before heating).

I served two pieces to my husband and had two myself. I started with the cold piece and then followed it with the heated piece. I have to admit, I preferred it heated. The flavour between the two was very similar, but the texture was quite different. The warmed bun was nice and soft and a little bit sticky as the icing had melted just a little bit. It's like the difference between having a cold hot cross bun and a warm one - the warm one just has that something a little special about it that just makes it yummier! The bun was certainly very strong in cinnamon flavour, if you don't like cinnamon you won't like it, but thankfully I do and I really enjoyed it. My husband had the same thoughts as me so we decided if we were ever to enjoy one of these again we would certainly heat the whole bun next time.

The price is probably at the higher point as reasonable to me. I could get something I like from the local bakery that is bigger and costs less, but this is something international that is a little bit special too. It isn't something we would have all of the time, but as a special treat it would be ok.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 28th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Anyone who is a working mummy knows that when things are crazy you worry about yourself last. Last week work was insane with relays and sick people and I was lucky to get 30 minutes to myself before dealing with the girls and there hectic lives, this week it seems to be worst. Having worked all day with out a break, pick girls up and who are not feeling to crash hot so cancelled activities and now I finally get to sit down and have something to eat.

Opening up the pantry my eyes almost popped out of there eye sockets as I spotted the packet, seeing the Honey Bun peaking out from the clear wrapper part. I thought 'perfect' I can bliss out with a Honey/Cinnamon bun. Following the instructions I opened one end and placed in microwave for ten seconds. It was nice and warm, actually to be honest I think it could of done with a couple more seconds as I would of preferred it to be that little bit warmer, but will save that for the next time.

I could smell the cinnamon as I opened the microwave door and when I took it out of the wrapper it reminded me of a coated pin wheel. Taking a small piece I placed it in my mouth, the first thing I could taste was the sweet icing which I am guessing is the honey then the cinnamon hit and I lay back and sighed. Next minute little fingers were ripping themselves some and saying how yummy it was. In the end it was a fight over who could get the next piece. I ended up taking the plate away squirting some cream with it and finishing it off to protests around me.

Considering how much you pay for a Doughnut at the shop this is an absolute bargin. It is just the right size and it is sweet and yummy in taste, even better when you dip it in cream. It is something that I am quite happy to purchase again and have in the pantry on standby for those crazy days when I need something fast to eat and something sweet.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 21st of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I am addicted to cinnamon pinwheels and variations of this delicious sweet treat, so while browsing KIWIreviews one day, I came across Mrs Freshley's honey bun in cinnamon. Immediately my mouth started to water and my stomach reminded me I had not had lunch yet. While trying to decide what to have for lunch I shot a review application through in the hopes to secure one of these treats for myself.

One week later I received a package from Kr and there in the box was a honey cinnamon bun. Yay me I thought. I must state right now I was extremely impressed to see that the bun almost looked just like the picture, the only difference being the design of the icing on top and maybe not quite as much icing as the picture had. But we can forgive that. Having had a similar treat just prior I was careful in opening the package to ensure we did not end up with too much icing stuck to the plastic. Mission accomplished.

Immediately upon opening you could smell the cinnamon, and my tummy started to rumble. Reading the bag it said to warm the bun up first. I'm not sure if this was my wisest move. I followed the instructions for warming but found after removing from the package that parts of the bun were now soggy. I do not like soggy breads or pastries so was dissapointed in that. The cinnamon smell was also a lot stronger once warmed up too.

Unfortunately I did not like this :,( the first taste reminded me of a Christmas cake. The mix of flavours was just to much for me. I offered each of my kids some and unfortunately they did not like the flavours either. you could see the disappointment across all our faces being such big fans of cinnamon pinwheels etc. The price is fantastic though for the size of the bun and if I had of enjoyed it more it would be something I would happily pay for as a treat. However, just because we did not like it does not mean you wont, and at $2.50 you can afford to find out for yourself.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 18th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Cinnamon is the flavour and cinnamon is what you get. On opening the packet the armourer of cinnamon filled the air. I loved it, and it reminded me of when you go to the show and get donuts. I loved the sticky icing on the top of the bun as well. I could not wait to this honey bun, and I thought I would try it both cold and hot after reading the packet and seeing warm it up for a treat.

After trying it cold I thought it was really tasty and it wasn't dry. I enjoyed having to lick my fingers after wards as well from the sticky icing on top. I thought the flavour was great and even though you can 100 percent taste the cinnamon I felt like it was not over powering as well. This would go well as a yummy snack or treat on the go. My son tried it cold with me and he really enjoyed it as well, he licked his lips and wanted more.

I heated the other half and when I pulled my first bite size piece of and put it in my mouth I wished straight away that I had heated it up from the start. Eating it warmed up is absolutely divine. I loved the texture and the taste even more so. The texture was amazing, soft and gooey but the outside was still firm. I loved everything about it and wish I had more. I found my son and I were in a bit of a competition trying to get the bigger piece as it was super tasty. I liked the clear packet part which allows you to see the honey bun and there is plenty of information on the back. One thing I noticed was there was no expiry date, and I am not sure just because these are samples or if I happened to miss seeing it on the packet.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 14th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My family love cinnamon pinwheels but I am the only one that has had a real Cinnabon bun but that was many years ago. I have fond memories of it and had high expectations for Mrs Freshly's Honey Bun. Miss 7 and Miss 9 were excited to try it too. I was very generous and agreed to share it with them. The smell when opening in the packet brought me back to my Cinnabon trip. I cut the bun into small pieces and gave them their share.

Both of the girls tried the bun and didn't like it. It wasn't until I tried mine that I realised why. It was dry like a stale bun. I collected the pieces of bun back into the packet and heated it in the microwave. The result was a much nicer bun that we all enjoyed. The bun didn't have as much icing as a Cinnabon one but the girls didn't complain as they didn't know any different.

For a single serving it is huge and I am a big eater and would have struggled to eat one by myself comfortably. My recommendation is to share with someone and make sure you heat it in the microwave first. For this reason it is not a practical lunchbox treat. The other thing to note is that although there is a batch number stamped on the wrapper there is no best before date so it is hard to tell is the one I had was old stock or if they are all like that.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 13th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My partner and I have fond memories of cinnamon buns from a trip to America several years ago, my partner had a thing that there was never enough icing on any cinnamon bun for him and that he would like more, funnily enough at the very end of our trip we came across Cinnabon, an American chain which sells various different cinnamon rolls, it just so happened here that my partner was out iced, not only did his cinnamon bun come drenched in a sticky sweet icing but it also came with a dipping tub full of this delight which was even to much for him to handle. I was excited to see that Cinnamon Honey Buns were up for review but even more so to see that they were made with the delightful Cinnabon cinnamon, I without a doubt had to request this product for review!

The cinnamon bun comes in a plastic packaging and looks like a rather spiral sausaged in shape, the size of it is rather big making it great value for money, especially as in my review trial we were able to make this last us 2 different occasions, the first which we tried heated and eaten as is, and the second time in a dessert that had just so happened to use cinnamon buns which had popped up on my facebook newsfeed several days earlier. Opening the packaging for the first time I was greeted with the most loving smell of cinnamon it was strong and sweet and smelt just how I remembered Cinnabon cinnamon to be. The bun had a white icing swirl over the top of it and I noticed that this was set hard kindof like the icing sometimes used on Christmas cake.

Cutting the first serving of the cinnamon bun into 2 halves I heated it in the microwave for several seconds until just warm, and then served a piece of this up to both my partner and myself, it was delicious and the texture reminded me of that if a donut, soft and light, the cinnamon mix was very generous and well distributed throughout the whole bun, the icing on the top was just the right amount and sweetness and I was surprised to see that this held its shape and did not melt during the heating process. My partner was rover the moon about this cinnamon bun and asked for more to which I sneakily said there was no more.

The next night for dessert I whipped up a quick dish, I chopped the cinnamon roll up into small pieces and layered it with canned apples and caramel sauce between 2 small ramekin dishes. I placed this in the oven on a low heat for about 15 minutes until heated through and bubbling and then tipped these out onto a plate and served them with some custard and ice cream. These not only looked attractive tipped out and displaying the tasty layers of the ingredients but they tasted even better the flavour combination of the cinnamon buns combined with apples and caramel sauce were absolutely delightful.

Would I buy these again? Absolutely!!! I am lucky enough to live in Hamilton where the International Foods store is so I am just trying to work out a time that I can get here and buy a new stash of this delightful treat. If you're a cinnamon lover you're bound to enjoy these.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

As we opened the packet, we were all struck by the strong smell of cinnamon wafting towards us. What a treat! We all enjoy cinnamon and this was quite unmistakable: warm and welcoming, and all but causing a stampede as we all rushed to break off a piece and taste it! The product comes as one big coiled sausage shape which can be cut or broken for ease of eating.

The children were so enthusiastic that we had to ration them to three pieces each - there were five of us testing the bun and it had been divided into 15 more or less equal pieces so that we could all have a decent sized taste and report back to the others.

My first impression was of a sweet bread similar to a hot cross bun but much nicer. The bun dough is light and not too rich; if I were very hungry I could possibly eat half a bun although one of the adults and one of the children said it was so nice they could eat the whole thing without any help. The pack does say that it contains one serving, but I don't think I could manage an entire bun on my own.

Our impressions of the flavour were quite different. We all agreed that the bun dough was very light and pleasant, but one person thought there was too much cinnamon and another said it was not strong enough. He also commented that there were a lot of additives so it would not be especially good for you. However, the rest of us agreed that it would be a treat for a special occasion, not necessarily a food you would eat every day.

The instructions stated that the product could be eaten either straight from the packet or warmed up, but we were not sure how the icing would survive being warmed, especially as we intended to divide it up, so we had it cold. I am not sure if warming would have made much difference to the flavour although I could see it being served with custard as a dessert, and in that case warming it first would make sense.

We are often asked to bring in food to work for a shared morning tea. I can see this as going down very well, transferred on to a plate and cut into two-centimetre wide slices. Two buns would go quite a long way served like this, and would prove popular as they are not too sweet - many people make the mistake of bringing in very sweet foods and these tend to be left behind! They are reasonably priced too, which always helps!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 3039: Jalapeno Jelly
Produced by Q Gardens

Product image for Jalapeno JellyQ Gardens newest culinary delight, Jalapeno Jelly is bound to leave your taste-buds in pure ecstasy with its unique combination of spicy and sweet!

This heavenly preserve captures the fiery flavour of mild deseeded red jalapenos grown locally in the Bay of Plenty, and combines them with fresh red capsicum, and gluten ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Reality is what refuses to go away when I stop believing in it."
Philip K. Dick

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream