Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 03:23:40

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Original Salsitas review

« My First Board Book: Things That Go reviewMy First Board Book: Things That GoEl Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n Lime reviewEl Sabrosa Taco-litos - Chile n Lime »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.5/10  [8 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 7628 - Original Salsitas
Brand / Manufactured by: El Sabroso

Original Salsitas
Price:
$2.00 / 42g bag
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by International Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Original Salsitas product reviews

El Sabrosoa Salsitas Sals Chips are authentic, gourmet tortilla chips flavoured with a mild salsa spice.

They are cooked to a light, crunchy texture and delicately seasoned with a tasty blend of real tomato, onion, garlic, avocado and jalapeno pepper spices.

They're great alone, and fabulous with your favourite guacamole or cheese dips. Salsitas are the ultimate salsa chip!

Allergy Info:
Produced in a facility that uses milk, soy, wheat, peanuts and tree nuts.

Check out International Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for International Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
avocado   corn   corn chip   garlic   jalapeno   onion   paprika   pepper   spices   tortilla   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & QuinoaCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa
Rating: 9.0
Chilli Lime ChutneyChilli Lime Chutney
Rating: 8.9
Innestyle Sauce - ChilliInnestyle Sauce - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Tatua MascarponeTatua Mascarpone
Rating: 10.0
Pics Peanut Butter - Smooth No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Rating: 8.7
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
Sids Raspberry VinegarSids Raspberry Vinegar
Rating: 9.5
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi SeasoningSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi Seasoning
Rating: 8.1
Cook Street Chinese TakeawaysCook Street Chinese Takeaways
Rating: 9.5
Toasted Muesli Feijoa & AppleToasted Muesli Feijoa & Apple
Rating: 8.5
Maketu Curry Mince PieMaketu Curry Mince Pie
Rating: 8.5
Pacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai CurryPacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai Curry
Rating: 7.1
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Reading the back of the packet I noticed that it was made with Jalapeno Pepper Spice and so I automatically assumed that it was going to be rather hot, also, the red packet reminds me of fire so I got a tad concerned as myself and the girls really don't do well with 'hot food' and brought some sour cream. But, at the same time the packet got me so excited seeing that salsa dish made with Real Tomatoes and Avocados I could not wait to try.

We have not had Nachos in like forever and as the packet was smaller than I was expecting I decided to make an oven baked Nacho instead. I made the Nachos the same way as I always do with mince, onion, can of Mexican Tomatoes, Mild Beans and Corn and mixed together. I then put into an oven proof dish and covered with the Salsitas Chips and covered those in cheese and grilled until the cheese had melted. In the mean time I kept a couple of smaller chips out for myself and my husband to try. First of they were not as hot and spicy as I was expecting, actually I found them really pleasant. Secondly, although they were nice I can not say I could really taste the Avocado. I can say though that these are way better Nacho chips then what we have previously had!

After it had browned some I dished it up with a side salad and sour cream on top. My eldest insisted that we have Nachos every night as she walked past me to get a second helping. My youngest agreed and said that this was one of the best meals she has ever had. My husband said the same thing I was thinking, that they are nice, added a new dimension to the dinner and much better than previous Nacho meals that we have had but we were both expecting just that little bit more.

One thing I have to say is the melted cheese along with the Salsitas is like heaven on earth it is divine and I could not get enough of it. Even adding the sour cream with the chips and the cheese was a moment to savor. I would happily have these again and cover in just the cheese and grill then add a bit of sour cream and it would be the perfect movie addition. Definitely a packet that I will play around with in the future even if it just to add cheese to.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 1st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love our nachos chips and I was looking forward to experimenting with these yummy looking El Sabrosoa Salsitas Chips in Spicy Salsa. I thought they would be great for nachos and had bought all the ingredients... what I hadn't counted on was hubby and my girls! As soon as my hubby saw these they were opened and my girls surrounded him like baby birds waiting to be fed! So, my great plans for these chips were thwarted and they were consumed and enjoyed!

These chips come in an attractive red bag with a clear picture of the chip. Watching my family eat them I was impressed to see that they had not broken and the vast majority were intact. My girls said they were spicy but not so much that they had to gulp down water afterwards. My avocado loving daughter could taste the avocado flavouring whilst my husband loved the jalapeno flavour. These chips were a big hit and from the one measly chip I was offered, were really tasty. They were a lot nicer than other spicy salsa corn chips I had tried and were full of flavour. They would be excellent for nachos or with dips but the size of the packet doesn't really allow for this. In fact, the only complaint about this chip was that the packet was too small!

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 1st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I don't like corn and I never have; creamed corn, corn on the cob, chicken and corn soup or heaven forbid mixed veges with those yellow little kernels in them - I just won't eat it....but funnily enough I have always liked eating corn chips, either nacho or cheese flavoured.

These original Salsita chips really got me interested to try something new, they are flavoured with real tomato and avocado and the packet packed some real punch about it, it was bright red, with a some great artwork on the front depicting the actual chip which was so true to life, I was very impressed. When I opened the packet, I was first struck by the spicy aroma of tomato and chilli which was so enticing; I eagerly chose a chip that was perfectly formed with lots of flavours you could see. As I bit into it, the chip really crunched in my mouth and I was immediately thrilled by the amazing combinations of flavours, I could taste tomato, avocado, jalapenos, onion and garlic. They were just a great corn chip with all the salsa dip flavours which honestly was like eating a cheese corn chip that had been physically dipped in salsa and upon checking the front of the packet, the yellow tag line said "The dips in the chip"! The makers of the chips have achieved just that - amazing.

I would recommend these 'Salsitas' chips to anyone who enjoys a good flavoursome chip as a snack or part of a meal; you just will not be disappointed by these quality product.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 29th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We are a family of nacho fans but due to having kids they are always bland. When I was offered El Sabroso's Salsitas to review I thought this is my chance to have nachos with a bit more flavour for me.Alas I never got a chance to try it as Miss 7 and I ate them all straight from the packet. My husband didn't want to try them as they contained avocado and Miss 9 didn't try them as they were labelled spicy. She was right there was a bit of spice to them but not too hot as to take away from the other flavours.

I could taste the avocado more in some bites than others. I felt the corn chips had a little too much salt on them so you need to be careful that whatever you are serving it with isn't too salty either. These are a good strong chip than would hold up well with nachos or a dip. Although the packet is supposed to be one serving it was satisfying as a snack for the two of us and would have been perfect for nachos for two.

I am keen to buy more so I can try the Salsitas with other things or perhaps add to a platter.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have always been a fan of corn chips, particularly enjoying them as part of a nacho meal for dinner, so I was pleased when they arrived in my most recent review parcel. I have enjoyed many corn chips over my time but I am usually drawn to cheese or salsa flavoured chips, having enjoyed these sorts of flavours the most.

Opening my parcel to find a packet of the Salsitas inside I was drawn immediately to the packet. It was a nice, bright red colour with a very clear picture of the product on the front. I noticed it mentioned that they are 'salsa chips - with real tomato and avocado' and had the tag link 'the dip's in the chips' at the top of the packet. This made me think that these corn chips were going to pack a flavour punch and I was even more excited to try them. As I opened the packet I was met with the most amazing, strong tomato smell with a bit of a spice kick to them. I love the flavour of tomatoes but unfortunately, cannot eat them due to being intolerant to the acid in them. For this reason, I love anything that has the flavour of tomato without causing me to get sick. Having smelt the flavour I just had to try one of the chips. The tomato flavour was amazingly strong and it was absolutely delicious! There were other flavours going on with it, but I'm not 100% sure what they were. I am not an avocado eater so maybe it was this, and I just wasn't sure what I was tasting. These have to be one of the most divine corn chips I had ever tasted, and that is saying a lot as I have tried many!

Wondering just what I could do to try the chips in a slightly different way I decided to do what my top choice for corn chips is. One of my favourite snacks is a pile of corn chips with some edam cheese grated on top and then melted briefly in the microwave. I tipped the bag of corn chips out onto a side plate and noticed that there were quite a few in the bag. When I had first seen the packet I had noticed just how little the bag was. At 42.5g it was definitely the right sized packet for a snack but wasn't going to provide enough for my husband and me to enjoy these for dinner as part of a nacho style meal. The packet was definitely very light and I wondered just how many corn chips there would be so was pleasantly surprised to find a nice wee pile. Unfortunately for me many of the chips had been broken so they would not have been very useful in eating as part of a meal, so this snack was perfect! I grated my cheese, put them in the microwave for 20 seconds and they were ready to eat. I think I have found my new favourite corn chip! The salsa flavour of the chips was a great match with the grated cheese and before I knew it they were gone!

I will definitely love to have these corn chips again and am interested to see whether they come in a family sized bag so that we can have them as part of nachos for dinner. The price is a little more than you would pay for the standard corn chips we find in our supermarkets, but I think the flavour is definitely worth it, it just wouldn't be something I would have very often. The packet is the right size to have as a snack, so I may just have to have a packet or two in my pantry ready for snacking on!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 16th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Corn chips, coated with powdered tomato and avocado? That sounds quite odd actually... but intriguing enough to warrant giving them a try... which I did. And by jove, I think I liked them! They reminded me of something I tried once in Mexico as a kid, though a lot less spicy - because everything I tried on that trip was spicy!

These were quite tasty really - you could taste the tomato, and I swear I did catch hints of the avocado, though it wasn't as strong a flavour as I would have liked. I do like me some avo! The chips were crisp, but no to dry or hard as to be unpalatable the like some corn chips I have eaten over the years. These were a snack I easily could have chomped through a whole bag in one sitting. However, I wanted to try something with them...

I grabbed half a dozen of these and topped with with some nice Havarti cheese, a slice of fresh tomato, and a few drops of chilli sauce and snacked on them. It was a bad idea, because they were so tasty I went back and made another half a dozen. Then a third helping. I would have made a fourth set, but the bag was empty by this time, more's the pity.

Overall, these are a really nice snack - while similar to some other products on the market, they are quite distinct and unique because of the avocado, I think. I plan to buy more at some stage, as I think these would be amazing as snacks at any sort of social gathering.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 13th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm not 100% sure exactly what it was about this product but upon seeing the packaging it so much reminded me of my childhood and of a favourite corn chip which I used to buy at Intermediate school that was Mexican flavoured. I think it may be perhaps that these chips were round in shape and that the look of the flavouring which coated the chips on the front packet looked so familiar. Either way I was quite excited to try these to see if they would take me back to my childhood where I used to buy a bag of these weekly at the school canteen.

With the bag only weighing 42.5 grams, it is quite light and left me wondering how many chips were actually going to be in the bag, however upon opening it I found that there was a decent amount, and enough for a good size serve for one person. I was impressed to see that there was not one single broken chip in my bag of chips they were still whole, it's not often you come across this in bags of chips, especially if they have been shipped all the way from the other side of the world!

I was surprised by the strong salsa flavour that was released from the bag as I opened and even more so that I could actually spot the smells of both tomato and avocado, both which are flavours used to coat the chips, perhaps as they are coated with REAL Tomato and Avocado is why it was so intense and distinguishable than if they had used artificial and fake flavours. 'The dips in the chip' was a phrase quoted on the packet and they were certainly not wrong about this, it was as though you were eating your dip along with a chip the flavours were brilliant nice and strong, you could taste both the tomato and avocado and they were not too spicy, they were just the right heat level.

After eating one or 2 straight from the bag I decided to use them with a layered dip which I had earlier prepared, which consisted of a layer of sour cream, a layer of guacamole, a layer of tomato salsa and lastly some grated cheese. Well although the dip was certainly not needed to make these chips taste great (they already tasted amazing) it went wonderfully with them and made them even better, it kind of felt like the dip turned them into a complete meal which was great, easy dinner for me that night!

I look forward to finding these in the International Foods shop, and would absolutely love it if these were available in a larger family sized pack as I think they would be perfect for sharing and using as Nacho chips.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 30th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I thought there were not many chips in this packet when I first checked. The bag is very light at 42g, and there did not seem to be a lot of bulk to it. However, on opening it, I found that the individual chips were very light and also very colourful, so there were more than there had appeared to be. The packet promised that they were so full of flavour that no extra dip was necessary, and I had to concede that this was correct. The flavour was that of a full on guacamole, with the extra crunch of a fresh nacho.

We ate the first half of the packet without any additions. There was a hint of spice but it was not too strong; the twins, who were "helping" me to eat them, had no complaints about the flavour. I put the packet away before we had eaten too many as I also wanted to see how they would go with a plain dip. Having tasted them on their own, I thought it best not to use a highly flavoured dip as the flavours might compete.

Next day, I made a plain vegetable pate with finely liquidised vegetables, some herbs, and a dash of homemade vegetable soup. This was not too strong so it made an ideal testing ground for the chips. I took the dip and the second half of the chip packet to share with another friend. As I had expected, they went really well together, but I needed to use a knife as my mixture was too solid to be used as a dip. I did not want to make it too runny as that would have leached out all the flavour! I had made the pate to use as a sandwich spread or to put on crackers but it was just as good with the chips. My friend enjoyed the combination too.

I find some chips to be too salty or too highly flavoured, especially with artificial additives that leave a tinny aftertaste in the mouth. These chips, although quite spicy, do not have too much of any one ingredient. I like the way you can taste the tomato and avocado (the two main flavours) separately as neither overwhelms the other.

I did not realise that there were still a couple of chips left in the packet when I left to go home after the second tasting; I took the supposedly empty packet so I would have it to refer to when I wrote the review. It was nearly four days later that I actually had time to write it up and add the photo I had taken. To my surprise, there were two chips left; I had been sure we had finished them all. I am delighted to report that they had retained all of their crispness even though the pack had not been resealed, and tasted just as good as the first few. A useful if unexpected bonus.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.3
Product reviews for listing 1164: Maketu Potato Top pie -  Manufactured by Maketu Pies Ltd

Product image for Maketu Potato Top pieMaketu Pies, made in the Bay of Plenty, and distributed to fine food outlets, for you to enjoy.

Available in a wide variety of flavours, there's a pie for everyone.

Note: Sample image only. Actual product may vary.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream