Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 03:25:27

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Mochaccino review

« Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Cappuccino reviewAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - CappuccinoAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat White reviewAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat White »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.4/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7586 - Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Mochaccino
Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Mochaccino
Price:
$4.00 / box of 10
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Avalanche Coffee

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected leading supermarkets

Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Mochaccino product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWhy step out, when you can treat yourself to an entire menu of delicious, authentic, cafe-style drinks in the comfort of your own kitchen.

Find a flavour to match your mood!

Mochaccino : Smooth, sweet chocolate meets rich, intense coffee for a sensual, melt-in-your-mouth experience!

ALLERGY INFO:
This product has no detectable gluten, but contains milk proteins and may contain traces of soy.

Check out Avalanche Coffee onlineClick here to see all the listings for Avalanche Coffee Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
avalanche   cafe   coffee   glucose   milk   salt   sugar   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Vanilla LatteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Vanilla Latte
Rating: 8.8
Cider House - Strawberry and LimeCider House - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 10.0
Alcohol KillerAlcohol Killer
Rating: 7.9
Gisborne 2002 ChardonnayGisborne 2002 Chardonnay
Rating: 7.5
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat WhiteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat White
Rating: 8.3
Bundaberg Spiced Ginger BeerBundaberg Spiced Ginger Beer
Rating: 8.5
Soljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NVSoljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NV
Rating: 10.0
Goodbuzz Booch - Jade DewGoodbuzz Booch - Jade Dew
Rating: 5.3
Diet Snapple - Peach TeaDiet Snapple - Peach Tea
Rating: 9.5
Aroha Sparkling FeijoaAroha Sparkling Feijoa
Rating: 9.0
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - CappuccinoAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Cappuccino
Rating: 9.0
Mai'a Coffee Straws : MochaMai'a Coffee Straws : Mocha
Rating: 8.8
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel LatteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel Latte
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 4th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Coffeeeeeeeee - that is like a call of my people (the busy Mum's, tight budget, self employed types!) and are definitely a treat for me to have sachet type coffees. I was very pleased to see a box of the Avalanche sachets in my review box, as I have seen them but not been sure whether I wanted to buy a box, to then find they were super sweet, and not to my liking.

Popping the jug on to boil, I read the instructions on the back - basically - open sachet, pour into cup or mug, and pour hot, but not boiling water into the mug. I ripped open the sachet - and was delighted to find a sachet that actually tears fully across - meaning no spilt powder all over the bench. I poured it into the cup and then poured the water over the top - stirring as I went. I found the powder dissolved nicely, and did not leave lumps (ickkk) but also did not create too much foam - another thing I am not so keen on. I realised I had marshmallows in the cupboard - so - going for the real cafe mocha - popped a couple into my drink.

Taking the first sip - I was a little underwhelmed, thinking, oh, it does not have much flavour, but with the next sip tasted it more. The flavour was not the usual sweet I associate with a mocha - it was more of a subtle chocolate taste. Likewise, though the box says "intense flavour" - for me - it is more of a mild, subtle flavour. I was pleased that the chocolate flavour was not too sweet, but disappointed in the lack of coffee flavour. I added a dash of cream to the mug - and bingo - WAY nicer - creamy and fulfilling.

I do feel that these are maybe not the premium that they state - for the price of these - they are great - good value, plenty of the mixture in a sachet, easy to take with you, but they do not really set themselves apart from most of the other sachet hot drinks on the market, defining themselves as premium and intense is not an accurate description.

Would I buy these again - probably not this flavour - but do want to try some of the others!

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Mochaccino is my go to drink and my life savior when it comes to drinking coffees in cafes - you see I don't enjoy drinking strong "real" coffee but I love drinking mocha's - it is the perfect blend for me and allows my body the caffeine/coffee hit along with flavour that I need while creating a more mellow taste that allows me to actually enjoy the taste which I love. I was therefore excited to try this product!

The packaging on this product is great; the box is sturdy and the design stands out amongst all the other brands available on the supermarket shelves. Upon opening my first sachet of this drink I was really impressed with the design features with each sachet too. The packet is wide in shape and the "tear here" tab really works (it takes the entire top of the sachet off) which means that ALL of the coffee powder ends up in your cup instead of half of it being all over the kitchen bench. Something I've had happen way to often and find incredibly frustrating! The powder inside each sachet looks like any other and although seems like heaps in the bottom of your cup it all works out just perfectly once the water is poured.

First try of this product had me stirring a little bit longer than other brands to ensure all the lumps of powder had gone and resulted in a little fluff on the top. It smelt declious of rich chocolate and I was looking forward to this treat of a drink. The taste is quite richly of chocolate which I really enjoyed however it did lack any real coffee hit or flavour. This is not to say I didn't like the drink as I truly did, however its probably not as advertised "intense coffee".

I will buy this product again and recommend to others that you try it for yourselves - I think its one of those things where individual tastes and preferences come into play.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 24th of August, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Mochaccino flavour was a nice treat to try for an afternoon coffee. When I opened the packet and poured the powder mix into my cup I could smell the chocolate hint. When pouring the hot water the smell of chocolate lingered in the air. I was looking forward to trying the flavour to see how strong the coffee taste was and if I would like the drink. I noticed the same as the last flavour I tried about the froth on the top, there are some packet mix drinks that do create a thicker layer of froth on the top once adding the water but I found this brand did not create much froth.

The taste I enjoyed and thought the chocolate flavour was stronger then the coffee taste. It was a nice drink but I found the coffee hit was not strong enough for me, I found this more like a hot chocolate drink rather than a mochaccino coffee blend. I got a work mate to try the bland to see what they thought and she mentioned she liked it, but again did not think the coffee hint was very strong.

For the price of the box it is great value and the fact you get 10 packets per box is great. You would save a lot of money on buying the boxes instead of buying coffee at the cafe shops. I find they would be good for a nice treat during the day rather than having standard coffee and cutting costs from buying cafe coffee. Overall I would buy a box and keep it at home for when visitors came over and they might want a fancy coffee or at work for when I need a mid-afternoon pick me up.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 15th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I first started drinking coffee in my last year of high school, simply thanks to being in a class where we could combine with next door and they had a coffee machine. I didn't like coffee at first but began making my own mochaccincos with great regularity but I haven't had any in quite a while so happily made myself a cuppa of Avalanche Mochaccino. I made this first, with just boiling water and nothing added. After I let it cool down a little I gave it a tentative sip and wasn't too sure that I liked it. This initial unsureness proved to be right and I did not like it at all.

I tried some again, this time with a teaspoon of sugar stirred in and found it more tolerable but still not a drink that I could enjoy. I ended up, by my fourth cup, finding that it was most drinkable with one and a half teaspoons stirred into it, which is a shame. My mum had bought herself a box of this drink but ended up handing it to me as she did not enjoy it at all and has declined any offer of this brand of Mochaccino to drink with me. I will drink what I have left but I wish it didn't require the added sugar to make it taste nice. I won't be buying this, just wasn't for me.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am on a pretty strict budget and as I am a huge fan of cafe coffee one thing I do tend to crave is a nice creamy coffee. When I go to a cafe my first choice is always a mocha though I love a strong coffee the addition of a good cocoa powder is always great. I don't have a huge sweet tooth like I used to as I cut sugar from my diet about a year ago so haven't really been drinking mocha's the way I used to but was really keen to try this.

I have tried other avalanche products and been impressed my children love the drinking chocolate and it suits me being that it is sugar free and better for them than other hot chocolate products on the market. I actually really enjoyed this mocha I was expecting a sickly sweet experience like I have experienced with other sachet coffee's which contain an astronomical amount of sugars but this was not at all like that I still got the bitter taste of coffee and cocoa that I enjoy.

I have been tentative with sachet coffee's because in the past I have found them incredibly hard to stir in all the powdered ingredients into the hot water which is a huge pain and unpleasant if you are drinking and discover an undissolved lump. I was worried when I saw how much powder was in each sachet but was pleasantly surprised that it did stir in fairly easily and after a good stir I had removed all traces of powder. I opted to use boiling water even though the packet suggested hot not boiling water with this cold snap of weather I have been wanting piping hot drinks.

All in all I loved this variety of Avalanche Cafe Style Coffee's I think if buying them I would have to be quite strict on myself with how often I drink one as with the price tag for a box it wouldn't be something I could afford on a regular shopping trip. I would look into specials on these products to stock up though as they are a perfect treat.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 4th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like cocoa and I also like coffee so I thought this combination would work well for me. My first taste affirmed that - it was sweet and flavoursome, and I really enjoyed it. The strong flavours combined to produce a rich, smooth drink that was most welcome after a couple of very cold hours outside on the sports field! I gave out sachets to my testers, assuming that most of them would enjoy it just as much as I had.

It was interesting to discover that only two of the five really liked it. This pair had the same impression as I had, describing it as luxury in a cup and bursting with flavour. The others were less impressed. They thought the flavour was artificial and altogether too strong. I think that, for them, the combined flavours were overwhelming whereas for me and the first two this was a strength. Each of us was entitled to our own opinion however!

Having decided I really liked it, I made a second brew - but then got called away before I could drink it so I put it in the fridge, returning later to find it had gone cold. I thought I would drink it as it was rather than reheating it because I was not sure what reheating would do to the flavour - and this is when I was straight off on a trip down memory lane!

Many years ago, I was working in Majorca where one of the popular bottled drinks was a chocolate concoction known as laccao. I could not get enough of it; it was the perfect summer drink for all occasions. Now, as I took the first sip of my stone-cold mochaccino on a freezing New Zealand winter day, I was momentarily transported back to the Mediterranean. It was a long time since I had tasted that flavour. I am not sure whether or not the original laccao contained coffee as well as chocolate, but the match was close enough for me.

As a matter of interest, I did not get the laccao effect when I drank it hot. In fact I think the flavour was quite different, so it must depend on the temperature you serve it at. Be that as it may, this is a drink I will continue to enjoy both ways, depending on the occasion. I am not sure whether it is good for you in quantity so I might have to ration it however!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 5521: Nekta Liquid Kiwifruit -  Brand / Manufacturer: Nekta (NZ)

Product image for Nekta Liquid KiwifruitNekta Kiwifruit Beverages are made from whole New Zealand Kiwifruit. Although the kiwifruit originated from China, New Zealand was the first country in the world to grow the kiwifruit commercially. New Zealand Kiwifruit is the acknowledged world leader in quality kiwifruit production. Nobody knows how to grow the kiwifruit better than the Kiwis.

Nekta Kiwifruit Beverage is not only a full bodied, rich and refreshing drink, it is also ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream