Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 27th June 2019 - 14:56:12

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pastries > Dad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zza review

« Dad's Pies - Chicken and Basil Pesto reviewDad's Pies - Chicken and Basil PestoDad's Pies - Butter Chicken reviewDad's Pies - Butter Chicken »

Score: 9.5/10  [11 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6870 - Dad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zza
Manufactured by Dad's Pies

Dad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zza
Price:
$4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Dads Pies

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Dad's Pies - Chicken Pie-zza product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe strong, silent type of pie that will give you advice, fix your car, give you shoulder rides, take you to sports games and teach you to ride a bike. They are the wholesome, dependable pies that people love to eat, since 1981.

Tender chicken gets a swirl of special sauce and a layer of stretchy mozzarella. Under no conditions should you twirl this above your head.

Ingredients:
Chicken, Mozzarella Cheese, Pizza Sauce, Mixed Herbs

Net Weight: 200gm

Check out Dads Pies onlineClick here to see all the listings for Dads Pies Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cheese   chicken   herbs   mozzarella   nzmade   pizza   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Dad's Pies - Steak and CheeseDad's Pies - Steak and Cheese
Rating: 9.6
Dad's Pies - MexitarianDad's Pies - Mexitarian
Rating: 9.2
Beak & Sons Slow Cooked Pork in Apple BBQ SauceBeak & Sons Slow Cooked Pork in Apple BBQ Sauce
Rating: 9.4
Dad's Pies - Chicken and Basil PestoDad's Pies - Chicken and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.7
Dad's Pies - Butter ChickenDad's Pies - Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.6
Dad's Pies - Italiano LasagneDad's Pies - Italiano Lasagne
Rating: 9.5
Dad's Pies - Pepper SteakDad's Pies - Pepper Steak
Rating: 9.2
Dad's Pies - Angus Chilli Beef and CheeseDad's Pies - Angus Chilli Beef and Cheese
Rating: 9.5
Dad's Pies - Mince and CheeseDad's Pies - Mince and Cheese
Rating: 8.9
Bakeworks Mini Gluten Free CookiesBakeworks Mini Gluten Free Cookies
Rating: 10.0
Maketu Sausage Roll - Single ServeMaketu Sausage Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Dad's Pies - Thai ChickenDad's Pies - Thai Chicken
Rating: 9.5
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice BlendSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Moroccan Spice Blend
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 12th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

The kids had already been feed so I sat down to enjoy the Chicken Pie-zza from Dad's Pie. The smell attracted Miss 5.5 over (she had even brought a teaspoon so she could try it). She saw the herbs sprinkled on top of the pastry lid and was a bit put off. Still curiousity got the best of her and she waited around. Once I peeled off the lid and she saw the layer of cheese as well as the chicken, and got an even better smell of it she dug in. "I didn't know I would like it, just it tastes fantastic," she told me.

I have to agree with her. It was delicious. It was just like a chicken pizza but instead of a bread dough base it is in a pastry case. There were big chunks of tender chicken. This meant that it took slightly longer than the other pies did to cook. It was worth the wait.

This is a pie that both of us will be keen to have again. I am pleased to hear that it is available both in supermarkets and service stations so I'll be keeping an eye out for a quick meal that I can guarantee everyone in the household will love. I am surprised at how economical it is for such a good quality product.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 8th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

I mentioned the fact that we were going to try a chicken pizza pie to my family and they were all a bit surprised. It isn't something that is a familiar thought. When they saw the packet, they all had fun playing with the name of it and trying to work out exactly how to say 'Chicken Pie-zza'. It became quite a talking point as I cut up the pie for tasting.

With the other pies I have reviewed so far, I thawed them on the day I wished to cook them. This time round I popped them in the fridge a couple of days ago so they would be all ready to go at a moments notice. I read the back of the packet and found that I could keep it in the thawed state for a maximum of 13 days and I knew that it wouldn't be that long before I would eat them! It could be my imagination, but the pastry on this pie did seem a little softer and possible less stable than it was for the other pies. It still was very nice though and was much better than any other brand of pie that I have previously had.

When I opened up the packet, I immediately noticed that the smell was that of a pizza. The children all noticed it too and they were all rather impressed. None of us know what to expect when it came to a combination of a pie and a pizza.

My 11 year old nephew, who has previously only had standard pies like mince, mince and cheese etc, commented that it looked a bit funny because of the colour. He thought it looked quite orange. Mr Six thought it contained a combination of tomato, chicken and cheese. They all agreed that they could definitely see lumps of chicken.

The pie smelled like pizza and tasted like pizza. All the kids thought that there was a bit too much cheese in the pie. They thought if a person was going to eat a pie all by themselves they would get a mouthful of cheese and pastry to start with. Our experience was a bit different today as we cut it up into wedges in order for everyone to try it. In our case, we had the cheese and pastry as the last taste. Personally, I didn't mind that at all!!!

Mr 11 thought that the pie was ok but not amazing. Miss 12 and Mr Six quickly defended the pie and said that it was amazing!! Miss 12 said that she doesn't like too much meat and she found that the combination of the meat, sauce and pastry really appealed to her. I guess the final decision can only be made by your own tastebuds!

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 1st of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

This is definitely a pie that is going on my shopping list. I love a pie that is a little different and will quite often try something new. I was unsure what to really expect from this pie. Pizza in a pie does not give this pie justice. To me it was definitely pasta in a pie.

I cooked this pie in the oven as directed on the package and cut it open to examine the contents. Although there was not a lot of visible chicken this did not worry me too much as the smell was to die for. One bit and I was hooked. The other pies with creamy fillings I have found to be too sickly by the end, however I think that the combination of flavours and the mozzarella was just right. Flavour was not over powering and sickly.

Looking at the ingredients list I was surprised to see that they only listed pasta sauce. Being careful what to feed my children I would have liked the ingredients of this pasta sauce to be broken down just a little further. I don't know whether this was done on purpose (secret ingredients) or by mistake with the amount of allergies there are these days it is cutting out some of the market.

Overall well done Dad's Pies for a different but yummy pie.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

This was quite the delicious pie. Unlike the Mexitarian which tasted like pizza, and the Angus Chilli Beef which tasted like Mexican, this product actually tastes like its namesake; pizza in a pie base with chicken. That alone impresses me, as often you will find unique flavours aren't always labelled with a description that suits it best. But the Chicken Pie-zza works well.

I was feeling particularly hungry today, and ended wanting to eat the pie sooner than later, so I pulled it straight out of the oven and gave it a buzz in the microwave with the bag on high for a good 4-5 minutes until the centre of the pie was cooked. This was the first time I had cooked the pie with the bag completely closed off (I usually open one end when I microwave), so I was a little surprised to see that the pie had actually split down the side in a couple of places. Unsure whether it was from cooking from frozen, cooking with the bag closed, or whether it had been damaged during travel, but I was nonetheless disappointed in the visual look of the pie after heating.

With the sides cracked, the lid had unattached itself and the product had begun to sink and squish to the point where I felt a photo would not do the product justice. Because I loved the flavour! It had that pizza flavour, without the over-the-top tomato characteristics, and without any unnecessary onion textures. The "pizza" filling acted as a thick gravy with good consistency around the good sized whole chunks of chicken. The filling was rather strong in flavour, and the taste of the mixed herbs lingers long after the pie is gone. But it gives the pie a consistent flavour, which I enjoyed.

Definitely one of my top choices, and a bit of a surprise entry if I was to be honest. But yeah definitely would recommend and eat on many an occasion in the future.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

I was rather keen to try the Chicken Pie-zza (still not sure on how exactly to pronounce it LOL Icon) as I love chicken and I love mozzarella cheese and pizza is a big plus in my house as well. I popped it into the oven and let it cook for the suggested twenty minutes at 180 degrees however when I cut into the pie I discovered that the middle was still cold, so I threw it back in for another ten minutes and this time it came out lovely and piping hot. Cutting into it the pie crust was nice and crisp and I could see the chicken, sauce and cheese.

Biting into this and I was hooked, almost didn't want to give my husband any of it to try but I managed to give him a little sliver of it in the end. He said it was nice and cheesy, the sauce tasted good and the chicken was good as well. I personally loved it, to me it was just like the type of homemade pizza I like to make, cheesy, saucy and meaty. The sauce tasted like a yummy pizza sauce, there was just the right amount of cheese within it and the meat was beautifully tender.

I would love to eat this again and could happily eat it again and again, this I could pay full price for.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 27th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

This has to be the most 'out there' cross-over food I have tried since some "marketing genius" tried to make a mince pie pizza. Most surprisingly, it kinda worked. With hefty chunks of chicken in a rich tomato and herb pizza-style sauce, the only thing I would have liked to have seen added was some onion.

I made some "cheat's garlic bread sticks" by making regular toast, then spreading it with some home-made garlic and parsley butter, topped with strips of colby cheese and popped in the mini oven alongside the pie after it had been in there for 15 minutes. This gave the cheese 5 minutes to melt and the butter to infuse the toast, and once the bell chimed I put the pie on the plate and cut each piece of the toast into thirds. Garlic bread and pizza is a great match, and this did the trick nicely.

I found the flavour of the pizza sauce to be quite strong, a little too strong in my personal opinion. Not because I disliked the flavour - far from it - it was more a case of how rich it was, it drowned out any chance of the cheese coming through in the overall taste profile. While I could see the cheese, and feel the cheese in each bite, I couldn't taste it at all, and that just seems like such a waste to me.

Overall, this pie was very pleasantly surprising, but it still felt like it was 'just' falling short of its potential because of the lack of cheese flavour. As with all the Dad's Pies I have tried, the pastry is amazing, in that it retains its edibility whether you cook the pie in the oven or the microwave. If I was in a shop looking to buy a pie, and I had the choice between this and a 'regular' pie at even a third of the price, I would happily spend the extra to buy this one without hesitation.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 26th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

"Chicken Pie-zza" is a wonderful name for a pie, and something that might entice children into trying it. I expected a pizza topping with piecrust instead of pizza crust, but this product was quite unique. It consisted of a creamy cheese and tomato sauce with generous chunks of chicken, all enclosed in Dad's Pies' wonderful crisp, light pastry. We ate it on its own as a lunch snack but it would be equally suitable for a full sized dinner if served with vegetables - I am going to try it with a tossed green salad next time I serve it.

I found the filling very pleasant and not at all overwhelming. The tomato flavour comes from the pizza sauce which is the base for the mix, and the mozzarella cheese complements it nicely although its flavour is much more subtle. The filling has a strong tomato smell and a tangy after-taste which encourage the diner to ask for seconds! I did think it could do with a little more garlic and perhaps more Italian herbs, but that is a personal reaction - it is strong enough for most young palates without any more additives. And there was certainly plenty of meat to satisfy healthy appetites.

I liked the way the pie held together even with its fairly moist filling. The consistency was just right, neither too runny nor too viscous, and when I cut the pie in half the contents of each section stayed firmly inside the crust. There is nothing worse than a pie that leaks when you bite into it - clearly this is not a problem with this particular variety.

I would certainly purchase this product again if I was catering for a family group. Because of its appeal to different age groups, we might not have the protests from the fussy eaters who do not like flavours that are too strong. Well done, Dad's Pies, for another quality product. There is certainly a market for this variety.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 26th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 8 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

I really like chicken pies but usually find them bland in both colour and taste so I avoid chicken pies but this pie was really nice, a good colour but there was only a little bit of cheese in one corner and definitely nothing that stretched like Mozzarella usually does. I put the pie in the microwave and opened one side of the bag and not sure if that is why I found the pie unevenly heated, some parts were lukewarm while the rest was burning hot.

I have really fussy eaters, I can't even sneak spices into their food but this pie is mild enough that they will eat it without any issues. The lid of the pie had a stripe of herbs over it which didn't seem to add much to the flavour. The information on the packet was good, really good to know there is a sufficient amount of chicken in the pie. I did notice that warming in the oven is recommend but I don't have the time or patience to warm the oven for just one pie so really great that microwave instructions were included and that the pastry came out nice and not hard or doughy. I did however notice that although it was mentioned to warm in the bag for the microwave nothing was mentioned for the oven, not sure I would be willing to put a bag the oven.

Thanks Dad's pies for a great alternative to bland chicken pies, I will be keeping an eye out for these to make a regular part of the families meals.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 24th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Reading through the list of pies up for review and noticing the name Chicken Pie-zza amongst the list, made me really want to try this pie. It made me think of a combination between a creamy chicken pie and a chicken topped pizza, and as a person who loves pizza, chicken and pies I thought it was certainly a pie worth sinking my taste buds into. While over in America a few years back they didn't have classic pies as we do over in New Zealand but they did in a couple of places have there own version of a pizza pie, which I can report was certainly not the same as these pies in any respect. The American pizza pies consisted of a pastry shell filled with a mixture of mince and spaghetti, which was topped with cheese and bacon and did not have a pastry lid on top, they were not the most appetizing of things!

I cooked my Chicken Pie-zza Pie in the oven, leaving it in it's bag for 20 minutes and this worked out perfectly. Along the top of the pie was a neat little line of mixed herbs which made me think the pie might contain quite a bit of herbs, however I didn't feel that this was the case when I began eating it, though in saying that it was very well seasoned and tasted great. The sauce consisted of a lovely creamy tomato based sauce that tasted a lot like pizza sauce but not as strong as that you would find on a pizza, it also tasted quite cheesy and a lot like a pizza in my opinion, and compared to that of a real pizza it contained a generous portion of chicken, which is good in my books! I loved the layer of mozzarella that was on top of the chicken mixture as this added another element of taste and texture to the pie.

Certainly a good tasting pie which id happily purchase again, makes a nice change from the classic Mince and Cheese which id usually choose.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 24th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

When the pies came up for review, I was drawn to this one in particular because it was quite different to anything else I had tried in pie form. I have seen pizza pies before but they are usually cheese and spaghetti with a bit of ham. This one promised chicken and a bit of pizza magic.

I loved that this pie came with a coating on the top shell of the pastry of mixed herbs. It made it look really good and made it stand out on the tray against the rest of dinner. I baked this in an oven for about 30 minutes from defrosted. It was cooked right through and was hot inside. I shared this pie with my husband.

I thought that the flavour of the pie was good. I don't normally have chicken on a pizza, but it worked well. I loved that there was proper Mozzarella cheese in this and it came away in long strings as I broke the pastry apart. The pastry was a good consistency and a nice flavour too. The pizza sauce definitely tasted like a pizza. Though I felt like it could have had a bit more bolder flavour. Maybe a few more herbs would have just given it more of a pop, because chicken and the cheese are quite bland generally.

Hubby felted that it was a good flavour, but as with me felt like it needed a bit more flavour. Four dollars for a pie might seem a bit expensive, but the ingredients are good quality. As a whole package, it was a good solid pie that was a bit special. It just needed that extra thing in the mix to really push it to a 10.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 23rd of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Typically, I have pizza topped with beef, not chicken, and most importantly, I have never had a pizza in the form of a pie, even though in America they both have the same name. I think that the idea behind this pie is quite unique and innovative, and it certainly worked well. I found the pie to be very easy to cook, none of the pies I had taken on for review spent long enough in the freezer for me to test how long it would take to cook from frozen, but around fridge temperature, it took about 2 and a half minutes, just as it said on the packet.

The bag helped with the cooking, it was one of those perforated ones that act like a steam oven, cooking the pie more evenly and properly, and without turning the fillings into Napalm, so you just put the bag with the pie on a plate, stick it in the microwave, and cooking time depends on the wattage of the microwave you're using, so check the back of the wrapper to find the appropriate cooking time. Once cooked, the pie was a delicious work of art, for starters the chicken was tender and well seasoned.

The pie also contained a rather interesting sauce, it wasn't as strong as normal pizza sauce, instead it was creamier, and had a slight cheesiness to it. The crust of the pie was different to what I was used to as well. The pastry was firmer, still soft but not flakey, it also had a bit of sweetness to it, which helped the flavour greatly in the sense that it toned down any harsh savoury flavours. There were also spices added to the lid, which let a little tang into the mix, and I could tell it was because of those spices because they were added in a line across the lid, so I could sample some of the pie without the spices, and some with them, allowing for a good comparison.

Overall, I think the taste was really pleasant, there was a good blend of ingredients, and successfully pulled off turning a pizza into a pie. The quality was great, I think that for $4.00, this is a very good deal. Overall, I am highly impressed with this pie, and can't wait to try the others.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.2
Product reviews for listing 2525: Chicken and Prawn Dumplings -  Produced by Leanne's Kitchen

Product image for Chicken and Prawn DumplingsDumplings are popular for all occasions and eaten all year round.
    •  Fantastic as finger food
    •  Great side dish to rice, noodles or veggies
    •  Nice eaten cold in lunch boxes
    •  Party & BBQ ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit."
Harry S Truman (1884 - 1972)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream