Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 28th May 2017 - 05:42:33

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty review

« Top Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' Spice reviewTop Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' SpiceJackie reviewJackie »

Advertising...

Bosslevel.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.6/10  [8 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 7522 - Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Brand / Manufactured by: Top Notch Orchards

Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Price:
$12.00 / 150g
Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Top Notch Macadamias

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail partners
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur newest addition Sweet 'n' Salty (our twist on Salted Caramel) has taken major popularity with our customers. Open a bag of these and you will soon find that they have disappeared too quickly and you will want more!

The lovely flavour of our traditional honey caramel base with a light sprinkling of Pink Himalayan rock salt then followed by a drizzle of Milk Chocolate makes this a flavour explosion in the mouth that all will love.

Check out Top Notch Macadamias onlineClick here to see all the listings for Top Notch Macadamias Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   chocolate   honey   macadamia   salt   sugar   tree nuts   vinegar   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sauce for Fruit - Vanilla CremeSauce for Fruit - Vanilla Creme
Rating: 7.0
Top Notch Macadamias - Roasted SaltedTop Notch Macadamias - Roasted Salted
Rating: 9.3
Act II Popcorn - Light Butter FlavourAct II Popcorn - Light Butter Flavour
Rating: 9.8
Kinnerton Adult Allergy Free Bar and Easter EggKinnerton Adult Allergy Free Bar and Easter Egg
Rating: 10.0
Top Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' SpiceTop Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' Spice
Rating: 8.1
Pitango Kids Macaroni CheesePitango Kids Macaroni Cheese
Rating: 9.6
Fast Food HouseFast Food House
Rating: 4.6
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Nuttz Cinnamon CashewsNuttz Cinnamon Cashews
Rating: 8.7
NZ Squeezed Lemon CurdNZ Squeezed Lemon Curd
Rating: 9.7
Vege Grande PizzaVege Grande Pizza
Rating: 9.0
McDonalds Beef 'n' BBQ Deli-Style SandwichMcDonalds Beef 'n' BBQ Deli-Style Sandwich
Rating: 7.3
Abe's Baby BagelsAbe's Baby Bagels
Rating: 8.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 26th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Topnotch Sweet 'N Salty macadamia nuts were the second packet of nuts that were included in my review box. Just like the other packets in the Topnotch macadamia nut range, it was silver with a large black label and a little peep window so you could see all the yummy nuts and flavour. This packet is also 150g and $12. The macadamia nuts that Topnotch use are proudly NZ grown. After tasting the Roasted Salted macadamias and being very impressed with the quality, I was very eager to rip into the packet and sample them.

After I opened the packet I could instantly smell the gorgeous aroma of the yummy caramel that the macadamias were covered in. I picked up the first macadamia from the packet and instantly realized how sticky they were hehe. The nut was covered in just the right amount of caramel and the Pink Himalayan rock salt was not too overpowering. All my family members enjoyed these nuts just a bit more than the Roasted Salted, as the combination of caramel, salt, and a small amount of milk chocolate was pure genius. Unsurprisingly the packet didn't last us very long and there was even an argument over who was going to get the last of the flavouring that was in the bottom of the packet.

I am looking forward to purchasing some more of these nuts in the future and I think they would be fantastic for eating while entertaining guests. Finding a craft beer to go with them will just make a perfect match. I am very impressed with how fresh all the macadamia nuts I have tried from Topnotch are and I am hoping to try the Smoke 'N' Spice variety at a later date. Anyone that chooses to try these macadamias will not be disappointed.

This review is awaiting approval by our moderators.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love snacking on nuts and macadamia nuts are among my favourites so I was looking forward to trying Top Notch's Sweet 'n' Salty nuts. They are sealed in a foil bag with a small clear window at the front so you can see what you are getting! The front label also states that these nuts are NZ grown which is an added bonus! The pack is resealable but oh my goodness, once you have tried these there won't be much left to seal!

I thought I would sample one or two but that quickly turned into three, then four! Willpower made me put these tasty morsels away as I could probably pig out on a whole pack (my waist line wouldn't be too impressed though!) I had friends that came round later that evening and after dinner and dessert, in a fit of goodwill, I thought I would offer these around. This was a huge error in my judgement as they were all gobbled up! Between the seven of us, every single person loved them and was keen to eat more.

The ingredients consist of macadamia nuts, butter, sugar, honey, salt, vinegar and chocolate. I didn't taste any vinegar but the honey, chocolate and salt combo was heavenly. Although a little pricey, the fact that you are buying NZ grown/ made and they are a premium nut which taste divine, make it worth it!

Top Notch claim on their packaging to be 'A nut above the rest' and I can honestly say with this product that they are. My only regret was sharing them!!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was a bit worried when I saw that this product contains milk chocolate because this is one food I don't tolerate well, but there was no cause for concern - there was actually very little chocolate in the pack, and what was there had tended to fall off the nuts and lurk at the bottom of the packet. The caramel-style coating was the big thing, and although it was quite sticky (hint: wash your hands before you indulge in this product because you will end up licking the drips off your fingers!), it somehow reminded me of the frosted nuts you could buy years ago.

The whole effect of the dressed-up nuts was one of total decadence. I had rung in six people to help me test them, and I was very glad I did because I might otherwise have eaten the lot myself. They are seriously yummy and it would not be hard for one person to scoff the lot. Luckily, my helpers saved me from overdoing it and in fact were amazingly keen to help me out.

One of the adults thought it was a bit too sweet for his taste, and also commented that it was softer than he would have expected a nut to be. In fact he likened it to popcorn. However, he was the only one who thought it was too sweet. Everyone else, adults and children alike, loved it and thought it would make an ideal special-occasion snack. I had served some of it in a bowl straight from the packet and the rest on top of ice cream. Personally, I preferred it with the ice cream as it froze slightly and became brittle like toffee.

Another adult said she would like it in a pecan pie, either alongside the pecans or to replace them altogether, and would also use one to decorate a cup cake and make it more interesting. She is going to look for them in the shops as she does a lot of baking and can think of plenty of other ways they could be used. She pointed out that, despite the sweet coating, you can still taste the nut itself. She actually preferred macadamias this way as she liked the combination of the salt and sweet - in her opinion, it made them more palatable.

The price is quite high, but macadamias are pricy anyway even when you are just buying the plain fresh nuts. As an everyday item they would be costly, but for an occasional special treat I don't think the price is too bad. I am already planning to serve them on top of a pavlova I have in mind for a potluck I will be attending in a few days' time, and am sure that dessert will go down a treat.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 21st of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As I said in my review of Top Notch Macadamia's Roasted and Salted I absolutely love Macadamia's they are by far my favourite nut and I could quite happily eat them as a snack food regularly as they keep me full in between meals and are a convenient and easy snack. I can have these in my handbag or pantry to just grab and go when the occasion arises.

Although I do like salted nuts a bit of sweetness is always good too and the chocolate coated nuts are a real treat. I was curious to try these as they had the sweetness too and the hint of chocolate sounded appealing. I did enjoy them and would buy them again but I found them a little bit odd at first so I would probably only have a few at a time as I found the combination of the sweet and salty together was a little strange after a few.

I wasn't sure I could taste chocolate but I could definitely taste the vinegar and the salt and something that made it sweet but it was more of a cinnamon taste to me I really wasn't sure. It wasn't like honey roasted nuts where you get the sweetness it was a different combination that I wasn't sure of but kept going back for more. After a few I put them away but did go back again and eat the rest bit by bit and they were a hit with other members of my family.

I likened the taste almost to movie theatre popcorn, which has the sweet and salty flavour although I think I prefer the nuts to popcorn. Finding gluten free snacks is often a challenge so finding new products is important to me and being able to have a little bit of variety in my choices is great so these will definitely be a great pantry item for me and my family.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 18th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

TopNotch sweet and salty macadamia nuts are totally amazing and I absolutely love the flavour and everything about them. On my first macadamia nut I was hooked as these seriously crunchy and gooey sticky nuts explode in your mouth. All I can say is give me more please, which is bad since it is easy to eat many in one sitting. I had been good though and only eating a couple at a time when I crave that sweet tooth craving. It is great how you get the hit of all the flavours, the sweet and the salty, a caramel hit and a chocolate hit as well as the salty goodness.

I love the packaging and it is very simple yet stylish which is an eye catcher. I think having the NZ grown sticker on the package is fantastic as it shows that the product is local and I find it makes food more trustworthy. I also like how the expiry date in not a year out, the expiry date was within a 6 month time frame I a guessing from when they were batched.

I really enjoying trying these amazing sweet and salty macadamia nuts, and even though the price is out of my normal price range I would spend on a snack food, I feel these would be something I would treat myself with every now and again with as the flavour is super amazing and you would not be disappointed with this treat. I look forward to trying the other flavours now I have finished this bag of so quickly and sneakily. Hiding the packet in my top draw so my son did not get his little hands on them as I know he would have eaten them all up in one go.

Click here to read the profile of emmzip

Review by: emmzip (Emily)
Dated: 17th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw these available to review on the KIWIreviews website I was intrigued, I'm not the biggest macadamia nut fan but I was keen to give these a go! A few nights later my sister came over for dinner and she is a massive macadamia nut fan so the right thing to do was to pull out the nuts and share them with her. We both fell in love! The flavours are just amazing and on point. I loved the sweet of the caramel and chocolate with the salt and the nuts, absolutely delicious! My sister told me to pop them away before she devoured the whole bag, and before long they were all gone. But what a treat! The yummiest nut's I have tried. The flavour point is definitely bang on and there is a perfect mix of sweet and salty. The best part was getting to the bottom of the packet and finding all the crumbs of caramel and chocolate bits at the bottom of the bag.

I loved the packaging, all the nutritional information and ingredients were clearly stated on the back of the packaging. The bag was resealable, meaning the nuts were kept fresher for longer. I also loved that the packet stood up well where it was placed. These would be a perfect treat to take to a potluck dinner or a barbeque, and will leave everybody wanting to come back for more.

Price point isn't too bad, you really do get what you pay for and you would not regret buying these for a treat or to take along as a shared plate. The 150g bag lasted me a couple of afternoon snacks and then there was still enough left to share with my sister. I will be keeping an eye out for these in stores in the future.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 10th of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Out of the three variety available to review, this was the product I was least interested in. As someone who is trying to eat healthier, something named 'Sweet 'n Salty' sounds the opposite of healthy. Surprisingly, however, the product only has around 521 calories per 75g serving (compared to 562 cal in the Roasted Salted and 1100+ in the Smoke 'n Spice variety) which makes this the "healthiest" product of the range.

As with the smoke 'n spice variety, the nuts themselves were smaller than the roasted salted variety, and so the flavours are much stronger, due to a lower surface area to volume ratio; much more flavouring compared to nut. Flavour-wise I was suitably impressed. The nuts looked caked in something and when you bite into it you get a hit of caramel. The consistency does vary between soft, gritty, or brittle, but I think caramel fudge is the closest way of comparing the coating flavour. It definitely reminds me of the caramel popcorn, and I'm genuinely unsure how the calorie count is so low.

There is a salty element to the flavour profile, however, and it seems a little bit inconsistent. In general, it's nice and complements the sweet elements well, but sometimes you bite and get a concentrated patch of saltiness, which is a tad off-putting (to be clear, it's not a bad taste, but it's very different from the proper sweet 'n salty combo, that you become very aware of it).

The coating does make the nuts rather sticky, and makes it just that little bit harder to maintain portion control as you may get multiple nuts coming out all stuck together (and it's really easy to just eat them all). The sticky coating actually makes them easier to eat as the flesh of macadamia nuts can often become flaky, and will get stuck in any gaps in the mouth. The coating will cause the nut to stick together during consumption. The downside of this is that being easier to eat means I'll eat more of it, and again I suck at portion control, but it's a good problem for a product to have.

Suffice to say, this flavour that I was least interested in trying is the product that I have most enjoyed. Of the three varieties, this is the one that I would recommend the highest, and it definitely earns it's $12 per pack price tag.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 5766: Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight -  Manufactured by Prolife Foods

Product image for Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint DelightA soft and sensual block of delicious peppermint delight, generously coated in dark chocolate made with 60% cocoa.

Lovingly crafted in the Waikato by brothers and chocolatiers, Mark and Paul Donovan. Donovans Chocolate's uniqueness is achieved by combining the finest quality ingredients with European technology and Kiwi expertise to deliver the ultimate chocolate experience to your taste buds.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Common sense is just experience so ingrained, you use it almost without thinking. The worst thing is, we aren't born with it."
unknown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream