Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 21st August 2019 - 08:45:28

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Bliss Bites - Cacao and Orange review

« Bliss Bites - Goji and Nuts reviewBliss Bites - Goji and NutsGame of Thrones - Season 5 reviewGame of Thrones - Season 5 »

Score: 8.7/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7003 - Bliss Bites - Cacao and Orange
Brand / Manufactured by: Loaf

Bliss Bites - Cacao and Orange
Price:
$6.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Loaf

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Bliss Bites - Cacao and Orange product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWe're always being told the key to healthy eating is to be prepared and have healthy snack options on hand. Bliss Bites, Handcrafted by Loaf, to the rescue! We've used all the nutrient-packed raw ingredients that you would use at home, free from gluten, dairy and wheat and packed them together into bite size pieces, individually wrapped so you can just grab them from your desk draw/hand bag and starve off the hunger pains until the next meal. They come in a pack of 8 individually wrapped 15g servings so they're perfect for lunch boxes, morning tea, on the go sports snacks or a sweet hit for your afternoon. Also keep an eye out for them on the counter of your favourite coffee shop.

We've chosen ingredients that are nutrient dense with numerous health benefits. These include well-renowned superfood such as goji berries, chia seeds, dates, almonds and blueberries. The only sugar you'll find comes from dried fruit and honey.

Cacao & Orange Bites
A zesty combination of cacao and orange loaded with dates, almonds, honey, cranberries and coconut with a cacao nib crunch.

Check out Loaf onlineClick here to see all the listings for Loaf Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube Check them out on Pinterest They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
almond   cacao   cinnamon   coconut   cranberry   dates   honey   orange   raw food   snack   wheat free   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Roasted Pumpkin and Chicken RisottoRoasted Pumpkin and Chicken Risotto
Rating: 10.0
Tegel Take Outs Golden Crumb Chicken SchnitzelTegel Take Outs Golden Crumb Chicken Schnitzel
Rating: 9.3
Taste of India Rogan Josh SauceTaste of India Rogan Josh Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
EXTRA Drops - LemonEXTRA Drops - Lemon
Rating: 9.3
Bliss Bites - Apricot and MacadamiaBliss Bites - Apricot and Macadamia
Rating: 8.7
Bliss Bites - Goji and NutsBliss Bites - Goji and Nuts
Rating: 7.1
Tegel Chicken Parmigiana SchnitzelTegel Chicken Parmigiana Schnitzel
Rating: 10.0
Annie's Fast FoodAnnie's Fast Food
Rating: 8.3
Organic Sicilian PestoOrganic Sicilian Pesto
Rating: 8.3
Brimstone PizzaBrimstone Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Artisano Heat'n'Eat NZ Beef Blade SteaksArtisano Heat'n'Eat NZ Beef Blade Steaks
Rating: 9.5
Health Script - AM/PM dual packHealth Script - AM/PM dual pack
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

As with the previous Bliss bites I reviewed I like that the ingredients listed on the bag of the bag are all natural with no added sugar, preservatives, additives or anything extra. This is a huge plus for this product as well as the Bliss bites being gluten free, wheat free and diary free. I love that these are just wholesome goodness when you need an instant burst of energy.

Cacao and orange are a great flavor combination and this was definitely a winner in our house. We are all partial to a Terry's chocolate Orange and this was like the healthy version. The taste of the orange with a hint of cinnamon just lingers in your mouth. I found the texture just a tad to dry for my liking but it was fine and the flavor certainly made up for any moisture issues Miss Eight said the orange and cacao bliss bites were very yummy. Mr of the house said they were very flavorsome and had a good tang added by the orange. Miss Five thought they were very yummy and enjoyed eating them. They were definitely a winner taste wise for our whole family and even with the Cacao nibs which can be slightly tart everyone loved the combination of flavors.

What we didn't love was all the packaging for eight small bites of bliss. I wouldn't pay full price for these and consider them overpriced for what they are and for the bag they were in. I would prefer to see such a large outer packaging bag filled with more bites for roughly the same price or a little more if the contents were doubled. It you aren't price conscious however then these are worth trying and are very yummy. I would look for these on special but would love to see less packaging.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 30th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I must admit I was a bit nervous about trying this because they are out of my comfort zone. But I was really pleasantly surprised. At first I thought that these would just be chucked into the bag so was excited to see that these were individually wrapped. The first thing that crossed my mind was because they were wrapped they would be perfect for chucking into my handbag, or putting into my draw at work.

The first thing I noticed when opening the packet was the strong scent of orange that I could smell. It was very refreshing and made me excited to try the bliss bite. I was really surprised by the flavour. I thought it would be quite a bitter but instead I found it quite sweet. The dates give it a really nice taste and are nice and sweet on the palette.

I think the pieces are a great size. Easy to grab onto and just enough to give you a sweetness kick for the afternoon pick me ups at work. I found one piece was enough and I think 8 servings in a bag is a good size. I would buy them again for the taste but am unsure if I would buy them for the price. I think they are a bit pricey but I guess that's what you pay for healthy eating.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 27th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These were the second lot of bliss bites I got to review, the first ones were not a personal favorite so I admit to be a bit dubious about trying these ones, but happy to report that the cacao and orange were definitely a hit with the whole family. My oldest boy did comment that he was disappointed that the date flavor over road all the other wonderful bits added to these, but I did not find that at all.

The blend of fruit and nuts combined with the cacao and orange is just perfect. Like the other ones we have tried in these, they are not exactly visual appealing when out of the package, but that is okay. I do love that each bag of bites has individually packaged bites perfect for adding to the kids lunch box. Unfortunately though, the price is rather high for the amount you receive in the bag, so with 3 kids, they are not really ideal for lunch boxes as the price to get a weeks worth is just to much.

The packaging is awesome. Easy to open. Appealing to the eye. Filled with information so you know exactly what is in each piece. This is important for those who like to know what they are buying when it comes to food. They are all natural,raw ingredients, good for you, gluten free and with no added sugar these will appeal to a large audience. Just a shame that like most healthy foods the price is out of many families budgets Sad Icon

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 26th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was rapt to be able to try all of the flavours of the Loaf Bliss Bites, and with a big push to eat more raw, natural food, was pleased to get to sample them. I was not aware at first that these came individually packaged, instead thinking they were just all together. When I opened them and saw that they were all separate, I was pleased! I am not a huge fan of excess packaging, so while this makes them convenient, and I completely understand that all together they would become smooshed, I am torn between convenience and excess waste. The packaging itself is attractive, easy to distinguish between flavours and is easy to decipher, so you know exactly what is in the bites. But, the packaging is not the main part of this review, so I will move on to the taste, and much more interesting things!!

These bites are absolutely, totally, utterly delicious, and were my favourite of the 3 flavours I tried !! From the first bite I sampled, I was very much in love!! The texture is great - soft but not mooshy, a nice combination of sweetness and flavours, and they most certainly have a handcrafted feel to them - not a big commercial one. The flavours work so well together - the cacao gives a chocolate type flavour, and the orange is a great compliment to it - not to sweet, but sweet enough! If I am honest - I did not taste a lot of the coconut or dates, or even the cranberries. For me the flavours were the almonds, cacao and orange.

The size of the pack, at first appeared small - and I admit to thinking - gosh - I could eat all 8 in one go! However, these have been carefully made to have a great combination of ingredients that, after just one bliss bite, leave you happy and a great snack. I would personally use them when racing between work and kindergarten / school pickup, when needing a good energy boost to see me through until dinner. I also used them as a snack whilst watching my daughters dancing - not messy, quick and easy - PERFECT!

These were the first flavour I tried, and my 3 children were all keen to try them too. They really enjoyed this flavour - and even commented that they tasted a bit like chocolate - so that is a good sign coming from a 3, 5, and 7 year old!

Loaf bliss bites have a good health star rating, which is great for a snack food, especially when you consider that the sweetness and flavours are coming from natural and raw ingredients. Another big plus is that they are dairy, wheat and gluten free - meaning that a lot of people can enjoy them. These are yummy, packed full of great things, and a lovely treats to have. The price is not too bad - working out to be around 85c per bite, so nice to have as a little treat that you will not feel bad about enjoying!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 26th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

With working long hours I find that by mid afternoon I am usually looking for a snack and often chose unhealthy choices. So I have been trying to find healthier mid afternoon snacks, which will give me an energy hit without giving me the sugar rush followed by the crash that comes soon after. When I saw the loaf bliss bites for review I was keen to give them a try.

When they arrived I was impressed that they were individually wrapped it makes them ideal for throwing straight into the lunchbox or the handbag. I was also really impressed reading the ingredient list their were no hidden nasty and the only sugar comes from the dried fruit and honey. The fact they are dairy and gluten is also a hit for me as my sister is gluten free and I need to avoid too much dairy.

Tasting them I was sold straight away there was a perfect mix of orange, cacao and coconut. They were also the perfect size for a snack and provided enough of an energy hit. The bites provide a nice texture, soft but with just a hint of crunch from the cacao nibs. As much as I didn't want to share because they were so tasty I gave some to my husband, sister and nieces to try. It was a hit with everyone including Miss 5 and 13. I will be buying them again for sure for my work bag as an on the go treat. my sister has already been out to buy some for her household. While the price may seem a little high it's worth it for the high quality of ingredients.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 20th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love that there are healthier snack options making their way onto supermarket shelves. While this product still contains a lot of sugar from the dates, honey and other dried fruit, it is still a better option as far as prepackaged snacks go.

Each packet contains 8 individually wrapped bites (1 bite is a serving size). The individual wrapping not only makes them super convenient but also increases their shelf life by keeping them fresh and looking their best. This is the second flavour that I've tried and I must admit that I like this flavour combination better. They have a firm texture with a slight crunch and a delicious burst of orange flavour. However, I did find them to be almost too sweet and this is where the individual packaging also comes into play, making it easy to manage portion control. They are low in fat and salt and high in fibre and protein as well as being gluten free, wheat free and dairy free. My partner enjoyed them and they're great for popping in the lunchbox. My son wasn't a fan but then he's never really liked bliss bites before so no surprises there.

This product makes a great pantry staple for when I'm low on snacks and I'd be keen to try some of the other flavours. They are a bit on the pricey side but you're paying for quality/expensive ingredients.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I had friends over and I opened the bliss bites to share with them. This flavour was the one that everyone was most keen on when I told them the flavours available. There was some discussion about the cacao and how close to chocolate it might taste. There was also some conversation about the energy rating being higher for this pack (4) than the other pack we had (3.5).

On biting into these bites, it was agreed by the children that it was not for them. All the adults agreed it was a much more adult flavour. It's not very sweet, but if you were a bitter chocolate or high cocoa percentage fan, then this might suit you. The orange flavour came through, but the main flavour was date with that bitter cocao taste. I personally found it enjoyable as did another adult at the table, the others not so much.

Over the weekends I have been experimenting with these and how filling they are. On a Saturday or Sunday, I get up and have a coffee and one bliss bite and then I see when I get hungry next. I'm happy to say that I found these kept me satisfied until a bit past lunchtime every time. That's good because I usually graze all weekend without specific breaks, like at work.

We went swimming last weekend, and before we went I had a bliss bite. Usually I get super hungry while swimming and have to cut the trip short. That didn't happen this time and we had about 2 hours in the water, and the getting dressed again time before I felt like I might need something. So I would recommend these for people who are on the go and don't have time for a proper sit down breakfast or break. Or for sports people who might need an energy boost.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 17th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It is great to see so many companies producing much healthier snack options these days such as bliss balls, while I have tried many different varieties many which I haven't been the biggest fan of, I was very excited to get a chance at reviewing the bliss bites from Loaf knowing how delicious many of their other products are I had a feeling that I would actually like there range of bites also, luckily I was right!

The first thing I noticed upon ripping the bag of cacao and orange bites open was that the bites were actually individually wrapped - I thought this was great as not only does it help with portion control when you are trying to restrict yourself to being healthy and not over eating, but it also prevents the bites from creating a sticky mess and sticking together into a blob if they were to be left in the wrong temperature for a long amount of time, this is something I have had problems with in the past from other brands similar products. The individual wrapping makes them perfect for a snack on the run or as a healthy item to pop into your handbag for when your out and about.

I was pleasantly surprised by the smell of orange as I opened up my first bite to try, it was very strong, a lot more so than I had expected with the bites being largely consisting of dates! The taste of the orange was lovely with just the right citrus flavour to it, the taste of cranberries in the mix was lovely too, the addition of the cacao made for a nice jaffa flavour, and I loved the little bits of crunch through the bites from the cacao nibs. I love that these are made from raw and natural ingredients which makes them pretty healthy as far a snack goes, and that there is such a great amount of sweetness to these just from the dates alone without the company needing to add in any sugars! The texture and taste to me was perfect and I loved them both from the fridge and out at room temperature.

Overall a great product from Loaf once again, and one that I would happily buy again but perhaps only once on special as they are quite pricey for what you get, although I do understand this as they are made from high quality ingredients. I will be recommending these to others that I know who loves to buy and make their own bliss balls.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 15th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I received the Loaf real food Bliss Bites - cacao and orange in my review box today. I am always on the look out for new snacks that are healthy and good for me. I have heard a lot about Bliss Balls and such foods in recent times and knew they were a popular way to snack. The only issue I have had is that being based on dates each bliss ball type item tastes like dates with a little bit of a difference - and while I like dates, they aren't something I like to eat all the time and a small handful is enough of that flavour.

As I opened up the packet I was quite pleased to find that each portion was individually wrapped - when looking at healthy eating this is definitely a bonus as you know exactly what a serving is. They would be great to have in your handbag or work bag for a snack, unfortunately I work at a child care centre and we aren't allowed nuts - but I can enjoy this snack at other times! Upon opening the packet I got an amazing whiff of orange! Completely not what I expected. The next surprise (or surprises!) came when I took my first bite - the taste of orange was very strong, the taste of dates was very little, and they had an amazing crunch to them - I thought they would be blended and smooth. All of these surprises were very enjoyable, especially the lower level of date flavour! I did think that the portion was very small and that I would probably want more than one however once I had eaten it I was satisfied enough and didn't need any more. I sampled this after dinner and have decided it would be a great alternative to a desert or supper. They have enough of a sweet taste to satisfy the late night sugar craving!

All in all a fantastic product and one that I would buy again. The price is possibly a little high, but then we do pay for convenience! I would like to try more of the flavours in this range too.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 9th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Bliss bites and real food products are the new big hit to be wide spread amongst the healthy eating industry. When I seen these to be reviewed I was very excited. I study full time and am always on the go, between studies, my son and trainings I need a snack that is healthy and good for me. I really enjoyed reading the ingredients and the fact these cacao and orange bliss bites are raw ingredients, gluten free, and wheat free and dairy free. What more could you ask for in a healthy bite sized snack.

One thing I loved was when I opened the bag and found the 8 single bite size portions were all individually wrapped. So good for throwing in my school bag as I'm running out the door. I often don't have much time in the mornings so quick and easy to grab and healthy is a super positive for me. I also found these are great to pop into my son's lunch box as well, and a good size for him to eat quickly before he runs to play. I find the big size bars I have been putting in his lunch box never get eaten and he says he doesn't have enough time.

Flavour wise these are great, I could taste the orange throughout the bite and also the cranberry flavours. I liked the texture of it, soft but yet a crunch also. Having real chucks was great, and defined the ingredients. I also really liked the packaging and how the information about energy, sat fat, sugars and sodium were easy to see. Price wise I think it's fair, for healthy products you need to be prepared to pay for it, and I think it is good value for the bliss bites. Would be something I would buy for myself again.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 1st of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These bites have a definite date texture and flavour to them. The orange taste comes through really well too. There was another level of flavour coming from the cinnamon. This was very tasty. They have enough sweetness from the dates but are not sickly. Straight from the fridge they are very firm but if they are left at room temperature in a bag for a few hours, the texture was a bit softer. Either way worked well for me.

I found that the small bite was nice and dense and that mean't that the little bite made me rather satisfied. I liked the fact that the product is made from raw, totally recognisable ingredients. I found that it worked really well as a snack in my handbag or as an after gym snack. I had one today when I was a bit hungry after going to the gym and it sorted out that desperate need for a snack and something sweet.

The fact that they come in individual wrappers was fabulous for an on-the-go snack. My only concern with this sort of packaging is the amount of waste. Personally, I don't buy very many individually packaged food. With this in mind, I think it would be worth it to buy these bites in this way as it protected them in my bag.

I often feel the need to each chocolate and these bites gave a nice alternative to chocolate. They are not too sweet and have a delicate, multifaceted flavour. The sweetness is from fruit rather than refined sugar. The bites are made up of quality raw ingredients and I thin the combination really worked. Best of all, it is real food and not a selection of colours and numbers that pretend to be food!

These bites are a great opinion for adults are children and would be a perfect quick snack in between classes at school, after the gym or in the lunch box.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 13th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Cacao is one of my new hit favourite snack food ingredients. It's not bitter like cocoa but also not sweet like chocolate, despite all three being sourced from the same seeds. It's got such a great, crunchy texture that it makes me think of eating unsweetened chocolate peanuts... without the peanut flavour masking it. Adding it to the tangy zestiness of orange is brilliant... unsweetened Jaffa really.

The bites are not the cheapest - each one is around 3cm square and about 1.5cm thick - and you get 8 in the pack, making them around 87c each, so they should be considered as 'quality over quantity' by all means... but if you want healthy, tasty snacks for you or your kids these should be given some serious consideration. My youngest - a 7yr old boy who's quite the fussy eater at times - enjoyed these and said he liked the orange flavour and the '...kinda chocolate...' taste, and was only put off a little bit by the texture. He didn't mind the crunchy cacao nibs, but the date seeds gave him a moment of pause before he decided the taste was worth putting up with the mouth-feel.

Overall, this was a good one in my books, probably safe to say it's my second-favourite. I loved the hints of coconut that peeked through at times, and the occasional spike of the cranberries, but I could not detect any almond flavours so that one became just a filler in my mind. I also found it surprising how little flavour came through from the dates - a taste I quite enjoy, so this was a flavour I wish had been a bit stronger, but that's a very personal preference so the lack of date taste may be an advantage to some others.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 6470: Pasta mia Fresh Pappardelle -  Produced by Pasta Mia

Product image for Pasta mia Fresh PappardelleGrowing up on the Adriatic coast of Italy, known for its obsession with great food, Angelo Tredicucci learned the time-honoured skill of artisan pasta making.

The result is Pasta mia, a taste sensation of bronze-extruded pasta made from his family recipes, bringing the best of Italy to your table since 1994. Buon Appetito!

Ingredients:
    •  Durum ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're both dogs!"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream