Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 21:25:31

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Sukantha Rice Crisps - Cereal review

« SP Herb Panang Curry Paste reviewSP Herb Panang Curry PasteSukantha Rice Crisps - Cashews reviewSukantha Rice Crisps - Cashews »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.0/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7555 - Sukantha Rice Crisps - Cereal
Brand / Manufactured by: Sukatha

Sukantha Rice Crisps - Cereal
Price:
$5.64 / box
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Supavadee Poka Herb Ltd

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected leading supermarkets

Sukantha Rice Crisps - Cereal product reviews

Sukantha Rice Crisps started with homemade Thai traditional style rice crisps in Phetchaburi since 1993. Rice Crisps are also known as Kaotang and are the most famous and popular choice of Sukantha with its original recipes and best selected natural ingredients, especially the famous Thai-Hom Mali (Thai Jasmine) rice - with its distinctive aroma, colour and taste - mixed with palm sugar and Thai herbs.

Kaotang is a delicious and healthy cracker suitable for any occasions.

This variety is topped with pumpkin seeds, cashews, sesame seeds & soybeans for a healthy, tasty snack. Each wafer is individually wrapped for your convenience.

Check out Supavadee Poka Herb Ltd onlineClick here to see all the listings for Supavadee Poka Herb Ltd Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cashew   kaotang   pumpkin   rice   salt   sesame   soybean   sugar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Crema di Parmigiano Reggiano al TartufoCrema di Parmigiano Reggiano al Tartufo
Rating: 8.9
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Sids Low Sugar Raspberry VinaigretteSids Low Sugar Raspberry Vinaigrette
Rating: 8.8
Sukantha Rice Crisps - CashewsSukantha Rice Crisps - Cashews
Rating: 8.3
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Spiced ApplePiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Spiced Apple
Rating: 10.0
Chicken Fried NoodlesChicken Fried Noodles
Rating: 8.4
Chocolates Are Us - Ginger BrittleChocolates Are Us - Ginger Brittle
Rating: 9.4
Sumrubthai Thai Black Cargo RiceSumrubthai Thai Black Cargo Rice
Rating: 9.0
Barrys Bay MaasdamBarrys Bay Maasdam
Rating: 8.8
gftreets - Delicious Cake Style Donutsgftreets - Delicious Cake Style Donuts
Rating: 9.8
SP Herb Massaman Curry PasteSP Herb Massaman Curry Paste
Rating: 9.0
SP Herb Panang Curry PasteSP Herb Panang Curry Paste
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I have a serial snacker in my house, it's a the point where I need to have snacks in my bag for her simply for moments when she's hungry but also, sometimes, having skmething small to munch on helps to keep her still and calm. Due to this I'm always on the hunt for something that can pop in my bag, not take up much room and have something that doesn't equal a tonne of sugar. Looking at the back, there's a discrepancy when it says that there's two and a half servings, but there's only ten pieces and five pieces equal one serving... So that would lead me to doubt the nutritional information that followed.

Opening it up, the box took a bit of work and I ended up essentially having to rip the top open and then there's a plastic bag which also took a little extra work and then all are individually wrapped. Each one seemed to have at least one cashew and about three pumpkin seeds, along with a nice big amount of sesame seeds. My nine and eight year olds tried these but both agreed they did not like these at all. My mum and I each had one, I didn't like the taste combination (for me it was the spice, oil, sugar combo) whereas my mum initially enjoyed it but found it had an unpleasant aftertaste and so wouldn't eat it again. Meanwhile my serial snacker finished off hers, her brothers, her sisters and asked for more, so a hit with her indeed.

I am dubious about buying this due to the info on the back, if righted and good palm oil (aka not sourced from places that have destroyed orangutan habitat) then I would get this for my serial snacker.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 9th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My husband was peckish the other night and opened the pantry and pulled out the box. He stood there scanning the box and decided to try one. He tried to open it without wrecking the box but in the end ripped it open and basically destroyed the lid. Opening the packet inside was much easier and ripped straight down. He pulled out the contents and counted ten individual bags. Opening the crisp was also very easy and he popped it in his mouth - well his eyes grow and a grin appeared on his face and he said 'wow yum, just so good' and opened another one.

The whole lot of them were gone within three days and he has already requested another box. He just loves them. They are perfect for putting in your drawer or lunch box at work. He has stated that one is never enough. His only complaint is its not big enough and he wishes there was more in it. He has described it like eating a cracker or a chip but with the surprise element of it having the health benefits.

I on the other hand took my time to try them. In the time I had read the box he had already eaten two of them and was tempted to go for his third. The picture on the box didn't quite look like the one in the packet. Maybe because I knew it was healthy I was a tad hesitant. Taking my first bite I was surprised by how much flavour there was in such a little bite. The flavour was just so vibrant. You had the crunch like a chip but then you had some exotic tastes coming thru. I couldn't split any of the ingredients and it mixed together perfectly. It had a tad of heat to it but yet it was so comforting at the same time. It didn't smell like anything but yet you are expecting it to as the crisp is so busy with a variety of fillings.

I have to admit I am absolutely stunned by this little crisp. You seriously expect to be able to taste the pumpkin seeds or sesame seeds but you really can't. It is a perfect combination and packs such a punch. I am really surprised by the taste and was not at all how I expected it to be. Will definitely be in the pantry from now on and maybe the girls might be able to get one this time.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Seeing these rice crisps up for review I decided to put in my request. I am always looking for new ideas for snacks, especially ones that may have a healthy spin to them. Once receiving them I wasn't sure just how to use them but thought the best way to try them first was to try it just as is. I got the box out of the cupboard and sat down to open them up. Little did I realise it was going to take a little bit to get into the box! First I had to peel the little sticker that was over the top of the box holding it securely closed. I did like this as sometimes cardboard boxes are easily opened and things from inside can be tampered with. Once I got the sticker off though I did wonder why they had put it on, as the cardboard box itself had been glued closed! It wasn't easy to open either but I eventually got there, only to find a silver bag inside. This bag had a tear tab on it so was easy to open, although the tab needed to go across the top of the bag instead of down as I almost lost half of the crackers out of it on the floor! I was then surprised to find that each of the crackers is individually wrapped. Certainly an overkill on packaging if you ask me! I do like though that they are individually wrapped so that I can pop them in my lunch box for work and know they aren't going to break and create a mess as I transport them to work. I had 10 individual crackers inside my box, which didn't quite match up to what the label said. It states there are 2.5 serves within the box, and that one serve is 5 crackers. 10 crackers is equal to 2 serves, so I am missing 1/2 of a serve! I'm not a fan of misrepresentation on a label so this would be a big reason to put me off buying them in the future.

I wasn't quite expecting what was inside the packet. The cracker itself does look similar to the picture on the front, but it does look quite different at the same time. The colour on the box looks much more vibrant and the crackers themselves look a lot thicker. I would have appreciated a more natural looking picture on the front as it does have an almost clip art look to it, like it has been created on a computer and not an actual photo taken. There were plenty of seeds on top of the cracker which was good. There is nothing worse than having a product that doesn't have a lot of each of the toppings on it.

Upon trying the crackers I wasn't quite sure what they tasted of. As you made your way through you got the flavours of all of the different toppings and each mouthful tasted quite different. The overall flavour of the cracker was almost quite fishy, and wasn't something I found too pleasant. I am not a big seafood fan so things that taste even slightly like fish or seafood aren't pleasant to me. I was going to give the cracker a fair chance and make my way through it all, but after three bites I just couldn't do it. I could see how others would enjoy them but they just aren't for me.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 18th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

One of the first things I noticed when trying to open the box was how difficult it was to get into the packet. I found I had to rip the lip in the end. Once opening the box there is a pouch you open and the rice crisps are inside all individually wrapped. On opening a rice crisp I thought they looked cute and inviting. Small rice snacks that is bright and colourful.

On trying my first Rice crisps I could not believe how tasty they were. For a small fun bite size snack, they pack a lot of great flavours and textures. I love the sunflower seeds on the crisps and the sesame seeds add a lovely taste and texture. The crisps taste sweet and savoury and remind me of deep fried prawn chips.

The packaging is great and I like how informative the information is. The price is great for product and these would be great snack to have during the day at work or home. Although you have to be careful as these are so yummy it is very hard to stick to one or two at a time.

My son tired these with me and he really enjoyed them asking if he could have some in school lunch box. I liked how he could open the crisps easily enough himself. Even though the box itself was hard to get into the packets themselves are easy to rip open. I love the clear wrapping as well so you can see the product. I would definitely buy these again and share them with friend.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I'm not entirely sure of my opinions of this product. The overall idea seems unique; combining the rice cracker, with a sweet trail mix. Each rice crisp is made of Thai jasmine rice, and topped with a cereal mix that includes cashew nuts, soybean, pumpkin and sesame seeds. With regards to flavour, the Cereal variety is very similar to the Cashew Nut variety, though it leans more towards the savoury side of the spectrum than the sweet side.

The seeds provide a roasted flavour that counteracts the sweetness of the sugar (2% of the recipe) that is included in the product. Interestingly, despite having the same sugar composition in both the Cereal and Cashew Nut varieties, the Cereal has lower sugar levels in the nutritional information (14.1g per 100g, as opposed to 20.7g). The consistency of the rice crisp is somewhat similar to that of the Nature Zone Vege Chips that you find in the petrol stations.

I really am unsure whether to trust the nutritional information to be honest. Both packets of Sukantha Rice Crisps that I have had, claim that a serving is 5 pieces, and that each has 2.5 servings per pack. So you'd expect 12-13 per box. But both boxes only had 10. Which raises questions as to whether the nutritional info is over or underestimated.

Either way, with such an overpowering aftertaste, that is as strong as when eating an entire loaf of garlic bread, it doesn't strike me as a product I would purchase for myself or to provide to others. At 56c per crisp, it's not overly expensive, but still not something that I find too appealing. I'm happy with my plain old salted crackers and cheese.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 4th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These little biscuits are deceptively moreish. It is important to have at least two friends around when you open the packet because, believe me, you will be tempted as I was to eat the whole lot in one go. They are like a cross between a cracker and a potato chip, and are equally yummy eaten just as they are and straight from the packet, or topped with various spreads and other interesting edibles.

They come in individual wrappers which is useful because they are quite fragile and you don't want to drop any! I managed to break two of them as I was opening the box, but thanks to the packaging there was no harm done. Some of them had more pumpkin seeds than others, but they all had plenty of sesame seeds - both black and white - which gave them an interesting texture. There was also the occasional large flake of cashew on one or two.

Having tried them unadorned, I went on to see what they would taste like with a dollop of cream cheese on top. I even decided to make them more interesting by adding a piece of pimento. I don't know which I preferred - plain or with the topping - so some time soon I will have to buy another packet and do some more research.

I had invited two friends to help me with my review, but one was unable to come so her friend turned up on his own. In fact, I was quite pleased that there was just one other person as, after tasting the crisps, I really did not feel like sharing at all! However, I did want his reactions, so I pretended to be pleased that he had arrived and offered him one of each - the plain and the decorated. At first I thought he did not like them as he was making some really strange faces as he ate them, but then he must have seen my own expression. He then started to laugh, and apologised!

It seems that when he first tasted the plain crisp, he was trying to remember when he had last tasted a similar flavour and then he had remembered. Years ago when he was travelling overseas (in Southeast Asia) he had been given a rice pudding which was savoury rather than sweet and featured a thin, crisp crust. It was this flavour and texture that he had remembered, and it had brought back happy memories of his student days. After that, he could not praise the crisps enough although he did say he preferred them plain.

They are quite expensive for the number of crisps you get in a box, but the flavour and presentation more than make up for this. I think they would be lovely as an hors d'oeuvres before a special meal, and I would buy them again. But maybe I might ask someone else to hide them so I don't just eat them all myself!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6492: Balsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan Focaccia -  Brand / Source : Kapiti Artisan Bakehouse

Product image for Balsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan FocacciaThis hand-made Italian style stonebaked loaf is topped with balsamic roasted onions, parmesan and tasty cheese, then finished with herb butter.

To experience the delicious taste of this authentic bread, simply heat and eat.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream