Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 9th December 2016 - 07:04:50

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fiction > Transmission review

« The Day the Earth Stood Still - 1951 reviewThe Day the Earth Stood Still - 1951The Omega Scroll reviewThe Omega Scroll »

Advertising...

Bosslevel.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 7.5/10  [1 review]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 747 - Transmission
Written by Hari Kunzru

Transmission
Price:
$28.00
Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Penguin Random House

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
September 2005
Buy it:
Search for this on MightyApe.co.nz

Transmission product reviews

Meet Arjun Mehta, an Indian cybergeek catapulted into California's spiralling hi-tech sector; Leela Zahir, beguiling Bollywood actress filming in the midge-infested Scottish wilds; and Guy Swift, hypedup marketing exec lost in a blue-sky tomorrow of his own devising.

Three dislocated individuals seeking nodes of connectivity - a place to fit in. Yet this is the twenty-first century, and their lives are about to become unexpectedly entangled, as a virus spreads, and all their futures are rewired. But will it take them further from their dreams, or closer to their hearts?

Check out Penguin Random House onlineClick here to see all the listings for Penguin Random House Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Heartside Bay #10 - Flirting with DangerHeartside Bay #10 - Flirting with Danger
Rating: 8.0
The GangsterThe Gangster
Rating: 9.3
Holiday in DeathHoliday in Death
Rating: 9.1
The Dinosaur That Pooped The Past The Dinosaur That Pooped The Past 
Rating: 9.5
Blood MagicBlood Magic
Rating: 7.0
NZ : The Essential Touring Atlas - 1st EditionNZ : The Essential Touring Atlas - 1st Edition
Rating: 10.0
Greg Mandel : 3 : The Nano FlowerGreg Mandel : 3 : The Nano Flower
Rating: 9.8
Skywatching - The bestselling guideSkywatching - The bestselling guide
Rating: 9.5
50 things to Draw and Paint50 things to Draw and Paint
Rating: 10.0
The Friendship Matchmaker Goes Undercover The Friendship Matchmaker Goes Undercover 
Rating: 8.1
Slug Needs a HugSlug Needs a Hug
Rating: 10.0
The Green BathThe Green Bath
Rating: 9.8
Wheelnuts! #3: Space MashWheelnuts! #3: Space Mash
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 30th of October, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review Score:
Score 8 out of 10

Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 9 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 7 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 7 out of 10

Hmmm... what do I say here... though I was quite impressed with this book, I found it a little hard to get into. A very long, slow start became an action-packed few chapters, which died suddenly within the last 10% of the story, leaving a lot of loose ends and implied content. I think I would have been happier if there had been a bit more of the ending fleshed out, instead of just outlined and left hanging.

However, though the structure left me a little disappointed, the content did not. Full of rich and colourful characters, well defined and as close to lifelike as the story would allow. I was surprised at the high level of detail he included on some otherwise esoteric topics, such as behind-the-scenes in an anti-virus lab, etc. It was quite realistic on many levels, which meant that the story held well, flowed smooth, and left me feeling... well, if not 'happy' then at least NOT considering it a total write-off... no pun intended.

overall, I found it to be quite a good book... not really my ideal reading, but right up there with a lot of potential for sure.

Guest comments...

comments powered by Disqus

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6672: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In -  Author: James Dashner

Product image for Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-InThe second book in the Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. This special movie tie-in hardcover edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream