Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 20th May 2019 - 02:58:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Coconut Chips - Smokin BBQ review

« Finding Dory First Look and Find reviewFinding Dory First Look and FindCoconut Chips - Raspberry & Beet reviewCoconut Chips - Raspberry & Beet »

Score: 7.9/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7150 - Coconut Chips - Smokin BBQ
Brand / Manufactured by: The Green Seed

Coconut Chips - Smokin BBQ
Price:
$6.50 / 50g tub
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by The Green Seed

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Coconut Chips - Smokin BBQ product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsCoconut Chips snack that have a fantastic vegan BBQ flavour. Not spicy at all. Made with real sun-dried tomatoes, onion and garlic. A great idea to sprinkle them over your favourite savoury dishes. Yummy on its own. Caution: it's highly addictive.

Ingredients: coconut chips*, sun-dried tomatoes*, tomato paste* (tomato, sea salt), dates*, tamari sauce*, smoked paprika, unpasteurised raw apple cider vinegar*, onion powder*, garlic powder*, cayenne pepper*.

*Certified Organic Ingredients

Check out The Green Seed onlineClick here to see all the listings for The Green Seed Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel Check them out on Pinterest They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple cider vinegar   cayenne   coconut   dates   garlic   nzmade   onion   organic   paprika   pepper   sea salt   snack   sundried tomatoes   tamari   tomato paste   vegan
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sids Feijoa and Chilli SauceSids Feijoa and Chilli Sauce
Rating: 9.6
One Pan Beef StroganoffOne Pan Beef Stroganoff
Rating: 1.5
Swiss Deli Fine PateSwiss Deli Fine Pate
Rating: 8.5
Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy HungarianGourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian
Rating: 9.6
SpiceCraft Smokey Garlic saltSpiceCraft Smokey Garlic salt
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5
Roshen Grand ToffeesRoshen Grand Toffees
Rating: 9.2
Oven Baked Sandwich: MeatballOven Baked Sandwich: Meatball
Rating: 8.6
GoNatural Fruit and Nut Delight barGoNatural Fruit and Nut Delight bar
Rating: 8.4
Moxies Cafe Moxies Cafe 
Rating: 9.5
Garlic Shrimp pizzaGarlic Shrimp pizza
Rating: 8.5
M&Ms - PretzelM&Ms - Pretzel
Rating: 8.5
Coconut Chips - Raspberry & BeetCoconut Chips - Raspberry & Beet
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 21st of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Price:
Score 2 out of 10
Portions:
Score 2 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am getting rather tired of providing food for lunches and hearing the kids complain that they are still hungry at the end of the day but finding lunch boxes aren't being emptied and the kids telling me that they have suddenly decided that the food is boring or they didn't have time to eat it. I had seen these chips and thought that this would be an interesting choice to add to lunches.

I had a few to taste and thought it was interesting, the flavour was nice, not too strong but not so subtle that I was wondering where the taste has gone (I have given up on finding decent potato chips as the flavour is always missing ) but the texture was interesting, it was crunchy but not unpleasant. It was soft enough to eat without it feeling like it might chip my teeth or having to suck on the "chip" to soften it enough to be able to eat it.

After school I remembered to ask if the kids liked the chips and if I should buy them as a regular lunch item but the boys both said it was horrible and pulled a face that reminded me of someone who had to suck on some lemons. My daughter said that she would eat them as it was nice to have something different in her lunch.

I might have to buy some as a treat and to spice lunch up a bit. At that price I would only buy if it happened to be on special. Only thing I would change is the tiny portion size as if the whole family liked it I would need to buy 4 just for one lunch as the tiny size meant that each person really only had a few chips to be able to taste.

Click here to read the profile of kime82

Review by: kime82 (Kim)
Dated: 16th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

We are asked as reviewers to be honest and it's hard sometimes especially if you think the company is probably going to read this but people need to know. I did not like these at all! I was really intrigued by these as I had seen other reviewers rave about the other flavours of these so wanted to give them ago as I thought they might be a great addition to my lunch box as they propose on their packaging.

Firstly the positive comment: the packaging is great and I love that these are organic, paleo, gluten free, vegan and sugar free. However upon opening the pack my co-worker and myself were a bit taken back with the smell it's a bit weird the really strong coconut smell with the smoky BBQ and spices we both took one and ate it then gave each other a weird taste face haha. I thought maybe others might like it but my husband was the same he didn't like them at all. I am however interested in trying them on a curry as a crunchy topping thinking the flavour might not be so intense so will interesting once I tried it that way.

These are quite expensive at $6.50 for a 50g tub compared to other snack products you can get, but to be honest I won't be buying these in the future anyway.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 15th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I asked to review these coconut chips I had no idea what to expect but I thought it could be a great snack for when I am studying. A healthier option is always good as I like to snack when doing assignments. The packaging is simple, a container that you can see the product which is always appealing and a cardboard wrap around with the information provided on it. I love the use of organic products and how its paleo, gluten free and no added sugar. The packaging highlights the healthiness of the product and I liked that about the coconut chips.

When opening the container I noticed that some were in clusters which were interesting, so I tried one and got a hit of the Smokey flavour and a massive coconut after taste. These are yummy but in small doses for me, I find the flavouring a little too strong for me to have too many of them in one hit. I found the Smokey flavour made my mouth feel a bit dry afterwards but then the hit of coconut that came threw at the end mellowed it out again.

I normally toss come cashew or almond nuts through my dinner salad, but I thought I would break up a couple clusters and sprinkle these coconut chips in my dinner salad. It did add a nice crunch to the salad and mixed up the flavours. I found when they were combined with other ingredients like tomato, cucumber and lettuce that it worked well and blended in nicely with each other. The mayonnaise also toned down the strong Smokey hit you get from the coconut chips. For the price of these chips I am not sure I would personally buy them again, but I am glad to have been able to try them.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 18th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love coconut products and so these coconut chips seemed like something that I'd really enjoy. I immediately saw from the packaging that they suggest throwing these into your lunchbox, so I tried a few on their own first. I immediately noticed a decent hit of saltiness with a lovely BBQ flavour. The lingering taste in my mouth was the coconut coming through at the end. I could feel a definite coconut texture in my mouth too, which for me was a good thing.

The packaging says that these make any dish way better, so I decided to throw them on my fried egg one morning and this was really good! It added some crunch, and the saltiness meant that I didn't need to salt my egg any further. I decided that a salad would be another good option, as because I don't eat nuts, this might be a nice way to add a crunchy texture. As per the picture, I livened up a pretty boring salad with a sprinkle of these and again it was really enjoyable.

The container isn't huge and although it was packed pretty full, I was starting to run out of coconut chips by now, but I wanted to see if others enjoyed them as much as I had. I served a few up to visitors as a simple snack and unfortunately they didn't love them as much as I did. My husband stretched to them being "OK", and the others didn't seem so keen as they found the flavour too strong and salty. I've decided not to let that influence my review score and will solely base the score on my opinion, but it's worth noting that these aren't for everyone.

With no added sugar and suitable for serving up to guests with various dietary requirements, I think these are something worth looking into and something I'd consider buying. However it might be a bit of a treat option as they aren't cheap, although I personally think their price is on par with other quality coconut based products. I can see so many other uses, such as including in a snack platter for guests, throwing on top of fish pie, or scattering over steamed green veges. They are definitely worth trying!

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 6th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was really excited to step out of my comfort zone and review something that I wouldn't normally buy myself to try. I love the fact that this packaging is really simple. It isn't in your face, its plain, simple and gives you all the details you need right in front of you for making a quick food buying decision.

I think the see through container is perfect. It gives you the "what you see is what you get" philosophy and I love being able to see and know exactly what I am getting in an item. I think the size is perfect for chucking in the nappy bag, glove box or in my draws at desk when I need that mid morning/afternoon snack to cure my rumbling tummy. I must admit I have tried the other flavour so wasn't holding high hopes that I would enjoy this flavour. Boy was I wrong.

I really enjoyed these BBQ coconut chips. The flavours were a great blend of BBQ smokiness, a bit of a tang from what I would presume would be the sun dried tomatoes and the subtle taste of coconut. I did find that I think there was too much flavouring in it perhaps a little less in my opinion would have been a bit nicer and not so in your face. I found I could happily and easily eat a few before deciding that was enough.

Every bite was crunchy and the fact the container was reselable was a win in my books. There is nothing worse than stale chips from an open chip packet. This container stops that from happening. Overall I really enjoyed this flavour and it would be something I would purchase again for a treat. I still think the pricing is a bit high for my liking but for something a lot healthier than your normal potato chip a higher price tag is expected.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 29th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had absolutely no idea what to expect when I requested this product. I love the taste of coconut added to dishes especially curries. The Coconut smell is so devine it always reminds me of Fiji and our wedding or images of crystal blue water with sunny days pop into my head. It is one of my favourite scents but to have as a chip with flavour added to me at me beyond curious.

First of looking at the container I was drawn to the packaging. It tells you everything you need to know like there is no added sugar, its gluten free and some examples on how to use them. It comes in a resealable container and so would be a versitle item for any pantry. My husband was extremely curious also and could not wait to try. Let me tell you it was an instant hit with him and he loves them and has requested them for a snack in the office. He loves how they are clustered together and can grab a couple at a time and that satisfies his hunger for a while which is fantastic.

For some reason I had expected them to be white flakes with a bit of colouring and instead was a little shocked to find it looked more like cracker crumbs just clumped together. The colour is a nice orangey colour which automatically made me think of barbecue. You can definitely taste the coconut with an, at times subtle barbecue flavouring popping in and out as you munch down on it. I find I only need one or two and that is enough for me where as I am sure my husband could polish off a whole container by himself.

My girls turned there noses up at them from appearances alone and it took them a very long time to try a little bit. Both were not fans, but I think they had convinced themselves of this fact before even taking the first bite. Honestly this is not something I personally would eat a lot of but my husband is absolutely sold with them so I am guessing it will show up in our pantry in the near future.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 29th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I asked for the coconut chips to review out of curiousity more than anything. I just hoped someone in the family would love them. Miss 8 didn't want to try them as they are coconut and anything coconut is evil. Miss 6.5 ate the Smokin BBQ ones but much preferred the sweet variety. This meant that I got the majority of the pottle for myself.

These coconut chips are unlike anything I have had before. It is very healthy and suitable for most people on restricted diets. The packaging is covered with all the information. There is a cardboard sleeve which contains a clear unmarked pottle. The pottle is resealable which I found very handy as I would grab a little bit at a time. This satisfied me although I'm sure I would have eaten it all if I had been in front of the TV. The packaging also makes it very easy to recycle although I think the pottle will be reused.

The chips were crisper than I expected. usually coconut is quite soft. I didn't taste the coconut much as there were so many other strong flavours. It was nicely seasoned for me without being hot. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the seasoning didn't come off all over my fingers. I believe it is a bit expensive for a 50g packet but would buy it as an occasional treat for myself. It would also be good to add to a platter of nibbles or gift hamper where you want some variety.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Coconut chips were not something that I had tried up until now. After trying The Green Seed Raspberry and Beetroot coconut chips and finding them delicious, I was rather looking forward to trying out the BBQ flavour. As potato chips are one of my favourite snack foods, I love the idea of there being a healthy chip alternative, and being a fan of BBQ flavouring these sounded perfect!

Like the others, these come in an easy to open, resealable, clear plastic container, and have a very natural looking label which covers over this. This label is very well presented and in my opinion the way it is designed tells buyers that what is inside the container is very natural and good for you. The way the words are written on the label are fun and it let's you know the many health benefits of this product, pointing out how great they are for both your health and also for those with allergies. It states that if you have a child you may need 2 packs of these, and this is a very true fact as Miss 3 just loved them!

These are such a moreish snack, and it was hard to actually stop myself from just reaching into the packet and grabbing more, the taste of the BBQ was spot on, nice and tangy and with a great smokiness, you could taste the sundried tomatoes but these didn't take away from the BBQ flavour itself. After eating just 1 or 2 chips you couldn't really taste the coconut but after a while it did get a little too much, but this was more to the oils that were held in the coconut! Every last one of the chips were deliciously crunchy.

Although most of these chips were eaten as is and on there own I did manage to try them with a creamy onion dip which was a really great addition to them, and I also added a handful of them to a mixture of nuts and other crunchy snacks, these helped to pack in the flavour to the otherwise salty and plain snacks and also provided a new texture due to the crunchiness of the coconut chips.

These are something really worth me considering buying again, they would be great as a snack when watching movies or a sports match, and a great addition to your lunchbox, even sprinkled on top of a pasta or salad... if they last that long!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Coconut chips sounded like a pretty good idea when I first saw these packets. I have always loved coconut. As a kid I would buy bags of the dry coconut ribbon at the supermarket. It was delicious to crunch on. So this was like seeing an old favourite of mine, re-imagined.

I asked to try the Smokin' BBQ flavour in this latest round of review goodies. I took the packet with me on a trip with my kids. For one of our trips we were going on a boat. I packed a bag of snacks for everyone. One of my snacks were the coconut chips. Try as I might, I could not get my kids to try them. My youngest did take a little bit. However she quickly decided it was not for her. This was a shame, but I think it's more of an adult treat anyway.

I found that I didn't need too much at any one time. If I got a bit peckish I would pick out a large cluster of coconut and BBQ flavour and pop that in my mouth. It was crunchy and full of flavour. It kind of reminded me of BBQ flavoured Kettle chips. In fact I was getting a craving for Kettle chips the other night and absentmindedly wondered where my packet had gone. Then I realised my brain was trying to tell me to find the coconut chips! So that's pretty amazing.

I had wanted to experiment with the chips in a meal as well. However, in all honesty I just scoffed them over the course of the week as a snack. Price-wise I think it's a little steep. However, when I think about how little I needed to feel satisfied, the pack lasted a lot longer than a regular bag of chips would have. I think if I saw them in the supermarket I would be temptd to get more. I might even feel the need to try other flavours.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As we sat down to try this product, there was an instant reaction from a number of people in our group that they were extremely tasty, moreish and very interesting. Coconut wasn't the first flavour that we could recognise but as we nibbled away at more pieces, it became easier to identify that the main ingredient was coconut. The key flavours that I could taste coming through were BBQ, onion and sundried tomatoes. The combination worked really well together.

While we were enjoying these chips, there was mention of the fact that they could go nicely with a dip. Perhaps something with cashews and red pepper might go well. It is probably not something that I would do but a couple of friends did mention the dip idea so I thought it was worth noting. One friend who tried the chips REALLY enjoyed them and one of the first comments out of her mouth was "Where can I buy them from?". That is quite a positive for this product!

The chips are nice and crunchy and it is easy to keep popping your hand back into the container to get more. Although we felt that we wanted to keep eating more, I think that there would realistically be a limit as to how much you could eat in a sitting as they are quite rich. There is also a certain amount of oil content in the chips - I would imagine that this comes from the coconut itself and also from the sundried tomatoes.

It is great to see quality products coming into the market to give consumers a variety of choices that contain real food rather than a mix of ingredients that seem to be far away from what food actually is. Everything listed in the ingredients of this product is recognisable. These chips would work well in a snack box for school or work, on a platter of snacks at home or anywhere as a healthy, real food alternative to chips or other highly processed snacks.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.3
Product reviews for listing 3064: Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo -  Brand: Chop Chop!

Product image for Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite MayoPremium chicken breast, shredded and mixed with a delightful light mayonnaise.

    •  Premium cooked chicken breast
    •  Cage free, sustainably farmed chickens
    •  Gluten free
    •  Halal certified

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I have a Heisenberg Quantum Car. Every time I look at the speedometer I get lost."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream