Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 12th November 2019 - 13:26:52

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Frankton Heat Hot Sauce review

« Coconut Chips - Raspberry & Beet reviewCoconut Chips - Raspberry & BeetPlus-Plus - Mini Basic reviewPlus-Plus - Mini Basic »

Score: 9.2/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 7152 - Frankton Heat Hot Sauce
Produced by Frankton Heat

Frankton Heat Hot Sauce
Price:
$7.00 - $10.00 inc P&H
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Frankton Heat

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Frankton Heat Hot Sauce product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsLooking for something that will fire you up? Look no further. Frankton Heat Hot Sauce will fuel your senses and be a sure fire hit at your next gathering.

Frankton Heat Hot Sauce is perfect for the BBQ, just pour it over your steak and be amazed...

Check out Frankton Heat onlineClick here to see all the listings for Frankton Heat Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   chilli   cider   garlic   gluten free   glutenfree   nzmade   onion   red wine   salt   spices   sugar   vinegar   water
Other listings you may be interested in:
Rendezvous Restaurant & BarRendezvous Restaurant & Bar
Rating: 9.3
Kumara Hash BrownsKumara Hash Browns
Rating: 7.6
GoNatural Full of Fruit barGoNatural Full of Fruit bar
Rating: 7.5
Mels Makhani (Butter Chicken) MasalaMels Makhani (Butter Chicken) Masala
Rating: 9.4
Americana pizzaAmericana pizza
Rating: 8.5
Lime and Peach ChutneyLime and Peach Chutney
Rating: 7.5
Milk Chocolate Heart ShapesMilk Chocolate Heart Shapes
Rating: 9.8
Lewis Road Creamery - Fresh Vanilla MilkLewis Road Creamery - Fresh Vanilla Milk
Rating: 2.5
AbrakebabraAbrakebabra
Rating: 10.0
Black Doris Plum PreserveBlack Doris Plum Preserve
Rating: 9.6
Hot Bites Toasty PiesHot Bites Toasty Pies
Rating: 6.0
Steak & Cheese : Pie Time - Big BiteSteak & Cheese : Pie Time - Big Bite
Rating: 7.5
Hellers Hot & Spicy Pork RibsHellers Hot & Spicy Pork Ribs
Rating: 7.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 8th of October, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Whoever came up with the recipe for Frankton heat is a genius! This has to be the best hot sauce I have ever tasted, I love hot sauces but really dislike the ones that are so hot after one bite it kills your tastes buds and you can't actually taste anything else. While the Frankton heat is hot and gives you a massive kick in the pants with every bite, it quickly dies out and leaves a wonderful taste. I love the smooth creamy consistency to the sauce which allows it to flow freely from the bottle rather than blob out meaning you get a lot more than you want. Not only is the sauce amazing so is the bottle! It's so cute, compact and I just love the melted look to the lid.

I have already found so many uses for this sauce but I have to say one of my favourite by far is just what is recommended, brushed on some steak and thrown on the BBQ. It takes an old favourite and makes it 100 times better. My other favourite was when I tried it with pulled pork, I threw in stock, some spices like I normally do then added a bit of the sauce. Once the pork was cooked I reduced the stock added just a tiny bit more sauce and then mixed it back through the meat. The results were the most amazing pulled pork sliders ever!

While $10 seems a bit for such a small bottle I am finding a lot is going a long way. You don't need to use much to get a full on flavour hit. Once this bottle is gone I will be investing in some more for sure, checking out the website I'm pleased to see that there are some retail places stocking it close to home.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I like spicy food but am always a little cautious when I try a new product, so I gave it the taste test first (one drop)! Medium hot, but not overly so, and with delicious undertones of other flavours so certainly not your average chilli sauce. Having measured the heat strength, I proceeded to try it with a variety of meals - cold meats (in place of pickle), chilli con carne, seared scallops, and even in my black coffee (where one drop was plenty).

I did appreciate the consistency. Although creamy in texture, the sauce is free flowing and comes out at a decent rate without actually exploding on to the plate. The colour is pleasing to the eye; it does not have that bright red, artificial appearance that is characteristic of some sauces. As for the bottle, it is eye-catching and easy to carry to work or on a picnic because of its small size. The relatively high price is not an issue because you don't need to use large quantities so I expect it to last for quite some time.

One of the best uses I have found for it is with leftovers. I often have food left from the previous meal which is perfectly fine to serve next day, but does not have much flavour. This is the case when the meal is based on noodles or similar and the balance of ingredients is not quite the same as it was the day before. I stirred half a teaspoon of sauce into one meal just after I got the bottle, and was instantly converted - it turned a rather boring reheated mixture into a completely new and extremely tasty creation.

I have just one problem with the sauce. The small size of the bottle makes it quite difficult if not outright impossible to read the details on the label. I tried a magnifying glass but found that when the text was enlarged you could not see the lettering clearly - and some of the most important information is actually written in a combination of red and black. This makes it practically invisible. I asked several other people and they all had difficulty reading it too so it was not just me. I checked on the Frankton Heat website but that did not help either. The specific information I was looking for was whether the product needed refrigerating after opening, whether it contained nuts or any other ingredients that could be problematic for some people, and a complete list of ingredients so I could check for additives. It would be helpful if this information could be available, even if the bottle just referred people on to the website (which could be easily updated to include these items). Alternatively, there could be a detachable cardboard sleeve around the bottle or attached to the lid.

Apart from the lack of accessible information, I really liked this product. I will buy it again (eventually, when the current bottle runs out!) and will be recommending it to friends who are also into spicy food. In the meantime, I am storing it in the fridge just in case. I would hate for it to go off because I could not read the label!

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 12th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Man, this was one seriously tasty sauce and from the first taste I promised myself I wasn't going to let anyone else have a shot. At $10 a pop it isn't something I can afford to replace casually eh. We make the big roads, we don't make the big bucks. I put some on a cold roast beef sandwich that one of the other roadies made for smoko, and it really lifted the flavour heaps. I mean the guy makes an OK sandwich, but there's not a lot you can do with cold roast meat unless you use cheese or some relish really, and he's not one for the "fancy stuff".

So, that evening, I was in my caravan cooking up some cheap sausages for dinner and I thought I would try putting a bit of this in with the butter to cook them in. Great idea if I do say so myself because as the sausages cooked the sauce thickened down into a really nice spicy syrup that stuck to the snagglers and gave them a really nice kick. Funny thing is though the kick didn't burn my mouth out the way some spicy sauces do. This one had a really hot bite at the start but after about 10 seconds it mellowed right down to a warm ginger kind of flavour.

I have since tried this on some really nasty pies that the boss brought to the site one day and this made them almost tasty. I got some odd looks from the lads when they were trying to gag down theirs and I was happily chewing away with a half grin on my mug. They thought I was mad, because I didn't let them see the sauce of they would have nicked it all for themselves. Not going to let that happen, no sir.

If the price was a bit tighter I think I would buy a few bottles of this for sure, but at the moment it is just out of my wallet's reach until I land a new shift and get some overtime hours sussed. Chilli sauce lovers will really like this one, and if you are new to spicy sauces this is one you really do have to try, it's got that kick, but it fades away so fast you'll be fine.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 9th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My husband is a bit of a hot sauce consumer. We have a fridge door overflowing with sauces from various boutique places, so in a lot of ways he is probably the ideal customer for Frankton Heat. He eats hot sauce for the most part because he believes that it enhances the flavour of anything he is eating. His taste buds are well-honed and he enjoys sweating for his food.

I like heat too, though I am a bit more whimpy than my husband is. The other night we were having left over macaroni cheese. Usually my husband will choose to add some pepper or sauce onto left over pasta as he feels that it loses flavour overnight. I suggested the Frankton Heat and so he opened it up. I walked out to another room, when suddenly I heard him yell. I walked back in to him muttering "I guess I'm having that much then".

The issue was that the sauce was quite watery and he hadn't expected it to come out of the bottle quite so fast. He had easily a tablespoon or more on his pasta. But he spread it through the pasta and went onto eat it. Afterwards he sad that it was a good heat and was quite enjoyable. That was a relief!

The next day, we had friends over. These friends love heat to their food too. So I was keen to get them to try this sauce. I set up some crackers and I poured some of the Frankton Heat over cream cheese as a snack. Everyone tried it, and three of us had steam coming out of our ears. I barely had any and the heat as so intense I couldn't believe it.

Meanwhile my husband is sitting there giggling at us. He then proceeds to tell me that the flavour tastes like a cream of tomato soup. Not one of us could taste that! I felt I almost tasted a creaminess before the heat knocked my socks off a second time. While it continued to be a little too much for us, my husband was sold and has added this sauce to his collection of treats in the door of the fridge. I suspect it will be added to the shopping list once it is empty too. Well done Frankton Heat - you earnt at least one fan here.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 25th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

WOW - I love a really good hot sauce and was excited to get the chance to review this Frankton Heat Hot Sauce. The first thing that caught my eye was the fantastic seal on the bottle it looks like the lid has melted which said to me this is going to be hot. I found it easy to open with a simple twist. I gave the bottle a good shake before I opened it. Once open I gave it a sniff and I could tell by the smell of it that this was going to be great. It smelt almost like a salsa and to me it was a very inviting smell.

First off I put my finger in to try a bit and tasted it. it literally almost blew my brains out because my goodness was it hot but as fast as the punch of heat came it left. It didn't take long for the heat to disappear and die down to a nice flavour. I tossed up what I was going to do with the sauce to try it as by itself was far too hot for me. We were having steak for tea that night so I brushed some of the sauce on my steak (on both sides) and threw it into the pan to cook. Once my steak was cooked I tried it. To me it was the perfect amount for my steak. It didn't blow my brains out with the heat but it was just enough to give it a nice kick.

I think this sauce would be perfect mixed with some mayo and paired with some wedges maybe even a squirt of lemons which is going to be my next thing to try this sauce with. I like the fact it is in a small easy to grip bottle and only has 100mls. I think that the price of $10 is perhaps a bit high but I think I would get a decent amount of use out of this bottle. Overall great sauce, great flavour, great size, good price and even better its made locally to me.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 12th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a man that loves a touch of heat to my meals. Usually I have to resort to adding birds eye chillis to nearly everything I eat, from curries and casseroles, all the way to the gravy for my roast dishes. This is because in general, foods (especially "spicy" foods) are made for a European palate. Myself having a mother from the Caribbean means I get a lot of experience with truly spicy things, so these European foods are generally bland in comparison. So I was excited to see a hot sauce available for review.

I had some gravy beef ready to make a meal out of so I ended up doing some sort of a casserole, which I thought would be a great meal to test the sauce out on. Before adding to my food, I took a quick swig to gauge the heat of the sauce. It had a nice solid punch of heat to it, but it quickly dissipates, and doesn't leave too much heat lingering. Which is great for a medium rated hot sauce. Effectively means I can't accidentally add too much and render the meal inedible.

I know a hot sauce is truly hot if it gives me the instant hiccups, but despite the heat from the sauce, there is no risk or me getting them, so medium is a very valid. Hot is generally taste bud killing, mild has negligible heat with all of the flavour, and medium is the best of both worlds; a touch of heat that recedes and leave you with the flavour.

Obviously the big advantage to hot sauce over adding chillis, is that you can just add it on top of a meal, rather than having to add it during the cooking, and heating up everyone else's meals. This is a great product for those that enjoy heat, but share meals with those that do not. I did enjoy this sauce, and I will certainly use it as a substitute for my birds eye chillis until the bottle is finished, but as I am a single male and only cook meals for myself, the price is a little bit steep for the size of the bottle, compared to a bag of chillis. But I will keep an eye out for it, hoping for a slight price decrease, as it would certainly be a great table sauce for when entertaining.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 7th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

A chilli sauce that is pretty much nothing but "liquid fire in a bottle" holds no real interest for me. By contrast, a chilli-based sauce that has many layers of flavour, a nice bit of heat that lingers then slides away to leave you with a pleasant memory and intact taste buds is right up my alley. After years of chilli abuse in my Uni days, I have certainly come to appreciate "subtle" when it comes to hot sauces.

Getting my first taste of this on a mini taco at a recent trade show, I was instantly taken by the wonderful balance of flavours, the immediate heat that faded after a few seconds to leave a warm, soft and well rounded taste profile behind. It's a great sauce that can enhance the flavour of food to the point that it makes me want to have more before I have even finished the first mouthful.

The small bottles - about 100mls - hold plenty of sauce for most people's needs. There are ~10 portions per bottle according to the label, but that will vary greatly depending on your tolerance for hot sauce. I found that a few dribbles on an omelette works wonderfully, giving a little zing and extra layers of taste, whereas a more generous portion was acceptable for a mince and pasta bake for example. I used some in the mince itself, and the drizzled a bit more over the top to add extra kick.

Overall, I tip my hat to Lucas, the man behind this remarkable sauce. While I would like to see the price come down, it's a fairly reasonable price for a batch-made boutique sauce. You have to realise that the "economy of scale" applies to small-batch products a lot more than mass-production, so while $10 for a 100ml bottle is a little off-putting, it's a remarkable sauce that you just couldn't get coming out the same if you scaled it up to 1000 litre vats. I'm still a fan!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 5070: Santeez Cafe
Located: Kerikeri

Product image for Santeez CafeHealthy Food For Healthy Living!
The benefits of eating at our cafe is that we are totally gluten and wheat free, so there is no risk of any cross contamination happening on our premises. So if you have a food allergy or belong to the coeliac society, then Santeez is where you should be dining!

We make, bake and bottle all our ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Whose idea was it to put an 'S' in the word 'lisp'?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream