Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 22nd March 2019 - 07:00:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Farrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter review

« BITE ME - Gluten-Free Brownie reviewBITE ME - Gluten-Free BrownieFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain reviewFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain »

Score: 8.8/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6945 - Farrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Brand / Source : Farrah's

Farrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Farrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFarrah's Wraps are manufactured in Wellington, New Zealand using quality ingredients sourced from both local and overseas markets.

Farrah's Garlic Butter Wraps not only taste great but are also made using real garlic and butter. Ideal with your BBQs, accompanying your favourite curry or livening up your lunch box. Every wrap has softness you can feel and smooth edges you see - filled, folded, wrapped, stacked or baked, they'll taste great for a wide range of wrap recipes!

Won't Crack or Split When Rolled
Backed by The Farrah's Promise, Farrah's Wraps are guaranteed not to crack or split when rolled. They're great heated or eaten straight fresh from the pack.

Product Packaging
All Farrah's Wraps are packaged in high quality resealable bags which feature a tamperproof tear strip. This ensures freshness and quality to the very last wrap.

Vegetarian
These Farrah's Wraps are suitable for Vegetarians. The entire range is also Halal Certified.

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   dairy free   farrah   garlic   nzmade   wraps
Other listings you may be interested in:
Meat Pie PizzaMeat Pie Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Hellers French MerguezHellers French Merguez
Rating: 10.0
Maketu Sausage Roll - Single ServeMaketu Sausage Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Superbeet WrapsFarrah's Superbeet Wraps
Rating: 9.2
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - HummusFarrah's Wraps - Hummus
Rating: 8.9
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Italian Herb WrapsFarrah's Italian Herb Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Jesters - The Jaffle Pie Co.Jesters - The Jaffle Pie Co.
Rating: 8.2
Snyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Cheddar CheeseSnyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Cheddar Cheese
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal KitFarrah's Mexican Fajita Meal Kit
Rating: 9.4
Meyer Cumin GoudaMeyer Cumin Gouda
Rating: 8.2
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Jalapeno JellyJalapeno Jelly
Rating: 8.5
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Taco Meal KitFarrah's Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Crispy Chicken Taco Meal KitFarrah's Crispy Chicken Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.2
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Lime CurdLime Curd
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Lamb Stock
Rating: 9.4
Pop Tarts - Frosted CherryPop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Rating: 7.2
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Mexican SeasoningSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Mexican Seasoning
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 18th of September, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I wasn't a part of the original review group who got to try these wraps. However, I have tried almost every other flavour Farrah's has brought out. When I read some of the reviews, I thought these sound so good, I had to get a packet. I got a packet and I used it for all the things that we would normally.

I cut two wraps into wedge shapes and then brushed them lightly with olive oil. Then I added a little cheese and dukkah to them and grilled them until they were golden. They made a delicious cracker for hummus, cheeses and relishes. I used them to make a stuffed crust pizza. You do this by layering grated cheese between two wraps and then adding your pizza topping to the top wrap.

I have also had them with hot meat and salads, and even to wrap around a stir fry filled with yummy cabbage, carrot and noodles. These are the ultimate wrap and are in particular great, fried lightly and then served with a curry. Farrah's have done an excellent job on the flavour and again this wrap doesn't fall to bits.

But the thing that sets these wraps aside from the rest in the Farrah's range is that I'm buying a pack every single week. Why? Well, my daughter went off her lunch a while back. She wouldn't eat her sandwiches and I had tried everything. We changed the spreads, we took the spreads out altogether. Slowly she was eating less and less, and that isn't good for concentrating at school.

Then on a whim I gave her one wrap cut into wedges in her lunch box. That day, she ate the wrap. All of it was gone. I couldn't believe it. So I did it again, and again. She said that it is the most delicious thing she has tasted in a while and the buttery taste is a winner with her. So thank you Farrah's. You have given this family peace of mind and we will continue to support you and this product because it is simply the best!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 12th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Farrah's wraps and since discovering them through KIWIreviews they are the only wraps I buy. When I saw they had released a garlic butter wrap I knew I had to try them. The day my review parcel arrived I knew it was going to be wraps for dinner in our house.

First time I tried them I made crispy chicken wraps, a favourite in my house. Opening the wraps I could get a slight hint of garlic but it wasn't as strong as I expected it to be. I warmed my wraps slightly before throwing in the other ingredients and found the garlic scent got stronger as they heated. As always with Farrah's wraps they rolled perfectly with no cracking.

Digging in to dinner I was impressed the garlic taste came through enough to add a nice flavour but not strong enough to over power the other ingredients. My husband enjoyed the flavour as well quickly informing me he had a new favorite and he was taking the leftovers for lunch the next day.

I have already brought the wraps again and can see them becoming a regular in our house. I'm quickly finding lots of tasty ways to use them. They make perfect crispy pizza bases, a great alternative to naan bread and toasted up make great salad bowls. I'm sure I'm going to keep finding lots of interesting ways to use them over the next few months. I love how Farrah's keep finding new ways to jazz up their wraps!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Garlic is one of the most versatile ingredients that will improve near enough any dish. So having garlic butter added to wraps, seems like a great idea to guarantee a tasty meal, no matter how it is prepared, and whatever ingredients that you use.

Looking at the product, there is no visible garlic butter, but there is a slight aroma, when you smell up close. My first use of the product involved creating a simple wrap with ingredients I could find in the fridge. So some cucumber, red onion, grated carrot, and braised lamb made its way into a cold wrap, and was swiftly devoured. The garlic flavour was there but it certainly wasn't strong. Just a slight hint, although I could certainly feel that greasy layer that you get if you consume cold garlic butter (I am horrible at waiting for things to be thoroughly cooked).

Trying a second wrap with a warmed wrap, the flavour was stronger, the aroma was stronger, and the wrap itself folded a lot better. I also didn't get that greasy feeling when I bit into it, so that slight heating must have dealt with the garlic butter.

An enjoyable product, that I could certainly see myself purchasing in the future. This product does tend to be a bit high when you compare the nutritional information between different wrap types, so it wouldn't seem to be the healthiest choice, but as someone who has a tendency to add too much sauce to his wraps and salads, I found these flavoured wraps could eliminate the need for sauces entirely. So I have to give it credit there,.

Click here to read the profile of rachaelch13

Review by: rachaelch13 (Rachael)
Dated: 4th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I saw these wraps available for review I just had to try we love anything garlic in our house!. I expected to open this packet and be hit with the aroma of garlic mixed with butter however there was no garlic smell at all so I figured the taste test would make up for it. We decided to use them on nacho night and cook some up as corn chips in the oven and for my two boys to use as a wrap as it is easier for them to hold the fillings this way.

My partner and I were very disappointed in the taste - it tasted like a plain wrap rather than garlic butter however the wrap itself was soft and still tasty it just lacked that added flavour they also cooked up really nicely with a light spray of oil in the oven to use as chips. We did love the packaging and the ideas for how you could use these wraps very eye catching and they where correct that these never split or crack it made it very easy for my two boys to eat there dinner without much complaint.I would still be interested in trying out other varieties in this range as the wrap itself is nice however do not buy this if you are expecting it to add flavour to your meal but a great base for any family meals.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 23rd of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I am really hoping that my Garlic Wraps were mispackaged or this was a practical joke because there was absolutely no smell, taste, inkling of garlic anywhere on our wraps. I expected to open the packet and be hit with the yummy garlic tinge but there was nothing. Looking at the wraps there was absolutely no indication that garlic had been introduced to the wrap at all - instead it tasted like a plain wrap with no added flavour. Both my husband and I double checked the package, smelt inside and there was no tinge of garlic at all - very disappointed.

We love wraps. Our family have them at least once a month. It's a great way for the girls to make their own dinner and for me to relax somewhat. Putting the salad, camembert cheese, garlic humus, chicken, onions cooked and raw red onion, mushrooms, avocardo and garlic sauce on the middle of the table - it's a basic free for all. In this instance there was a fight at the end as the pack was only a six pack and all four of us wanted the last two wraps so instead we had to have a half wrap each. Usually I buy the largest pack available or two small ones as each of us usually have two or three.

The packaging is very eye catching and I read the story of how the wraps developed. I do agree whenever we have had Farrah's they never split or crack which is fantastic when dealing with little ones.

If I did not have my garlic fix with the humus and sauce I would of been very upset tonight. If it was a plain wrap I would of been impressed but as I had images of another taste I am very underwhelmed!!!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 12th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was super excited to see these garlic butter wraps come available for reviewing as a few days earlier I had seen that these were coming into stores, as a huge fan of both Farrah's wraps and garlic bread it sounded to me like a perfect match. I was lucky enough to be selected to review these and couldn't wait to try them.

Like all Farrah's wraps these come in a very handy resealable package, which means they stay fresh after you open them, otherwise there is the option of storing them in the freezer for up to 3 months and defrosting them as you need to keep them for longer, however in my house there was no way that these would last past a few days.

I decided to try these out for lunches, making 1 for me and 2 for my partner as these would more likely be his dinner for work. Inspread them each with a thin layer of aioli and topped them with shredded lettuce, bean sprouts, tomato, grated cheese, cucumber, bacon and chicken tenders which I had coated in breadcrumbs (usually I would add another type of sauce such as BBQ but in this case I choose not to as I didn't want to add to much of a strong taste incase it took over from the tastenof the garlic butter). These folded up perfectly without being heated and as the packet states they really "won't crack won't split when rolled", I was pleased to see that this really was the case. The wraps tasted great, and lovely and fresh however I must be honest and say that there wasn't the biggest taste of garlic butter present which was a tad dissapointing, especially as they smelt amazing with beautiful aromas of garlic as soon as I opened the bag. However much to my suprise my partner came home and told me how the wraps were really nice and that they had a different taste to them however he couldn't pinpoint exactly what it was.

To be fair on the wraps and give them a true test of actual taste I took the last of the 2 from the packet and cut them into small triangle pieces which I then sprayed lughtly with olive oil and baked in the oven until nice and golden in crisp, Miss 3 and I enjoyed them as an afternoon snack with some dips and cheese and I have to say I was pleased with the taste of garlic when served this way it was just enough garlic tasting and even Miss 3 commented "mmmmmm it tastes like little garlic breads". It goes to show that these wraps can be used in many ways other than just as a wrap, I would love to use them as a pizza base one day.

All in all a great tasting wrap which I certainly will be buying again, the price works out at a $1 per wrap which is pretty good and id rather pay this than pay less for a bag of wraps that are a nightmare to work with due to cracks ans breakages. Will be recomending this product.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 5th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was so excited to see these hit the market, and super-keen to give them a try. I love garlic bread and usually have to make my own to get something decent, so a "garlic butter wrap" sounded just super now that the weather has cooled down enough I don't feel my tattoos starting to slide off me with sweat when I step outside, but is still warm enough to warrant BBQ dinners. Nothing beats a nice steak and salad wrap in my books.

Tearing open the bag, I was immediately wrapped in a delicious aroma of garlic butter - that warm, mellow smell of real butter and a slight tang of garlic sneaking through around the edges. I was getting quite hungry just from the smell. I layered in finely-sliced BBQ steak that had been marinaded in soy sauce, brown sugar, clover honey and a hint of sweet chilli sauce. I added two types of cheese - colby cheddar and a few small slices of smoked Havarti - my newest "cheese accent" from Kapiti - with some thinly sliced tomato, the last of my cucumber, and a thin spread of tomato relish as a base and "glue" to hold it closed after cutting.

Rolling that up in the wrap was childs play - no cracks, no rips, no tears - and I popped it in the microwave for 30 seconds to melt the cheeses. Out and onto a plate, cut it in half and away I went with a cold beer in hand to sit out on the patio and enjoy the sunset.

And that's where my heart broke. Despite the amazing aroma, I had overloaded the fillings with flavour and lost the delicate flavour of the garlic butter. I could have been eating almost any flavour wrap and wouldn't have been able to tell you what it was. I was slapping myself - metaphorically - for being so stupid as to expect to taste the delicate undertones of the wrap when every mouthful was registering the spicy and savoury overloads of the cheese and meats.

So, to be fair to the task at hand, I waited a good 3 hours for my taste buds to reset - helped by copious amounts of mouth-rinsing with water - and then had a taste from one of the wraps with nothing in it at all. There was the delicate garlic butter taste, though it was far more quiet that I was hoping and expecting. I honestly feel that despite the great concept, this flavour profile is just too delicate for anything more than the most inoffensive-flavoured salads as a filling, and needs a stronger garlic presence to allow it to show it's full glory with even a few slightly-strong flavours coiled up inside it.

Overall, while this will be one I know I can offer my picky-eater youngest son in relative surety he'll consume it without fuss, it's one I would probably skip over for myself, option for one of the varieties with a bigger flavour hit.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 7936: House of Dumplings - Prancing Pork -  Produced by House of Dumplings

Product image for House of Dumplings - Prancing PorkThis traditional Chinese dumpling is made with the best pork on this planet - free-range Wairapa LongBush Pork Shoulder.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"WindowsXP is like Microsoft and AOL had a baby, then AOL dropped the baby on it's head."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream