Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 24th November 2017 - 07:23:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Waters > Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint review

« Green & Co Spring Water - Cucumber, Mint & Lime reviewGreen & Co Spring Water - Cucumber, Mint & LimeGreen & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime reviewGreen & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 7.4/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7398 - Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint
Produced by Green & Co

Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint
Price:
$4.00
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Green and Co.

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsUsing lightly sparkling Waiuku spring water, natural extracts, and a tiny splash of juice, each bottle has less than 10 calories.

The holy grail in beverages has been low-calories, 100%-natural, and a punchy flavour with no weird aftertastes. We have finally achieved this almighty combination with Green & Co. flavoured waters. There is no added cane sugar, instead we use a splash of monkfruit juice. Monkfruit is a super-sweet melon, originally cultivated by Buddhist monks 800 years ago.

Green & Co. spring waters come in three flavours:
    •  Cucumber, Mint & Lime
    •  Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint
    •  Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime

Each bottle has a different calorie count because they are all-natural and not engineered - they are like you've made them at home, chopping cucumber and fresh mint and lime juice.

    •  0% Artificial
    •  BPA-free bottle
    •  No added cane sugar
    •  < 10cal per bottle

Check out Green and Co. onlineClick here to see all the listings for Green and Co. Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
jasmine   mint   waiuku   water   watermelon   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Green & Co Spring Water - Cucumber, Mint & LimeGreen & Co Spring Water - Cucumber, Mint & Lime
Rating: 6.9
Organic Ginger BeerOrganic Ginger Beer
Rating: 8.4
Cider House - Strawberry and LimeCider House - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 10.0
Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger CiderThomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider
Rating: 9.1
Teza - VelvetberryTeza - Velvetberry
Rating: 8.8
Nescafe Cafe Menu RangeNescafe Cafe Menu Range
Rating: 9.5
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Soy CappuccinoNescafe Dolce Gusto Soy Cappuccino
Rating: 9.0
Green & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & LimeGreen & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime
Rating: 8.3
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Nesquik ChocolateNescafe Dolce Gusto Nesquik Chocolate
Rating: 9.8
Export Citrus Beer GrapefruitExport Citrus Beer Grapefruit
Rating: 9.8
Soprano Limoncello CremeSoprano Limoncello Creme
Rating: 9.1
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Americano IntensoNescafe Dolce Gusto Americano IntensoKiwifruit - Still MediumKiwifruit - Still Medium
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 1st of September, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I was keen to try this as the combination of Watermelon Jasmine and Mint was really unusual to me. I love fresh watermelon, enjoy the smell of jasmine and use mint quite often to flavour dishes. This was not the right combination for me, however I did not finish the drink in the end but did allow other half to try it and he wasn't keen either.

I am a keen drinker of fizzy water, flavoured waters and most cold drinks. I have been trying to cut down on the sugary options so this was a good choice for me. I liked the simple packaging and the size fitted easily in the fridge so I had high hopes. I also liked that it was clear as that always reminds me of fresh light tastes.

Unfortunately for me the taste was all a bit too strong. Maybe I just like my drinks weaker... it also tasted very sweet to me. After trying the drink without ice I tried to chill it down (to negate the mint I think) but it didn't really work for me that way either. The taste was strong and the only thing I can think is with a very strong curry or chilli it might work. Maybe in the heat of summer you may find it refreshing but I found it a bit too intense and in general this drink was not a hit in our house, other half thought it tasted way too healthy and not enough like a treat - he also commented that he had no idea what jasmine should taste like so maybe that was the overpowering taste (which I had originally thought was the mint overpowering the whole flavour).

If I had any more of this I would keep it for individuals who were keen on sweet fruits and not on waters as the water was definitely hidden. I don't think I will be buying this again but each to their own - maybe pop it in a picnic basket for a group event?

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After tasting the Green and Co Raspberry Hibiscus and Lime I was even more excited to try this variation. One of my favourite fruits on a hot day is watermelon as it has such a cooling effect and I love mint in drinks too so thought this was a great combination. I was very hot after picking my children up from school so when we walked in the door I reached for this bottle from the fridge my 5 year old immediately wanted to share so I poured him a small glass and drunk the rest from the bottle.

Well did I get the grumps he wanted more and I hadn't shared!! I don't really let my children have really sweet drinks often as I don't like sugar being a huge part of theirs or my own diet. I was confident that this using natural sweeteners was a better option though as often with those flavoured waters they have more sugar than a fruit juice!! Next time I will have to remember to share as he really enjoyed the drink as much as I did and I think it is a good option to have in the fridge when water and milk are getting a little boring.

I found it very refreshing I definitely think watermelon was a great option as it does have that cooling feeling on a hot day and was easy to drink. Not to sweet but more exciting than plain water so a hit for both me and my children!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 7th of February, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

After health issues a couple of years ago I learnt very quickly the importance of cutting out sugary drinks out of my diet and upping my water intake. As a result I drink a lot of water so now and then I like to jazz it up with some flavoured water. I always make sure it is a flavoured water without too many added extras and with as little sugar as possible. The Green & Co range ticked all those boxes so I was very keen to give it a try.

My review parcel arrived on a hot afternoon so I took my bottle of water out and threw it straight into the freezer to chill quickly. Once it was icy cold I opened it up and the first thing that hit was how much fizz there was. It certainly had more fizz then I expected from a lightly sparkling drink. The first taste all that hit me was the fizz it was like an over fizzed soda water, I decided to let it sit with the lid off for a while and went back to it.

Once it had lost some of its fizz it was a lot better to drink, instead of being over whelmed by the bubbles I could pick up the hint of watermelon and mint. I also got an odd taste I couldn't quite pick up on I am guessing it was the jasmine as it's not something I have tasted before. While the drink was refreshing it's not one I would drink all the time as there was just way too many bubbles for my tastes. If I do buy it again I will be opening it well before wanting to drink it so it could lose some of it's fizz.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 28th of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I often buy a lot of different flavoured waters, or flavoured drops which can be added to water to provide them with flavour so when I saw the Green & Co. Spring Water up for review I jumped at the chance to try it, especially as it was infused with watermelon as this is one of my favourite things about summer time.

The bottle is the perfect size at 500mls for taking to the beach or out on a picnic with family as it is easy to slip into a picnic basket or a chilly bin without taking up to much room. The label is attractive and straight to the point, I loved both the colour used in the font as well as the fun style. I love that the bottle is BPA-Free so easy to recycle and was happy to read that 1% of the companies avenue goes towards helping to protect the environment, it is great to hear of a company doing such a thing.

It was a hit day so I decided to put the bottle in the fridge to chill for a while. Several hours later it was nicely chilled and ready to serve. I poured a small amount into several glasses that had ice in them and then garnished them with a slice of watermelon and a straw. My initial thought as I opened the bottle was how much fizz they contained, the bottle reads that this is a lightly sparkling drink however I disagree as it was extremely fizzy, however I did find that if left to sit in a glass for several minutes the amount of fizz did settle down. The smell of the watermelon and mint were very refreshing and made me want to try it straight away.

Upon my first sip I was a bit blown away by the flavour as it seemed to taste much to strongly of soda water for my liking, and much to fizzy at that, in my second sip I could taste the flavours of the mint and watermelon (I'm not sure what Jasmine tastes like) but sadly I still wasn't a fan, it was just to fizzy and soda water tasting for me. My friend had a sip and she didn't think it tasted to bad, she liked the watermelon flavour and said she would happily drink it if it was offered to her, however she probably wouldn't go out and buy this for herself as she has other drinks she prefers. Then there is Miss 3 who asked for a sip and much to my surprise loved it and asked for the rest of the bottle as she thought it tasted like lemonade.

So although this wasn't the biggest hit with those of us who tried it, it is great to know that there are healthy options such as this with only 9 calories per bottle out there for people to enjoy over the hot summer days, it's also good to know that my 3 year old likes it as this would be a perfect treat drink for her without all the added sugar and additives.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 17th of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I enjoy flavoured waters: there was a time when my drink of choice was diet cola, but since the market has been overtaken by various bottled waters with "dashes" or "splashes" or "boosts" of added flavour, I have found that I am buying these drinks more and more and cutting down on the artificial additives in the cola family. Even when these drinks have no added sugar, they are still full of other extras like colour and sugar substitutes, so the change in my habits as a consumer has to be for the better.

I had heard about the Green & Co. products, and this was the first one I tried out. I was visiting friends for a pre-Christmas get-together and meal so I suggested I might bring the bottle with me so we could all try it. Our meal was a stir fry made with cashews, fresh pineapple and crystallised ginger, garnished with sliced avocado and served on a base of rice ribbon noodles. I thought the flavour of the drink would complement this food quite nicely.

The first reaction from everyone was that they loved the label - it is nicely simple and gives the impression that it is a product that is environmentally sound. The manufacturer's name reinforces this impression! The bottle and cap are both fully recyclable. We then did the sniff test. Three of us liked the initial aroma although we all had different reactions. One of the men said he could really detect the watermelon. The other one said he thought it had more of a mint smell and reminded him vaguely of his toothpaste! I thought it smelled more like herb tea. The fourth person said she did not like it at all as it reminded her of bubblegum.

Then came the taste test. Ms Bubblegum took one mouthful and said she did not like it - it was too fizzy and the flavours did not seem to work well together. I asked her what she could suggest for improvement, but she could not think of any way she could change it for the better. Mr Mint-and-Toothpaste drank some and then said he quite liked it - it was not too sweet, and the watermelon and mint flavours both came through strongly. He was not sure what jasmine tasted like, but he did like the combination and was quite happy to drink it. Although he would not buy it by preference, he would ok to drink it if it was served to him.

Mr Watermelon downed his glass in one go and asked for more. He really liked it, and thought it went particularly well with the meal. Once he had tasted it, he revised his original comment that the drink smelled of watermelon; he now thought the aroma was more like that of jasmine tea. He liked the combination of the flavours with the fizziness of the drink, and commented further that it would be particularly refreshing if served chilled on a hot day.

My own impressions were also positive. I tended to agree with Mr Watermelon; I enjoyed the blend of flavours and would certainly come back for more. I did think it was a bit too fizzy for my taste, but then I discovered (quite by chance) that it was a lot nicer if left for a few minutes to settle in the glass before it was drunk. The bubbles subsided quickly leaving a smoother version which was still fizzy but not quite so aggressive. This short settling time after pouring also seemed to improve the flavour combination.

So, to sum up, it is not everybody's drink. You either like it or you don't. What makes this interesting is that neither Mr Watermelon nor I has a sweet tooth while the other two do, so this may have had some effect on our reaction. Personally, I would buy it again. I think it would go really well with a hot curry so that is the next thing I am going to try out.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 16th of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

It's Christmas time and this means end of year gatherings, bbq's and longer lazy days, and the weather being hot and exhausting. I was very pleased to receive 2 flavours of these lovely drinks. I was very excited to try this, and another flavour of the Green & Co Sparkling Water, as a boost to my water intake, and a change to alcohol during this party season!

First impressions looking at the bottle and its packing are great - lovely and simple - flavours listed, and easy to understand and also colour coded so you can easily pickup the one that you are wanting to buy. The bottle is a great size - 500 ml, so enough for 2 glasses of it. A big plus is that is has no added sugar, and the bottle is BPA free - meaning no nasties leeching into you water.

First things first, I opened the bottle - very easy - love that - sometimes you get ones that are just frustrating! The "aroma" is strong enough to be able to smell it with the lid off - and this enticing me in - with thoughts of summer hammocks and relazing! I did notice it was quite fizzy - not that I mind - but it is not what I would say is a light sparkling.

The first taste gives a good mixture of all the flavours mentioned -watermelon, jasmine and mint. I think the strongest is probably the watermelon. It is not overpowering - a nice, light combination. There is the right mixture of all the flavours - with them all working together nicely.

Whilst the drink itself may not be 100% good for you - with added sugar and the like, it does tick boxes for a good choice - no artificial yuckies, BPA free bottle, and under 10 calories. I would prefer a little less fizz, but I guess that is personal preference. With the price sitting at $4 currently - it is competitive with what is already out there - but is a much better option. I would buy this drink for special ocassion, but don't know if it would be something I would drink every day - but certainly every so often.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 11th of December, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

I am not big on trying out lightly flavoured Spring waters, but I adore watermelon, I like mint and jasmine in the right dish or drink is ab fab. I like the font on the bottle label and the flavour words are an attractive colour, the kids and I certainly found it eyecatching. The label states that this is a lightly sparkling drink so I was rather surprised by the volume of sound that came with opening the bottle and taking a sip, it had more fizz than I would expect from a bottle of coke or similar. I gave my kids a sip, and my youngest (who needs to be a bit more cautious when swallowing carbonated drinks) struggled with swallowing this due to the amount of fizz, this would put me off buying this drink as I do tend to share my drinks with my kids when we're out and about.

When it comes to flavour I was dissapointed as I couldn't taste my favourite component, the watermelon, at all, it was far too overpowered by the mint and jasmine. Having a sip, the flavours weren't too strong, in fact I found it a little bland at first, but then I was hit with a strong, unpleasant aftertaste. My eldest did not like this drink at all but my younger two thought it was a nice enough drink and were happy to finish off the bottle. I did try it as a mixer with some alcohol but found that it did not make this drink taste any better.

I did not like this at all, too fizzy and lacking in watermelon flavour.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 23rd of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

When looking at these spring water drinks, the sound of watermelon with jasmine and mint sounds refreshing and something you want to drink over and over again after a long hot day with the light sparkling sounding like it will make the drink easy to go down. Looking at the bottles its neat and clean and right to the point on what is in the bottle, also marking who makes it, the flavor and calories per bottle.

Opening the bottle you hear a big fizz and bubbles coming up on the surface, giving it a drink I found it very sparkling I got a big mouth of bubbles and after a few mouthfuls I was burping (sorry) more than I would with any other drink. When opening it more I could smell mint and with further inspection the watermelon was coming out with a yummy tasting smell. I could really taste the mint flavour and as much as I love mint, when I eat it, after drinking it made me think of a toothpaste aftertaste which I disliked. I did however keep drinking it after a few days to see what it would do. The drink would still fizz on day 3 just a little though and the flavour still remained the same. Sadly I couldn't taste the watermelon in the drink.

I gave some to my children age 6 and 8 years old and both spat it out so I would put it down to not a child's drink. Also got my partner to give it a go without telling him what was in the drink, sorry to say he very disliked it and said it was horrible, gave him an aftertaste it really didn't like. I believe this drink would suit some people but was not for my family, I think if it didn't have the aftertaste it had it might of been a good drink, but its not going to be a go to water.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Of the three flavours currently available in this range, this is probably my favourite. It has the highest sugar composition in the nutritional information, with 1.6 grams of sugar per 500mL, adding up to 9 calories per bottle.

Opening the bottle, there is a strong sweet mint aroma, that almost has a bubblegum vibe to it. Presumably that is the combination of watermelon and mint working together there. Despite being marked as "lightly" carbonated, I would still consider it quite gassy. Rather than the large bubbles that I would get in a Cola or other fizzy drinks, these beverages have more smaller bubbles within them. Quite enjoyable to drink as it gives a bit of a tingle as you drink it, and gives the whole beverage a light feel to it. The bubbles do however seem to reduce how "refreshing" the drink is. as the carbonation level counteracts the temperature of the drink and minimises the exposure to the tongue.

Most of the labelled flavour actually comes in the aftertaste, as the initial burst of flavour is pretty much the bubbles, but that does mean you get fresh bubblegum breath afterwards. This was quite a filling beverage as well, as I could drink a 600mL cola and still be thirsty, but 200mL of this drink and I feel full.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7590: Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ Pear -  Brand / Manufactured by: Addmore Foods

Product image for Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ PearElderflower beverages, created with care and unsurpassed integrity, provide a uniquely refreshing non-alcoholic drink. These products are diverse, great for all the family and all occasions. Summer in a bottle, perfected.

Addmore Elderflower Cordial is the flag ship of our beverages range. Creamy, aromatic flowers of the Elder tree, full of sweet exotic flavour, are packed into every bottle.The cordial can be diluted with cold or ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Computer games don't affect kids. I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."
Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream