Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 21:24:13

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > ViBERI Noir review

« ViBERi Ruby reviewViBERi RubyViBERi Cacao reviewViBERi Cacao »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.7/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7550 - ViBERI Noir
Brand / Manufactured by: ViBERi

ViBERI Noir
Price:
$10.95 / 90g bag
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Viberi

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
see website for details

ViBERI Noir product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOrganic soft blackcurrants are rolled in the highest grade organic premium 58% Dark Belgian chocolate. Wickedly moreish.

    •  Organic premium Belgian 58% dark chocolate
    •  Organic NZ blackcurrants
    •  Vegan
    •  No GMO used
    •  Gluten Free

Check out Viberi onlineClick here to see all the listings for Viberi Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
antioxidants   blackcurrant   chocolate   gluten free   glutenfree   nzmade   organic   vegan   viberi   vitamin c
Other listings you may be interested in:
Muscle Fuel MealsMuscle Fuel Meals
Rating: 9.3
ViBERi CacaoViBERi Cacao
Rating: 9.5
Innestyle Sauce - ClassicInnestyle Sauce - Classic
Rating: 9.3
ViBERi RubyViBERi Ruby
Rating: 9.4
Wattie's Toasties - Cheese and OnionWattie's Toasties - Cheese and Onion
Rating: 8.8
Indian Creations: Tikka MasalaIndian Creations: Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.7
ViBERi Soft-dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Soft-dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.0
ViBERi PearlViBERi Pearl
Rating: 9.4
ViBERi Freeze-Dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Freeze-Dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.4
ViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant PowderViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant Powder
Rating: 9.5
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
Pretzel Crisps - SesamePretzel Crisps - Sesame
Rating: 9.6
Street Kitchen - North Indian Butter ChickenStreet Kitchen - North Indian Butter Chicken
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 4th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Having been lucky enough to receive three varieties of the Viberi to try, I was in the unfortunate (not really!!) position of trying to decide which to try first. They all looked and sounds amazing, so I surrendered to the kids and we decided, blast it all - we would live on the edge and try all three.... self control is sometimes over rated!

Looking at the packet - they graphics are very inviting, and do depict, for the most part, the Viberi morsels in truth - they are often more oval than round - but this in no way effects them. I would like to suggest having a look at the colours used, for the text - as particularly the Cacao and Noir varieties are very easy to muddle if you were in a rush or did not look properly.

Having just finished dinner, the kids were BEGGING to try these, but, not knowing whether the tartness of the blackcurrants would be too much for them, I decided to add them to yoghurt, so if they did not like them, I might be able to save and eat them. To say I was surprised that all three of them devoured these (they are 8, nearly 6 and 4) is an understatement - as there is a kick to the blackcurrants. At first Mr 4 said "they are salty" (he meant sour) but upon trying another, he declared they were good. The kids got to try all three varieties we were lucky enough to receive, and they liked the Ruby and these, the Noir. I have a suspicion that the reason for this is that these two varieties have more sugar in the chocolate, being a less percentage of dark, but that is only a thought.

What I loved most about these - in addition to amazing flavour, to a complete more-ishness, a quality treat and something that the whole family loved, was that I could pop a few (I would like to say one but I would be fibbing) in my mouth - suck all the chocolate off and be left with little morsels of tartiness, to then start all over. My hubby is not usually a fruit and chocolate kind of guy, but I had to notice, that upon sitting down to watch tv, HE grabbed the packets to enjoy a few more!

The price of these is the only downfall - however, in saying that - they are a quality, not "scoff all in one go" type of treat - and definitely a "hide from the kids" type of treat! I am going to get these to pop into muffins for a monthly ladies night I attend, and I am fairly sure I will have many asking me what they are and where I got them!

Thank you Viberi, for a lovely, different and delicious treat - look forward to seeing you bring out more things to enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 29th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love dark chocolate and I love blackcurrants so Viberi Noir looked like it was going to be a match made in Heaven........ and it was! These New Zealand organic blackcurrants are infused with organic apple juice, soft dried and then hand rolled in certified organic premium 58% Belgian dark chocolate. The packet is simple yet classy with pictures of the product and a brief description. On the back it describes why these yummy balls are pure bliss and how they are lovingly created. The pack also claims that they are Wickedly More'ish and I have to agree. I took one to try and OMG!! The quality Belgian chocolate gently melted on my tongue to reveal a soft and sweet blackcurrant. I couldn't stop at one though for these wicked morsels are addictive!

There are supposedly 5 servings (18g) per pack but I dare anyone to make this pack last that long! The pack is resealable which is totally unnecessary! I gave my girls two each (yes, meany mum that I am) and both of them loved them and begged for more. Later that evening I had to hide the wrapper in the bin but I was still busted when they asked for more the next day! Not only did they taste delicious but you could tell they were hand made (with love!) as there were lots of different sizes balls in the pack.

These are Gluten Free and contain mainly organic ingredients. They are also made in New Zealand with the blackcurrants being grown in the Southern Alps. The only downside to this product is the price. They are definitely worth the money but this is definitely a luxury purchase and one you wouldn't want to share with anyone!

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 17th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Wow when I saw these ViBeri Noir products come up for review I knew I had to try and get my hands on some chocolate covered blackcurrants, they sounded amazing. Well they ARE!!! like everyone else has commented once you start you can't stop eating them they are exactly what the packaging states "wickedly more'ish". At first all you can taste is the dark chocolate as it does overpower the blackcurrants, my son really enjoyed these also probably because they are like chocolate balls and what kids don't want to eat those.

The packaging which is simple but eye catching shows full blackcurrants on the front but they are in fact dried blackcurrants rolled in 58% cacao dark chocolate. You can also tell yourselves they are guilt free as they are gluten free, GMO free, Vegan, and certified organic. No preservatives and sulphates are used as well so suits a large variety of diets.

The price of $10.95 for a 90g bag is pretty high considering you will probably demolish these in 1-2 sittings and I'm sure you could buy other products that are cheaper and that taste just as good. I probably wouldn't buy these again as I wouldn't spend this much but I was really happy that I got to try these out.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 29th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

What a wonderful idea - to take a preserved blackcurrant and surround it with premium dark chocolate. I was determined not to try them until I had thought about a few different ways I could use them, but quite honestly, they are pretty good just as they are. I had eaten a dozen before I realised what I was doing, and hastily closed the packet before I could demolish the lot!

I think the way that the berry and the chocolate are fused into one soft, rich, melt-in-the-mouth treat is bound to appeal to most people who taste it. Although I am not known for being a chocolate lover, I have to say that I certainly enjoyed these.

I asked two friends, both in their fifties, to try them. I was interested in their responses - unlike me, they thought the balance was all wrong. Both thought the chocolate overwhelmed the blackcurrants to the extent that they could not really be tasted. I was surprised because I really liked them, but I suppose everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

I went on to try out a couple of variations. The first I tried was with scroggin - I already had a mixture of dried fruit and nuts I had prepared the day before to take on a bush walk, so I added a few noir currants and offered each of the friends a small handful. This went down a lot better. One said that she thought the nutty flavours made the chocolate seem less rich, and she could actually taste the currants now. The other friend was more cautious, but agreed it was a much better way to serve them.

While we were doing our testing, my cousin arrived with her two pre-schoolers and I offered them each a currant, thinking that the taste would be too sophisticated. I was wrong - the children loved the berries and asked if they could have another one. So much for dark chocolate being an acquired taste!

Since I now had five tasters instead of my original two, I thought I would grab the opportunity and try another variation. I had three small donuts in the cupboard so I decorated them with whipped cream and used up the rest of the packet to top them. Then I cut each one in half and gave each person a serving, keeping one for myself. This was the most successful idea of all. Everyone liked them and the impromptu dessert disappeared in no time.

Interestingly, they were taken aback by the price, but after we had finished the packet and agreed that the product does qualify as a special-occasion luxury food, it did not see so steep. I think I will be serving this variety again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 28th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Soft dried blackcurrants rolled in dark belgian chocolate. Sound delicious and decadent? Well they are. The chocolate is dark and rich, with 58% cacao, and it really is the major influence in the flavour. The berries give a hit of tangy sweetness, but the principle flavour comes from the chocolate.

The image on the front of the packaging does give a bit of a false representation; the blackcurrants themselves being soft dried look more like raisins than the full, spherical berry shown on the packet. and the end product is rarely round, instead often more ovular and having a wide variety of sizes. But beyond that, the packaging is very accurate. It claims to be wickedly more'ish, and I can't say any different. I have single-handedly eaten over half of the pack while writing this review.

They look like the perfect thing to use as toppings for a dessert, such as a cheesecake, or ice-cream, but the real challenge is actually having them last long enough to use. An addictive treat that will not last long in the pantry. The price may seem off-putting, it may seem on the high side, but it is well worth the money. Granted you don't need to eat these every day, but as a luxury and a treat, you can't go past them.

There is little else that I can really say. The packaging is nice to look at, and comes in the form of a resealable foil bag to keep in the freshness. But try them. You won't regret it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 27th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

So... I was thinking to myself "What amazing dish can I make that would use these? It's got to be some kind of dessert, but what?" So I ran through options like "a layered Tiramisu", "mousse with these in it" and "as part of a sundae" and then I did something really, really stupid.

I ate one.

That was it, the end of all plans, the abysmal failure of cuisine creativity. All I could think about was jamming another of these amazing little balls of "OH DEAR GOD YES!" into my greedy maw. So... -flash forward about 15 seconds in time- I was having to literally sit on one hand and try and seal the bag with the other, before the bag was emptied! I felt like I could easily have just opened my mouth like that guy in the "Reach" toothbrush commercial and dumped the entire bag full down my throat.

With the just-under-half-a-bag-left I planned to try chopping them up into 8ths and mixing them through some Toasted Coconut ice-cream to REALLY give it that "Bounty Bar" flavour with a fruity twist... but alas it never got that far. As soon as I had the ice-cream out, a friend showed up at the door, we got talking, I put the ice-cream away so it didn't melt, I mentioned the Noir, he wanted to try one so of course I had to have one too... and that was it. The bag was dead Jim, dead.

Overall, these are SO MORE'ISH that unless you have iron-clad self-control they will disappear like political promises the night after the new government get sworn in. While I can easily see how the price is entirely justified, I can only wish that they were cheaper so I could buy them by the barrel. So, Plan B is to try one of the other varieties with the ice-cream instead.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 3703: Olive Leaf Plus
Brand: Red Seal

Product image for Olive Leaf PlusRed Seal Olive Leaf Plus comes in a jar with 36 capsules.

    •  Helps detoxify your body and strengthen the body's natural defences.
    •  Contains oleuropein which helps to build immunity.
    •  Helps to support respiratory tract health.
    •  Zinc helps the body build and support resistance to ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do, and they will surprise you with their ingenuity."
George S. Patton (1885 - 1945)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream