Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 16th December 2019 - 10:50:28

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pastries > Dad's Pies - Thai Chicken review

« Dad's Pies - Butter Chicken reviewDad's Pies - Butter ChickenDad's Pies - Mexitarian reviewDad's Pies - Mexitarian »

Score: 9.5/10  [11 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6872 - Dad's Pies - Thai Chicken
Manufactured by Dad's Pies

Dad's Pies - Thai Chicken
Price:
$4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Dads Pies

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Dad's Pies - Thai Chicken product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe strong, silent type of pie that will give you advice, fix your car, give you shoulder rides, take you to sports games and teach you to ride a bike. They are the wholesome, dependable pies that people love to eat, since 1981.

Scoffing this tasty mix of chicken, red capsicum and mushrooms in a spicy coconut cream sauce is like taking a ten minute tropical holiday.

Ingredients:
Chicken, Onion, Red Capsicum, Green Curry Paste, Coconut Cream, Garlic, Mushrooms

Net Weight: 200gm

Check out Dads Pies onlineClick here to see all the listings for Dads Pies Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
capsicum   chicken   coconut   curry   garlic   mushroom   nzmade   onion
Other listings you may be interested in:
Dad's Pies - Mince and CheeseDad's Pies - Mince and Cheese
Rating: 8.9
Dad's Pies - Steak and CheeseDad's Pies - Steak and Cheese
Rating: 9.6
Dad's Pies - Angus Chilli Beef and CheeseDad's Pies - Angus Chilli Beef and Cheese
Rating: 9.5
Dad's Pies - Pepper SteakDad's Pies - Pepper Steak
Rating: 9.2
Dad's Pies - Italiano LasagneDad's Pies - Italiano Lasagne
Rating: 9.5
Dad's Pies - Chicken and Basil PestoDad's Pies - Chicken and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.7
Dad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zzaDad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zza
Rating: 9.5
Dad's Pies - Butter ChickenDad's Pies - Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.6
Dad's Pies - MexitarianDad's Pies - Mexitarian
Rating: 9.2
Garlic Shrimp pizzaGarlic Shrimp pizza
Rating: 8.5
Betty Crocker's Chocolate Caramel MuffinsBetty Crocker's Chocolate Caramel Muffins
Rating: 9.6
Loaf Mini-Bites - Lolly BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Lolly Bites
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal KitFarrah's Mexican Fajita Meal Kit
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 24th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

After tasting all the other pies I was looking forward to this one. I had previously had a bite of this flavour off my husband when he had bought it from Wild Bean Cafe so I knew that it was a flavour that I was going to enjoy. I was unsure however whether the taste would get sickly by the end of the pie, this I did not need to worry about.

I cut this pie open and was surprised to see quite a bit of chicken chunks. I found that in the other pies there was not quite enough chicken so it was pleasing to see in this pie. You could see flecks of red which I am guessing was the capsicum which added a nice bit of colour to the filling. In taking the first bite it was an explosion of flavour. There was just enough heat in the sauce to my liking. The mixture inside was the right texture so there was no worrying about the filling oozing everywhere, so an ideal pie to eat either with knife and fork or straight out of the hands.

I loved every single bite of this pie. You did not even realise you were eating pastry with it as the filling flavour took the pastry taste away. I will definitely be buying this flavour pie again, knowing that the filling is just a little too spicy for my kids which means I get to eat it all too myself.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 8th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

The poppy seeds on the top of this pie look rather attractive and I felt the need to pick some off before eating the pie! Unfortunately I had some hungry little children waiting to be allowed to try the pie, so I had to get on with cutting it into wedges for testing.

When I sliced into the pie, the initial reaction was that there was a lot of meat. Everyone thought that it looked quite different to other pies. I thought that it had a strong Thai curry smell to it. The red speckles throughout the pie caused a bit of discussion amongst the children and prompted a look at the ingredients list. They found that it was capsicum.

The texture was rather creamy and had a definite Thai curry taste. It did smell stronger than the actually tasted however. I thought that there was quite a bit of sauce in this pie and the meat could have been dispersed a bit better. I also found that the chicken was a bit drier than the previous pies I have tried in this range. Perhaps this was just this batch or maybe the way the fillings are created for this version of pie. It was still nice but worth noting.

This is the tenth Dad's Pie I have tested and reviewed in the range and I have definitely found that I am more a fan of the beef based ones than the chicken based ones. This is not to say that I haven't enjoyed the chicken ones and may even consider buying them in the future.

Mr 11 and Miss 12 quite enjoyed this pie and found the level of spice just right for them. The younger children had a taste but it wasn't their cup of tea at all. I am typing this review about an hour after eating the pie and I still have a slight spicy sensation in my mouth and lips. I didn't think that it was that spicy but my mouth is saying something a little different!

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 6th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

I had this one a couple of days ago for lunch at work. I had to microwave it because we don't have an oven in the site office. I was impressed at how well it turned out, considering the microwave is an old beast that doesn't have a consistent output. Sometimes that stupid box can take close on 10 minutes to heat up a cuppa noodles.

I wasn't sure about "thai" because even though I do like some spicy foods, some of the asian stuff can feel to me like eating lava and drinking acid but this pie was actually pretty good and had a lot of flavour without being so spicy that it gave me issues later, if you get my drift. It's a common nightmare for me, having to sit down in a porta'loo - man, those things are like seriously scary to walk into without wearing a neon hazmat suit sometimes. I try to make my work time meals the sorts of things that won't force me to walk into a turd tardis.

Even though I had to nuke the pie, it came out really well. The state of pastry making has come a long way if you can now buy pies that don't turn to mush in the micro. Whatever that voodoo is they do, they do it well. Even the filling came out hot but not liquid, which made it heaps easier to eat without getting it all down the front of my hi-vis vest, which would just be annoying.

I would be happy to eat this pie again, even though it wasn't the top pick for me from the range so far. If there was a choice between this and a basic flavour, I would be really tempted to pick this one again.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 31st of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Of the three pies that I had in this review trial, this was my absolute favourite. Having spent some time in Thailand, the Thai cuisine captured my heart as well as my taste buds. There is a passion to their cooking that transcends mere ingredients, and to find those same profiles in this pie was a revelation to me. While I am an eater of beef by preference, this chicken pie was something a bit special.

Disregarding the rim of the pastry turning too hard for me to eat comfortably when I heated it up in the oven, the rest of the pie was filled with a wonderful mix of chicken and vegetables, as well as rich, spicy and creamy sauce to hold it all together. The chicken was tender and moist, just falling apart in my mouth. It was as though it had been in a slow-cooker for 12 hours.

The pie was very easy to prepare by following the instructions, but now having read other people's reviews, I wonder if I would have gotten better results by using a microwave. The ring of rock-hard crust that I got when I used the oven was a big issue for me, but my flatmate was more than happy to take care of it for me, calling it "pie crackling".

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

When I heard the name, I wasn't sure how different this pie would be from the Butter Chicken pie, but I did find out, and is was an interesting an pleasant difference indeed. This pie had a very distinct taste, it was almost like an exotic, thick chicken soup in a pie casing, it was spicy, tangy, sweet, and filled with chicken chunks.

The fillings had only a small bit of creaminess to them, but that was fine by me, ad a bit of texture makes the food feel more natural and proper than something completely smooth, which feels too synthetic. I detected several flavours in the mix, but right off the bat I could only identify a few of them, the flavours that stood out the most were the capsicum, green chilli, and chicken.

My parents used to have chilli plants, which we would frequently pick from to use the chillies in our cooking, so I recognized the strong, tart hint of spice that came from the green chillies, while the capsicum was only slightly different, in a way I can't explain. There was a bit of sweetness in the sauce that worked really well in the case of trying to replicate an authentic-tasting Thai Chicken flavour, and I think that sweetness came from the coconut cream, it would make sense, as it was a sweetness I picked up in a very small amount when I tried the Butter Chicken pie, and for both products it worked REALLY well.

Overall, I think that as far as pies go these days, this one really does hit a high mark, I am very impressed the the thought and inventiveness the chef's put into designing this product, and I look very forward to trying the last of my collection of review samples. I would also recommend this product to anyone who is a fan of Asian cuisine, because while this might not be a proper Thai Chicken dish, it is certainly the next best thing. Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 8 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

I cooked this pie as per the instructions; 20 minutes in the oven (sealed in the bag). this is the second time that I have cooked the pies in the bag, and this is the second time that the pie has come out of the bag split down the sides of the pastry. So my recommendation is to take the pies out of the bags when cooking in the oven (at a minimum, open up one end).

As for the flavour, when most people think of thai chicken, I expect they think of thai red curry and thai green curry, and get scared off by the thought of the spices and the heat. Well this isn't that kind of pie...not to that extent at least. The main flavours that you can taste in the pie are the coconut cream, red capsicum, and green curry paste (in that order). For me, I'm not a huge fan of capsicum, so the large amount of flavour that it creates is not the most pleasant to me, and it can be tasted in every bite (though it would be a positive note if you enjoy capsicum). The coconut cream is by far the most noticeable flavour and it counteracts a lot of the spices from the green curry paste, creating a smooth, mild flavour profile. I can taste the curry paste, but can't feel the heat.

The chicken pieces in this pie fall into the "small but more" category, with smaller pieces, but more of them and spread about the pie for a better mix. The consistency of the filling is also not as thick as many of the other pies. The garlic is not immediately noticeable when you eat it, but is very much present in the aftertaste and is still present hours later.

Overall, the capsicum holds this pie back from being a great pie, in my opinion. As someone that doesn't enjoy the flavour of capsicums, the quantity of these peppers was too high for me, and "tainted" the flavour of the entire pie for me. I certainly enjoyed the other flavours, with the chicken and coconut cream being a great combination.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

This is the first Thai flavoured pie I have ever seen, so I was keen to give it a whirl. I generally like Thai Green and Thai Red chicken curries. Though I tend to find the fire and heat from a Thai curry to be incredibly strong. So I was keen to see how the flavour was and how it translated to pie form.

I pre-heated my oven to 180 degrees and then cooked the pie from de-frosted for about 30 minutes. I then cut the pie in half and shared it with my husband. Neither kid wanted to try it, and after my first taste I was quite glad they didn't. The pie crust was beautifully buttery and crunchy. It was a delicious casing for the filling.

The Thai chicken curry inside was a milder Thai curry, but it had definite heat to it. It was almost too hot for my taste buds to handle. Though I did manage to taste the coconut cream to it. I didn't pick up that there were mushrooms in there at all. Neither did hubby or he would have complained. I thought it was closest to the Thai green curry, and that is basically what it is according to the ingredients.

My husband laughed at me when I mentioned the heat. He thought that it was a decent "everyday" heat, and though he felt it could have been hotter he understood why it wasn't. Especially after looking at my face and the beads of sweat on my forehead.

This pie was a winner for us overall. The flavour was a spot on. We are fans of Thai curry anyway. The addition of the pastry was genius. I would be keen to buy a couple of things for dinner one night every now and then. The kids can have chicken nuggets, while us adults have something a bit more upmarket and fun.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

The addition of coconut cream and Thai green curry to a vegetable sauce (onion, capsicum, garlic and mushroom) turns this chicken pie into an Asian taste treat. It is quite unlike any of the other pies I have tried in the range; the flavour is unique and very satisfying. I found that, although it was quite hot, it was not too overstated for my taste although I think some children might find it too spicy.

The pie has a very attractive appearance. The top is sprinkled with poppy seeds which crisp up when the pie is heated, adding to the medley of flavours. The pastry is up to the high standard I have come to expect from Dad's Pies, and the filling is rich and creamy with bright red flecks of capsicum adding a touch of contrast to the basic pale brown of the sauce. The combination of flavours is sophisticated and the flavours are nicely balanced, complementing one another rather than competing for attention.

I thought there was less meat in this pie than in other flavours I have tried, but when I looked more closely at the filling I found that some of the chicken was so tender it had literally disintegrated into the sauce and there were numerous tiny pieces of meat in addition to the two larger pieces in my pie. However, this did not seem to matter as the overall texture and flavour were so good.

I will be purchasing this product again in the future and look forward to seeing it on sale in my local supermarket. It is difficult to make a really good chicken pie but this one is a success in my opinion. I shared it with a friend for lunch, but I think I will serve it as a main meal next time (and have a whole pie to myself!) as I imagine it would go really well with plain greens like asparagus and courgettes which would not hijack the flavour.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 24th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

I first discovered the pleasures of Thai food about 20 odd years ago. I used to work night-shift at a local newspaper, and there was a Thai restaurant near the loading dock entrance that would close up for the night around the same time I got my mid-shift break - our 'lunch break'. Over the years the night crew had gotten to know the manager and the restaurant and she admitted they always ended up with extra meals at the end of the night, so when she offered to give them to us for our 'lunch' we were intrigued.

Eating this pie brought back some great memories of one dish I always enjoyed - the name of which I was never able to pronounce. It had a thinner sauce than the filling of the pie does, but that's a good thing for a pie. Apart from that, this pie had a very similar taste profile to the Thai dish, with the pastry doing a fair job of standing in for the crispy noodles the original dish has. I had no problems eating this pie, and the only flaw it has is the size... far, far smaller than my taste-buds wanted it to be!

I decided to try cooking this pie in the mini oven, to see how the pastry 'should' be. Personally, because I have sensitive teeth, I find microwaved pastry to be easier to eat, but even done in the oven this pastry was amazingly soft and easy to eat. I usually find that by the time the inside is fully up to heat, the pastry in an over-heated pie is drying out, and often has a hard rim around the top - hard, sharp and unpleasant, like something Oddjob could use in his hat brim. #GratuituousJamesBondReference

Overall, this was a great pie, and certainly one of my favourites. I'd like to say it is THE favourite from the range... but I'm finding that there are many great flavours made by Dad's Pies, and I am now not sure if I could pick just one to sit atop them all!

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 24th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 8 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

I've never really eaten a lot of Thai food in the past, so I really wasn't to sure I was getting myself in for when I requested this Thai Chicken pie from Dad's Pie's, my main concern I think was whether it was going to be far too spicy for my taste buds to handle as spicy food and myself don't go together too well, so I tend to stay away from such things.

I heated this pie in the microwave for 2 minutes, completely encased in it's packaging and it worked out perfectly, the pastry was crisp but still had a nice amount of softness to it, which made it easy to cut through. The first thing I noticed as I took the pie out from it's bag and placed it on to my plate was that it had a nice sprinkling of poppy seeds on top of it which I thought was a nice touch, that gave the pie a little bit of a gourmet appeal.

Cutting into the pie I could certainly smell the spices and I could also see quite a lot of red capsicum throughout the sauce, which worried me a bit, none the less I cut a small piece of pie and gave it a taste and much to my surprise the pie was relatively mild in taste. To me the pie reminded me of satay chicken, I felt it had a peanut buttery taste to it, though peanuts aren't in the ingredients ... perhaps this is just what the taste of Thai food is like? The sauce was creamy and smooth, and I could pick up the taste of the coconut cream ever so slightly, however I didn't notice any onion or mushrooms throughout the sauce, though I had no problem with this. There were a couple of good sized chunks of chicken throughout the filling, but personally I would have preferred more.

Dad's Pie's have certainly gone to another level with this pie (as they have done with the other flavours I have tried so far) in regards to the amazing flavour combinations they have created within there range of pies, and have also added that extra something else by the way they present the top of there pies in a unique way (great for telling several pies apart from one another). Though this isn't my favourite pie out of the range I have tried I would still recommend this to others to try, especially those who like a bit of spice in their food.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 23rd of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given a pile of Dad's pies to review and I decided on this for my first taste test for an easy lunch to take to work today. Partly chosen because the Thai curry flavour really appealed, but also partly because I didn't think Miss 7 or my hubby would be too keen on this flavour, so I wanted it all for me!

Being at work, I needed to heat it in the microwave and I was pleased to find there were instructions for this on the packet, even though I know it's not an ideal way to heat pies. I noticed that it said to defrost it first, and luckily I'd taken it from the freezer to the fridge a few hours prior, but it was still a little frozen. However 2 minutes in the microwave (in it's packet), like it stated in the instructions, was perfect :)

I won't comment too much on the pastry as microwaves are not known for treating pastry gently, but it was nice enough, and I was impressed with the poppy seeds on top as an extra quality touch. The pie had a generous amount of filling with some chunks of chicken and quite a bit of the saucy part in there. I could see some bits of chilli and it had a perfect amount of heat for me - not too overpowering, but enough to know it's there, and definitely had what I identify as a Thai flavour to it. I'm looking forward to trying some of the other pies with my family for dinner tonight.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 5844: Deluxe Diner: 1950's American Diner -  Located: New Plymouth

Product image for Deluxe Diner: 1950's American Diner36 Leach St
New Plymouth 4310
Phone: (06) 757-5300

Deluxe Diner, the first of its kind in New Zealand. Open 7 & Days 7 about-server Nights, it features counter service, all day breakfast, classic red diner booths, rock n roll, Coca-Cola, Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, and 1950s retro memorabilia.

With great food and a fun theme Deluxe Diner will become a popular Hangout for Young and Old as well as meet all demands for ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream