Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th December 2017 - 03:49:50

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Fish > Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket review

« Lemon & Dill Salmon Pocket reviewLemon & Dill Salmon PocketDavid Strassman's "iTedE" Show reviewDavid Strassman's "iTedE" Show »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [5 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7481 - Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket
Brand / Manufacturer Sealord

Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket
Price:
$2.59
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Sealord

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
March 2017
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe inspiration for this salmon product comes from the Mediterranean where sundried tomatoes, olives and garlic are available in abundance. Once the ingredients are all combined, they are cooked slowly so that all that delicious flavour is locked in for your enjoyment.


Check out Sealord onlineClick here to see all the listings for Sealord Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
basil   mediterranean   nz made   olive   parsley   pepper   ready to eat   salmon   sealord   tapenade   tomato   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Salsa VerdeSealord Tuna Pockets - Salsa Verde
Rating: 9.4
Chicken Fried NoodlesChicken Fried Noodles
Rating: 8.4
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Tahitian CoconutSealord Tuna Pockets - Tahitian Coconut
Rating: 9.4
Lemon & Dill Salmon PocketLemon & Dill Salmon Pocket
Rating: 9.1
BAKED Pizza - Make and BakeBAKED Pizza - Make and Bake
Rating: 9.8
Sid's Oudtshorn Sweet MustardSid's Oudtshorn Sweet Mustard
Rating: 10.0
Smokey Harissa Tuna PocketSmokey Harissa Tuna Pocket
Rating: 8.9
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Peri PeriSealord Tuna Pockets - Peri Peri
Rating: 9.8
Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Churro CaramelPopped Gourmet Popcorn - Churro Caramel
Rating: 8.6
ViBERi Soft-dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Soft-dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.0
Nero Cafe and RestaurantNero Cafe and Restaurant
Rating: 9.3
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and GingerSealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and Ginger
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 30th of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

No matter how much morning tea and lunch I put into my lunchbox each day I find I'm starving right near break times so I thought that a change in lunch might help and since fish is good for the diet but I have no idea how to cook fish this seemed like a great idea.

I had the thought of putting some on crackers but the fish is a bit chunky for that so I grabbed a spoon and just ate like it was by the spoonful. Firstly I hate olives so I was debating picking the olives out but then I thought to try it so I could really give the product a good go. I ate the olives and loved it. Sometimes I find that a new food gives me gas (be glad you aren't stuck in a car with me on the way home, poor kids) but on the drive home that day, no gas and surprising no tummy pains so I'm really impressed with this product.

I threw the bag out so I can't remember if there were instructions about heating or not, but I ate it cold and it was fine. The picture on the front is eye catching and I will be adding this to my shopping list as it was a great addition to my lunch and I felt full afterwards and no gas (which is always a bonus). I'm sure I'm going to love experimenting on how else to be able to eat this.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have never tried these fish pockets before having seen them several times but not sure what I would do with them. It was then a weeknight when I was home alone and I couldn't think what to have for dinner so I tested out the old "fish on toast". I had given up on tinned/packaged fish on toast after being a student many years ago and finding it dry and bland so I was interested to see if this could change my mind.

The packet looked inviting and was clear from the photo what I was expecting to taste alongside the salmon which was good as I don't like not having a guide of what to put with the base ingredient. In this case I didn't add or complement the pocket with anything as I wanted the pure taste of what was in the pocket.

I used toasted molenburg as I knew I wanted a reasonably solid bread to go with fish in case it was a bit "wet" which it was not. I opened the sachet/pocket/pouch and it was a great texture that was fragrant, smelling of the tomato but not overpowering mostly. It went on the toast easily and there were very big chunks of fish and tomato. I found I didn't need to "spread" it as much as move bits around a bit so it wasn't all in the middle. The look was a great colour - really rich looking, nothing beige happening here.

I went overboard and put as much as I could on two bits of toast which might have been overkill in retrospect. I was expecting little flavour and because there was little to no sauce/juice and that it might be dry but the pocket delivered a strong flavour with very little dryness. I was surprised at the volume in the pocket given it didn't look much or sound like a lot of weight but I could have used a lot less on my toast than came out of the packet.

The taste was strong - perhaps a little too strong for me who was expecting a lighter less intense taste combination. The olive and tomato aspects were clear and strong and I liked how Italian it tasted to me. The salmon aspect of this was also really interesting as usually I find salmon when packaged up quite a bland fish and I could definitely taste the fish but I was not overwhelmed. Overall it was a strong taste of the ingredients but not too much sauce overpowering it. I am still not entirely sure what a tapenade should taste like but if this is anything to go by I would be keen to explore these tastes more.

I will buy more of these for midweek dinner or lunch where I have no inspiration to cook - especially in summer when you don't want to waste too much time prepping food. Amazing how quickly you can make something lovely with a strong base like this. Next time I will probably mix in a few other things and stretch it to toast/wrap for two with salad which makes it very good value for a quick snack/lunch/dinner.

Definitely keen to try some other flavours now too!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 27th of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am always looking for easy snack and lunch ideas especially for work, quick and easy is the key. Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pockets are great and I found the taste is amazing. When I opened the pocket I got a lovely hit of the flavours. I decided to have the salmon on Vogel's toast and it went down a treat. My work mates were even looking at my lunch asking what I was having. When I told them I was sampling it they wanted to know more.

I really liked the thickness of the salmon mix inside the pocket, then other flavour I tried I enjoyed the juices it came with but I found this was a thicker mix and not so much juice. I loved the olives and the sundried tomato always is a treat for me. Everything tasted really good and I really wished I had more of it. I found eating it with the toast was satisfying and I was full enough without being to over full. Nothing worse then going back to work after lunch and being tired from being too full.

I think these salmon pockets are great and I love the flavour combinations they come in. I think they are great value and a great easy lunch snack. The other pocket I tried I had it with a salad and it went down a treat. I find it is something different then your standard tuna or meat for lunch. It is always good to mix things up, so it would be handy to have a few pockets stashed in the pantry to grab and run when you are in a hurry and did not have time to make your lunch. I would recommend the salmon pockets and I will be buying some for my lunches.

Click here to read the profile of k_waterbaby

Review by: k_waterbaby (Kylie)
Dated: 12th of June, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am always looking for quick, easy, healthy meal ideas that I can just rip into last minute when there is no time for anything else. Having been through every possible "tinned tuna" in my working life for lunches I thought salmon could be a way to spice up my options and add a wee bit of luxury to my otherwise boring lunchbox.

The packaging gives you a feel for the ingredients and instantly gives you a sense of freshness, quality ingredients and flavour that you would hope is delivered. And in this occasion it absolutely delivered on everything I was looking for in this Sealord Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon; simply delicious.

I was nervous at the olives as I am the first to admit I am not into olives as much as the next person but the hero, other than the salmon of course, was the fragrant flavour of the sundried tomatoes which absolutely shone through. The garlic undertones of course lifted the flavour and overall I really love the texture, the amount of salmon and the flavour.

While I only had this a top a leafy green salad I can absolutely see multiple uses for this product, stirred through fresh pasta would be absolutely amazing or even atop some large croutons as a sort of canape would be a quick and easy option for someone having a get together with friends.

Overall this ticked all the boxes for me and I will definitely be adding a few of these to our pantry staples.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 19th of March, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have tried many of the Sealord pockets since they first came on the market, and always have a couple in my pantry these days to use as the base for a meal in a hurry or for a lunchtime snack. I love the convenience of being able to have them readily available at any time. Having said that, I have a cat who should have been called Houdini as she can locate fish no matter how it is packaged and has been known to rip open a Sealord packet and devour the contents. I don't know if she can actually read the label, but she knows it is food - so I have to be careful that I store my packets with that in mind.

I was looking forward to trying this product, one of the latest in the range, and I was not disappointed. One packet is just enough for a meal for one, or for two people if it is served with other items. We liked the review pack so much that I went out and got another one so we could try it a second time. The first time we tried it, I divided the contents between two wraps and added onion, avocado, fresh basil, fresh parsley, tomato and lettuce. I was going to use some chutney but there was more than enough "sauce" in the salmon mix so the only extra I put in was a little freshly ground pepper.

The wraps were delicious and we certainly enjoyed them. There was just one point that my friend brought up. She loves salmon, and although she was enjoying the meal immensely, she was not able to recognise the salmon component as there was so much tomato flavour. Her comment was that if she is buying salmon she wants it to taste of salmon, not of an ingredient that could be any fish at all or even meat.

The second time we tried it was on a "pizza base" made from two wraps, one on top of the other. Here the tomato flavour really came into its own. We used a packet of the salmon spread on the base and then added chopped spring onions, mozzarella, some strips of capsicum, and half a dozen olives. We still could not isolate the salmon flavour but in the end it did not matter: the combinations were simply delicious. Just before serving, I put some avocado on top as a garnish and can confirm that there were no leftovers - to the great disappointment of my feline Houdini who had been hoping we would drop some!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.4
Product reviews for listing 426: Chicken Fried Noodles -  Produced by Magic Pandas

Product image for Chicken Fried NoodlesTry a taste of the orient at home.

Prepare for a taste sensation! With our Magic Pandas range of dishes, you can enjoy all your favourite Oriental food at home. All our dishes are made from authentic recipes, using traditional ingredients and cooking methods.

Because we make everything with fresh and natural ingredients, Magic Panda is healthy and nutritious. Our dishes are all very easy to cook - just ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream